OFFICIAL & BREAKING: NFF Finally Announces Finidi as Eagles Manager......

NFF appoints Finidi George as Head Coach of Super Eagles
https://thenff.com/nff-appoints-finidi- ... er-eagles/

NFF Media
April 29, 2024
The Board of Nigeria Football Federation on Monday approved the recommendation of its Technical and Development Committee to appoint former ace winger Finidi George as Head Coach of the Senior Men National Football Team, Super Eagles.

George, who spent 20 months as assistant to José Santos Peseiro before the Portuguese voluntarily left the post following the accomplishment of Africa Cup of Nations runner-up position at Cote d’Ivoire 2023, took charge of the squad in interim capacity during two friendly matches in Morocco last month.

His squad edged Ghana 2-1 in the first match, ending an 18-year winless streak against the Black Stars, but then lost 0-2 to Mali in the second game.
George, a member of the so-styled ‘Golden Generation’ that won the 1994 Africa Cup of Nations tournament in Tunisia and emerged the second most entertaining team in Nigeria’s debut at the FIFA World Cup finals in USA the same year, won 62 caps for Nigeria, including featuring at the 1994 and 1998 FIFA World Cup finals. He also won gold, silver and bronze medals from the 1992, 1994, 2000 and 2002 AFCON tournaments.

The 52-year-old former Ajax Amsterdam (The Netherlands) and Real Betis (Spain) forward, who made a scoring debut for fatherland in an Africa Cup of Nations qualifying match against Burkina Faso at the National Stadium, Lagos on 27th July 1991, also featured for Calabar Rovers and Sharks FC in the domestic scene before heading to Europe. He assisted Rashidi Yekini (of blessed memory) to score Nigeria’s first-ever FIFA World Cup goal against Bulgaria in Dallas, USA on 19th June 1994.

George had actually scored the goal that took Nigeria to that FIFA World Cup debut, when he put Nigeria ahead against hosts Algeria in a crucial qualifier in Algiers on 8th October 1993. The match eventually ended 1-1 and earned Nigeria a ticket to the finals in America.

George’s immediate task will be to guide the Super Eagles to victory in two 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifying matches against South Africa and Benin Republic in Uyo and Abidjan respectively, in a little over five weeks. The matches are must-win encounters, with the Super Eagles lagging behind in third place in Group C of the African campaign behind Rwanda and South Africa.
Last edited by Enugu II on Mon Apr 29, 2024 4:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: OFFICIAL & BREAKING: NFF Finally Announces Finidi as Eagles Manager......

Who are his assistants?

Congratulations to Coach Finidi.

Congrats Finidi. Don’t mess it up.

Congratulations to Finidi George. I hope the NFF will give him all the necessary support

Congrats to King Finidi George.
Nobody can argue with the work you've put in and your dedication to Nigeria.

Now to fall in line behind him!

Congrats to Finidi, if true. Why take so long?
I hope the NFF provide him with necessary support, and the 'agents' let him perform his appointed job.

Congratulations to Finidi. He is not my preferred choice but I'm backing him to do us proud.

Congrats to Finidi. That 2-0 Loss to Mali was unacceptable, but I wish him well.
Hopefully he gets a free hand to pick his team.

Folks like Sadiq won’t be getting invites anytime soon.

Congrats to The Gazelle. This is the best outcome of the selection and recruitment process. It was always the right thing to do. Continuity and giving the local legend a chance.

I now hope Finidi learnt a few hard lessons from those friendlies and starts to do the necessary background repair work before he meets with the team again in June. Though I suspect he will stick to his guns and continue along the same lines. All the same, he is the right choice and we should be ready to swim or sink with him. He should at the very least get the opportunity to lead us to next AFCON no matter the results of the World Cup qualifiers.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Good decision. All the best to Finidi George. A cerebral player and a cerebral coach

I honestly believe the NFF didn't make the right decision here. Appointing someone with no extensive coaching experience or record for our main national team wasn't the best choice.

Nevertheless, we need to move forward and support him. I hope he proves me wrong by qualifying us for the upcoming World Cup.

Look at your big head. Why was a loss in a friendly unacceptable?
Babalawo wrote: Mon Apr 29, 2024 4:35 pm Congrats to Finidi. That 2-0 Loss to Mali was unacceptable, but I wish him well.
Hopefully he gets a free hand to pick his team.

Folks like Sadiq won’t be getting invites anytime soon.

1naija wrote: Mon Apr 29, 2024 4:21 pm Who are his assistants?

Good question.

Congratulations all the same to Finidi George, the new Eagles Manager.

Looking forward to see what he does with a full complement of his players.

Congratulations. NFF, pay the man his money ooo. This is good , we finally have a coach...now Tella, Boniface or Lookman, will play in the Europa league final, so what are the arrangements?

waka-man wrote: Mon Apr 29, 2024 4:22 pm Congrats Finidi. Don’t mess it up.
Did you tell that to your foreign coach? :blink:

Congratulations 🎉 to Mr Finidi!!! Wish you great success

Cellular wrote: Mon Apr 29, 2024 4:48 pm

Good question.

So you expect him to bring in his own players and discard some of the established players?

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Apr 29, 2024 4:49 pm Congratulations. NFF, pay the man his money ooo. This is good , we finally have a coach...now Tella, Boniface or Lookman, will play in the Europa league final, so what are the arrangements?
Finidi was beefing with Lookman and Tella, so maybe he wouldn't call them anyways in favor of some junk from obscure leagues.

Sidown watch mode activated

vancity eagle wrote: Mon Apr 29, 2024 4:54 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Apr 29, 2024 4:49 pm Congratulations. NFF, pay the man his money ooo. This is good , we finally have a coach...now Tella, Boniface or Lookman, will play in the Europa league final, so what are the arrangements?
Finidi was beefing with Lookman and Tella, so maybe he wouldn't call them anyways in favor of some junk from obscure leagues.

Please remain seated. We will be watching you very closely. I know you're already preparing your attack package for our Nigerian coaches- corruption, beefing etc. We will debunk your false claims. We will nonetheless respect your opinions.

Lolly wrote: Mon Apr 29, 2024 4:52 pm
Cellular wrote: Mon Apr 29, 2024 4:48 pm

Good question.

So you expect him to bring in his own players and discard some of the established players?
He will do what Keshi did. I hope you are all ready for it. He gave a preview of what will come in those 2 friendlies.

We were all warned but those with agenda want us to pretend we did not witness what we witnessed.

Anyways I pray that I am wrong.
Last edited by vancity eagle on Mon Apr 29, 2024 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Lest I forget, you were not even decent enough to congratulate him.

highbury wrote: Mon Apr 29, 2024 4:59 pm

Lest I forget, you were not even decent enough to congratulate him.
Why would I congratulate someone who was actively doing HARM to SE ?

If that was some sort of aberration and he changes his ways then I will congratulate him in retrospect.

Yeah no world cup for Nigeria, I've made peace with that already

Congrats to South Africa and Benin republic in advance.