Call them BAck!

Blakes

Post by Blakes »

Definition of scapegoat - one that bears the blame for others; had other players also been involved and were allowed to go unpunished then these dudes would indeed be scapegoats;

Why do I get the feeling that had this been a Romanus Orjinta, Ekong, and Etafia affair, peeps would not be fighting for them this much?

i think people are calling them scape goats in the sense that they are taking the brunt for the lacklustere preformance against MOrroco...obviously the expulsion was a harsh punishment for thier supposed crime...
Climb the ladder to succes, escalator style
-Biggie
manplus
Taliban style?

Post by manplus »

Very well said, omotori.
I too, agree that the punishment meted out to these players
was waaay too harsh and humiliating. What I find even more
troubling is the fact that there now seems to be a Taliban style
puritanism that has crept into the discourse. Since when
did it become "indiscipline" or some major crime or
misdemeanor for a grown player to keep company in
his room during a contest?

Babayaro has certainly done enough for Nigeria not to be
treated like this. Its another in a long line of inept and
ham-fisted action by our footbal authorities. Some lesser
form of reprimand would have been more appropriate.

And so it goes for us.

Blakes wrote:
Definition of scapegoat - one that bears the blame for others; had other players also been involved and were allowed to go unpunished then these dudes would indeed be scapegoats;

Why do I get the feeling that had this been a Romanus Orjinta, Ekong, and Etafia affair, peeps would not be fighting for them this much?

i think people are calling them scape goats in the sense that they are taking the brunt for the lacklustere preformance against MOrroco...obviously the expulsion was a harsh punishment for thier supposed crime...
If that was the case, they would have only suspended the players in the first place;

Blakes

Post by Blakes »

when baba was hungrier and younger he played his part for nigeria...recently baba had lost the attitude which we associated him with in ATL 96...

I Can see that ATL 96 is as fresh as yesterday in many of our minds...the fact reminas that now these players are different...
-Biggie
Naija fan
Re: Taliban style?

Post by Naija fan »

manplus wrote:Very well said, omotori.
I too, agree that the punishment meted out to these players
was waaay too harsh and humiliating. What I find even more
troubling is the fact that there now seems to be a Taliban style
puritanism that has crept into the discourse. Since when
did it become "indiscipline" or some major crime or
misdemeanor for a grown player to keep company in
his room during a contest?

And so it goes for us.
The same logic that allows the coaching crew to tell grown men to be in bed at a particular time.
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."
Blakes

Post by Blakes »

Blakes wrote:

If that was the case, they would have only suspended the players in the first place;
the expulsion is combination of the loss and the Ashawoe incident...not just the ashawoe incident..
-Biggie
omotori

Post by omotori »

Yemster, you do not get my point