Lawal and Ekueme are CRAP

Player
Lawal and Ekueme are CRAP

Post by Player »

I saw the game yesterday and most people in this forum are saying how good Lawal and Ekueme was, but i am not sorry 2 say, they both were crap, the only reason they looked good was that SA did not exploit that left side, they based most on their attacks on straight long balls from defence, Lawal had about 4 or 5 chances to deliver good balls into the box, but the guy cant even cross, yes he did some hustling, but only cos he new this was his last tournament for naija, Ekueme was also crap, every time he got the ball he had so much space to run and make the cross, but the angel* turned back and passed it to okocha, every single time, trust me if we play against bigger teams and we cant exploit the wings, we will fall, did u all notice how most of our chances came from the right? if our left is not used as well, we will be in for a surprise
Ghost

Post by Ghost »

Ekwueme played a solid game and stuck to his role. He did not give any more. The most impressive thing from him was that he constantly fell back to close gaps in midfield. Offensively, he essentially played a safe game and really didn't try to do too much. This may be attributable to nervousness. I expect him to start taking more chances as he settles but this was an impressive debut.

Lawal on the other hand does not belong on the starting 11. He was cast out of position at LFB but he played well in this game. THe big negative was his failure to contribute to the offense. Basically the same ol' Garba.

It looks like our strongest combination will be the two Ifeanyi's on the left.
Player

Post by Player »

I am not gonna hate too much on Ekueme cos its the first time i saw him play and i expected much more from him, but Lawal is the same old Lawal always un-impressive, n i think his time has come 2 say good-bye

Oya! I banish the pair of una to your Playstations for such poor misyarning. Vamos!

There will always be those who understand how the game of soccer is played, while there will also be those who would never understand.

Cyber Saint

Post by Cyber Saint »

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:There will always be those who understand how the game of soccer is played, while there will also be those who would never understand.

OUCH
Ogbu-na-dozen, dat wuz cold :mrgreen:
Blakes

Post by Blakes »

defensively lawal and Ekueme were solid but on the attacking end they were not creative and they were too conservative and hardly took any attacking risks..apart from that i think they were ok...
Last edited by Blakes on Sun Feb 01, 2004 11:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Climb the ladder to succes, escalator style
-Biggie
mke1010

Post by mke1010 »

This is just a waste of a thread. Must you insult the players in critiquing them?
Player

Post by Player »

Mke 1010 said
This is just a waste of a thread. Must you insult the players in critiquing them?

its just a fact, n u fail2 realise it, [/quote]
Riche007

Post by Riche007 »

Playa, u need some sleep.....i'm no Lawal's fan but he did a good job....I'll give it to him altho i'll say we shud look beyond him in terms of the future of the SE.
The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge - Hawking, 1942
African Star

Post by African Star »

I agree with Player that offensively Lawal showed very poor imagination and made some plays and passes that defied explanation and that's because his lights have never been bright but rather dim. I have seen Ekwueme play better offensively but as his first game he was been very cautious and deferred to the "big boys" especially after seeing how Olofinjana was ripped by Yobo and Okoronkwo after making an error.
“Whoever invented football should be worshiped as a God.” Hugo Sanchez, Mexican soccer player and coach

Na everybody suppose contribute to offense? What about doing the hard and dirty work of securing the midfield by breaking up the opponents rhythm and fighting for loose 50-50 balls? How many people do that for SE? Abeg go siddon.

Quite honestly,

I just watched the game again & my thoughts on them was 'Anyway sha, na we win'.

Lawal was a bit dissapointing with some offensive opportunities.

I will not say they stuck about badly, but like someone said they could make us sorry in a really competitive game
fishward1
Re: Lawal and Ekueme are CRAP

Post by fishward1 »

Player wrote:I saw the game yesterday and most people in this forum are saying how good Lawal and Ekueme was, but i am not sorry 2 say, they both were crap, the only reason they looked good was that SA did not exploit that left side, they based most on their attacks on straight long balls from defence, Lawal had about 4 or 5 chances to deliver good balls into the box, but the guy cant even cross, yes he did some hustling, but only cos he new this was his last tournament for naija, Ekueme was also crap, every time he got the ball he had so much space to run and make the cross, but the angel* turned back and passed it to okocha, every single time, trust me if we play against bigger teams and we cant exploit the wings, we will fall, did u all notice how most of our chances came from the right? if our left is not used as well, we will be in for a surprise

IF THEY ARE CRAP WHAT IS KANU DODO?
Chima

Post by Chima »

Lawal and Ekwueme were both poor against SA...I already said so in another thread.
Graphic & Web Design Specialists
http://www.effectualdesigns.net

I just love the Internet. It equalizes the opportunities for anyone to spew garbage in the public realm -- a "privilege" hitherto reserved for politicians and journalists.
Obinna

Post by Obinna »

lol :lol: :lol:
Gotti wrote:I just love the Internet. It equalizes the opportunities for anyone to spew garbage in the public realm -- a "privilege" hitherto reserved for politicians and journalists.
Owerri-Aba Road
somebody

Post by somebody »

I just love the Internet. It equalizes the opportunities for anyone to spew garbage in the public realm -- a "privilege" hitherto reserved for politicians and journalists.

I love that line Gotti
Why do we struggle to live when we are still going to die anyway?

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:There will always be those who understand how the game of soccer is played, while there will also be those who would never understand.
Aint that the truth

I cant believe this guy. Lawal played nonesence because he did nothing offensively. HE WAS A LB FOR CRYING OUT LOUD LEFT BACK. Do you know what that means. His primary job is to defend. If we had lost and it was because the left side leaked...you will have killed the man.

Stop smoking dried paw-paw leafs man.

SA's attack on the right was limited purely because of the duo of Ifeanyi Ekwueme and Garba Lawal. If their left back position was as solid as ours, Osaze will not have scored his first goal and Utaka will not have had space to cross to Osaze to score his second. Lawal from his left back position hit a few crosses in the second half one of which was a ferocious shot which the keeper had to be stop.

Actually, are we talking about the same match?

these two were very good for Nigeria on saturday,they played the game simple,helped out in defence,they might not be fancy players like okocha but i prefer hard working players than players with flicks and tricks with no end product

daone

Post by daone »

Shownoja wrote:I cant believe this guy. Lawal played nonesence because he did nothing offensively. HE WAS A LB FOR CRYING OUT LOUD LEFT BACK. Do you know what that means. His primary job is to defend. If we had lost and it was because the left side leaked...you will have killed the man.

Stop smoking dried paw-paw leafs man.
thank god someone understand the correlation between doing your job right and getting a result.
He who walks In The Light will Never Stumble