Help Me Welcome Godwin Odiye To CyberEagles

Larry Ashagbe
Help Me Welcome Godwin Odiye To CyberEagles

Post by Larry Ashagbe »

Please help me welcome Godwin Odiye to Cyber Eagles.

For the older geneartions that knows him, he was an excellent defender.

Odiye was one excellent defender, it is a shame that he appeared 20 years earlier.

For the younger generation, I would describe Odiye in the same class as Franco Baresi, Taribo West or even better.

Thanks for all the wonderful memories you gave us.

We are privilege to have somebody of the class of Goddy discussing football with us on CE.

Let us hear your memories of Godwin Odiye that you remember during his playing days for Super Eagles.

Please post your welcome messages here for Godwin Odiye.

Thanks

Sagaloooooooooooooooh!!!!!!! :lol: :D :lol:

Welcome.
But I seem to recall you were with us a year or two ago when you were filling us in with the dirty politics that used to (and probably still does) go on in the Super Eagles camp.

Having said that, let it be known that you were a classy defencer.

DamunK
SUYA

Post by SUYA »

Um, welcome - again. Never knew he left.

http://www.cybereagles.co.uk/articles/default.asp?id=34
Mudi E
Odiye...

Post by Mudi E »

Hey..Odiye, you broke my heart as a little boy growing up in Ngeria when you scored that own goal against Tunisia in 1978 World Cup qualifying. It so pained me that I was sick for more than two weeks and my life was almost ruined as a result. I don't know if I will ever forgive you for that mishap. But I will. Make sure you don't score an own goal in this forum :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions

Weolcome. No be you score fantastic own goal wey make we no go WC for 78? :mrgreen:
Larry Ashagbe

Post by Larry Ashagbe »

SUYA,

Nice piece.
Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

Welcome back. I was at the National satdium when you scored that own goal that denied us our first World Cup. Anyway, it's alll good now. I hope things are going well for you in all your endevours.
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."
Jimi

Post by Jimi »

na hear I dey hear about that own goal beacuse that one was before my time. So nothing spoil. If you ever rocked the green and white, you are welcome. Give us another perspective up in this piece...
Bubus

Post by Bubus »

All I remember is the song...

"Chukwuma shoot am o
It is a goal o, Odiye!
Chukwuma, shoot am o,
It is a goal o!"

That own goal pain ppl no be lie... but welcome sha... your presence does add value to the board.
JJ Okocha will take this freekick... curls it in! Oh! ...curls it right in!! What a goal?!! What a moment of magic from JJ Okocha?!! And its 1-1!!

WELCOME LAST MAN ODIYE :!: :!: :!:

Eagle Winged

Post by Eagle Winged »

Godwin Odiye, welcome to CyberEagles.

Is this a 419 post? How can you tell us to welcome someone who has been welcomed in the past? And then to make matters worse, there is no sign of the person you are telling us to welcome.

Well, I guess, Welcome Odiye.

Now, would everyone help me wlecome Okocha. Trust me he is here.

The own goal was rather unfortunate however Godwin must have done other things life prior and post that own goal. I will like him to share with us his best memories of playing for the Green Eagles.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

Bubus

Post by Bubus »

1naija wrote:Is this a 419 post? How can you tell us to welcome someone who has been welcomed in the past? And then to make matters worse, there is no sign of the person you are telling us to welcome.

Well, I guess, Welcome Odiye.

Now, would everyone help me wlecome Okocha. Trust me he is here.
In spirit or in truth?
JJ Okocha will take this freekick... curls it in! Oh! ...curls it right in!! What a goal?!! What a moment of magic from JJ Okocha?!! And its 1-1!!
bobbye

Post by bobbye »

Believe it or not I was thinking about you yesterday , I was even gonna post a piece on this forum to plead with you to come back.There has been several vilifications of Chukwu on this forums and I was hoping as a guy who played with in Green eagles will help attest to his true deportment as a player and a gentleman. Hopefully your presence in the forum as an ex international player will help put some self proclaimed soccer gurus on check.Wellcome back Mr Godwin Odiye
Jimi

Post by Jimi »

bobbye wrote:Believe it or not I was thinking about you yesterday , I was even gonna post a piece on this forum to plead with you to come back.There has been several vilifications of Chukwu on this forums and I was hoping as a guy who played with in Green eagles will help attest to his true deportment as a player and a gentleman. Hopefully your presence in the forum as an ex international player will help put some self proclaimed soccer gurus on check.Wellcome back Mr Godwin Odiye
CCC might have been a great player and great gentleman, but no be dat one we go chop now..He is definitely not a great coach.
Re: Help Me Welcome Godwin Odiye To CyberEagles

Larry Ashagbe wrote:Please help me welcome Godwin Odiye to Cyber Eagles.

For the older geneartions that knows him, he was an excellent defender.

Odiye was one excellent defender, it is a shame that he appeared 20 years earlier.

For the younger generation, I would describe Odiye in the same class as Franco Baresi, Taribo West or even better.

Thanks for all the wonderful memories you gave us.

We are privilege to have somebody of the class of Goddy discussing football with us on CE.

Let us hear your memories of Godwin Odiye that you remember during his playing days for Super Eagles.

Please post your welcome messages here for Godwin Odiye.

Thanks
But di man never left... he was a part of the old cybereagles...

Aniwayz, welkom back from ya sabbatical...

Oya, analyze di games mai fren..... :)

Oga Odiye, welcome back o!

His last handle was Godiye. We are still waiting for you to say something.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

The real deal

Post by The real deal »

Godwin, what word of advice do you have for CCC and the present crop of players in this ACN and beyond,especially the ones that have "made' it with regard to discipline? How can we prevent own goal? Just kidding! Welcome back. Oya post biko!
Cujus esqulum, ajus es usqui ad inferos
Cyber Saint

Post by Cyber Saint »

Godiye, welcome if you're in da house.
Yeah, I was told about the episode - nigerian has scored Nigeria - in the very descriptive phrase of the indefitagble Ernest Okonkwo of the blessed memory.
But I was also told of many other wonderful +ive contribution from you, as a player. So you're still a Nigerian HERO.
anywork

Post by anywork »

Abeg wey di man una dey welcome? Im neva talk pim. Abi na ghost una dey call?
Ghost

Post by Ghost »

I never saw Odiye play. He must have been darn good because he was actually recalled in the build up to the 1994 world cup. A good 15 + years after he last played for the national team.