Why do we exclude pure finishers from the SE?

Ghost
Why do we exclude pure finishers from the SE?

Post by Ghost »

There is a certain mold of a striker who masters the ability to be opportunistic and score goals. Very often these strikers are anonymous through most of the game. They may even appear limited in ability and atimes even clumsy. But they somehow find space in the box and don't waste chances. Here are some examples; Bebeto, Klinsmann, Paolo Rossi, Gary Lineker, Cannigia, Schillachi.

Now here are some Nigerian examples of similar styles that we failed to include in our national team; Richard Owobokiri, Celestine Nzekwe, Friday Ekpo, Jonathan Akpoboririe, Samson Ozogula, Raphael Chukwu, Peter Ijeh.

Some of these players were called to camp because their goal scoring records were impressive in their respective leagues. However, most of the time their debut was considered dissapointing because their game lacked that Naija lustre.

I suspect that we really do not appreciate that style of striking. As such, a player like Bebeto would have had a difficult time getting the Nigerian public desirous about his game. We covet players whose skill and presence are more apparent.

What do y'all think?

true true.... otherwise you can't explain Akpoborie's exclusion from the 1998 WC team at a time when he was one of the deadliest players in the Bundesliga. Or Ijeh's exclusion from the current team. It seems we only appreciate "flashy" players.
khalela

Post by khalela »

wiseone wrote:true true.... otherwise you can't explain Akpoborie's exclusion from the 1998 WC team at a time when he was one of the deadliest players in the Bundesliga. Or Ijeh's exclusion from the current team. It seems we only appreciate "flashy" players.
One of the most painful decisions of the decade in Nigerian football
Ghost

Post by Ghost »

wiseone wrote:true true.... otherwise you can't explain Akpoborie's exclusion from the 1998 WC team at a time when he was one of the deadliest players in the Bundesliga. Or Ijeh's exclusion from the current team. It seems we only appreciate "flashy" players.
Ijeh had one game and we didn't see what we wanted. The rest is history.

Did you say Friday Ekpo? I saw him play regularly for Abiola Babes and never once did he play as a striker. The short man was more like Paul Scholes operating in the midfield and arriving in the box just at the right time to score. He also took wicked free-kicks and for a short man, he often jumped higher than anyone in the box and headed in goals.