How do you Judge a player based on 1,2 or even 3 games ?

All this wastepipe, useless name calling threads are quite stupid. First someone claims Seyi is the best whatever player in the tournament after 1 bloody game.
Then we have the Abbey is a useless player thread.
Then we have the Aghahowa is a wastepipe thread Overated and useless.
I'll not even go into the kanu issue.
Of course we have the garba Lawal is too old, clubless and will be a liability group.
Why dont we also mention the Enyeama is hopeless crowd as well.

All this started after 1 game. How do you bloody jump so such conclusion after 1 game ? :roll:

Going by such logic,

Delpiero should have been sold by Juve back in the mid 90's.
Bordeaux should have done away with Zizou after his second season with them
toldo should be kicked out by inter for making a rookie mistake against Juve.

Garba Lawal has shamed those of you that doubted him. When Julius scores now, you'll see people changing their tone. All of you set levels which No footballer has ever achieved. some of you want them to deliver EVERY SINGLE time. What happened to Yekini against Italy ? Why didn't he deliver ?
The level of contradiction on this site is unheard of. A classic case is Real Madrid. They have every position on that field filled with players all of us consider as "world class" . They are probably the closest you can come to a star studded team. Yet they fail to deliver when it counts ? Why ?

If we go by the logic of most forumers here, Real madrid should be handed the cup in every competition they enter because they just have all the ingredients needed to win. Yet they lose. So something is definitely wrong with this logic and method of thinking. Footballers like every athlete have their moments. One second they are hot and unstoppable, the next they are as cold as ice. I've read comments such as "imagine JAG can't score against Benin but wants to score against cameroon". Such people should go and read their comments again. Not only is it shallow, it is superficial.

On the other hand, you have players who TRULY make a team great but never get the praise.

Good example Paul Scholes. That guy works his butt off and all you hear is Rudd this, keane that. Same can be said for Giggs. To a naija fan, they would probably consider scholes a wastepipe. Why ? because he is not scoring goals. Forget all his hustling. So far he is not scoring goals, he is a wastepipe.

Another good example. Pavel Nedved. If a naija were the manager or Juve, pavel would probably never start a game. Why ? becos the guy is a wastepipe. No goals.

oh how about Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink. Is he also a wastepipe ? That guy has had soooo many sitters that he just balloons away.
We've played 3 games so far at this ANC, can anyone show me when JAG had a clear shot at goal ? During the game against Morocco, those headers he missed was someone trying to make something out of nothing. Yet those here think it was a clear chance and if put in that position, they would have scored.

Most of you guys need to look at a players OVERALL game before making harsh judgements. There is no doubt that strikers need to score to keep their position. But there are other factors which sometimes could be out of the strikers control. If you gave Ronaldo naija's current midfield, he probably would not have the opportunities to score.

So before you call a player a wastepipe or useless, look at what he has brought to the game in every possible way.

anyone ?
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna