Giving credit to who credit is due

I know the NFA, as an organization is nothing to write home about. In fact they as an incompetent, disorganized, and messed up as they come. With that said, it is time we commend them for the job they have done so far to ensure that Nigeria (like I expect) lifts the ANC trophy in Tunisia. As of today with over three weeks to the start of the ANC, we have 22 players in camp. That right there is a record by NFA standards. Secondly, we have been hearing the NFA chief Ogunjobi to be specific meeting with players, calling players’ clubs ensuring that they do their part as far as making sure players make it to camp. Thirdly and most importantly, the NFA have kept the streak of controversies going for the nations cup build up. As strange as this may sound, Nigeria’s preparation for any tournament especially the ANC is not complete without the controversies that goes on prior to the kickoff of the tournament proper. Yes, the NFA can do better and I am very optimistic that they will do better with our support and constructive criticism. However what they have done till date is worth acknowledging and I believe strongly that we should appreciate and commend them for a job well done.

Mr. Ogunjobi and members of the NFA, I want to on behalf on the members of the CE forum and myself commend you guys for a job well done till date. We know you guys can do better and we are hoping that you guys will do better. We have vowed to support your guys, as you are not representing yourselves but our dear country. 8)
Last edited by Robbynice on Tue Dec 30, 2003 7:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
lagos777

Post by lagos777 »

Robbynice , spare us your A.s.s kissing. The NFA sucks . No be that Adidas deal wey your uncle Ogunjobi go sign.
Mike Ditka quote :
"I didn't say it in those general terms but I said it like that".
Toxicarrow
Re: Giving credit to who credit is due

Post by Toxicarrow »

Mr. Ogunjobi and members of the NFA, I want to on behave on the members of the CE forum and myself commend you guys for a job well done till date. We know you guys can do better and we are hoping that you guys will do better. We have vowed to support your guys, as you are not representing yourselves but our dear country. 8)
Walahi, if it was my honourable UI Scholar, Ogbein Ayo Akinfe, that wrote the above statement, this site would have shaken to its core foundation....Grammar would have been flying left and right. Every "Agbero" and "Elemu" would have been calling the bobo all sorts of names ! and wondering "how much he is being paid" :!:
Last edited by Toxicarrow on Tue Dec 30, 2003 6:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Check out Sooting's website:
https://shootingstarssc.com/
Eagle Winged

Post by Eagle Winged »

Robbynice, not only have you become Chukwu's houseboy, but now Ogunjobi's. Now please kindly shove that little thank you note where the sun doesnt shine. Speak for yourself and the rest of your houseboy crew!

You're now a fully fledged member of CHC. CS, Muzines, Tolu; congratulate your boy.

ROBBY:
While somewhat relunctantly, I will nonetheless join you in giving credit on those occasions (few and far between it may appear) WHEN it is due -- in contrast to those who never see any good in the NFA.

The singular fact is that this NFA administration has organized more friendly matches for the Eagles than in the previous eight or so years combined (barring World Cup finals' years). And as with any "novel" undertaking, in so doing it has of course made several missteps: poor quality opposition, cancelled games, non-utilization of FIFA Calendar dates, inability to raise credible teams, etc. But even the longest journey begins with one step, and the Ogunjobi administration has taken several in the right direction.

And for whatever derogatory (often deserved) that might be said of the various NFA administrations through the years, they have nonetheless managed to take the female game in Nigeria from non-existent to the pinnacle of the African game and among the world leaders (the 2003 WWC notwithstanding) in just over a decade. In virtually no other aspect of Nigerian life (with the recent possible exception of telecommunications) has such an achievement been replicated!

Of course, there is TONS of work to do (just to catch up with other progressive federations), but I will continue to alternatively commend and/or condemn the NFA as and when due.
Last edited by Gotti on Tue Dec 30, 2003 6:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Add to it, during their tenure, virtually every Nigerian clubside that featured in the continental championship made it further than they have been in quite a while...

Talk IT

Post by Talk IT »

I agree with Robby to some extent. Inasmuch as the NFA is very corrupt and shortsighted in many issues, there are some little things they do right. But what they do right can be insignificant when compared with what they do wrong. I have noticed a trend where people just blame the NFA for every and anything. Sometimes we make it sound as if ALL the people in the glass house have graduated from the school of crooks. It is some people in the NFA that are giving everyone a bad name. Not all officials in the NFA are corrupt.
If there were no God, I would not be alive.
And if God is not good, I would have been dead.
lagos777

Post by lagos777 »

TalkIt , Even corrupt officials manage to do some things right. That doesn't mean they're not corrupt . The NFA is sh!tte. You know it , I know it , why sugarcoat it ? Unless of course Ogunjobi is ya uncle ?
Mike Ditka quote :

Robby, what is this? which kind behaviour?
I want to on behave on the members of the CE forum and myself commend you guys for a job well done till date.
Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

I agree that some grudging acknowledgement is due for the halting steps taken in the right direction but in doing some right things the NFA has done even more wrong.

This being an attempt to encourage, I find myself in agreement but the fact remains that this NFA has pomised much but has delivered little and if a report were to be prepared on its achievements one would have to say that it has not been satisfactory.

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]

Ogunjobi does not have to be my uncle or me his house boy for me to see that he has done some good...

But typical Naija, once you find a scapegoat, you blame him for every and any thing...

At the end of the day, when he presents his resume, it will stack up as good as if not better than his predecessors...

And you don't have to be his house boy or his nephew to see this.

lagos777

Post by lagos777 »

Ebyboy you cannot encourage corrupt pipul.
Mike Ditka quote :

Robby
You are a big disapointment.

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:Robby, what is this? which kind behaviour?
I want to on behave on the members of the CE forum and myself commend you guys for a job well done till date.
Very funny Chief. I meant on behalf. :lol: Thanks for the correction though. :P
living

Post by living »

Chief Ogbunigwe you no good sam sam :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Things might come to those who wait but only those things left behind by those who hustle-Abraham Lincoln
azuka

Post by azuka »

Robby,

When you look at the NFA under the current dispensation, it is hard to give them praise. Praise for what? Trying to foster a below parity coach on a dubious salary on the SE? Or is it the seemingy enslavement of the nation's football as the adidas contract is turning out to be? Is it the woeful performance of the Falcon in the US that deserve praise? Yeah i get, it is the un-ending scandal at the NFA that deserve praise? No, dont tell that the NFA deserve praises for the hiphazard organization of friendly matches for the SE? Do you want more?

My brother, on the NFA all i can see is a catalogue of woes. The only good thing to have happened to our football in 2003 or do i say since the inception of Galadima's NFA is the ACL cup. But the honour for this goes to Kalu Orji Kalu. You know it hurts so much for me because i remember supporting Galadima's candidature then when forumers were castigating him. It is sad. Really sad for our football.
lagos777

Post by lagos777 »

Like someone said earlier , we have to be happy that this NFA is better than the old one . We have to settle for the mediocre , afterall , it's a step up. Bullcrap.
The NFA sucks , you can't sugar coat it. :evil:
Mike Ditka quote :
chopeski

Post by chopeski »

LOL :D :) :( :shock: :? :lol: :P :x :x :cry: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
When they came for the communists, I was silent, because I was not a communist;
When they came for the socialists, I was silent, because I was not a socialist;
When they came for the trade unionists, I did not protest, because I was not a trade unionist;
When they came for the Jews, I did not protest, because I was not a Jew;
When they came for me, there was no one left to protest on my behalf."

Martin Niemoeller (1892-1984)

I'm give then their dues if they;

Allow CCC & his crew to select his team without interference

Pay all refunds and match bonuses on time.

Give us a NFA stress free tournament.

After the ANC I'll take stock then.

Cheers
ikwerreman

Post by ikwerreman »

Robby, though i wont pelt you like the guys are doing, i want to believe you have started smokiing that thing again
I thought we talked about it and you promised to stay off it?
WEll, having said that, i will disagree with you.
Yes we have 22 players in camp about three weeks to the ANC, but how many of those 22 will make it to the ANC?
The boys who will play the ANC are in nigeria attending parties while Ogunjobi is going cap in hand begging them.
Would you ever hear of England's FA boss visiting players begging them to play for the country? OR even Ogunjobi's South African counterpart?
with or without the NFA or Chukwu, Nigeria will still get to the Semis.
I have said this for more than six months now and i will keep saying it...As long as we dont meet Cameroon or Senegal along the way.
That would not mean the NFA has done a good job if we get to the Semi's
The NFA is crap and they know it. So Robby, i still beeg to disagree with you
SUYA

Post by SUYA »

Enyimba and Bergers success have nothing to do with the NFA. While I agree that the NFA smells a little less than it did 2 years ago......it still smells and cant be compared to FECAFOOT. If they want to impress me and get my kudos they have to win the ANC. Period.
SylverEagles

Post by SylverEagles »

My God!!!
No wonder Nigeria is in such a state it is now, kai!!! God help us when ppl who should be demanding for EXCELLENCE are busy contended with MEDIOCRITY.
That this NFA is slightly better than the past NFAs(this is quite arguable, cos we won the ANC, Olympic under those past NFAs and have won zilch under this present one) does not make it a GOOD NFA.
Let's take the supposed organisation of friendlies, were those friendlies ever executed without any kind of wahala??? NO.
There were news of players not arriving early or not at all, players not being catered for, infact some friendlies being cancelled and costing some other ppl financial costs.
Only 20% of the success of the Nigerian clubs can be attributed to the NFA.
And as Suya says and i quote:
the NFA smells a little less than it did 2 years ago......it still smells and cant be compared to FECAFOOT.
Mediocrity should not be applauded in any way. :? :x :x
Dombraye

Post by Dombraye »

..very touching....

they are finally getting some work done :lol: :lol:
Eagles Will Rise Again