CAF cautions against illegal telecast of Tunisia 2004

VINDAVE

Post by VINDAVE »

Daily Independent Online. * Wednesday, December 31, 2003.

By Emeka Nwani

Senior Correspondent, Lagos

The Confederation of Africa Football (CAF) has threatened to enact penalty against any National Football Association where breaches of broadcast rights on 2004 Nokia African Cup of Nations are reported.

With the demise of TV Africa, which had bidded for the event in the past, LC/Hensen Trust Consortium bidded and won the exclusive broadcast rights for the 2004 Nokia Nations Cup. OSMI, the company with the exclusive marketing agents in Nigeria, has appointed the Nigeria Television Authority and Radio Nigeria as broadcast partners for television and radio transmission respectively.

The Chief Executive Officer of OSMI, Mr Rotimi Pedro, had hinted that CAF would descend heavily on any station which engages in any illegal telecast of the competition. “Any TV or Radio station that is interested in transmitting the matches should enter into discussion with the authorities of the NTA or the FRCN,” Pedro said.CAF, he added, has assured that they would protect the interest of the right owners by instituting a penalty against any National Football Association that violate the rules.

For independent producers of sporting programmes, they are allowed to use footage only when they have been given the right to do so. “We will have footage rights. We will welcome proposals on that from people. If we license anybody, we will protect the person. But such programmes must be broadcast after the matches and post match programmes,” Pedro stated.

He revealed that the pictures of the matches will be encripted and delivered from a central point in Paris by CANA France International (CFI).
CMS

Post by CMS »

Translate that one into Yankee language..So na only Naija pipu go see am Live? I nkow say nobody for Yankee go buy transmission rights.

Media one... oya spill the beans one time..
http://nigeriamasterweb.com/paperfrmes.html

Keshi said that before the team arrived South Africa that he told skipper Joseph Yobo that the Eagles were going to win the Cup but the former Everton defender did not believe.
Fourteen

Post by Fourteen »

Damn! Damn!! Damn!!!.

Does that mean that I won't be able to watch the matches on AIT?

:cry: :cry: :cry:

Na wa!
sunshinestar

Post by sunshinestar »

Lefak wrote:Damn! Damn!! Damn!!!.

Does that mean that I won't be able to watch the matches on AIT?

:cry: :cry: :cry:
AIT has started using promos inviting corporate bodies to submit proposals for the Nations Cup.What this means is that the station intends to show it once they have enough sponsors to bail them out.

Sir V,
On your signature, I am told that it is not that the breasts will fall, but what if :cry:
Sir V wrote:Na wa!