Interesting BBC article on fall of Senegal

The fall of Senegal

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/footbal ... 473009.stm

By James Copnall

BBC Sport, Tunis

Two years ago Senegal were the hottest property in African football, reaching the final at Mali 2002 and the quarter-finals of the World Cup.

The Teranga Lions seemed set for a long spell dominating the African game.

Yet at this year's Cup of Nations in Tunisia the Lions failed to roar.

As they departed at the quarter-final stage their composure plummeted as quickly as their reputations.

So what went wrong?

If you ask most people in Senegal they will tell you that success went to the players' heads.

In fact it is difficult to think of one Senegalese international who has increased his reputation in the 18 months since the World Cup.

Many have secured moves to bigger clubs but most of those are not featuring heavily for their new employees.

The Liverpool pair of El Hadji Diouf and Salif Diao is a case in point.

They cost a combined sum approaching £15m but have yet to justify that hefty fee.

Many other Lions are in similar positions.

Significantly, their lack of club form has not stopped the Lions believing they are the African team to beat, as any number of players have said in interviews.

That may have been the case in 2002, but it certainly is not now.

Senegal's shameful reaction to Tunisia's controversial goal smacked of a team who believe they have a divine right to conquer.

But the Lions should not look to external factors for their fall from grace.

A Senegalese fan cries into his hands in Dakar

Individual egos are partly to blame but there are also key differences in the Senegal set up.

Playmaker Khalilou Fadiga, who has been unable to play because of a heart condition, was sorely missed in Tunisia.

That deprived the Senegalese of their one genuinely creative player, as well as one of the best set piece exponents on the continent.

Diouf and Henri Camara missed a host of good opportunities to deliver telling free- kicks and corners in the game against Tunisia, chances that Fadiga would have made more of.

Fadiga would also have been able to dictate the play in a way that Diouf and co. never managed.

Secondly, Senegal are missing Bruno Metsu.

The French coach was harshly criticised for his laissez-faire attitude by the Senegalese media, but he gave a nation their proudest footballing moments.

It was Metsu's blend of charisma, off pitch laxity and on pitch discipline that the Lions have missed most.

But all may not be lost for the Lions.

While many of the current generation may decide to retire from international football, Senegal still has one of the biggest talent pools in Africa.

If this loss serves to re-motivate the Lions and if Fadiga comes back, then there is no reason why Senegal cannot shine again.
AreaStarr
Location: By the Bar as usual hand full of liquor puffing on a sweet swisher!
Re: Interesting BBC article on fall of Senegal

Post by AreaStarr »

Ayo Akinfe wrote:The fall of Senegal

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/footbal ... 473009.stm

By James Copnall

BBC Sport, Tunis

Two years ago Senegal were the hottest property in African football, reaching the final at Mali 2002 and the quarter-finals of the World Cup.

The Teranga Lions seemed set for a long spell dominating the African game.

Yet at this year's Cup of Nations in Tunisia the Lions failed to roar.

As they departed at the quarter-final stage their composure plummeted as quickly as their reputations.

So what went wrong?

If you ask most people in Senegal they will tell you that success went to the players' heads.

In fact it is difficult to think of one Senegalese international who has increased his reputation in the 18 months since the World Cup.

Many have secured moves to bigger clubs but most of those are not featuring heavily for their new employees.

The Liverpool pair of El Hadji Diouf and Salif Diao is a case in point.

They cost a combined sum approaching £15m but have yet to justify that hefty fee.

Many other Lions are in similar positions.

Significantly, their lack of club form has not stopped the Lions believing they are the African team to beat, as any number of players have said in interviews.

That may have been the case in 2002, but it certainly is not now.

Senegal's shameful reaction to Tunisia's controversial goal smacked of a team who believe they have a divine right to conquer.

But the Lions should not look to external factors for their fall from grace.

A Senegalese fan cries into his hands in Dakar

Individual egos are partly to blame but there are also key differences in the Senegal set up.

Playmaker Khalilou Fadiga, who has been unable to play because of a heart condition, was sorely missed in Tunisia.

That deprived the Senegalese of their one genuinely creative player, as well as one of the best set piece exponents on the continent.

Diouf and Henri Camara missed a host of good opportunities to deliver telling free- kicks and corners in the game against Tunisia, chances that Fadiga would have made more of.

Fadiga would also have been able to dictate the play in a way that Diouf and co. never managed.

Secondly, Senegal are missing Bruno Metsu.

The French coach was harshly criticised for his laissez-faire attitude by the Senegalese media, but he gave a nation their proudest footballing moments.

It was Metsu's blend of charisma, off pitch laxity and on pitch discipline that the Lions have missed most.

But all may not be lost for the Lions.

While many of the current generation may decide to retire from international football, Senegal still has one of the biggest talent pools in Africa.

If this loss serves to re-motivate the Lions and if Fadiga comes back, then there is no reason why Senegal cannot shine again.
They will bounce back Ayo of this I am sure. In the long run the QF exit will be good for them.

People tend to forget that matches are won on the pitch and not by reputations.

I agree with you AreaStar. This defeat has probably done more good for Senegalese football than harm. It has made them realise a few bitter truths.

Look at the good the loss to Morocco did Nigeria!
AreaStarr
Location: By the Bar as usual hand full of liquor puffing on a sweet swisher!

Post by AreaStarr »

Ayo Akinfe wrote:I agree with you AreaStar. This defeat has probably done more good for Senegalese football than harm. It has made them realise a few bitter truths.

Look at the good the loss to Morocco did Nigeria!
Yeah if you had told me after the Morocco defeat that we would make it to the Semi's beating Cameroon in the process I would not have believed you.

Senegal were just not as good as they were cracked up to be. The thing is, after their successes in 02, they no longer had the surprise element. People started making plans for them, and they couldn't deal with it.

cic old boy wrote:Senegal were just not as good as they were cracked up to be. The thing is, after their successes in 02, they no longer had the surprise element. People started making plans for them, and they couldn't deal with it.
All they need is one enterprising player in my opinion. For instance if Oliech was playing for Senegal, do you not think it would make a world of difference to their team?

How about the b***tch Diouf factor? This in itself is enough to bring down any team!
NaijaOlu

Post by NaijaOlu »

So good thing we lost to Morocco afterall... As per senegal they need to enforce discipline or total do away with some players if they really want to move fwd.. Diouf is nothing but Cancer that does none of the team members any good.
if they want to learn they should read Nigeria football history from 1996 - 2002 , after which i guess they should be able to figure out the meaning of Overconfidence and Indiscipline.... Grace to Grass is near for them if care is not taken.
Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

Senegal is going through the same growing pains that Nigeria has been through. The idea that one can just show up and win on the reputation of the players on the field without putting forth the effort is, hopefuly, gone for Nigeria. Thankfully for Nigeria, we learnt our lesson well against Morroco. Can you imagine if we had played Benin first and won handily. We may not have been as focused in the next round.

Despite the fact that Nigeria struggled to qualify for the last World Cup and almost got eliminated by Liberia and the fact that we struggled to qualify for this ANC, one would think that our players understand the importance of putting in a good efforts. Instead we show up and play "executive" football against Morocoo. We have since learned our lesson and hopefuly this will carry us to the final and win the cup.

Senegal may still have to struggle against much weaker opposition for their star players to really get it and understand that "executice" football will get you nothing but grief.
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."

Yujam, pre ANC I pointed out the same thing to you...

No Bruno Metsu...
No Fadiga...
The Fact Senegal is now the Hunted and not the Hunter...

What did you do? Label me a hater....

If you think getting to the top is hard... try staying at top!

[color=brown]Cellular[/color] wrote:Yujam, pre ANC I pointed out the same thing to you...

No Bruno Metsu...
No Fadiga...
The Fact Senegal is now the Hunted and not the Hunter...

What did you do? Label me a hater....

If you think getting to the top is hard... try staying at top!
Well said.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

eru.bugzy

Post by eru.bugzy »

All these oyibo guys dey holla because dem dey surprised sey team wey torment them for world cup com succumb to pressure in ANC. Mo-una tell dem sey WC and ANC na two different prospects....Ask Cameroon in 1990! No be dem wey comot for first round, only to reach the last 8 of the world cup? No be the same guys wey go ANC wey go WC. Becos these Oyinbos no sabi African soccer, na'im dey make dem lament sey their favourite to win no gree pass the 1/4 final. The bottomline na how you go deal with the stresses of national pride/expectation in the ANC, being a favorite. Senegal no well when dem be underdog, n'est pas? The regression of the team to mere children on Saturday is testament to their inability to deal with stress.Naija has been dealing with this kind stress since late 1970's and will continue to deal with it. Cameroon have also dealt serously with this kind of stress and are a mentally-tough bunch. As for the European commentators, ANC throws all sort of k-legs that does not guarentee anything to anybody, no matter how renowned their players are in Europe....not even the Super Eagles! :x