John Obi Mikel: Development

FrostyZ

Post by FrostyZ »

FrostyZ wrote:
Ziontrain wrote:Well between the squabbling and players getting offloaded at Old Trafford, looks like there is already a starting jersey waiting for him over there! :D
Beats not even getting to the substitute bench at Lyn :wink:
You know why Obi is not playing for Lyn. It has nothing to do with his ability.
It doesn't matter why he isn't playing. Neither did I say it was due to his ability. Playing at Man U beats not playing for Lyn for whatever reason.

He should play! FIFA should make up their mind soon so that he can go back to football.
Why you?
erikga
Latest Developments

Post by erikga »

As a service to non-London based members; there is a two page spread in the Evening Standard tonight abou the Obi case.

Unfortunately, it is just in the paper issue, but here is the text:
Obi the lonely has the end in sight

The man at the heart of the desperate dispute between Manchester United and Chelsea just wants the chance to play football again writes Leo Spall

John Obi Mikel may still have a couple of months to go but he cannot wait to get out of Norway. Holed up in the plush Oslo hotel suite which is his home, friends say the 18-year old is counting the days until he leave the city for good.

Now one of the world’s most talented young players, he will not look back on his experience in one of football’s backwaters with fondness.

On the part of the locals, although he was once revered by fans at Lyn Oslo, Mikle’s exit will eb accompanied by mutterings of good riddance.

Six months of eventful wrangling over the midfielder’s future have taken their toll and when his name was read out among the contributors to the club’s third place league finish last weekend, it was jeered.

Manchester United and Chelsea have effectively been fighting over him since April abs as they prepare to meet at Old Trafford on Sunday his destination is in FIFA’s hands.

Mikle signed a contract to move to Old Trafford but then claimed he was coerced and wanted instead to Stamford Bridge. All partrie are still waiting for FIFA to set a date for a verdict but they all acknowledge it will be critical.

In the meantime, the fallout has been ugly with allegations of dirty tricks and neither side prepared to give an inch on a player who promises to be one of the most valuable around.

But with lawyers, agents and badly chosen words also infecting Mikel’s world, his team-mates are also concerned about the long-term effects.

Lyn Oslo’s former Southampton striker Jo Tessem, said: “We are worried for him because we have noticed he has not been happy and everything is not as it should be.

“The supporters used to come and watch him because he has an extreme talent.

“He is like Wayne Rooney but in a different position. He is already well developed athletically with speed and amazing technical ability.

“He can be big star and in England you are used to that, but in Norway they like their player to be down to earth.

“Mikel knows he is good but there has generally been so much about him and his situation in the newspapers and on television, people are fed up with it and want an end to the episode.

“ We hope it is sorted out quickly for Mikel. He is quite a strong character but something like this could slow his development.”.

The moment things really turned for the teenager was at the end of September when he tore into his team-mates in a Norwegian newspaper interview. He angrily accused them of jealousy and probably a lot more but the paper censored much of it for his own good.

Unfortunately for Mikel, he is no Roy Keane yet and the outburst turned both players and fans against him.

His Lyn Oslo team-mates confronted him at their training ground and presumably Mikle learned a valuable and perhaps necessary, lesson in humility.

Striker Jan Sorenson said: “ He told us he did not talk anything about the players and the team and it was kind of accepted. We have treated him well despite everything that happened.”

Tessem is still unsure what really went on with the article. He said: “It was serious newspaper and they don’t write bullshit stories, but Mikel is not normally like that. He is nice.”

The Nigerian international was not playing for the team at the time and has only featured for them twice since being to return to Norway at the beginning of September by FIFA. He had left the country with agent John Shittu apparently upset at being “forced” to sign for United, despite his obvious elation at the press conference to publicise the transfer.

But such is the animosity between Lyn Oslo and his representative, it was reported as a kidnapping.

Both sides agreed would only train with the club after that incident and he is biding his time until his expected departure in January.

Recognised but not harassed in Oslo, the midfielder is ferried to and from training in a chauffeur-driven black Mercedes while Lyn compete in a regional cup.

When not at training he mainly spends time with his team-mates and friends Ezekiel Bala and Chinedu Obasi Ogbuke at their suite in the Radisson SAS Scandinavia hotel and address which costs £560 a night on a short-term let.

Who is ultimately covering the luxurious lifestyle bills is unclear. Mikel’s £3,000-a-month wages don’t cover it and, although Shittu is signing the cheques it is not standard practice for an agent.

Shittu is a key influence on Mikel despite others, including Daniel Fletcher and Rune Hauge, once at the center of the George Graham bung scandal, laying their own claims to the midfielder.

Shittu is registered with FIFA in Nigeria, but in this case he is working for for the English company SEM, who are retained by Chelsea to find African players.

Other key figures cranking up the pressure on Mikel include Lyn Oslo’s Managing Director Morgan Andersen, who works from very modest offices at the Ullevaal Stadium and has been at the center of most of the disputes.

Sir Alex Ferguson has even flown over to help push through the deal, which is worth more than £4Million to the Norwegian club.

His former player at United, Henning Berg, is Lyn Oslo’s coach He said: “ It has been a difficult time for Mikel, a tough situation to handle.

“So much has been said about it asnd that is not good for the club or anyone else involved. Hopefully, he will find a solution he is happy with.”

As long as it is away from Oslo and he can play football again, Mikel has every chance.
Erik G
lorenzo

Post by lorenzo »

Is SAF saying that Chelski is buying players they don't need just to stop them from going to Manure or Arsenal?

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story ... 45&cc=3888

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson claims Chelsea are prepared to buy players just to stop them going to Old Trafford or Arsenal.

The champions visit Old Trafford tomorrow and Ferguson has revealed that the almost unlimited funds enjoyed by his Stamford Bridge counterpart, Jose Mourinho, has forced a change in his transfer tactics - particularly in the pursuit of young players.

The two clubs have been involved in a wrangle over the promising Nigerian teenager John Obi Mikel.

And Ferguson told the Independent: 'If we're doing something we have to be really quick and decisive now before Chelsea find out about it.

'I know that they're quite happy to buy somebody just to keep them away from Arsenal and United.

'They can do that because they've got that much money.'
erikga

Post by erikga »

Ferguson wants Obi to replace Keane... According to this article...
http://www.sunnewsonline.com/webpages/s ... 05-006.htm

Although, if you read the article closely, it is actually the journalist's take... Sir Alex is not quoted saying this.

And I would think Obi would not be a straight replacement for Keane, those two are very different players.

Erik G

erikga wrote:Ferguson wants Obi to replace Keane... According to this article...

Although, if you read the article closely, it is actually the journalist's take... Sir Alex is not quoted saying this.

And I would think Obi would not be a straight replacement for Keane, those two are very different players.

Erik G
Whats happening with Obi now? How come he isn't playing?
erikga

Post by erikga »

airwolex wrote:
The regular season is over in Norway now, winter is coming :twisted: And all the players have been given the week off to train for themselves.

But Lyn Oslo qualified for the Royal League, which is the winter tournament between the four best teams in Denmark, Sweden and Norway and this will kick off in a couple of week's time. Obi can get a couple of games in this tournament before he moves to ManUtd on Jan 1.

Erik G
Re: Latest Developments

erikga wrote:
When not at training he mainly spends time with his team-mates and friends Ezekiel Bala and Chinedu Obasi Ogbuke at their suite in the Radisson SAS Scandinavia hotel and address which costs £560 a night on a short-term let.
Who is ultimately covering the luxurious lifestyle bills is unclear. Mikel’s £3,000-a-month wages don’t cover it and, although Shittu is signing the cheques it is not standard practice for an agent.
So who is paying the bills? ... Definitely not Shittu, the pseudo 'accountant'. Yes, it's clear that the other side has spent truckloads of money on Obi and won't let him go quietly to ManU on Jan 1. Unfortunately, I think there's still a lot more to this saga.

erikga wrote:airwolex wrote:
The regular season is over in Norway now, winter is coming :twisted: And all the players have been given the week off to train for themselves.

But Lyn Oslo qualified for the Royal League, which is the winter tournament between the four best teams in Denmark, Sweden and Norway and this will kick off in a couple of week's time. Obi can get a couple of games in this tournament before he moves to ManUtd on Jan 1.

Erik G
Thanks, do us a favour and let us know how he gets on.
erikga

Post by erikga »

So who is paying the bills? ... Definitely not Shittu, the pseudo 'accountant'. Yes, it's clear that the other side has spent truckloads of money on Obi and won't let him go quietly to ManU on Jan 1. Unfortunately, I think there's still a lot more to this saga.
You are absolutely right.

But I cannot believe this money comes from Chelsea, it would be a blatant disregard of a lot of FIFA rules. They just got another slap on their fingers for not paying compensation for young players.

But for every day that goes by, it looks like Obi will be deeper in debt to the people who claims they own him and wants a return on their investment. ... Despite the fact that FIFA has ruled he is a Lyn player.

And airwolex - I will do so!

Erik G
Mudi E

Post by Mudi E »

erikga wrote:Ferguson wants Obi to replace Keane... According to this article...

Erik G
Obi is not a defensive midfielder, rather an all round midfielder. To play like Roy Keane will be limiting his talent. He can play anywhere in the midfield....he's definitely not a defensive midfielder.
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions
CMS
Re: Latest Developments

Post by CMS »

erikga wrote:As a service to non-London based members; there is a two page spread in the Evening Standard tonight abou the Obi case.

Unfortunately, it is just in the paper issue, but here is the text:

The man at the heart of the desperate dispute between Manchester United and Chelsea just wants the chance to play football again writes Leo Spall

John Obi Mikel may still have a couple of months to go but he cannot wait to get out of Norway. Holed up in the plush Oslo hotel suite which is his home, friends say the 18-year old is counting the days until he leave the city for good.

Now one of the world’s most talented young players, he will not look back on his experience in one of football’s backwaters with fondness.

On the part of the locals, although he was once revered by fans at Lyn Oslo, Mikle’s exit will eb accompanied by mutterings of good riddance.

Six months of eventful wrangling over the midfielder’s future have taken their toll and when his name was read out among the contributors to the club’s third place league finish last weekend, it was jeered.

Manchester United and Chelsea have effectively been fighting over him since April abs as they prepare to meet at Old Trafford on Sunday his destination is in FIFA’s hands.

Mikle signed a contract to move to Old Trafford but then claimed he was coerced and wanted instead to Stamford Bridge. All partrie are still waiting for FIFA to set a date for a verdict but they all acknowledge it will be critical.

In the meantime, the fallout has been ugly with allegations of dirty tricks and neither side prepared to give an inch on a player who promises to be one of the most valuable around.

But with lawyers, agents and badly chosen words also infecting Mikel’s world, his team-mates are also concerned about the long-term effects.

Lyn Oslo’s former Southampton striker Jo Tessem, said: “We are worried for him because we have noticed he has not been happy and everything is not as it should be.

“The supporters used to come and watch him because he has an extreme talent.

“He is like Wayne Rooney but in a different position. He is already well developed athletically with speed and amazing technical ability.

“He can be big star and in England you are used to that, but in Norway they like their player to be down to earth.

“Mikel knows he is good but there has generally been so much about him and his situation in the newspapers and on television, people are fed up with it and want an end to the episode.

“ We hope it is sorted out quickly for Mikel. He is quite a strong character but something like this could slow his development.”.

The moment things really turned for the teenager was at the end of September when he tore into his team-mates in a Norwegian newspaper interview. He angrily accused them of jealousy and probably a lot more but the paper censored much of it for his own good.

Unfortunately for Mikel, he is no Roy Keane yet and the outburst turned both players and fans against him.

His Lyn Oslo team-mates confronted him at their training ground and presumably Mikle learned a valuable and perhaps necessary, lesson in humility.

Striker Jan Sorenson said: “ He told us he did not talk anything about the players and the team and it was kind of accepted. We have treated him well despite everything that happened.”

Tessem is still unsure what really went on with the article. He said: “It was serious newspaper and they don’t write bullshit stories, but Mikel is not normally like that. He is nice.”

The Nigerian international was not playing for the team at the time and has only featured for them twice since being to return to Norway at the beginning of September by FIFA. He had left the country with agent John Shittu apparently upset at being “forced” to sign for United, despite his obvious elation at the press conference to publicise the transfer.

But such is the animosity between Lyn Oslo and his representative, it was reported as a kidnapping.

Both sides agreed would only train with the club after that incident and he is biding his time until his expected departure in January.

Recognised but not harassed in Oslo, the midfielder is ferried to and from training in a chauffeur-driven black Mercedes while Lyn compete in a regional cup.

Shittu is a key influence on Mikel despite others, including Daniel Fletcher and Rune Hauge, once at the center of the George Graham bung scandal, laying their own claims to the midfielder.

Shittu is registered with FIFA in Nigeria, but in this case he is working for for the English company SEM, who are retained by Chelsea to find African players.

Other key figures cranking up the pressure on Mikel include Lyn Oslo’s Managing Director Morgan Andersen, who works from very modest offices at the Ullevaal Stadium and has been at the center of most of the disputes.

Sir Alex Ferguson has even flown over to help push through the deal, which is worth more than £4Million to the Norwegian club.

His former player at United, Henning Berg, is Lyn Oslo’s coach
He said: “ It has been a difficult time for Mikel, a tough situation to handle.

“So much has been said about it asnd that is not good for the club or anyone else involved. Hopefully, he will find a solution he is happy with.”

As long as it is away from Oslo and he can play football again, Mikel has every chance.
Erik G
Sir Alex's former player " Henning Berg" is the head coach at Lyn. Interesting
http://nigeriamasterweb.com/paperfrmes.html

Keshi said that before the team arrived South Africa that he told skipper Joseph Yobo that the Eagles were going to win the Cup but the former Everton defender did not believe.
erikga

Post by erikga »

CMS wrote:
Sir Alex's former player " Henning Berg" is the head coach at Lyn. Interesting
Yes he is. Why is that so interesting?

Erik G
monkeypost

Post by monkeypost »

This boy is among wolves, I pray FIFA comes to a verdict quickly a Nigerian kid doesn't open his mouth and accuse people of jealousy that readily, if that newspaper is correct then he must have seen and heard a lot to draw that conclusion his talent is not for the Norwegian league i can understand the envy.
If you give me Cole and I give you Gallas, surely, SURELY, you owe me money? waka man on the Cole Gallas transfer saga

Until this kid starts playing some competitive ball games, I can honestly say I am sick and tired of hearing about him.

He should quit this ish already and start playing some footie. :roll:

theYemster wrote:Until this kid starts playing some competitive ball games, I can honestly say I am sick and tired of hearing about him.

He should quit this ish already and start playing some footie. :roll:
This must be a first, we actually agree on something! This kid is getting frustrating, I was so tempted to delete all the U-20 games from my dvr, but I just watched the first half of the Argentine game and I couldnt do it!
FrostyZ

Post by FrostyZ »

monkeypost wrote:This boy is among wolves, I pray FIFA comes to a verdict quickly a Nigerian kid doesn't open his mouth and accuse people of jealousy that readily, if that newspaper is correct then he must have seen and heard a lot to draw that conclusion his talent is not for the Norwegian league i can understand the envy.
Couldn't agree more. Every delay in the FIFA ruling is hurting Obi's career.
Also as you say: His talent is not for the Norwegian League.

About jealousy: I'm not convinced that anyone is jealous of him. I would be terrified by being in the middle of this trasfer mess.
Why you?
CMS

Post by CMS »

Football Manager wrote:
Ziontrain wrote:Jesus, man if you need a propaganda outlet, at least go and set up your own website instead of using CE.

You came here and yabbed for ages about "he is going to Chelsea", now the hammer is about to fall - and you are exposed - and you are setting it up as "well they are trying to conving him"!

Really, enough of this crap.
You are a REAL case! I dont have time to check your past responses on this issue to know if you were one of those who said a decision is coming out later this October 2005. If this might help you NO DECISION WILL BE MADE OCTOBER 2005. Why I am NOT the DRC my understanding of the event based on the extension would mean that a decision is not expected for another few weeks or perhaps early next year.
Hmnnnn!!!!

Keshi said that before the team arrived South Africa that he told skipper Joseph Yobo that the Eagles were going to win the Cup but the former Everton defender did not believe.
jdizzy

Post by jdizzy »

CMS...fuuk outta here :) :!:
What's with your digging up all these threads:?
Niente Ÿ impossibile!
CMS

Post by CMS »

jdizzy wrote:CMS...fuuk outta here :) :!:
What's with your digging up all these threads:?
Just in case some of una must have forgotten. You see how every one dey shrine the boy lately? :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: Dem been dey hia dey yab the boy the left and right..

Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

Erik G
Thanks CMS for this one.

It is interesting that Oga Ferguson was trying to play Mikel in the DM position or something similar.

Does anyone else find this interesting? Lets discuss....
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif

Fegwu wrote:

Erik G
Thanks CMS for this one.

It is interesting that Oga Ferguson was trying to play Mikel in the DM position or something similar.

Hmmmm, guess its not only JM that saw the DM in Obi....Ayo, over to you, would it have been different at Manure?
Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

Fegwu wrote:

Erik G
Thanks CMS for this one.

Hmmmm, guess its not only JM that saw the DM in Obi....Ayo, over to you, would it have been different at Manure?
Oga TXJ and Oga Ayo Akife & company have to see this. Of course there is reason to their school of thought, it is important to understand and appreciate what Mourinho is doing now and what Sir Alex would have likely wanted to have him do for ManU.

It is okay for a player to have multiple skill set. His teams benefit the most because with the ugly FIFA rule of 3 subs max per game, it gives coaches the flexibility of changing using multi task-able players to cover for shortcomings.

See Essien. See Yobo. See Eto'o. See Pirlo. See Wayne Bridge. See Paul Scholes. See Seerdof.
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif
erikga

Post by erikga »

Just to clarify - Mikel did not have a single defensive bone in his body when he played for Lyn. He was always going for the glory of being the offensive midfielder, without having to trundle back to do the mundane task of defending.

But I am very impressed with his "growing up" lately. He has grown as a player and seems to have shred the bad attitude that pagued hin at Lyn and in his first period at Chelsea.

Maybe we will finally see the world class player that was always there, but hid under the (advisor-fueled) arrogance of youth.

Erik G