Sharks ban dwarfs from screening.

ikwerreman
Sharks ban dwarfs from screening.

Post by ikwerreman »

Well, this one is a laff for me.
Saw it on the new age newspaper web site and i can stop laughing.
I'll call Sharks to find out how true this is

http://www.newage-online.com/sports/article01

The coaches of Sharks FC of Port-harcourt has asked any player less than 5 feet 10 inches to steer clear of its screening process as the team intends to muscle its way back to the Globacom premier league competition next season.

Disclosing this to NewAgeSports in Benin on Saturday, Sharks’ assistant coach Solomon Ogbiede stated that the technical crew has resolved to recruit talented, young and fit players, adding that they were not prepared to recruit weary players to prosecute the team’s pro-league division matches.

According to Ogbiede: “ It is operation no mercy and that includes fielding players whose physique would scare the opposition as they file out before showing them the stuff they are made of when the matches begin.

“ We will stop at nothing in returning to the elite division hence we have kept our recruitment under wraps. But I can assure you that we would go for the best players who would be prepared to fight for honours and not those who would be heady,’’ Ogbiede said.

Interestingly, Governor Peter Odili had announced the sum of N300 million life-line for the club to prosecute their 2003/2004 football season.
Talk IT

Post by Talk IT »

No let them sack me for work oh
If there were no God, I would not be alive.
And if God is not good, I would have been dead.

I don laff tire, dem for come underbridge come pack boys mek dem use muscles enta NPL

Apparently, Sharks have adopted the Ayoakinfe philosophy regarding hieght and ability. Unfortunately, they will miss out on the Obafemi Martins, Celestine Babayaros and Chris Obodos of this world.
Cross

Post by Cross »

....and they could miss a MARADONA too if one shows up for screening.
Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

If not for the comic quality of this ostensibly serious exercise it would be the most desperate initiative taken in pursuance of a footballing agenda.
:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D I don laugh tire.

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]
Football Manager

Post by Football Manager »

Gotti wrote:Apparently, Sharks have adopted the Ayoakinfe philosophy regarding hieght and ability. Unfortunately, they will miss out on the Obafemi Martins, Celestine Babayaros and Chris Obodos of this world.
Gotti,
I don't think they are totally against people below that height. The reporter may have quoted it out of contest. Football is following a pattern statistically just like 'current Basketball players' and the height issue should have been silent in that communication.

:evil: :evil: :evil: Grrrrrr...I dont make the cut by an inch! All this after shaving , having a fresh haircut and cutting my age by 10 years!

sunshinestar

Post by sunshinestar »

How tall were Maradona,Olat Thon and Giresse :?:

Okocha wouldnt even make it at Sharks damn!

Oh so Okocha, Oruma, Ikedia, Amunike, Maradona, Martins, Makelele, Di Canio, Esien, and lots more will not make that rubish sharks team. Idiots all of them! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
"Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least, the tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds." - Kaduna Nzeogwu

Nkume wrote:Oh so Okocha, Oruma, Ikedia, Amunike, Maradona, Martins, Makelele, Di Canio, Esien, and lots more will not make that rubish sharks team. Idiots all of them! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Abeg no curse sharks like that,na my home team.When dem dey messure height make some guys wear high heels with long trousiers :lol: :lol:

Well make dem cross over to Cameroon, I bet dem have enuff panel beaters and pipul way dey carry hand lift Volvo engine for dat side...

Btw isn't Cameroon jus a days trek across Okwangwo forest?

calli65

Post by calli65 »

cellular, yo go kill me with laff
geminikoat

Post by geminikoat »

Is this a joke? If true, it is discrimination against all little people 5'9 and down; Ogbunigwe make u nor vex! :D :D
...but with God all things are possible...
SUYA

Post by SUYA »

Kai the Ikpebas and Pa J's of this world don suffa. :mrgreen:
Kneedeep
This is all Enyimba's fault

Post by Kneedeep »

Since they have won with "Akpu" soccer, Sharks are following suit.

They want to adopt the physical approach of play. well, good luck to them :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Btw, this is a team coached by someone many folks adored on this board Shuaib Amodu
I beg IKwe...help us find out what Amodu's take is on this decision...
NEDI

Post by NEDI »

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote::evil: :evil: :evil: Grrrrrr...I dont make the cut by an inch! All this after shaving , having a fresh haircut and cutting my age by 10 years!
Why you come set yaself up like this? You wey no take anything pass MALTEX bottle de claim not making the cut by an inch, you de tok like say I never meet you before. An inch ko, Try a whole foot! :D
ruff'n'tuff

Post by ruff'n'tuff »

na him be say people like John Apollo, Million Nicholas,Dombraye,Orufe,
Okubo Abeki,Iwarimie Diri and co. for no make the Sharks team of old.
who no know go know.
ikwerreman

Post by ikwerreman »

Yes, very hilarious.
Tried to contact Amodu but it seems like he is out of service area.
the christmas break and all.
I talked to the club's media officer and he laughed it off.
I'll try to get Solomon Ogbeide, the man who allegedly made those comments.
ikwerreman

Post by ikwerreman »

Just spoke with Coach Solomon Ogbeide.
He is still partly laughing and angry over the report.
He is luaghing because it is funny to judge players on the issue of height.
We even shared the Okocha joke that Jay Jay will not qualify to be a Sharks player as far as 2004 is concerned.
Then he is angry that, "A senior reporter like Ade Ojeikere just Fabricated that story. Did he talk to me? Where did he get that idea from. He is even my brother but does that mean he should just put words into my mouth?"
Ogbeide said he is holidaying in Benin and has not spoken to any press man since he got there.
He wants every one to know that there is no such thing as that.