Oliseh now on BBC3 as guest on Tun vs Nig.

realplayer

Post by realplayer »

Oliseh made a lot of sense and the tactical play of Nigeria was as he described it.
CCC did well but the sending or of 3 players had actually cost us the game as Yakubu would have been more powerful than Osaze. If those chances had fallen to Utaka, I feel we should have won in extra time.
We will hear more from Osaze as he reminds me of how Utaka was in the last WC and now a very mature footballer.
I would not have put him forward for the penalty as he lacked the experience. He did very well and he was just unlucky as he put the ball where he had made his mind to put it despite the goal keepers knowing where he was going to put it.
Experienced players wait for the goal keeper to commit himself before sloting the ball comfortably. That was the edge Tunisia had over us.
Enyeama on the other hand made it easy for them as he behaved like a complete novice. He was placid and his anticipation was very poor !
Our penalties were better but our goalkeeper was just terrible as the Tunisian penalties were average.

Oliseh was very critical of our performance but it was intresting that he always used the word "we" when reffering to Nigeria. There was that sense of belonging which is good!
He praised the performance of the boys and he hoped for better things to come out of this tournament and asked for better preparations for the World Cup.

He never wished Nigeria bad but clearly said we needed to be much more professional in our approach to the game. This is very true and he proved this by talking about the penalty preparation and organization of the two teams. In his own opinion, the Tunisians were ready for the kicks while we started thinking about it when the time came.

We must learn from criticism and not get too hot headed because we hate someone.

Well done Super Eagles!

Well done CCC!

Next time we will win as this team is young and has al the potentials of greatness as long as we follow Oliseh's advice!!!
Talent can only blossom with hard work!
chopeski

Post by chopeski »

Right now we need to hasten invitations to Makinwa and Martins pronto!

JAg is old and wasted. Technically he is very poor and he seems to have lost a bit of his pace as well.
When they came for the communists, I was silent, because I was not a communist;
When they came for the socialists, I was silent, because I was not a socialist;
When they came for the trade unionists, I did not protest, because I was not a trade unionist;
When they came for the Jews, I did not protest, because I was not a Jew;
When they came for me, there was no one left to protest on my behalf."

Martin Niemoeller (1892-1984)

When will you guys understand that it is not about individual players, but the team.
If it was simply about players we would be celebrating a blow out...

chopeski wrote:Right now we need to hasten invitations to Makinwa and Martins pronto!

JAg is old and wasted. Technically he is very poor and he seems to have lost a bit of his pace as well.
Sir Vic

Post by Sir Vic »

cic old boy wrote:Oliseh is so articulate and intelligent. A contrast to the bumbling nonsense coming out of Keshi on BBC3.

He talked about how the Tunisians neutralised Okocha. He then said we didn't seem prepared for penalties, as we went round looking for who wanted to take them. The Tunisians already knew who their takers were.

He said we had a good team and that it may be good for our football that we didn't win this Cup. He suggested we should allow this team to develop and find a coach with the right pedigree to take them to the next level.
In other words ,Chukwu is not it.
Staff Sgt Cota VI

Post by Staff Sgt Cota VI »

txj wrote:When will you guys understand that it is not about individual players, but the team.
If it was simply about players we would be celebrating a blow out...

chopeski wrote:Right now we need to hasten invitations to Makinwa and Martins pronto!

TXJ, there is nothing wrong with saying CCC mus go!!!
Guv007

Post by Guv007 »

Ugbowo wrote:what else did he say? That old pale!
Also said we need a striker who could get us goals like Yekini, need to play more friendly so that the team plays with more understanding of each other, need to re build the team and have good organisation and preparation for tounaments. Our players are not being well trained in the local league and they all are moving abroad to get exposure to decent training and coaching.

Thats all l can remember.
King of the Abyss

Post by King of the Abyss »

Chopeski

Give it up, your friend Obafemi Martins will not smell the SE jersey at the next WC. Shebi he was not ready for the SE at this time, well the SE will not be ready for him come 2006.
"The youth of a nation must, out of relative obscurity, discover it's mission, fulfill it, or betray it." - Frantz Fanon

how is JAG old and wasted ? the guy is injured. haba.
toyin133

Post by toyin133 »

I hope the NFA can start to build bridges with guys like Oliseh and hopefully persuade him to stay in the Nigerian game.

BTW, the anchor after introducing him asked whether he had any plans to come out of international retirement and he said no. How this can be a source for criticism I don't know.
"I hear Glenn Hoddle has found God. That must have been one hell of a pass." Jasper Carrott
"Mind you, football is not really about winning, or goals, or saves or supporters. It's about glory. It's about doing things in style, doing them with a flourish. It's
about going out to beat the other lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom."
Danny Blanchflower