After JJ's penalty, Chukwu should have brought Ekong on

Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

Yujam

You need to stop confusing hype with reality. The hype that was created about Obodo was such that (having seen him play numerous times) he was not going to live up to that expectation, it happened in the ANC qualifying game. I will say it again: please leave players at the playing level they are in so that casual (and I mean casual) fans and officials will not be disappointed. The more you elevate them to what they are not the more damage is done to their career in the light of how fans see them. Please don't confuse ordinary fans be hyping players.
mastermind

Post by mastermind »

hector cuper defended 3-0 lead against arsenal for 45 minutes. those are the coach that knows how to win games, CCC took out lawal for ekueme, i know we wil blow it.
http://www.melangeGO.com/
A family oriented online fashion store. Offering high quality products at low cost.
DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

I wonder why Osaze played full time,he was completly out of form in the game ,I recognized that from the first minute,and what happened ,he missed the PS
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti

Naija 4 life!
bobbye

Post by bobbye »

Ayo I said it you were selectively quite after Cameroun's defeat by Nigeria. I Know the opportunity is one more time around your corner to talk endlessly about a good coach and a bad coach. Your hatred towards Chukwu knows no bounds. As far as I'm concerned he did a great job with NFA'S authorities gave to him.Chukwu should be walking around with his head high. He has contributed immensely to the growth of soccer in Nigeria both as a coach and a player.
DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

If Onigbinde had made the semi finals nobody would praise him therefore
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti

Naija 4 life!
Cyber Saint

Post by Cyber Saint »

1naija wrote:AYO, why don't you worry about how Robson is doing let those who don't have ulterior motives worry about the SE?
I am not in the mood to be wound up young man. You are very folish to start looking for a fight at a time when everybody is aggrieved as it could lead to very ugly scenes here.

Please grow up mister. You immaturity could wreck havoc on the forum. I suggest you go and be a good boy and read your books for the time being until most people get over this defeat as your infantile, childish, adolescent and juvenille stupidity is likely to cause problems.

1Naija, well said.

Ayo, whatever I can say about you, I must admit that you do provide very good comic relief. The only reason I read your threads is for the humor.
As concerns to your suggestion, all I'd say is that Talk is CHEAP. If wishes were horse, you'd coaching ManU.

DAgrin wrote:I wonder why Osaze played full time,he was completly out of form in the game ,I recognized that from the first minute,and what happened ,he missed the PS
Who did u want to replace him? Choose one Ekong, Enakhahire or Orjinta?

bobbye wrote:Ayo I said it you were selectively quite after Cameroun's defeat by Nigeria. I Know the opportunity is one more time around your corner to talk endlessly about a good coach and a bad coach. Your hatred towards Chukwu knows no bounds. As far as I'm concerned he did a great job with NFA'S authorities gave to him.Chukwu should be walking around with his head high. He has contributed immensely to the growth of soccer in Nigeria both as a coach and a player.
I agree with you that Chukwu has done his best, however, we need to move on. Do you really think that Chukwu can take the team any higher?

I do not hate Chukwu and would give him credit for what he has done but evben you must admit his limitations. Can you imagine Roger Lemerre having a month with the Eagles in Faro? He would have developed a unique playing style and when the big boys arrived, they would just have slotted into the team and taken over from where the home based boys left off.

When is the last time a Nigerian coach had a month's camping with the team? Be honest here, Chukwu has gone as far as he can and if you want progress, you need a bit more from the coach.

Ayo,I agree with your observation.We needed to hold our lead,and Ikedia justified that approach with his exertions in the last minutes of regulation and in extra time.The game was lost in the midfield.Utaka as a point-man would have been adequate to get a counter-attack goal.
Also,I knew Enyeama was not a great penalty stopper.Considering we had only used two subs,Etafia should have been warming up since after the regulation and should have been introduced with about two minutes left for the specialist job.Penalty stopping is a unique skill among goalkeepers.He probably would have stopped a couple of the Tunisian kicks kicks based on his penalty records.

Oguleftie wrote:Enugu II

Cameroon has better players than naija on the average even though we have two or three players better than any of their players: they also have more plyers playing with non relegation teams in the top european leagues, England, Spain, Germany. Also Morocco will share the same average with us with an edge in defense, don't forget that Naybet is ranked one of the best defenders in Spain. And Senegal is even close, and now has more players in top non-relegation teams than us.

Oguleftie:

Thanks for being the first TO STEP up and produce a semblance of data justification on the issue of talent level. However, it may be necessary to name names or present numbers. Thanks. Those who claim Nigeria has more talent, we wait to read from you.

obong itatex wrote:Ayo,I agree with your observation.We needed to hold our lead,and Ikedia justified that approach with his exertions in the last minutes of regulation and in extra time.The game was lost in the midfield.Utaka as a point-man would have been adequate to get a counter-attack goal.
Also,I knew Enyeama was not a great penalty stopper.Considering we had only used two subs,Etafia should have been warming up since after the regulation and should have been introduced with about two minutes left for the specialist job.Penalty stopping is a unique skill among goalkeepers.He probably would have stopped a couple of the Tunisian kicks kicks based on his penalty records.
Just tha fact alone that we had the nerve to change the goalkeeper, would have unnerved them, but there is no point getting ur mouth watery over food u aint gonna eat
mlkama

Post by mlkama »

Ohsee, Ogbunigwe,

I am not the one saying it. Infact, I can't help thinking that the SE were emotionally and psychologically drained after all the excitement of beating Cameroon, and it ultimately cost them the game against otherwise little Tunisia whom they would normally have beaten.

Oguleftie wrote:Enugu II

Cameroon has better players than naija on the average even though we have two or three players better than any of their players: they also have more plyers playing with non relegation teams in the top european leagues, England, Spain, Germany. Also Morocco will share the same average with us with an edge in defense, don't forget that Naybet is ranked one of the best defenders in Spain. And Senegal is even close, and now has more players in top non-relegation teams than us.
Waffiman wrote: PS: Milla couldn't hold a candle to Manga Onguene or Theophile "Docteur" Abega .
Pemba

Post by Pemba »

Ayo,

If there was anyone who should have been substituted on the field yesterday, it was your boy Seyi Olofinjana. Because up till the Okocha penalty he was a big liability in the middle making mistimed tackles, bumbling passes and crossing the ball to the Tunisians instead of to Osaze.

But Lawal's weakness on the left posed a more immediate threat because the Tunisians kept beating him and Udeze had to time and again smash the ball out of play to prevent the inevitable crosses. That was a GOOD SUBSTITUTION and made a lot of sense.

The next substitution could have been Olofinjana who you could see was just occupying space in the middle. CCC should have replaced him with Ekong maybe or put Orjinta at the back and switched up Udeze into the middle.

But that would have been a defensive move when the Tunisian penalty called for an offensive substitution. Now offensively who do you remove? Is it Osaze who scored 2 goals and who we had nobody on the bench to replace (assuming JAG was injured)? Is it Utaka who scored the winner against Cameroon? Is it Okocha who is your playmaker? The man went with the weakest attacking option by replacing Kanu and that was the RIGHT call because the whole idea was to catch Tunisia on the break and for that strategy you need FAST players like Ikedia, osaze and Utaka.

CCC made all the right calls yesterday and we were unlucky because we had several clear shots on goal and one which rebounded off the goalie which we should have finished off.
sarkin doya

Post by sarkin doya »

While I don't 100% agree with Kali's analysis I like it better
than Ayo's analysis and I think it better matches reality.

Also, regarding the idea of putting in Etafia when there
were 5mins left in extra time that's a though that crossed many of
our minds. However, at the same time, regardless of
how good a shot stopper a goalie may be, do you
include him 5mins to the end of a crucial game?
He may not be mentally in the game. I think it is a
difficult call either way and there is no guarantee that
an Etafia substitution would have saved the day.

In the end, all of this is conjecture anyway and we
should not take ourselves too seriously :)