Martins REPLACEMENTS - Evaluate Them Yourself

General Trousers
Martins REPLACEMENTS - Evaluate Them Yourself

Post by General Trousers »

Ok I guess the ANC would be a place to feature one new JJC Eagle, and Martins was going to be it. Since he says that he does not want to play the role I will hereby throw out a few names for the peanut gallery.

1. Sulieman Musa - A good player, a lefty, fast and aggresive. Technical as well, but SHORT. He won the CAF Cup with Raja.

2. Mohammed Aliyu Dati - Prodigy of the AC Milan system. After he was snuffed out for whatever reasons by Milan, he seems to have resusitated his career at Liege. He is a great talent and should fill the role well.

3. Isah Eliakwu - Since Martins is making yanga, take his teammate. Hey Obafemi!!! Goodbye!!! They say this guy is better than you anyway.

4. Benjamin Onwuachi - So Isah says he isn't coming, we drive down to Turin and ask Benjy if im wan play set. The word is that this kid is as good as the other two ...

5. Stephen Ayodele Makinwa - A player as deserving as any of the others. He plays for Como, he's got some size, which would be needed against all those Cameroonians.

6. Eric Obinna - Very outside chance, but the guy is HUNGRY and Arsenal could not sign him because he needed some caps, so here is a chance for the guy if he gets a last minute call. Besides Republic of Benin wanted to sign him, on account that he spoke French.

7. Anthony Evi Parker - 17 Year old kid in Malta ... the kid is good and could be another Benny McCarthy ... he is talented.

8. Alfred Omoefe - Suspended by Grasshoppers so he is free anyway!!!
Last edited by General Trousers on Fri Jan 02, 2004 10:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
Talk IT

Post by Talk IT »

Martins said he will be there so....
Last edited by Talk IT on Fri Jan 02, 2004 12:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
chopeski

Post by chopeski »

GT:

Are you saying we should take players who have not even signed a professional contract yet? a la Benjamin and Eliakwu!

Even the others like Makinwa have not done anything to warrant a call up in my opinion. Or is that we have lowered the bar so much that anyone who plays pro football in Europe irrespective of division is due a call up? Whatever happened to merit!

Martins I believe should turn up as has earned the right to play for the SE, however, if he insists on not turning up for the sole reason of believing he isn’t ready for the challenge yet, then we should commend him. I will rather a player is ready both physically and mentally than use a youth team player who will be found wanting on both measures.
When they came for the communists, I was silent, because I was not a communist;
When they came for the socialists, I was silent, because I was not a socialist;
When they came for the trade unionists, I did not protest, because I was not a trade unionist;
When they came for the Jews, I did not protest, because I was not a Jew;
When they came for me, there was no one left to protest on my behalf."

Martin Niemoeller (1892-1984)
Larry Ashagbe

Post by Larry Ashagbe »

I don't think CCC will take any of these boys because it is too late for him to start making changes.
Eagle Winged

Post by Eagle Winged »

GT, how many of these players listed, are your clients? This thread is nonsense.
PaJimoh

Post by PaJimoh »

GT probably has an interst in the Malta dude :D :D

GT, you'll do well in th Glass House :D :D
Larry Ashagbe

Post by Larry Ashagbe »

General Trousers,

Thanks for bringing these boys to our attention.
azuka

Post by azuka »

I will be surprised if AliyuMphammed does not make the 22 to Tunisia. There is something in that guy that AC Milan is holding on to. Even now, he is at Liege only on loan. Above all, he is one of the few SE players who are deadly on both feet.
Paveman

Post by Paveman »

I can assure you that GT does NOT have an interest in at least 2 of the players listed. As for the others, I cannot vouch for that BUT I will give him the benefit of the doubt. At any rate, he has always been crucial in pointing out new players.

Remember John Utaka?
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

CCC job is to develop a team based on friendly games and competitive matches, by now he should have tried and tested 5 strikers that he needs for the ANC final.

Martin hasn't played in any friendly or competitive match, so why is he being selected or even considered for selection, are we going to repeat the Ogbeche debacle.

Let take a leaf from the English build up to Europe 2004, Rooney has now feature in 4 friendly/competitive matches and develop an understanding with the senior players.

We have to stop this stupid FIRE BRIGADE approach and be more professional in our approach, only players that have been involved in the build up to the ANC 2004 final or the WC 2006 final should be selected. Then we would have a real TEAM of players

Mon Generale,

Of these players on your list I would only take Aliyu Mohammed Datti, whom Chukwu has already called up. As for the rest:

Musa Suleiman - Does not fit the bill since he plays a different position from Martins and we already have enough left wingers/attacking midfield types on the squad. I continue to love his talent, but he should be on the U-23 team for now.

Stephen Ayodele Makinwa - A striker with grande potential, but we already have enough strikers in camp. Belongs on the U-23 team and I am a bit miffed as to why he hasn't been snapped up by Musa Abdullahi up until now.

Isah Eliakwu - Not ready for Super Eagles.

Benjamin Onwuachi - Not ready for Super Eagles

Alfred Omoefe - Talented but undisciplined. I would stay away from him for now. Besides, if his ban is ever lifted, he is more urgently needed on the U-23 side.

Anthony Evi Parker - Not ready for Super Eagles. Should be evaluated on the Junior national teams first.

Eric Obinna - I know your a big fan of his, but I'm not sold on this player and there is nothing on his resume that suggests that he warrants a call up to the national team. I know the guy has talent, but talent alone doesn't cut, and Obinna needs to start delivering at club level.

Right now, the only players not in camp that I would have really liked to see in the mix are Murphy Akanji, Harrison Omokoh, Wilson Oruma, Azubuike Oliseh and Peter Ijeh. I understand Ijeh's exclusion and Azubuike perhaps hasn't made enough headlines to garner attention. But Akanji, Omokoh and Oruma should have been there.
Fourteen

Post by Fourteen »

WTF men! we need to get off this topic. Martins has never played for the super eagles and therefore warrants no replacement in the first instance.

Since he has not been used and therefore cannot be "replaced", this topic is mute and void.

I think the folowing are more realistic replacements:

Chukwudi Nworgu
Ekenne Ezenwa
Aliyu Mohammed
General Trousers

I think that the consensus is that Aliyu Mohammed will make a good Martins replacement ... Utaka is still doing a Nwankwo Kanu impersonation and needs to replicate his Ismaily form, but we are patient. Also including Eliakwu or Onwuachi as an EXPERIMENTAL player would be very fine by me (there is room for one).

I like the inputs. Thanks Mystic.

The u23 team are badly in need of these guys.
General Trousers

You know we scouted all the foriegn pros that the U-23's need ... all the likes of Kingsley of Beira Mar, Stefano Layeni the 6-4 GK who plays for Como ... I even spoke to Coach Musa ... NOT one has been capped. Even Eric Obinna, no mention ... I really wonder sometimes.

Yep, thats what happens when an FA lacks proper scouting networks
Eagle Winged

Post by Eagle Winged »

General Trousers wrote:You know we scouted all the foriegn pros that the U-23's need ... all the likes of Kingsley of Beira Mar, Stefano Layeni the 6-4 GK who plays for Como ... I even spoke to Coach Musa ... NOT one has been capped. Even Eric Obinna, no mention ... I really wonder sometimes.
If he capped foreign based players, he'd surely have colo mentality? :mrgreen:
General Trousers

Well I give Musa the benefit of the doubt. Our issue has always been that there are some good talented pros and reserve teamers and that they are at least worth a look in his Bauchi based camp.

[color=brown]Eagle Winged[/color] wrote:
[color=brown]General Trousers[/color] wrote:You know we scouted all the foriegn pros that the U-23's need ... all the likes of Kingsley of Beira Mar, Stefano Layeni the 6-4 GK who plays for Como ... I even spoke to Coach Musa ... NOT one has been capped. Even Eric Obinna, no mention ... I really wonder sometimes.
If he capped foreign based players, he'd surely have colo mentality? :mrgreen:
That's funny :lol:.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

lagos777

Post by lagos777 »

If Naija be country that has a long term plan , Benjamin should be going to the ANC . B4 the Martins shenanigans by 5 strikers would have been
Martins
JAG
YAK
Benjamin
Uttaka
Mike Ditka quote :
"I didn't say it in those general terms but I said it like that".
General Trousers

Chukwu say im no know say some of the players dey clubless, well me sef I dey go Faro to try out ...

Eagle Winged wrote:
General Trousers wrote:You know we scouted all the foriegn pros that the U-23's need ... all the likes of Kingsley of Beira Mar, Stefano Layeni the 6-4 GK who plays for Como ... I even spoke to Coach Musa ... NOT one has been capped. Even Eric Obinna, no mention ... I really wonder sometimes.
If he capped foreign based players, he'd surely have colo mentality?
EW (& IAG):
Yes, if anyone caps players simply because they are "foreign-based", then that is proper colo-mentality.