Nigeria should hire Lemerre what do you think?

Naijaroo
Nigeria should hire Lemerre what do you think?

Post by Naijaroo »

The Tunisian coach seems to have brought the best out of his players from relative obscurity to African champions. Perhaps we should consider hiring the guy to work with his African cup of nations opponent Chuckwu. It would be interesting for them both to discuss tactics and what he percieved to be The super eagles weaknesses.
Mudi E
Lamerre

Post by Mudi E »

He's already under contract with Tunisia. There is no way they will let him go right after he has just won African championship under him. They look to build toward 2006 as well under Lamerre.
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions
Egunje
Re: Lamerre

Post by Egunje »

Mudi E wrote:He's already under contract with Tunisia. There is no way they will let him go right after he has just won African championship under him. They look to build toward 2006 as well under Lamerre.

His contract expires soon...whether he renews or not depends if he gets a better offer or a more challenging option like the opportunity to coach the talented super duper eagles :D .
VINDAVE

Post by VINDAVE »

Lamerre lacks idea when the time is tough, it is quite obviouse with the way his starful France squad loss against Senegal in the WC, even it took the Tunisian crowd to win the nations cup for him and could not defeat Super Eagles if not for the inevitable penalty which many believe is a game of luck.
ogiso

Post by ogiso »

And why don't we go for every coach that wins something while we're at it? Let's develop with what we have instead of knee-jerking all the time. It's about time we start learning from our past mistakes.
VINDAVE

Post by VINDAVE »

ogiso wrote:And why don't we go for every coach that wins something while we're at it? Let's develop with what we have instead of knee-jerking all the time. It's about time we start learning from our past mistakes.
God bless you jor!

i just feel we need a more competent coach than CCC

VINDAVE wrote:Lamerre lacks idea when the time is tough, it is quite obviouse with the way his starful France squad loss against Senegal in the WC, even it took the Tunisian crowd to win the nations cup for him and could not defeat Super Eagles if not for the inevitable penalty which many believe is a game of luck.
Apparently this dude can only win when his team plays at home..
Let's bid to host the WC , then hire him
Egunje

Post by Egunje »

Dodo wrote:i just feel we need a more competent coach than CCC

I feel the same.
Egunje

Post by Egunje »

nanijoe wrote:
VINDAVE wrote:Lamerre lacks idea when the time is tough, it is quite obviouse with the way his starful France squad loss against Senegal in the WC, even it took the Tunisian crowd to win the nations cup for him and could not defeat Super Eagles if not for the inevitable penalty which many believe is a game of luck.
Apparently this dude can only win when his team plays at home..
Let's bid to host the WC , then hire him

Oh yeah....We can give it a trial.
Last edited by Egunje on Tue Feb 17, 2004 9:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
Eagle Winged

Post by Eagle Winged »

And what baloney excuses are you willing to generate to explain why he won Euro 2000?

Eagle Winged wrote:
And what baloney excuses are you willing to generate to explain why he won Euro 2000?
Umm..it was individual talent and determination on the part of the players :)

Eagle Winged wrote:
Ol Boy, I wonder ohhh :roll:

living

Post by living »

i'll prefer Guus Hiddink or Gullit to Lemerre,anyday
Things might come to those who wait but only those things left behind by those who hustle-Abraham Lincoln
superwinger
Re: Nigeria should hire Lemerre what do you think?

Post by superwinger »

Naijaroo wrote:The Tunisian coach seems to have brought the best out of his players from relative obscurity to African champions. Perhaps we should consider hiring the guy to work with his African cup of nations opponent Chuckwu. It would be interesting for them both to discuss tactics and what he percieved to be The super eagles weaknesses.
What makes you think he is capable of succeeding with Nigeria when he did worse than Onigbide's inexperienced SE at the last WC. A team comprising of Henry, Zidane, Trezegue, Pires, Thuram, Wiltord, Bartez, etc amd could not even muster a single goal. Yet you think he is good enough for the SE. I wonder what Pa Oni would have achieved if he had coached Tunisia!

It is so funny how FCs that fail miserably with all the resources, training and money provided are rewarded and given second and third chances by other teams to come good. Oni was only given one opportunity and was written off. Talk about double standards.
kash n' karry

Post by kash n' karry »

I think Metsu is more proven but lemerre might be cheaper sha!

LET'S EXAMINE SOME CLAIMS HERE

The Tunisian coach seems to have brought the best out of his players from relative obscurity to African champions.
True, true, Tunisia was an obscure country in football. Somebody remind me: how many times have they made the WC? And how many times has Nigeria?

Perhaps we should consider hiring the guy to work with his African cup of nations opponent Chuckwu. It would be interesting for them both to discuss tactics and what he percieved to be The super eagles weaknesses.
Sometimes I wish you guys would make it clear what you really want. If C3 is bad as the gendarmes claim, how come they want Lemerre to work with him?