Is Glen Hoddle the new Super Eagles Technical adviser?

La Reussi
Is Glen Hoddle the new Super Eagles Technical adviser?

Post by La Reussi »

Reports on sky news this morning suggests that the NFA is trying to beat Southampton to the signature of former England and Totthenham Manager, Glen Hoddle.

Larry,Ayo,Waffiman,Sir V, NFA chairman,Oloye,Gotti et al, can you confirm this?

La Reussi
In all things and every situation, give thanks to God.
ZeeNaija

Post by ZeeNaija »

Na lie ooo, bros....typical lie

The story has been carried on Sky's website too!
-------------

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/art ... 8&cpid=219

Super Eagles in for Hoddle

Thursday, 19 February 2004

by Steve Luckings

Nigeria are poised to swoop for Glenn Hoddle, scuppering Southampton's attempts to bring him back as manager.

Fellow Englishman Bryan Robson was close to being installed as Super Eagles coach prior to landing the Bradford City job and following their failure to secure the African Cup of Nations the Nigerian Football Association are targeting the former England boss to succeed Christian Chukwu.

Hoddle was sacked just a few games into the season by Spurs and speculation he is to return as Saints boss has been met with hostile reaction by the St Mary's faithful who have never forgiven him for leaving them in 2001 to take up the White Hart Lane hot seat and have threatened to boycott games if he does return.

That reaction has forced Southampton chairman Rupert Lowe to put plans to bring Hoddle back on hold and has given Nigeria a window of hope that they may be able to tempt the former Chelsea boss to a fresh challenge.

A Nigerian FA source confirmed that Hoddle was high on the wanted list: "We need a tactician who can mould the team into a cohesive unit, as we saw Roger Lemerre do with Tunisia.

"We are at the exploratory stage. Our next board meeting we will review the candidates."

Hoddle's main rival for the job is French coach Claude Leroy, but high ranking officials within the NFA such as chairman Ibrahim Galadima and sports minister Mohammed Musa are thought to be in favour of appointing Hoddle for the country's World Cup qualifying campaign.

The process of disgracing us has just started again. They have not learnt from the Robson debacle. We shall see. Me I dey siddon look mode.

Rumours have surfaced about an approach for Glenn Hoddle, under what capacity, im not sure. I assume it will be a lucrative deal, though a respected figure in football, is it what we need?

Hoddle will need his backing staff, you cannot take the man without the dog, will he be expected to perform as the lone majician or will the FA accept his demands?

The problem with Nigeria is their continous failure to recognise the problem, one man cannot compensate for the errors of many. The NFA must be replaced first, before the manager, they have gambled with the future of nigerian football, lost, and in doing-so, taken us backwards. Its time to pull the curtain down on this circus, and banish the clowns.

Coach wrote:Rumours have surfaced about an approach for Glenn Hoddle, under what capacity, im not sure. I assume it will be a lucrative deal, though a respected figure in football, is it what we need?

Hoddle will need his backing staff, you cannot take the man without the dog, will he be expected to perform as the lone majician or will the FA accept his demands?

The problem with Nigeria is their continous failure to recognise the problem, one man cannot compensate for the errors of many. The NFA must be replaced first, before the manager, they have gambled with the future of nigerian football, lost, and in doing-so, taken us backwards. Its time to pull the curtain down on this circus, and banish the clowns.
You are right in that the rot is widespread. However, having a manager at least represents some small steps towards mending things. Hoddle needs a proactive NFA, good backroom staff, funds to prosecute friendlies, a coherent two year programme and a host of other things.

One good thing that may come of this is that it will at least galvanise them players and create a wave of enthusiasm among them. Westerhoff had all the problems we have today but somehow got round it all. For now, we have to start with a strong manager and try to improve from there.

Surely we are on our way towards another public humiliation. The President who determines the overall budget for the Sports Ministry has already stated his lack of support for a FC, but the NFA are still carrying on with "exploratory" talks. Given that the likelihood that final approval will not be granted, surely we must then conclude that "exploratory" talks is another means of siphoning out money from NFA's coffers. Especially when "exploratory" talks involve NFA officials travelling to England and incurring estacode etc.

Some people just never learn..
RudeBoy

Post by RudeBoy »

A Nigerian FA source confirmed that Hoddle was high on the wanted list

Ayo Akinfe in action!!!!

Goldleaf wrote:Surely we are on our way towards another public humiliation. The President who determines the overall budget for the Sports Ministry has already stated his lack of support for a FC, but the NFA are still carrying on with "exploratory" talks. Given that the likelihood that final approval will not be granted, surely we must then conclude that "exploratory" talks is another means of siphoning out money from NFA's coffers. Especially when "exploratory" talks involve NFA officials travelling to England and incurring estacode etc.

Some people just never learn..
I would not read too much into OBJ's off the cuff remarks. He just got carried away at that dinner.

When OBJ makes all these speeches about how glorous and wonderful Nigerians are, he regularly goofs big time. There certainly has been no official directive to the ministry or NFA telling them not to hire a foreign coach.

With regards to recruiting a coach, if the NFA can get private sponsors to foot the bill, no one will mind. The ball is now in Ogunjobi's court!

RudeBoy wrote:
A Nigerian FA source confirmed that Hoddle was high on the wanted list

Ayo Akinfe in action!!!!
You dey craze o RB! Na which day me become NFA source? Abi I dey work for Glass House? Yeye man.

Any foreign coach appointed, will be like a stranger in moscow-unable to communicate with those around him, because they do not speak the same language.

Hoddle is a footballer, he knows football, tell me what have Mohammed Musa and Galadima achieved in the sport.What contributions have they made, and what have they to give. Anyone stepping into this job, will recognise the mountain of a task ahead of them, which is addressed as a mole hill by the NFA. Whoever it is, will need time and effort, the NFA have spent years digging a chasm, in which they have tossed the hopes and future of nigerian football. We need to crawl out of this decline, it will take all peoples pulling in the right direction. The NFA are in effect dead weight, making the task harder for those burdened by it.

Before the gold, comes the labour. We need to wash away the stains of our past, sweep up the ruin and rebuild, using the specifications and intentions of an ambitious governing body, and a well-supported managing staff. The problem is, we continue to bring new faces in, expecting them to complete a job, which their predecessors failed, but in the process of their failure used up all the resources. Failure doesn't rest on the manager alone, but on all those involved, too many failures have gone unpunished. Its time a new objective be established, one agreed upon by all peoples involved, so that the right environment is created for all persons to express themselves. You cannot judge a managers ability if his FA is useless, and he must work ontop of the rubble left by previous attempts.

'A mechanics ability cannot be decided if he fails to fix a car that cannot be fixed, rather if can find the fault in a broken car and get it moving'.

Untill the governing body is replaced, redesigned and restructured, all new appointments will be working in conditions unsuitable for work. And so, the decline will continue. Progress is a slow process, speeded by knowledge and efficiency, and slowed by incompetence and inexperience.

Coach wrote:Any foreign coach appointed, will be like a stranger in moscow-unable to communicate with those around him, because they do not speak the same language.

Hoddle is a footballer, he knows football, tell me what have Mohammed Musa and Galadima achieved in the sport.What contributions have they made, and what have they to give. Anyone stepping into this job, will recognise the mountain of a task ahead of them, which is addressed as a mole hill by the NFA. Whoever it is, will need time and effort, the NFA have spent years digging a chasm, in which they have tossed the hopes and future of nigerian football. We need to crawl out of this decline, it will take all peoples pulling in the right direction. The NFA are in effect dead weight, making the task harder for those burdened by it.

Before the gold, comes the labour. We need to wash away the stains of our past, sweep up the ruin and rebuild, using the specifications and intentions of an ambitious governing body, and a well-supported managing staff. The problem is, we continue to bring new faces in, expecting them to complete a job, which their predecessors failed, but in the process of their failure used up all the resources. Failure doesn't rest on the manager alone, but on all those involved, too many failures have gone unpunished. Its time a new objective be established, one agreed upon by all peoples involved, so that the right environment is created for all persons to express themselves. You cannot judge a managers ability if his FA is useless, and he must work ontop of the rubble left by previous attempts.

'A mechanics ability cannot be decided if he fails to fix a car that cannot be fixed, rather if can find the fault in a broken car and get it moving'.

Untill the governing body is replaced, redesigned and restructured, all new appointments will be working in conditions unsuitable for work. And so, the decline will continue. Progress is a slow process, speeded by knowledge and efficiency, and slowed by incompetence and inexperience.
All that is not going to happen overnight. Good vision but the fact is we have to start from somewhere and the apointment of a technically competent coach is a step in the right direction.

The house must be built before we move people in. Otherwise, we are cheating ourselves of stability. A house built from sand, will wash away when it rains.

The body as well as the face of nigerian football must be evaluated, and shoulder the blame. We must set our agenda, see a future beyond tomorrow. Hoddle's appointment is like water for wine, at some point in time, we'll realise its not what we wanted. The problem cannot be covered with a bandage and expected to heal, the wound is open for all to see, let us see it, and treat it once and for all. It will take time, effort, blood, sweat and tears, but the prospect of a consistently fruitful Nigerian side, and a productive domestic league, should be wind in our sails.

Coach wrote:The house must be built before we move people in. Otherwise, we are cheating ourselves of stability. A house built from sand, will wash away when it rains.

The body as well as the face of nigerian football must be evaluated, and shoulder the blame. We must set our agenda, see a future beyond tomorrow. Hoddle's appointment is like water for wine, at some point in time, we'll realise its not what we wanted. The problem cannot be covered with a bandage and expected to heal, the wound is open for all to see, let us see it, and treat it once and for all. It will take time, effort, blood, sweat and tears, but the prospect of a consistently fruitful Nigerian side, and a productive domestic league, should be wind in our sails.
If I get you right, we should wait until our football is in the same state as Ghana's before we do anything.

Shownoja wrote:The process of disgracing us has just started again. They have not learnt from the Robson debacle. We shall see. Me I dey siddon look mode.
Na true you talk. however, I just hope they pull this one off and do not disgrace us again. Having said that, the sight of Zairi running our non-existent defence and midfield around was pretty embarassing too!

Ayo Akinfe,

But everywhere Hoddle goes, he takes John Gorman with him. Swindon, Chelsea, England, Southampton, Tottenham. Does that mean we will have the potbelly moustache on our bench too? Na who go pay am? Glenn is known for ignoring players for months not even answering to good morning. Ask Gazza, Beattie and Rebrov. This man is being outshone by David Pleat in White Hart Lane. So, wwhat good will he be for us? This na original colo mentality.

I beg, me I don tire.

To anyone who cares, Hoddle is jinxed O

Ziontrain

Post by Ziontrain »

Listen at least the guy is a credible coach aywhere, unlike that useless Bryan Robson
"Jose Mourinho favoured directness and used to throw Robert Huth or John Terry up front when Chelsea were chasing the game, a ploy associated with the industrial era of English football management."
- The Guardian UK, November 26, 2007

No, you have obviously got me wrong. The problem with Nigeria is not the players but the personnel, they are the ones who impart their belief into the team. A team that plays with a carefree, laxsidasical manner in a semi-final, epitomises the carefree, disorganised FA they precedes it.

Ok, lets get Hoddle in. He employs his ideas and beliefs, results dont go his way, he's sacked, who next? Tigana, who then has to make do with whats left behind, and in a sense has just as little space to exercise his knowledge as Hoddle, he gets the team playing his way, a few bad games, sacked. Next up, Bryan Robson, he finally manages to see eye to eye with the FA, has even less room to breath now, with all the ruin from past failures making him clostraphobic, still expectation sky high, he fails to deliver, sacked...Do you see the point?

The problem is not the man, but the people, their perrogative and their lack of understanding. In sacking a manager you are taking a step backwards before you take any forward. We cant keep making a mockery of nigerian football ,by playing managerial musical-chairs. Anyone who understood football, can see nigerias problems from a mile-off, lack of organisation upstairs, means that the instructions going downstairs will be just as haphazard. Experienced personnel, would be able to tell you where nigeria is going, when and how they are going to get there. The current authoritarians want us to run before we can walk, and anyone who applies common sense in the managerial position is fired. Common sense would state that one builds his house brick by brick, the NFA seem to think that in appointing a new manager, one will fall out of the sky. Look at how long it took Ferguson to steady the ship at Man Utd, and now, they are plain sailing in all competitions.

Unfortunately, the fate of nigerian football lies in the hands of those who have little understanding of the game, and never played it at a respectable level. If changes were made, and a respecteble FA set-up, it would further the appeal of nigerian football. Look at South Africa (widescale, beyond the ANC), they've had Bonfrere hanging around for ages, and their side has developed, their football has improved, and their reputation as a footballing nation has benefited, such that they are being considered candidates for hosting a world cup. So too, Morocco, Tunisia, what about Nigeria. Not even in the reckoning, their application to host the event is being laughed off, they cannot even organise their own teams affairs, let alone 64.

Why have we fallen so far behind other african nations in a footballing sense? To the rest of the world the 'super eagles' are more like 'pedantic penguins' unable to take flight. The most reputable players dont play at all or play with such little conviction, that their absence would be favourable. Do the players take the NFA serious, ask Babayaro and Aiyegbeni, as they strolled out of the hotels after curfew. The worse they could do was send them home, then come crawling back, begging for their return. When was the last time you heard of an english player breaking curfew during a tournament, or a turning down a recall. Player power is rife in nigeria, because they, the players, are the ones who've made the contributions to african football, the NFA are nobodies and unknown in the world of football.

Respect follows those respected. Respect in football is the reward for success. Once you have the respect of your professionals, your message transcends clearly, your rules are accepted, and your ambition shared. The manager and FA must share the same goal, to do so, they must understand football. Footballers understand football, I question the knowledge of Musa and Galadima, their reputations and influence on the world stage. Nigeria is a side that must be aiming to make an impact on a world stage, those with nothing to say will not be heard.

Goldleaf wrote:Ayo Akinfe,

But everywhere Hoddle goes, he takes John Gorman with him. Swindon, Chelsea, England, Southampton, Tottenham. Does that mean we will have the potbelly moustache on our bench too? Na who go pay am? Glenn is known for ignoring players for months not even answering to good morning. Ask Gazza, Beattie and Rebrov. This man is being outshone by David Pleat in White Hart Lane. So, wwhat good will he be for us? This na original colo mentality.

I beg, me I don tire.
John Gorman did not go with Hoddle to Chelsea. He took over from Hoddle as Swindon manager when Glenn went to Stamford Bridge.

By the way, if Glenn thinks Gorman ia a valuable addition to his backroom staff, why do you have a problem with it? Lastly, whatever you do, please do not disparage Hoddle's record. It is disgusting to do so.
Yettycom

Post by Yettycom »

Coach, abeg easy on the essay. we got ur point.

As 4 Hoodle, he might be a world class coach but i dont think he's the ingredient Nigeria soccer needs right now. English players can testify of his colo mentality i.e Euro 2000. hope we dont av another shakes or is it styles (i keep confusing those two) in d house.
God is good to me and all who love and follow him.. Amazingly, he's also loving to all those who dont know him. What a mighty God he is!
northAfrican

Post by northAfrican »

This I think is just Eurosport and BBC tapping into the rumor market and getting their feet wet in the sea of gossip that sells newpapers in Nigeria.

Shownoja wrote:The process of disgracing us has just started again. They have not learnt from the Robson debacle. We shall see. Me I dey siddon look mode.
What was it we learnt? Did i miss something?
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe