Who is Calvin Bassey? Everything you need to know about the new Nigeria invitee.

Who is Calvin Bassey? Everything you need to know about the new Nigeria invitee

He broke onto the scene at Rangers - here's your guide to the youngster who has been invited by Gernot Rohr
Calvin Bassey has become the newest player to be invited to the Nigeria senior national team, having made the cut for October’s 2022 Fifa World Cup qualifiers against the Central African Republic.

What qualities will he bring to Gernot Rohr’s Super Eagles team? Goal is on hand to tell you everything you need to know about the talented young defender.

In case you are unfamiliar with the 21-year-old and his style of play, Goal has come up with an extensive profile of a man who will be expected to make a big impact on the three-time African champions.

Who is Calvin Bassey?

Bassey is a professional footballer who represents Scottish Premiership giants Rangers.

Born in Aosta, Italy - the defender initially rose through the youth ranks at Leicester City before joining the Gers in 2020.

In his maiden season at the Ibrox Stadium, he made eight league appearances for Steven Gerrard’s men, while featuring in the Scottish Cup and League Cup respectively.

To cap a notable start to life in Scotland, Bassey featured in four Europa League matches, although, Rangers crashed out in the Round of 16.

In the 2021-22 campaign, he boasts six appearances across all competitions.

Before his Super Eagles invitation, he was also eligible to represent England and Italy at international level.

Which position does Calvin Bassey play?

Bassey is an adaptable defender and is capable of playing anywhere across the defensive line.

He is currently playing as a left-back at Rangers, but can also play as a centre back or as a defensive midfielder.

"He's a fantastic kid, a kid who wants to learn, who wants to grow and evolve with the team, we're really confident we can help polish him up and get him to become even better than he is,” Gerrard raves about him following his impactful contribution against Standard Liege last season.

"He's got really interesting attributes right now and he showed them on Thursday night, which was fantastic to see.

"He's in a good place and he's ready. That's the key thing.

"Calvin, every time he has been called upon since he walked in, he's been ready to produce. So he's in a good place."

So what sort of player is he exactly?

Bassey is a strong defender who is very good when it comes to aerial balls.

Blessed with a robust look, the 21-year-old is aggressive and on a good shift, he can cause restless moments for strikers.

Although he does not possess lightning speed, he occasionally assists the attack.

What is Calvin Bassey’s FIFA 22 rating and potential?

Bassey’s overall rating in FIFA 22 is 65, with a potential of 70.

He is a Standard silver card and has got a two-star skill moves rating. He prefers to shoot with his left foot and his work rate is medium.

His best stat is strength, which is 75, while he has 62 in dribbling, interception and a shot power of 45.

https://www.goal.com/en/news/who-is-cal ... 1vhk73dl7f
Re: Who is Calvin Bassey? Everything you need to know about the new Nigeria invitee.

I forgive Rohr because this is a defender - an area of weakness I have been really concerned about.
He can hardly be worse than Ajayi, Omeruo or Ozone and is probably on an upward curve.
He plays with the ageing Balogun and is probably learning from him.
So it might be a quiet introduction but also an early 'chess' move to secure his services a bit like they did with Okoye and maybe even what they've tried to do with Olise.
My take.
Re: Who is Calvin Bassey? Everything you need to know about the new Nigeria invitee.

smh, any oversea born player can walk in to the SE... this is what we are dealing with now... shebi unadey approve this current coach

Damunk wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 3:40 pm I forgive Rohr because this is a defender - an area of weakness I have been really concerned about.
He can hardly be worse than Ajayi, Omeruo or Ozone and is probably on an upward curve.
So it might be a quiet introduction but also an early 'chess' move to secure his services a bit like they did with Okoye and maybe even what they've tried to do with Olise.
My take.
Agree. He is young. Can play multiple positions. Nothing lost.

Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 4:13 pm smh, any oversea born player can walk in to the SE... this is what we are dealing with now... shebi unadey approve this current coach
More hey yous, we already have 3 LB (Colin, Zaidu and Aina) but he’s adding another hey you…

Another Youtube talent?
iworo wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 2:33 pm Who is Calvin Bassey? Everything you need to know about the new Nigeria invitee

maceo4 wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 4:43 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 4:13 pm smh, any oversea born player can walk in to the SE... this is what we are dealing with now... shebi unadey approve this current coach
More hey yous, we already have 3 LB (Colin, Zaidu and Aina) but he’s adding another hey you…
If you count Aina as a ‘left’ back, then you should count Bassey as a CD.
It was mentioned right there in the article, but you no gree see am. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

When I said there were 10 "Hey you" on the squad people thought I was joking! :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Aina is the main Right Back, as Tyrone Ebuehi seems unable to crack into the Venezia first 11 and was rightly left out of this squad.
Zaidu's confidence seems to be shot - hence his being dropped, unfortunately. The debacle that happened against Liverpool seemed to have made matters worse. That leaves us with only 1 Left Back of the 3 mentioned. Uzornwafor has no recent club performance to guage him and was rightly dropped.

Calvin has been performing well for Rangers, in the League and in Europe. He has made Steven Gerrard relegate the Croatian National Team left back, Borna Barišić, to the bench on several occasions this year. He is more than ready for international football and will give us some real good competition at that spot.
Glad he is a part of the SE plans and congrats to him. Its been a long, tough journey for him and his hard work and focus is being rewarded.
Damunk wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 6:39 pm
maceo4 wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 4:43 pm More hey yous, we already have 3 LB (Colin, Zaidu and Aina) but he’s adding another hey you…
It was mentioned right there in the article, but you no gree see am. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

That one nor be beans o.
At 21, he could be a gem about to blossom.
I hope he turns out to be well worth it.
Otitokoro wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 9:13 pm Aina is the main Right Back, as Tyrone Ebuehi seems unable to crack into the Venezia first 11 and was rightly left out of this squad.
Zaidu's confidence seems to be shot - hence his being dropped, unfortunately. The debacle that happened against Liverpool seemed to have made matters worse. That leaves us with only 1 Left Back of the 3 mentioned. Uzornwafor has no recent club performance to guage him and was rightly dropped.

Calvin has been performing well for Rangers, in the League and in Europe. He has made Steven Gerrard relegate the Croatian National Team left back, Borna Barišić, to the bench on several occasions this year. He is more than ready for international football and will give us some real good competition at that spot.
Glad he is a part of the SE plans and congrats to him. Its been a long, tough journey for him and his hard work and focus is being rewarded.
maceo4 wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 4:43 pm More hey yous, we already have 3 LB (Colin, Zaidu and Aina) but he’s adding another hey you…

1naija wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 4:45 pm Another Youtube talent?
iworo wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 2:33 pm Who is Calvin Bassey? Everything you need to know about the new Nigeria invitee

In literarily every shot, his first instinct is to run with the ball, which will leave him out of position if caught with the ball. Not the finished product IMHO, I would rather see a bit more composure and someone who spends more time reading and anticipating the play. Definitely one for the future. The jury is still out on whether to blood him now.

Video was compiled in June 2020.
Kid has matured a bit since then.
Mr Shows wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 9:44 pm In literarily every shot, his first instinct is to run with the ball, which will leave him out of position if caught with the ball. Not the finished product IMHO, I would rather see a bit more composure and someone who spends more time reading and anticipating the play. Definitely one for the future. The jury is still out on whether to blood him now.

He actually played as left side centerback alongside Leon Balogun and Borna Barišić, in Glasgow Rangers 0-1 loss to Sparta Prague in the Europa League match today. Thought he played well enough.
He clearly provides and added level of flexibility of playing either as a Left back or a Center back.
Damunk wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 9:20 pm That one nor be beans o.
At 21, he could be a gem about to blossom.
I hope he turns out to be well worth it.
Otitokoro wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 9:13 pm Aina is the main Right Back, as Tyrone Ebuehi seems unable to crack into the Venezia first 11 and was rightly left out of this squad.

This was a good call up. Young( actual age 21), versatile. CB, left back, DM. Will be here long after every other CD we have is gone. Folks will always complain and coach from internet but that’s why we love soccer

I've been following Bassey since he signed up with Rangers and he's a very solid player who is highly rated in Scotland, he is tipped to be among the top prospects in the SPL that will be snapped up by big European clubs/leagues soon... plus he provides the versatility we will need.

kawawa wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 11:20 pm This was a good call up. Young( actual age 21), versatile. CB, left back, DM. Will be here long after every other CD we have is gone. Folks will always complain and coach from internet but that’s why we love soccer
But at the expense of an experienced Balogun?

Damunk wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 3:40 pm I forgive Rohr because this is a defender - an area of weakness I have been really concerned about.
My take.
Calvin is a solid young prospect.
He turned down a new contract at Leicester City (where he was highly thought of) because he wanted regular first-team action.

Otitokoro wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 11:12 pm He actually played as left side centerback alongside Leon Balogun and Borna Barišić, in Glasgow Rangers 0-1 loss to Sparta Prague in the Europa League match today. Thought he played well enough.
He clearly provides and added level of flexibility of playing either as a Left back or a Center back.
Calvin was repeatedly caught out of position today.
Better finishing by Prague, and it would have been a disaster. Clearly NOT his best position.

Balogun is on the list of 23 players invited:
THE FULL LIST

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Calvin Ughelumba (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Innocent Bonke (Malmo FF, Sweden); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Kalu (FC Bordeaux, France); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia)

The first leg of the encounter takes place on October 7 at the Teslim Balogun Stadium, with the return leg set for October 10 in Douala.
maceo4 wrote: Fri Oct 01, 2021 12:20 am
kawawa wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 11:20 pm This was a good call up. Young( actual age 21), versatile. CB, left back, DM. Will be here long after every other CD we have is gone. Folks will always complain and coach from internet but that’s why we love soccer
But at the expense of an experienced Balogun?

Why is Kelechi listed as a midfielder?

Tobi17 wrote: Fri Oct 01, 2021 12:51 am Why is Kelechi listed as a midfielder?
Abegi leave stone, chop rice... :lol:

Tobi17 wrote: Fri Oct 01, 2021 12:51 am Why is Kelechi listed as a midfielder?
because Rohr has to try and hide the fact that HE HATES MIDFIELDERS.

Bassey has is lots of potential and is only scratching the surface. A great addition to the team. The competition at LB over the next year between Bassey, Collins and Sanusi will be very interesting to see.