OKPOMO ON OBAFEMI: FORGET HIM

Post by GUEST »

SOURCE: DAILY SUN

Who the hell is this Obafemi; forget him! – Okpomo

The Nigeria Football Association (NFA) has been advised to call the bluff of Inter Milan striker, Obafemi Martins following his incessant refusal to honour invitations for national assignments.
Former scribe of the soccer ruling body Patrick Okpomo was reacting to the Super Eagles preparations for the Nations Cup, saying the young Nigerian must have his reasons for not wanting to honour calls.
"Obafemi Martins is at the moment enjoying rave reviews all over the world and that can be quite enjoyable,” Okpomo begins. "But I want to let the NFA know that Obafemi is only one in a million of talented stars that this nation parades. They should leave him alone for now since his mind is made up not to play for his fatherland.
"However, Martins will need this nation someday, anybody listening to him at that time. He’s the now but if he ever intends to take his football to the Premiership in England for instance, only then will be understand that he needs Nigeria.
"The rules to play in the Premiership are very clear and that is why Obafemi Martins must have attained 75 per cent outing for his national team before they can consider him. I feel bad that the youngman doesn’t understand what he’s doing to himself at the moment", Okpomo stressed.
The shrewd soccer administration noted that with or without Martins, Nigeria will be at the Nations Cup in Tunisia and that his absence will, in no way affect the Super Eagles chances, noting that a tree does not make a forest.
"Today, Nigerians are clamouring for him and he’s not keen about our calls for him to be in the national team. We’ve had players like him before and this should not bother Nigerians and the NFA particularly. There’s always a time for everyone and if he has a problem with the NFA, he should speak out. Today, Nigerians love him and speak well of him, but after a while after the long wait, if he keeps bluffing his fans, they’ll turn their backs on him. The NFA has done its best, going to Milan and discussing with him. He should, therefore, be left alone." Okpomo concluded.

WELL SAID OKPO

Back

Can we move on, I am tired of this martin issue.
carbon

Post by carbon »

If the guy is not willing to play now, he should be left alone. He is for the future.
The real deal

Post by The real deal »

"Remember to greet the people you meet on your way up cos you will meet them on your way down"
Cujus esqulum, ajus es usqui ad inferos
AgentFifa

Post by AgentFifa »

There are some stong reasons why Martins did not join NT. I doubt Inter career is the mein problem.
monkeypost

Post by monkeypost »

Okpomo, this man can pull strings when it comes to Nigerian football listen to his remarks carefully, I think Martins has got it seriously wrong he is in a whole lot of ''shite'' now. if he is wise he should go begging very quickly before the ANC begins if not he will have to end his career in Italy what bad advice can do.
If you give me Cole and I give you Gallas, surely, SURELY, you owe me money? waka man on the Cole Gallas transfer saga
Cyber Saint

Post by Cyber Saint »

I couldn't have put it any better than Okpodu.
Let's leave Martin alone. He can cap for the Azzurris for all I care, but before he does he ought to learn a few lessons from those who tried that route before him. He WON'T last in the Italian national team, and I say that without any hesitation.

Pls listen to my god father cos he is always right

chopeski

Post by chopeski »

Why all the friggin' obsession with the EPL?

He does not have to play in England and the sooner people like Okpomo realise this the better.
When they came for the communists, I was silent, because I was not a communist;
When they came for the socialists, I was silent, because I was not a socialist;
When they came for the trade unionists, I did not protest, because I was not a trade unionist;
When they came for the Jews, I did not protest, because I was not a Jew;
When they came for me, there was no one left to protest on my behalf."

Martin Niemoeller (1892-1984)
Baggy

Post by Baggy »

If the guy does not want to play for his country then let him be. Maybe he is hoping to get an Italian nationality in the near future, how, i do not know.
Even if he does, does anyone think he would be able to get into the Italian squad. Do the Italians even have a black man in their team or have they ever had one b/4, if not 4 this reason i do not know why he does'nt want to play unless he is showing off or thinks he is too good.
If that is his thought then he is making a big mistake.
Right now i don't think he is the best to come out of Naija or that he so good that we have to be begging him. We have guys who can fill his spot easily.
In terms of what Okpomo said he is right. It will mean that he will have to finish his career in Italy.

If he does'nt play now he should be allowed to play in the future if at all he then thinks he needs his country to get what he wants.

I rest my case.
I now see through the eyes of JESUS CHRIST - An Indian woman HEALED by our LORD JESUS CHRIST @ Ben Hinn Healing Crusade .
What About You?

What we do, does not define who we are, what define's us is how well we rise after we have fallen.

The only consistency of the referees is there Inconsistencies - Wigan FC Manager.
Larry Ashagbe

Post by Larry Ashagbe »

Martins is not looking for Italian citizenship.

Well the giy has made his choice, lets just leave it at that
Lowen Brau

Post by Lowen Brau »

Obafemi will have to be a buffoon of the highest order not to see that no black men play for Italy. (Moderators I have not said he is a buffon oooo :lol: :lol: ) Who does he think he will play for on the long run at a National level. Any player who does not aspire to play in a world cup needs his head examining. I agree with Okpomo jare.
He beats Christian Chukwu, he beats Christian Madu, He beats Christian Nwokocha. This man must be a moslem. Yes he is. His name is Baba Mohammed.

good luck to him in what he does. I doubt if he wants to play for Italy. But if he does, He would not last long.
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

juventuss wrote:good luck to him in what he does. I doubt if he wants to play for Italy. But if he does, He would not last long.

My Take is Nigeria should not simply forget about him if he refuses to report. Nigeria needs to take it up to FIFA.

Post by GUEST »

juventuss wrote:good luck to him in what he does. I doubt if he wants to play for Italy. But if he does, He would not last long.

My Take is Nigeria should not simply forget about him if he refuses to report. Nigeria needs to take it up to FIFA.
ENUGU II--I think Nigeria should move on. Remember, the club is not holding up to him-This guy said I am not ready and willing to play for Nigeria now.
lacidi

Post by lacidi »

I get shocked when people say that Martins should be given time and that he needs to mature etc. If all the players in the U23 team were all left to mature b4 playing for the team then I guess we wont have any youth team.
Martins initial position was that he was too young or that it was too early for him to play for SE. okay, so what about the olympic team? Is he too young to play for that team too? Who is fooling who here. Is it that when these guys fight and qualify for the olympics and world cup then this brat will then feel he has matured enough to be part of the team? The guy should go and jump for all I care! :evil:
Its nice when someone shoots ur murderer in the back, without asking to be paid.
Cyber Saint

Post by Cyber Saint »

EII, I usually agree with you but this time around, you bang am.
When a player refuses to play for his national team, there's nothing even FIFA can do about that. And to the best of my knowledge, Inter hasn't threatened to keep Martins from the ANC. It's his personal choice.

@Juventuss. Well, I don't really know what else that informed Martins decision to snub us expect the hope of playing for Italy. But I hope I'm wrong tho
somebody

Post by somebody »

U know what will be more 4ked up? If he comes in 2 years or even a year and says he wants to play and the allowed to play.

We need him now, and he has left us in the cold. We should do the same to him 4ever
Why do we struggle to live when we are still going to die anyway?

Cyber Saint wrote:

When a player refuses to play for his national team, there's nothing even FIFA can do about that. And to the best of my knowledge, Inter hasn't threatened to keep Martins from the ANC. It's his personal choice.

@Juventuss. Well, I don't really know what else that informed Martins decision to snub us expect the hope of playing for Italy. But I hope I'm wrong tho

CYBERSAINT:

See the quote below. It comes from the latest WORLD SOCCER magazine which discusses the club v country row in detail. Here it talks about the recent FIFA/Tevez case 2003. Here is WORLD SOCCER (January 2004, p. 51) magazine's report on that:

"Blatter became extremely agitated at the World Youth Cup about the issue of Carlos Tevez from Boca Juniors. Tevez went to court in Buenos Aires to win the right to refuse selection for Argentina so that he could face Milan in the World Club Cup. When Blatter threatened Tevez with suspension for the Youth Cup duration, . . . The player was declared unfit by Boca but included in the Argentina squad to cover formalities."

Note that FIFA clearly denies the player the right to refuse a national invitation. The only exceptions that I know of are (1) player retirement (meaning ineligible for selection), (2) injury which the national FA has independent right to verify, (3) player has dual-nationality and thus retains right of choice, (4) Player not appropriately invited within the specified time, and (5) over-age player's right to refuse invitation to an Olympics game call-up.

Now, none of those three exemptions apply to Obafemi. It seems clear to me that inspite of Inter's agreement to release Obafemi, the player's own refusal to show up can still attract a FIFA sanction. However, the NFA must first make the request for such action to be taken.
Akamoke

Post by Akamoke »

I agree Martins should be left alone, but as someone mentioned earlier, why is he not suiting up for the Olympic team?

Let me get it straight... It is Obafemi and not Inter pulling the strings?

It only takes one...

Ps. I guess "he" was not ready for the AAG and the Olympics qualifiers prior to this ANC...had this ANC doubled as the WC qualifier you think "he" would not be ready?

Puuulleeeze!

Cyber Saint

Post by Cyber Saint »

Cyber Saint wrote:

CYBERSAINT:

See the quote below. It comes from the latest WORLD SOCCER magazine which discusses the club v country row in detail. Here it talks about the recent FIFA/Tevez case 2003. Here is WORLD SOCCER (January 2004, p. 51) magazine's report on that:

"Blatter became extremely agitated at the World Youth Cup about the issue of Carlos Tevez from Boca Juniors. Tevez went to court in Buenos Aires to win the right to refuse selection for Argentina so that he could face Milan in the World Club Cup. When Blatter threatened Tevez with suspension for the Youth Cup duration, . . . The player was declared unfit by Boca but included in the Argentina squad to cover formalities."

Note that FIFA clearly denies the player the right to refuse a national invitation. The only exceptions that I know of are (1) player retirement (meaning ineligible for selection), (2) injury which the national FA has independent right to verify, (3) player has dual-nationality and thus retains right of choice, (4) Player not appropriately invited within the specified time, and (5) over-age player's right to refuse invitation to an Olympics game call-up.

Now, none of those three exemptions apply to Obafemi. It seems clear to me that inspite of Inter's agreement to release Obafemi, the player's own refusal to show up can still attract a FIFA sanction. However, the NFA must first make the request for such action to be taken.

Gotcha.
But I still wouldn't sweat it, f'real.
Forcing someone to play for you is like forcing a girl (even if she's your lover) to have sex with you. It almost always NEVER ends well.
To me, NFA shouldn't bother b'cos agaracha must come back home.
Mark my words!!