Update from the Falcons Camp

ikwerreman
Update from the Falcons Camp

Post by ikwerreman »

At least three people on this forum are interested in female footie so i decided to do this.

The camp opened on saturday rather than the earlier advertised monday.
coach Mabo said he wanted the girls in camp as early as possible because he felt the team was running short of time for the game against Ghana.
Only four players showed up in camp on the first day.
Ajuma Ameh and Oge Onyinanaya of Pelcan Stars, Gift Otuwe of Bayelsa Queens and Glory Keshi of Omidiran babes.
Two coaches were also present on the opening day- Assisant coaches, Joy Etim and Dan Evumena.

I spoke with Ajuma Ameh from the camp and she was a bit disapointed that there were only four of them in camp on the opening day.
Spoke with ann Chijine and Effionwan Ekpo and they said they will arrive on monday.
Gloria Usieta says her club, Kavala 86 bhas a match against PAOK on the 25th of Jauary so she may not make it for the game.
I'll keep you guys posted.

Post by GUEST »

IK--The camp will be Bubbling by the end of the week. Thank you for the latest News.

THanks for the info.

Nice one.... well done...

who cares about falcons, they didnt mk athns 04

Bigpokey24 wrote:who cares about falcons, they didnt mk athns 04

BigPokey24:

Fact is that Falcons have not played a ball yet enroute to Athens, so how can you already conclude that they didn't make Athens 2004? In fact, the camp being mentioned avbove is in preparation for the Athens 2004 qualifiers.

Thanks for the update, Ikwerreman. Hopefully, the camp will be bubbling by midweek. I still think that CAF should be investigated for pitting Nigeria and Ghana (the continents top 2 teams) in the same group.
Abbey

Post by Abbey »

Enugu II:

No mind Bigpokey or whatever hin name be. The bobo just wan attention!
A Person convinced against his will is of the same opinion still.
shaq

Post by shaq »

IKMan

Thanks for the info. And good job.
Say my hello to Dede :wink:

Enugu II, my bad i thought the women world cup was used as qualifiers

Abbey, pls respect urself, u may be the attention seeker, using my name heere and there i dont blame u nah the yansh u dey suck dey cos am

THREE OVERUSED/BADLY-USED WORDS IN THE NIGERIAN LEXICON

1) Bubbling (as in camp is bubbling)
2) Tinker (as in tinker with the team)
3) Resume (to start a new assignment)

Thanks, IK-MAN.

If you see Dede, tell am say I dey troway salute o! Mercy and Patience go play, abi age limit no gree?

shaq

Post by shaq »

Chief abeg chill.

uhm, IKMan...
abeg tell Dede too to come and register on this forum. 8)
Larry Ashagbe

Post by Larry Ashagbe »

ikwerreman,

Thanks for the update and hopefully our girls will have a better outing.

Please Ikwerreman, can you ask the Ladies if they learnt anything from Okpodu as opposed to Mabo... which coach they think got the best out of them, and since they were successful in proving that the "second 22" is as good as the "first 22", how do they figure the coach's selection will be...i.e., heavy on the 2nd 22 since they are "his" girls or more of the 1st 22...

Thanks Ikwerreman.

Jiggerman21

Post by Jiggerman21 »

Bell wrote:THREE OVERUSED/BADLY-USED WORDS IN THE NIGERIAN LEXICON

1) Bubbling (as in camp is bubbling)
2) Tinker (as in tinker with the team)
3) Resume (to start a new assignment)
You missed STORM (as in Player lands in camp)

also a phrase,

DID NOT PLAY TO INSTRUCTION (Favourite IC cliche) :wink:
A stubborn goat can never learn from past mistakes. Nuff said.

Thansk for the update. Please continue to keep us informed.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

ikwerreman

Post by ikwerreman »

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:Thanks, IK-MAN.

If you see Dede, tell am say I dey troway salute o! Mercy and Patience go play, abi age limit no gree?

There is no age llimit.
Akide will join the camp on the 10th or 11th. i think Avre should join at the same time
ikwerreman

Post by ikwerreman »

Cellular wrote:Please Ikwerreman, can you ask the Ladies if they learnt anything from Okpodu as opposed to Mabo... which coach they think got the best out of them, and since they were successful in proving that the "second 22" is as good as the "first 22", how do they figure the coach's selection will be...i.e., heavy on the 2nd 22 since they are "his" girls or more of the 1st 22...

Thanks Ikwerreman.

Yes i talked with a couple of them, and please i wont mention names here.

The US based players think Okpodu was all talk and no action.
They feel he was not a good coach but was a lot interested in being in the front pages of newspapers.
They also belive he did not understand the mentalilty of nigerian players.
They also felt bad that he took a lot of youngsters to the world cup at the expense of experienced ones.
but majorly they felt he never fought for them so they were not willing to die for him.
For MAbo, he is looked upon as their father.
They all respect him and say good things about him.
They say he understands them and makes sure their welfare is taken care off.
On the pitch they also think think he is the best thing that has happened to female footie in nigeria.
They think Mabo brings the best out of them and that is because they say he understands them much unlike Sam who they say has a mind of his own and never listens to advice.
About how they figure the coaches selection will be, i have not asked that yet, but if you ask me, Mabo will use the best players he has, and the ones who went to the world cup were the best players the country had, or has
ikwerreman

Post by ikwerreman »

http://nigeriasports.com/332

After the lethargy that trailed the arrival of Falcons players to their Ibadan camp on day one of the exercise, about twenty players were part of the monday morning training as more arrived ahead of the Athens 2004 Olympic Qualifying match.
www.nigeriasports.com put a call through to the camp and gathered that six players from the All Africa Games gold medal winning team- Felicia Eze, Ayisat Yusuf, Semola Akinlose, Chima Nwosu, Celestina Onyeka and Blessing Igbojionu joined the team on Sunday afternoon.

Others who arrived the camp on Sunday are Chizoba Oparaocha, Chizoba Ogbuefi, Rotimi Omoniyi and Ruquayat Yunus.

There was no training on Sunday as they went to church and rested for the rest of the day.

Coach Ismaila Mabo arrived early monday morning to join Coaches Joy Etim and Dan Evumena in the morning work out.

I spoke with English Player, who you guys know is a member of this forum.
She said it was quite boring on saturday with so few players in the camp.
She dismissed rumours that the mosquitoes are killing them there saying the place is okay and they are not complaining, yet.
Ann Chiejine, MArtha Abara, Effionwan Ekpo and Pepetua Nkwocha wil join them today.
I spoke with Ifeanyi Chiejine late last night and she said she was still at home in La gos.
When i asked her when she will go to camp, she said, "I will go eventually"
MAbo says any one who is not there by tonight is not serious and if i know that man as much as i do, he means it.
Thats all for now.
If make a second post on this later tonight
ikwerreman

Post by ikwerreman »

About thirty players are now present at the Ibadan Camp of the Falcons.
LAtest arrivals include, Ann chiejine, Rita Nwadike, Stella Mbachu and Titi MEkuleyi.

I guess Effionwan Ekpo will arrive tonight.
I spoke with PEpetua Nkwocha and she said she will be in camp on wednesday.
The team trains twice a day and Chief coach, MAbo, handled their morning work out today.
Every one is looking forward to the match and the players just want to succeed.
There is a restriction of movement and visitors are not allowed into the camp as is the case in every camp situation.

Roll Call of players in the camp as at 3pm today.

Ajuma Ameh
Glory KEshi
Oge Onyinanya
Gift Otuwe
Felicia Eze
Ayisat Yusuf
Semola Akinlose
Chizoma Oparaocha
Chizoba Ogbuefi
Omoniyi Rotimi
Chima Nwosu
Cele Onyeka
Blessing Igbojionu
Ann Chiejine
Titi MEkuleyi
Stella Mbachu
Rita Nwadike

From your count you will see that this is not up to thirty names but trust me, there are about thrty players in the camp.
IFeanyi Chiejine is still not sure of when she will get there
MErcy Akide will hopefully be there on saturday, While Gloria Usieta is not sure her club, KAvala 86 FC of Greece will release her
ikwerreman

Post by ikwerreman »

I think the team has a full house now.
Except for the foreign based players who will start arriving from thursday, all home based except PErpetua Nkwocha are in camp as at tuesday morning.