Lessons the WC Taught me: A new theory of the game!

Re: Lessons the WC Taught me: A new theory of the game!

So what is football?

Football is an emotion.

Yes, it begins with talent; it always does...But ultimately it is a sport powered by human emotion...
Why?

How is it that a Samson Siasia, near useless at Nantes, is simultaneously a superb midfielder at the AFCON and WC for Nigeria?

How is a Jaden Sancho, near useless at Manure for close to two years, but a stratospheric talent at Dortmund, all in a matter of weeks?

How is a mercurial Thierry Henry, Patrick Viera and Dennis Bergkamp, all failures at Milan and Inter, but world class at Arsenal?

Its about joy- the joy of expression through the sport of football.

Speaking once about playing for Nigeria while at Anderlecht, the late Stephen Keshi said, and I'm paraphrasing, it was both a release of emotion and an embrace of joy in comradeship. Release from the strict constraints of tactics and joy in shared emotion...

In Nigeria, kids grow to become footballers on the strength of their individuality. They are self-taught and self-made, sometimes fully formed in their understanding of the game ever before their first contact with formal coaching.

They express the game spontaneously, often in staccato rhythm, like the Nkpokiti dancers.
It is expressed with energy and power, not always in rhythm but with joy; plenty of joy. Re emotion...
Which then creates challenges of consistency...

There's joyful emotion. Then there is the cold emotion, from which often springs form and function in football, and consistency of performance.

With ball in foot, the African player asks- do you wanna dance?
And the European? Well, lets ask Ray Wilkins of blessed memory...

The former breaks chains- sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. Comme ce comme ca...
The latter keeps form. Key word- security...

IMO, the first coach who can successfully harness the full range of the Joie de vivre of African player is the first coach to win a world cup for Africa!
Last edited by txj on Tue May 07, 2024 12:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Mon May 06, 2024 9:00 pm So what is football?

Football is an emotion.

Yes, it begins with talent; it always does...But ultimately it is a sport powered by human emotion...
Why?

How is it that a Samson Siasia, near useless at Nantes, is simultaneously a superb midfielder at the AFCON and WC for Nigeria?

How is a Jaden Sancho, near useless at Manure for close to two years, but a stratospheric talent at Dortmund, all in a matter of weeks?

How is a mercurial Thierry Henry, Patrick Viera and Dennis Bergkamp, all failures at Milan and Inter, but world class at Arsenal?

Speaking once about playing for Nigeria while at Anderlecht, the late Stephen Keshi said, and I'm paraphrasing, it was both a release of emotion and an embrace of joy in comradeship. Release from the strict constraints of tactics and joy in shared emotion...

In Nigeria, kids grow to become footballers on the strength of their individuality. They are self-taught and self-made, sometimes fully formed in their understanding of the game ever before their first contact with formal coaching.

They express the game spontaneously, often in staccato rhythm, like the Nkpokiti dancers.
It is expressed with energy and power, not always in rhythm but with joy; plenty of joy. Re emotion...

There's joyful emotion. Then there is the cold emotion, from which often springs form and function in football, and consistency of performance.
Are you a writer or something? Your creative and imaginative writing style is quite enjoyable.

Used to do some writing on a regular basis.
Guest contributions to the Guardian back then...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

why you go praise the man? we no go hear word again.
iworo wrote: Tue May 07, 2024 3:06 am

Football is an emotion.

Why?

Are you a writer or something? Your creative and imaginative writing style is quite enjoyable.

danfo driver wrote: Tue May 07, 2024 8:49 pm why you go praise the man? we no go hear word again.
iworo wrote: Tue May 07, 2024 3:06 am

Football is an emotion.

Why?

Hater :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:.

The foundation of the modern game can be summed in one word- PROCESS.

- The process by which you:
- build-up play;
- Play thru the initial press
- Navigate the low or medium block
- move defensive zones; create undefended zones
- defend or execute set pieces
- execute counters
- press the ball- where you press, when you press, who you press and with whom...

- The process by which you build team spirit and sustain it and channel it to the field of play...

Save for the last bit, almost every other aspect of the process, is defined by rhythm and tempo.

Watching the NPFL and our youth teams, the first and often glaring deficiency is the absence of a process. Now the beauty of the game is that there is no one way to success. But whatever your approach may be, everyone is judged by the same standard- performance and results.

Lets take Arsenal for instance.

There is a process through which the attack creates and exploits undefended zones. The pass goes in and out, wide right or left; rhythmical, in an inverted triangle, high, medium or low tempo; object being the space behind the opposing fullback. If and when White is involved he's made to hold his run and find the right moment.
If it doesn't work there is a reset and the process begins again...

George Finidi is a product of the Nigerian game in its full expression of spontaneity. To this foundation he has added the experience of European methodology as a player at Ajax and other places.

The first basis for me, of determining his competency will be to assess what process he institutes in this team, both on and off the field.