NAIJA PLAYERS WITH ROCKET AND THUNDEROUS SHOTS

Re: NAIJA PLAYERS WITH ROCKET AND THUNDER SHOTS

I never watched Thunder Balogun, but I guess you don't get nicknamed "Thunder" for nothing. However, of the players I've watched, Christian Chukwu,Rashidi Yekini, Emma Osigwe,Felix Owolabi, Chris Ohenhen, and of course, Taiye Taiwo, are the distinguished members of the Rocket Brotherhood.
Okochadman2Nas

Post by Okochadman2Nas »

Naija football has been reduced to talking about memories, best dribbler, hardest shot, best save, best dive lol :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Ekorian wrote:My picks are
THUNDER TESLIM BALOGUN (Didn't He once killed someone with a shot?)MUDASHIRU LAWAL (got some bullets that can propel as well)
SUNDAY EBOIGBE(remember him bulleting a shot from his goal post past the opponents goal.Didn't He also kicked a penalty to a corner flag?)
NOSA OSADOLOR(Who remember the freekick he took inside the main bowl of the national stadium about two decades ago?)
GARBA LAWAL(Argubly the most humble Naija player ever.I wouldn't want to be a goal keeper to stop his free kick or penalty)
TAIYE TAIWO(Needs no introduction.This guy can kick a ball to the moon)
What are our picks???????????
EKORIAN WINS FOR BEST SHOT ON THAT BOLDED PART
:rotf: :rotf: :twisted: :twisted: i DEY PLAY OOOH

Okochadman2Nas wrote: Naija football has been reduced to talking about memories, best dribbler, hardest shot, best save, best dive lol :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
At least we get something to celebrate.
Seriously there are shots and there are shots, if the likes of Thunder Balogun can be celebrated for tearing thunderous shots with the sort of balls used in those days, hmmm if they hammer today's balls accidents will happen oh. Did anyone here ever tried to play one of those balls, the ones that get heavier when it rains. The balls today stays the same come rain , but in those days the balls would soak up the water and woe betide you if they hit that ball and it hits you in the face or belly, it is good night. Someone said he has never seen ball tear night, when those balls become heavy and a heavy hitter hits them, they rip right through the nets easily. Some of you guys dont know what you are talking about, it is good to ask questions especially about what you dont know.
Someone mention Osazee, please look at the size of the people tearing shots in those days, look at their thighs and their calf muscle, if you are not packed in those areas trust you cannot hit those balls. You hit those balls with your toes you hear them crack, trust me today you can poke these balls with your toes, in those days you cannot, you do it at the risk of breaking your toes.

When the likes of CCC or Otolorin hit the ball it feels like missile aimed in your direction, the pace and the menacing way it approaches leaves you with only one option, you duck.

Look the size of people playing football today and compare it to the size of people playing back then, there is a correlation, if you were small in those days, there is half a chance that you cannot even kick those balls over the distance.

For the hardest shot: Toyin Ayinla by far! Followed closely by Alloysius Atuegbu
Goalgetter

Post by Goalgetter »

I can't believe there is no mention of Victor Obinna Nsofor and Oba Martins. Are you guys serious?
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?
Goalgetter

Post by Goalgetter »

(Obinna vs Roma)

(Martins vs Spurs)
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?
EagleGunner

Post by EagleGunner »

The real hotshot hamish's of Nigerian footie are/were:

1. Moses Otolorin
2.Thunder Balogun
3. Alloy Atuegbu
4. Emma Osigwe
5. Chairman Chukwu
6. Sylvanus 'quicksilver' Okpala
7. Sam Ojebode
8. Chris Ohenhen
9. Taiye Taiwo
10. Sunday Oliseh

Super Eagles Apparel Storefront

http://bit.ly/2KAOOse
ora

Post by ora »

What about the Atuegbus? Otubushin?....
Thunder

Post by Thunder »

and then there were:
Amusa Shittu(RIP)
Lawrence Aghogovia
Peter Anieke, his header sef na wire) :lol:
Salami(ibadan Lions)
Dr. Felix Adedeji
Segun Adeleke
WHATEVER, WHEREEVER, & WHENEVER, FOREVER ARSENAL! I am an ARSENALIST!
"Wise men talk because they have something to say, fools talk because they have to say something." - Plato

Aloysius Atuegbu
Felix Owolabi.
Taiye Taiwo
Keneth Abana?
Sunday Oliseh
Sam Okpone

Honourable mentions:
Finidi George (V Morrocco CAN 2000)
Humphrey Edebor ( NNB )
Chinedu Obasi (V Belgium 2008 Olympics)
Chibuzor Okonkwo
Victor Ikpeba
Mudi E
Re:

Post by Mudi E »

Chief Gabtigab wrote:OWO BLOW (Felix Owolabi)
Kai chief..na wa o. RIP!! :(
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions

lorenzo wrote:
Ekorian wrote:My picks are
THUNDER TESLIM BALOGUN (Didn't He once killed someone with a shot?)
MUDASHIRU LAWAL (got some bullets that can propel as well)
SUNDAY EBOIGBE(remember him bulleting a shot from his goal post past the opponents goal.Didn't He also kicked a penalty to a corner flag?)
NOSA OSADOLOR(Who remember the freekick he took inside the main bowl of the national stadium about two decades ago?)
GARBA LAWAL(Argubly the most humble Naija player ever.I wouldn't want to be a goal keeper to stop his free kick or penalty)
TAIYE TAIWO(Needs no introduction.This guy can kick a ball to the moon)
What are our picks???????????
Legend has it that the shot came out from of the keeper's back and tore the net! :lol: :lol:
They said it was with a tennis ball he used. :lol:
Re:

Talk IT wrote:
1naija wrote:I used to doubt the Thunder Balogun stories until Taye Taiwo. That boy will "tear net" one day.
Dis thing about ball wey tear net na just myth.
No ball fit tear net weda na leg or hammer shoot am. Except no be ball.
Efen if no be ball self, to tear net no go happen unless na "old cotton" net
nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

Common now!

Moses Otolorin
Umaru Garba
Emanuel Osigwe
Arthur Egbunam

All this your yeye new age Oliseh and Obabaifo no fit shoot like di original net destroyers.

Damn!! some old folks on the thread. Oliseh has the hardest shot of any niaja I've ever seen.
Akingbade
Re:

Post by Akingbade »

COOKING SPOON wrote:Who can remember a goal scored by kingsley obiekwu in 1995 against egypt i believe it was our under 23 team. We played a 3-3 draw Kanu scored two goals and the third was an amazing shot by obiekwu from almost the half way line. The shot was so fast that the camera couldnt follow it and the keeper didnt move. Did anyone watch this match?
3-2 actually. We won.
Don't throw stones if u live in a glass house and kindly use the pre-frontal lobe of your brain more often; scientists call it the seat of good manners...

Dammy wrote:Honourable mentions:
Finidi George (V Morrocco CAN 2000)
Humphrey Edebor ( NNB )
Chinedu Obasi (V Belgium 2008 Olympics)
Chibuzor Okonkwo
Victor Ikpeba

Chibuzu Okonkwo shot against chipolopolo dat won na golden bullet

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
Polly

Post by Polly »

Come to think of it, anyone here remember Henry Ogboe? Rangers' people? IICC's people?

A pair of names that have been over-looked:

Amusa Shittu (Aka Bulldozer. IMO packed more power than Balogun)
Johnny Nwadioha

Re: NAIJA PLAYERS WITH ROCKET AND THUNDEROUS SHOTS

YemiBrazil wrote::D