Page 1 of 3

NAIJA PLAYERS WITH ROCKET AND THUNDEROUS SHOTS

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:29 pm
by Ekorian
My picks are
THUNDER TESLIM BALOGUN (Didn't He once kill someone with a shot?)
MUDASHIRU LAWAL (got some bullets that can propel as well)
SUNDAY EBOIGBE(remember him bulleting a shot from his goal post past the opponents goal.Didn't He also kick a penalty to a corner flag?)
NOSA OSADOLOR(Who remember the freekick he took inside the main bowl of the national stadium about two decades ago?)
GARBA LAWAL(Arguably the most humble Naija player ever.I wouldn't want to be a goal keeper to stop his free kick or penalty)
TAIYE TAIWO(Needs no introduction.This guy can kick a ball to the moon)
What are your picks???????????

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:49 pm
by mystic
Emmanuel Osigwe!

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:50 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
Christian Chukwu!

Re: NAIJA PLAYERS WITH ROCKET AND THUNDER SHOTS

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:01 pm
by YemiBrazil
Ekorian wrote:My picks are
THUNDER TESLIM BALOGUN (Didn't He once killed someone with a shot?)
SUNDAY EBOIGBE(remember him bulleting a shot from his goal post past the opponents goal.Didn't He also kicked a penalty to a corner flag?)
NOSA OSADOLOR(Who remember the freekick he took inside the main bowl of the national stadium about two decades ago?)
GARBA LAWAL(Argubly the most humble Naija player ever.I wouldn't want to be a goal keeper to stop his free kick or penalty)
What are our picks???????????

RASHEED YEKINI....

I know the other guys except Thunder Balogun. I saw Muda Lawal, Owolabi, Odegbami & co looking in shock at Yekini's rockets shots in 1984 during one of IICC's training sessions for African Champions Cup. He did it consistently till he stopped playing soccer. Remember Congo vs Nigeria (0-1) towards USA 94? Or Abiola Babes vs Esperance of Tunisia in Lagos... many many more.

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:04 pm
by Toxicarrow
Wakilu Oyenuga

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:09 pm
by Ekorian
Toxicarrow wrote:Wakilu Oyenuga
I know Wakilu for his head not for his thunder shots.

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:16 pm
by lorenzo
SUNDAY EBOIGBE(remember him bulleting a shot from his goal post past the opponents goal.Didn't He also kicked a penalty to a corner flag?)
GARBA LAWAL(Argubly the most humble Naija player ever.I wouldn't want to be a goal keeper to stop his free kick or penalty)
Legend has it that the shot came out from of the keeper's back and tore the net! :lol: :lol:

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:19 pm
by YemiBrazil
lorenzo wrote:
Legend has it that the shot came out from of the keeper's back and tore the net! :lol: :lol:
.... that as he approached the penalty spot, his wife shouted from the stands, THUNDER BALOGUN!!! Don't forget your left!!!!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: 9ja!!!!

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:25 pm
by lorenzo
YemiBrazil wrote:
lorenzo wrote:
.... that as he approached the penalty spot, his wife shouted from the stands, THUNDER BALOGUN!!! Don't forget your left!!!!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: 9ja!!!!

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:33 pm
by 1naija
I used to doubt the Thunder Balogun stories until Taye Taiwo. That boy will "tear net" one day.

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:34 pm
by Player
Oruma and Oliseh get shot o

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:41 pm
by Talk IT
1naija wrote:I used to doubt the Thunder Balogun stories until Taye Taiwo. That boy will "tear net" one day.
Dis thing about ball wey tear net na just myth.
No ball fit tear net weda na leg or hammer shoot am. Except no be ball.

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:44 pm
by Molue Conductor
lorenzo wrote:
an it was his brother....it was a penalty shot as well

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 11:49 pm
by Toxicarrow
Ekorian wrote:
Toxicarrow wrote:Wakilu Oyenuga
I know Wakilu for his head not for his thunder shots.
na both.....He is good with both. He is like Henry Nwosu whose header as powerful as his shots.

the Young Stephen Keshi also got thunderous shots and headers. Case in point 1984 WAFU with New Nigerian Bank.

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 11:55 pm
by Chief Gabtigab
OWO BLOW (Felix Owolabi)

Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 12:10 am
by Gadfly
Talk IT wrote:
1naija wrote:I used to doubt the Thunder Balogun stories until Taye Taiwo. That boy will "tear net" one day.
Oga,

No bi myth o! Me, I don see am wif my korokoro eyes! This happend when my Secondary School, Mount Saint Michael's, Aliade hosted Mount Saint Gabriel's, Makurdi or Govt. Secondary School Vanderkya. Our skipper, known as Skido (Gabriel Shawon) received the ball in the opponent's third, he beat one defender, then another, and unleash a thunderbolt that tore cleanly through the net. How? It was 2-3 year old net that had been left on through rain and all. Add our stiffling humidity wrecking additional havoc. I believe this is the answer to this Thunder's myth of his shot going through the net.

Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 12:10 am
by Cally
I heard that Emma Osigwe once tore the net with one of his missile...till today, I'm yet to confirm that story...

Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 12:32 am
by Mudi E
Talk IT wrote:
You no know say na canon some of these players dey release from their legs....Taye Taiwo, Sunday Oliseh and co?

Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 12:39 am
by miky
na lie ooh ball fit tear net, i see am with my koro koro eyes :o . men taiye oruma and oliseh shot fit kill person ooh

Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 3:38 am
by Hard Man
Teslim "Thunder" Balogun
Rashidi Yekini
Henry Nwosu
Stephen Keshi (his free kick against Stade Malien in WAFU Cup final)
Emmanuel Osigwe (winner v Tunisia, 1982 WC qualifier)
Alloysius "Blockbuster" Atuegbu
Taiye Taiwo (what a name!!!)
Felix "Owoblow" Owolabi (remember 1980 CAN winner against "Moro-Rock")

"Energy" -- a guy I knew at OAU Ile-Ife ... took a free kick from his own half, banged the gaddem ball into the net. The ref stood there confused for some seconds, then since he'd never seen a phenomenon like that before, decided to disallow the goal. At least no be University v University match but inter-faculty challenge ... odawise na suicidal decision be dat!

Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 3:50 am
by scholl
Okocha sef pack power for shot too. Nobody wan mention am.

Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 3:54 am
by theYemster
Talk IT wrote:
Probably in those days they used mosquito net as goal. 8-)

Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 5:05 am
by Olayemi14
Keshi vs Angola or Gabon '89 WC qualifier away match. Wei golie duck cover im bodi wen in see shot with nuclear warhead!