Breaking News!!!!!!!! CCC releases his list.

kumap

Post by kumap »

Here is a list from vangaurd.....

http://www.vanguardngr.com/articles/200 ... 12004.html
Chukwu names Nations Cup squadB — •Yobo, Babangida out, Okoronkwo in

Wednesday, January 07, 2004

Super Eagles coach, Christian Chukwu yesterday released what appears to

be the final list of 22 players expected to dorn the Green and White

colours of the country at the Tunisia 2004 African Nations Cup.

Included surprisingly are some players who are yet to report to the

Faro camp and whose fitness is yet to be determined.
The list made public through the French News Agency came on the day

Chukwu had put as deadline for the arrival of all invited professionals

except those in the English Premiership who had earlier been exempted

from the January 6 deadline.
Contrary to an earlier assurance by Chukwu that five home-based would

make the final list, only two, the duo of Enyimba’s goalkeeper Vincent

Enyeama and defender Romanus Orjinta, who has been captain of the

home-based team were listed.
Dimunitive Tijani Babangida who has been making a case for the recall

of some of the old members of the team like out of favour Sunday Oliseh

and Finidi George was missing from the list as well as Rangers

goalkeeper Sam Okoye who had said he was better than the other

goalkeepers and was sure of picking a shirt in the team. The list is as

follows:
Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Enyimba/Ngr), Greg Etafia (Moroka

Swallows/Rsa), Austin Ejide (Etoile du Sahel/Tun)
Defenders: Joseph Enakarhire (Standard Liege/Bel), George Abbey

(Macclesfield Town/Eng), Ifeanyi Udeze (PAOK Salonika/Gre), Gabriel

Melkam (Hansa Rostock/Ger), Taribo West (Partizan Belgrade/Serbia and

Montenegro), Romanus Orjinta (Enyimba/Ngr), Celestine Babayaro

(Chelsea/Eng), Isaac Okoronkwo (Wolves/Eng)
Midfielders: Seyi Olofinjana (SK Brann/Nor), Austin ‘Jay Jay’ Okocha

(Bolton/Eng, captian), Osaze Odemwengie (La Louviere/Bel), Garba Lawal

(Columbus Crew/USA), John Utaka (Lens/Fra), Kalu Uche (Wisla

Krakow/Pol)
Strikers: Yakubu Aiyegbeni (Portsmouth/Eng), Nwankwo Kanu

(Arsenal/Eng), Victor Agali (Schalke 04/Ger), Julius Aghahowa (Shaktar

Donetsk/Ukr), Benedict Akwuegbu (Grazer AK/Aut)
omonaija

Post by omonaija »

Ayo Akinfe wrote:The only real problem with the list is that it does not include Yobo and Obodo. We all know those two are going to Tunisia come what may. I would also be surprised if Ifeanyi Ekwueme is left out.
So how may players are we taking to the ANC?? Could it be 24 because all these players wey everybody want can't always make the team!!!
To God be the glory....New Year 2024! Seek him first and all other things shall be added!Thus saith the Lord!

haha.. And where is yobo ?
I dont think that list is complete.
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

senator

Post by senator »

Wait ooh is it my eyes or i cant see YOBO on the list and what on earth is Akwuegbu doing there?
Last edited by senator on Wed Jan 07, 2004 11:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
ikwerreman

Post by ikwerreman »

Ayo Akinfe wrote:The only real problem with the list is that it does not include Yobo and Obodo. We all know those two are going to Tunisia come what may. I would also be surprised if Ifeanyi Ekwueme is left out.

WEll, Ayo, that listvhas only 11 of the 22 so i guess Yobo and Obodo would be in the final cut
chopeski

Post by chopeski »

If Obodo is left out of the squad, won’t this be déjà vu?

Obodo plays regularly in Serie A like Martins, however, unlike Matins, have been turning up regularly for Nigeria. Now, if he is left out, will Martins not have been vindicated by his decision to turn his back on the current kleptocrats of Nigerian football?
When they came for the communists, I was silent, because I was not a communist;
When they came for the socialists, I was silent, because I was not a socialist;
When they came for the trade unionists, I did not protest, because I was not a trade unionist;
When they came for the Jews, I did not protest, because I was not a Jew;
When they came for me, there was no one left to protest on my behalf."

Martin Niemoeller (1892-1984)
omonaija

Post by omonaija »

ikwerreman,
The final cut should be for the Vanguard News papers LTD. for reporting such a rubbish in dier paper. :oops: :evil:
To God be the glory....New Year 2024! Seek him first and all other things shall be added!Thus saith the Lord!