Serie A is still the best

I had the pleasure of watching Roma lose 1-2 to AC Milan on Eurosports last night, and once again this confirmed what I always felt – that the best football is still being played in Italy.

Skysports offered Aston Villa v Portsmouth and despite wanting to check on the Yak’s form, the allure of watching Totti, Dacourt, Emerson, Christian Chivu, etc for Roma, and brother O’Cafu, Rui Costa, Kaka, Seedorf, and my boy the magnificent Andrei Shevchenko, proved too much to resist.

This must have been what Gullit had in mind when he talked about “sexy football”. It was pure ecstasy watching the movement of these ballers, their control and passing. Who said Italian football was boring? This was a top of the table clash of real quality football. The last time top table clash in England between Manure and The Arse was guerilla warfare. Milan played last night with just one hard-tackling midfielder – the tenacious Gattuso. Their midfield was packed with flair players – Rui Costa, Seedorf, Andrea Pirlo, with Kaka playing in the hole between midfield and attack.

Roma started very well and dominated for about 20 minutes, before Milan’s midfielders took over, playing 4-4-2 with rightback O’Cafu playing like a winger and constantly finding gaps in Roma’s three-man defence (where is Mr 3-5-2?).

Roma despite the efforts of Dacourt and Emerson and the skills of Antonio Cassano and John Carew upfront could not match the invention of the Rossoneri. A wonderful long through ball from Seedorf to Sheva saw the Ukrainian take the ball on his chest and beat the Roma keeper with a lob. Cassano equalised for Roma with the last kick of the first half. But Sheva confirmed Milan’s superiority with a left foot shot in the second half from a through ball from Rui Costa.

Sheva is now on top of the scoring charts in Italy, and pound for pound, is the best striker in the world – with the exception of you-know-who at Real Madrid. All the worshippers of King Henry of Highbury need to take time out and watch Sheva at work.

An all Italian CL final last season was evidence of Serie A’s quality. This is why I continue to have a lot of respect for Oba Martins’ talent. Very remarkable when the likes of Vieira, Henry, Bergkamp, Kanu, etc couldn’t cut it in Italy.

League leaders Roma have played some of the best football in Italy this season, but they couldn’t live with Milan last night. When you consider Milan were missing probably the best defender in the world – Alessandro Nesta and Pippo Inzaghi, I wouldn’t be surprised if they retain the CL.

hehe Have you watched Juve play lately ? :D
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

Re: Serie A is still the best

cic old boy wrote:I had the pleasure of watching Roma lose 1-2 to AC Milan on Eurosports last night, and once again this confirmed what I always felt – that the best football is still being played in Italy.

Skysports offered Aston Villa v Portsmouth and despite wanting to check on the Yak’s form, the allure of watching Totti, Dacourt, Emerson, Christian Chivu, etc for Roma, and brother O’Cafu, Rui Costa, Kaka, Seedorf, and my boy the magnificent Andrei Shevchenko, proved too much to resist.

This must have been what Gullit had in mind when he talked about “sexy football”. It was pure ecstasy watching the movement of these ballers, their control and passing. Who said Italian football was boring? This was a top of the table clash of real quality football. The last time top table clash in England between Manure and The Arse was guerilla warfare. Milan played last night with just one hard-tackling midfielder – the tenacious Gattuso. Their midfield was packed with flair players – Rui Costa, Seedorf, Andrea Pirlo, with Kaka playing in the hole between midfield and attack.

Roma started very well and dominated for about 20 minutes, before Milan’s midfielders took over, playing 4-4-2 with rightback O’Cafu playing like a winger and constantly finding gaps in Roma’s three-man defence (where is Mr 3-5-2?).

Roma despite the efforts of Dacourt and Emerson and the skills of Antonio Cassano and John Carew upfront could not match the invention of the Rossoneri. A wonderful long through ball from Seedorf to Sheva saw the Ukrainian take the ball on his chest and beat the Roma keeper with a lob. Cassano equalised for Roma with the last kick of the first half. But Sheva confirmed Milan’s superiority with a left foot shot in the second half from a through ball from Rui Costa.

Sheva is now on top of the scoring charts in Italy, and pound for pound, is the best striker in the world – with the exception of you-know-who at Real Madrid. All the worshippers of King Henry of Highbury need to take time out and watch Sheva at work.

An all Italian CL final last season was evidence of Serie A’s quality. This is why I continue to have a lot of respect for Oba Martins’ talent. Very remarkable when the likes of Vieira, Henry, Bergkamp, Kanu, etc couldn’t cut it in Italy.

League leaders Roma have played some of the best football in Italy this season, but they couldn’t live with Milan last night. When you consider Milan were missing probably the best defender in the world – Alessandro Nesta and Pippo Inzaghi, I wouldn’t be surprised if they retain the CL.
An unfair comparism I must add, for example, Juve have come out publicly saying the sale of Henry was a big mistake because he has developed and matured. Also, at Juve, he was played as a Winger, Wenger's genius was to see the player that Henry is today and convince him he could do it and be a world class striker. Besides Henry's record against Italian defences is second to none in the CL.

As for Patrick, he too was a boy in a squad of superstars in Milan, he was green and needed help. Where you aware that Wenger signed an experienced DM called Remi Garde to help Vieira's development at Highbury.

Also, the likes of Kluviet, Davids etc. did not cut it at their first Italians clubs - Milan does that mean they are lesser players than Martins?

The bottomline is both clubs - Juve and Milan just did not have the patience with these players and they lost great players, they both regret it today, while Arsenal have reaped the benefits.

Let me say to you, I am watching the Trezegol developments at Juve closely, if they cannot reach a settlement, I see Trezegol at Highbury. Why? Trezegol and Henry are best of friends and Arsenal have had two bids for him turned down in the past.

As per the game, I actually recorded it and I must say it was a good game, the talent on show was awesome, but Roma were disappointing on the day. The financial problems at Roma is clearly affecting their players now, they have not been paid for 4 months and the Roma I saw was a far cry from the Roma I have enjoyed watching all season. As much as I want to see Roma spoil the party, it is looking like a Juve, Milan struggle again. Roma must sort out their financial crisis ASAP.

Apart from Juve and Milan, the remaining Serie A clubs are all struggling financially, we are approaching melt-down there and it will be interesting to see how it developes.

La Liga is the league to me, my team there this season has to be Villareal. How about that Papillo type back heel to put your through for a goal against Valencia. That was orgasmic. :D :D :D :D :D
chopeski

Post by chopeski »

Waffi & CIC:

Thank God for the opportunity to talk about something else apart from the tiring ANC imbroglio!

I didn’t watch the match as I was playing squash, didn’t even know there was a game on the box. Anyways, I still feel pound for pound the Italian game is slightly ahead of the Spanish La Liga.

The EPL is becoming poorer every year unfortunately. I mean, take a cursory look at the table and you will be amazed at the mediocrity of the teams United, Chelsea and Arsenal aside. The total points difference between 3rd and 4th is a whooping 14 points! I mean what sort of league throws up this disparity in quality.

As per the so-called financial melt down in Italy, I am afraid the chickens will soon come home to roost in England. Sky especially with this new EU competition rules affecting TV sponsorship can not continue to prop a lot of the English teams anymore. Again, apart from United and Chelsea, every other English team has parlous finances. Leeds could be just the tip of the iceberg.
When they came for the communists, I was silent, because I was not a communist;
When they came for the socialists, I was silent, because I was not a socialist;
When they came for the trade unionists, I did not protest, because I was not a trade unionist;
When they came for the Jews, I did not protest, because I was not a Jew;
When they came for me, there was no one left to protest on my behalf."

Martin Niemoeller (1892-1984)

CIC:
The best football is played in Spain, no contest there!
RudeBoy

Post by RudeBoy »

All I can say CIC is that it must have been like watching Arsenal play!

As for Chopskei, Check the Dutch, French, Scottishh Leagues German (last year), Belgian etc Same sides win the leagues as well! I say stick to squash!

All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing - Edmund Burke (1729 – 1797)

Among a people generally corrupt liberty cannot long exist - Edmund Burke (1729 – 1797)
chopeski

Post by chopeski »

RudeBoy wrote:All I can say CIC is that it must have been like watching Arsenal play!

As for Chopskei, Check the Dutch, French, Scottishh Leagues German (last year), Belgian etc Same sides win the leagues as well! I say stick to squash!
The less said the better!!! :roll: :roll: :roll: :!: :!: :cry: :cry: :oops: :oops:

chopeski wrote:Waffi & CIC:

Thank God for the opportunity to talk about something else apart from the tiring ANC imbroglio!

I didn’t watch the match as I was playing squash, didn’t even know there was a game on the box. Anyways, I still feel pound for pound the Italian game is slightly ahead of the Spanish La Liga.

The EPL is becoming poorer every year unfortunately. I mean, take a cursory look at the table and you will be amazed at the mediocrity of the teams United, Chelsea and Arsenal aside. The total points difference between 3rd and 4th is a whooping 14 points! I mean what sort of league throws up this disparity in quality.

As per the so-called financial melt down in Italy, I am afraid the chickens will soon come home to roost in England. Sky especially with this new EU competition rules affecting TV sponsorship can not continue to prop a lot of the English teams anymore. Again, apart from United and Chelsea, every other English team has parlous finances. Leeds could be just the tip of the iceberg.
There are so many factors which make a league very good but I will focus more on talent for now.

I gotta say, while Arsenal and Manure have forged on, the others have got worse. Chelsea's have money so they are an exception.

However, this is were La Liga is king, despite the riches of Real Madrid, the other clubs nulify their advantage with cheap clever South American imports and excellent technical know-how.

In Serie A, we have similar problems as the EPL, the big clubs with the money to buy the players have always dorminated, (i.e. Juve and Milan with the odd Lazio and Roma interruptions) a quick look at results over a 10 year period confirms this. The fact is, like the EPL the other clubs these days they are only there to make up numbers.

While the big clubs dorminate in Spain, the dorminance of Barca and Real Madrid have been addressed since La Liga were the first clubs to have open access for foreign players. This gave them a head start and their less restictive rules on foreign players also means they have the best players overall.

In Italy, the 3 foreigners rule still applies to non EEC citizens, just like the EPL but in Spain the rules are far more relaxed. This is a huge adv for La Liga. For example there is a team in the 2nd division in Spain who have all Argentinian players.

League winners in the 3 leagues from 1992/93.

Manchester United*****Milan*******Barca***1992/93
Manchester United*****Milan*******Barca***1993/94
Blackburn Rover*******Juve***Real Madrid***1994/95
Manchester United*****Milan*******Barca***1995/96
Manchester United*****Juve***Real Madrid***1996/97
ARSENAL************Juve*********Barca***1997/98
Manchester United*****Milan*******Barca***1998/99
Manchester United*****Lazio*******Derpo***1999/00
Manchester United*****Roma*****Real Madrid**2000/01
ARSENAL*************Juve********Valencia***2001/02
Manchester United*****Juve****Real Madrid***2002/03

As you can see the same clubs dorminate, but La Liga gives far more variety because of more teams and the closeness of the competition.

CIC
If I knew the Roma game was on I would have watched it. Villa V Pompey game was rubbish. They were technically inept and ball control of the players were appaling
Paveman

Post by Paveman »

Waffi: When you posted those league tables, you did nullify your arguments. I agree in principle with what you are saying about the Spanish Liga....

But in the last eleven years, 4 clubs in Italy, the same amount of Spanish clubs have won it. NOt much difference there. Break it down like this:

Spain:

1. Real Madrid - 4
2. Barcellona - 5
3. Valencia - 1
4. Depor - 1

Italy:
1. Juventus - 5
2. Milan - 4
3. Lazio -1
4. Rome - 1

Uncannily identical!!!!
chopeski

Post by chopeski »

Waffi,

Those stats only give us half the picture. In England, three teams have won the league since 1992 while it is 4 apiece in both Italy and Spain.

However, in England, Blackburn is unlikely to win the league in a long while. In Italy, although only 4 have won, if you look beyond the 4, you could say Inter have been unlucky in a lot of ways and is quite capable of winning the title any year. In Spain, it is highly unlikely any team out of the top 4 will win the championship in the near future.

My point is in the UK outside of 4 or 5 teams, the rest are very mediocre. In Spain, outside of these top 4, you could find another 5 very decent teams, while in Italy, outside of Milan, Juve, Inter, Roma, Lazio, you could easily pick Parma, Chievo, Udinese, Bologna and maybe even teams like Perugia as very decent teams.

The premiership lacks depth in quality relative to the other big two leagues. However, it is still a good league in my view, just behind Spain and Italy.
When they came for the trade unionists, I did not protest, because I was not a trade unionist;

RudeBoy

Post by RudeBoy »

So because only 3 teams have won the league in England as opposed to 4 in Italy and Spain means the leagues in the latter countries are better? The differce of one team makes a difference? How lame is that I ask.

liverpool have been unlucky a few times in the early 90's so were Aston Villa one year. Very poor argument.

If you say you enjoy Spanish and Italian football more than English football that's a different story but quoting these dodgy stats just prove nothing!

All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing - Edmund Burke (1729 – 1797)

Among a people generally corrupt liberty cannot long exist - Edmund Burke (1729 – 1797)

Guys, let us remove Lazio from the equation, it was a one off due to the money of Cragnotti. Lazio are like Blackburn and a latter day Chelski in this sense with very little record of achievement in Serie A.

In Spain all those teams are bonafide in that their victory was not helped by big money - Depor, while the other 3 have a proud tradition of winning titles in Spain.

I did say I am looking at it from the point of view of talent only.
chopeski

Post by chopeski »

Lazio, might not hit those heady heights of prior years but they still play regular CL football and are 5th in the league, that surely does not look like a Blackburn like team.

I also notice you have failed to mention Inter at all in your equation.

At the end of the day, we should all be grateful for having the opportunity to enjoy all leagues. Each and every league has its strengths and weaknesses.

quickie

Post by quickie »

CIC,

I bow for you o....you watched Roma v Milan (2 title contenders) and compared it to Pompey v Villa (2 relegation teams)...and reached a conclusion that Serie A is better?

Serie A serves up occasional crackers like Roma v AC, Juve v AC etc but that is it...for entertainment EPL tops but I probably will go for La Liga for a combination of technique and entertainment.

I'm sure you cannot watch the equivalents of Villa and Pompey in Serie A make you nor sleep.

As per players not cutting it in Serie A, please do not forget that the likes of Panucci, Materrazzi, Grabbi, Macarrone Casiraghi came to england and didn't exactly set the league alight.

Q
ukblack

Post by ukblack »

I think the breakdown of the 'top' 3 leagues in Europe is something like this

Serie A is the most technical league (organization, tactics etc)

La Liga is the exciting league (flair, skill, end to end + great goals)

EPL is the most gra-gra league :lol: :lol: or as the English would say most passonate.

chopeski wrote:Lazio, might not hit those heady heights of prior years but they still play regular CL football and are 5th in the league, that surely does not look like a Blackburn like team.

I also notice you have failed to mention Inter at all in your equation.

At the end of the day, we should all be grateful for having the opportunity to enjoy all leagues. Each and every league has its strengths and weaknesses.
Man Chopeski Inter talk na wa, my nephew and I are always the but of jokes about Inter in the family. Funny thing is we are fiece rivals in the EPL because he support Manure.

I am an Inter fan, Inter is my Italian team from way back to the days of the early 80s, when I first started watching, cable television. Them days Eurosport was called SportsScene and as I was lucky to have cable television at home. It was rubbish but the football was the real treat.

I am really peeved with Moriatti and the way they have managed that club. Their transfer policy has been a disgrace, e.g. why let Pirlo go when you needed creativity in the middle. Also, look how Zac is messing up a future world class Left Back in Pasqualle, they have not learnt their lesson from Roberto Carlos.

Okay, I can understand Lippi was a Juve man who wanted to place Juve ways at Inter but it was another bad error getting rid of him. For me, the likes of G. Bergomi have to go for Inter to progress. I can go on and on but man go just vex more and more.

Do not get me wrong Inter are a great European club, way before Milan, Inter knew what Europe looked like. Inter were dorminating and winning throphies in Italy and europe, they were competiting with Di Stefano's Real Madrid and beating them. I am just angry at the club, they had Ronaldo, Carlos, Pirlo, Seedorf, Bergkamp, Sosa, Youri etc. etc. and they have not won Serie A. Then they go and get overhyped and rubbish players like Coco. Man! :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: Just like our NFA Inter make me sick to the pit of my stomach.

quickie wrote:CIC,

I bow for you o....you watched Roma v Milan (2 title contenders) and compared it to Pompey v Villa (2 relegation teams)...and reached a conclusion that Serie A is better?

Serie A serves up occasional crackers like Roma v AC, Juve v AC etc but that is it...for entertainment EPL tops but I probably will go for La Liga for a combination of technique and entertainment.

I'm sure you cannot watch the equivalents of Villa and Pompey in Serie A make you nor sleep.

As per players not cutting it in Serie A, please do not forget that the likes of Panucci, Materrazzi, Grabbi, Macarrone Casiraghi came to england and didn't exactly set the league alight.

Q
On that score you are 100% correct. They are as dreadful a football game you can ever have the misfortune to watch. But I chose to ignore that because I do not think CIC meant it to be that way. Make he go watch Como v. Perugia, he nor go talk like that.

ukblack wrote:I think the breakdown of the 'top' 3 leagues in Europe is something like this

Serie A is the most technical league (organization, tactics etc)

La Liga is the exciting league (flair, skill, end to end + great goals)

EPL is the most gra-gra league :lol: :lol: or as the English would say most passonate.
I love stereotypes. So EPL teams nor dey Organised or get tactics? :roll: :roll: :roll:

Unlike other leagues in Europe, the game in England is very fast and above all very honest when compared to the other leagues, this is why it is now the most popular league, i.e. the most watched league. For example, when they had that tournament in Malaysia, the teams were shocked at the way the ground booed Bowyer. This shows how slavishly the league is foolowed all over the world. The world record for viewing figures for a game was the Everton v. Man City game. Why? :D :D :D :D

Sky have a billion pounds deal with the EPL, they are negotiating a £300,000 for Bundesliga, Sky refused to touch Serie A and they pay £500,000 for La Liga rights.

These figures tell you why the EPL is king in terms of sheer entertainment and what the majority of football fans want.
SylverEagles

Post by SylverEagles »

quickie wrote:CIC,

Q
Exactly quickie, if u watch games between Sienna and Regianna for example, infact one will fall into a coma. Outright boring. Infact i've watch some Milan games this season that were One goal BORING games!!!!

And Chelsea, for all their money and flair always seem boring to me when they play!!!

One thing i must say is that all these money being pumped into sports is just uwarranted in my opinion. Look at the NBA, NHL, EPL, Seria A, La Liga. Why do player salaries have to be that high??? :? :? In the end, football(and sports in general) is just entertainment.

Left to me, i'll place a salary cap of max US$500, 000 per year on ALL sports :idea: . And this is even for the big time stars that help promote the leagues, like Henry, Van Nistelroij of the EPL, Zidane, Ronaldo of the La Liga, Totti, Vieri of the Seria A, and so on ad so forth. I should think that that is enuff to meet all the needs of any human being abi?? :roll: :roll:
quickie

Post by quickie »

Like Wenger said, the problem with the salary cap will be dishonesty of fellow clubsides.

If Ronaldo is on salary of $500K per annum and Barca promise am that $500K plus houses in Barcelona, Madrid, Rio, Paris as well as 5 cars of him choice....wetin we go talk?

Q

Salary cap will not work. Clubs will find ways to undermine it. Also, why do we moan about players salaries, I believe they deserve it. The bottomline is if the players do not get it others like the Directors will. This was the case before satelite TV.

Advertisers will pay because we the viewers want to watch, who then benefits from the cash windfall? I would rather the players because they are the stars of the show.

I also believe good coaches and Managers should be well rewarded just like good Directors. I will neva begrudge the Directors of Arsenal a penny, just look at the club today and over the years.

My beef is when below average players get huge salaries, the crowd will not pay top dollar to see below average teams or players.
chopeski

Post by chopeski »

SilverEagles:

The reasons why salaries are high and there seem to be so much money pumped into it is Market forces.

When there is a high demand for sporting events and there are few suppliers of this i.e. content, then this drives up the price.

It is pertinent to note that usually it is a win-win situation for both the owners of the content and the buyers of that content.

Take Sky for example, Murdoch have effectively built up his satelite business almost entirely on its sports offering.
Paying GBP 300m for the premiership in 1992 was a masterstroke. Today Sky is worth something like £20bn, simple maths will prove that the return on this investment justifies every dime paid to players and clubs alike. Without the Premiership, BSkyB would be a pale shadow of what it is at the moment.

Salary caps are futile IMHO and it is tantamount to someone pegging your salary because he feels the company is making too much money.
Last edited by chopeski on Wed Jan 07, 2004 6:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.