Nurse 'tried to kill patients'

Post by 27 »

This happened in England and this is not a Kendo post.

A hospital nurse accused of attempting to murder four elderly patients was motivated by a drive to free up beds, a court has heard.
Barbara Salisbury overstepped the line between humane nursing and callous dispatch when she tried to hasten their deaths, Chester Crown Court was told.

The 47-year-old, from Pontybodkin, north Wales, was working as a ward sister at Leighton Hospital, Crewe, at the time of the alleged offences.

She denies attempted murder.

Prosecuting barrister Robin Spencer QC told the jury on Wednesday that Ms Salisbury was even heard urging one patient "give in, it's time to go", as she administered an overdose.

"No one would wish to see an elderly relative suffer unnecessarily as death approaches, but equally no nurse has the right actively to hasten death," he said.

"Easing the passage from life to death is one thing, deliberately accelerating death or attempting to do so is quite another.

"The prosecution case is that in respect of four elderly patients under her care at Leighton Hospital, she quite deliberately and brazenly overstepped the line between humane nursing and callous dispatch."

Mr Spencer said Ms Salisbury's actions were reported by junior nurses.

Ms Salisbury denies four counts of attempted murder against Reuben Thompson, 81, Frank Owen, 92, James Byrne, 76, and Frances May Taylor, 88.

The alleged offences took place between 1999 and 2001 and all the patients have since died.

The court heard Ms Salisbury allegedly tried to kill James Byrne by repeatedly pressing the booster button on the device delivering diamorphine.

She is accused of trying to kill Reuben Thompson by removing his oxygen supply and she allegedly tried to kill Frank Owen by lying him on his back and telling another nurse: "With any luck his lungs will fill with fluid and he will die."

Mr Spencer said: "She was driven to free up a hospital bed but in fact there will always be another patient waiting.

"If she thought there was no hope of recovery, she didn't want to wait too long.

"If the patient could be made well enough to be discharged, she would aim for that, if not she would hasten death.

"One way or another, she wanted these patients off her ward."

Mr Spencer stressed to the jury that this was not a trial about euthanasia.

"She does not suggest these were attempts at mercy killing. The allegations, she says, are quite simply untrue."

The trial continues.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/staf ... 666553.stm
Nneka

Post by Nneka »

any person 70 and above has had a good life on earth.

those patients were already old. she was actually doing them a favor. have you gone to nursing homes and seen how the elderly are suffering begging for someone to put them out of their misery.

Nneka wrote:any person 70 and above has had a good life on earth.

those patients were already old. she was actually doing them a favor. have you gone to nursing homes and seen how the elderly are suffering begging for someone to put them out of their misery.
If you are trying to be sensational, it's not working. What do you say we just execute everyone on their 70th birthday. No sorry, why wait till 70, 60 is even better. D'uh!
Nneka

Post by Nneka »

theDunamis wrote:

If you are trying to be sensational, it's not working. What do you say we just execute everyone on their 70th birthday. No sorry, why wait till 70, 60 is even better. D'uh!

what has sensational got to do with my opinion? :roll:

Nneka wrote:
theDunamis wrote:

what has sensational got to do with my opinion? :roll:
Nneka, if that is truly your opinion, then do forgive me for my post. However, that said, I think you need to see a priest and a shrink asap.

Nneka haba, you be calous persin. Like Dunamis said when u reach 70 execute youself.

On a lighter note, if we do adopt Nneka's idea, then the whole world will really start seeing age-cheats! :mrgreen: