BBC coverage of the Olympics... Stupendously Wonderful

Welcome to the Tokyo 2020 Olympics forum

Moderator: Moderator Team

BBC coverage of the Olympics... Stupendously Wonderful

It is a times like you see the sense in the License fee...

The coverage of the Olympics has been the greatest coverage of a sports event I have ever seen...The BBC has launched several specialised Olympic channels plus full coverage on the internet which mean whatever country you are from, whatever sport you support you don't ever have to miss a second of action.

The commentary may be of variable quality, but that is expected given the breath of sports at the Olympics.

BBC are doing a sterling job.
soothsayer
Re: BBC coverage of the Olympics... Stupendously Wonderful

Post by soothsayer »

yep.. i can switch to any sport i like that is currently taking place..by pressing the red button. I can use iplayer and bbc to watch two events at the same time.. its very good. Of course its a shame they don't have commentary on all the sports and sometimes they can be a bit partisan but hey its their country and you can't have it all. Well done BBC

soothsayer wrote:yep.. i can switch to any sport i like that is currently taking place..by pressing the red button. I can use iplayer and bbc to watch two events at the same time.. its very good. Of course its a shame they don't have commentary on all the sports and sometimes they can be a bit partisan but hey its their country and you can't have it all. Well done BBC
Meanwhile in America NBC's coverage sucks donkey balls. I'm watching the coverage on youtube thanks to a program I downloaded. Imagine them showing water freaking polo when baskeball was on.
Guv007

Post by Guv007 »

AreaDaddy wrote:It is a times like you see the sense in the License fee...

The coverage of the Olympics has been the greatest coverage of a sports event I have ever seen...The BBC has launched several specialised Olympic channels plus full coverage on the internet which mean whatever country you are from, whatever sport you support you don't ever have to miss a second of action.

The commentary may be of variable quality, but that is expected given the breath of sports at the Olympics.

I just keep channel hopping at times watching different events. :thumb:
Red Dwarf - Legion

Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
Rimmer: There's always some excuse, isn't there?

Mr. Piffington wrote: Meanwhile in America NBC's coverage sucks donkey balls. .
this has been the case for EVERY Olympics they have covered.

Guv007

Post by Guv007 »

BBC has 26 satellite tv channels covering the Olympics, and on some channels not sure if all you can also choose which event to watch as well.
Red Dwarf - Legion

gypsylady

Post by gypsylady »

incredible coverage. you don't miss a thing. u choose the sport u want to watch, live.
Great!!! :thumbs:
Silence is often misinterpreted but never misquoted.
There is no key to happiness. The door is always open.

After all is said and done, a lot more will be said than done!

Supersport is doing great here as well. No important sport is missed.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

anointed wrote:Supersport is doing great here as well. No important sport is missed.
Dude, please? what about NTA Akure :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

I thought they said BBC sucks just a few weeks ago?
My bad..... :taunt:
sabb

Post by sabb »

1st class
have watched more sports in this olympics dan ever, sometimes 4 screens at the same time
also u can pause, rewind and catch up, beautiful stuff
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli

Damunk wrote:I thought they said BBC sucks just a few weeks ago?
We should shouldn't bifurcate the issue ( I learnt that piece of Grammar from Gotti when I first joined CE :biggrin: )...The BBC have been excellent in their Olympics coverage doesn't mean they don't suck at other things...

AreaDaddy wrote:
We should shouldn't bifurcate the issue ( I learnt that piece of Grammar from Gotti when I first joined CE :biggrin: )...The BBC have been excellent in their Olympics coverage doesn't mean they don't suck at other things...
So on balance...they suck? :D
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

AreaDaddy wrote:
well kinda, I was annoyed with some of the things they choose to cut when they had the budget cuts.... good documentaries. And the things they choose to keep!!!. They are still 50/50 on some of the dramas they produce... not as daring as HBO, and are restricted by by the the need to please everyone and upset no-one , they still better than some of the other terrestrial channels which deserve to be panned for junk .
Guv007

Post by Guv007 »

AreaDaddy wrote:
Yes they still suck, hardly anything else apart from formula 1 which they have also lost control of and what's left there? Strictly Come Dancing, Come dancing, the voice, dancing on ice etc? :curse:
Red Dwarf - Legion

AreaDaddy wrote:It is a times like you see the sense in the License fee...

Hear hear even for a dyed in the wool critic like me all i can say is :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

AreaDaddy wrote:
On balance with the Olympics they don't suck...On balance with paying 18 milla a year to Jonathan Rosss before they came to their senses they suck...On balance for cheering questionable armed interventions recently they suck....On balance for providing cutting edge digital services they don't suck...etc...etc.. (TBC in R&R).....

They are the games broadcasters for all international feeds, so they do have to have cameras at every event and thankfully they gave decided to air all rather than give us just gb events. Thats the advancement in digital tv there.

Dodo wrote:They are the games broadcasters for all international feeds, so they do have to have cameras at every event and thankfully they gave decided to air all rather than give us just gb events. Thats the advancement in digital tv there.
America is so far behind it's not even funny. NBC's coverage is simply used as a tool to brainwash Americans, their commentators are always talking about China every two seconds.
skillful

Post by skillful »

Am watching from my tv, computer, and my nexus 7
"I first saw David Rocastle play in 1983 for the youth team. I remember coming home excitedly from the match and telling my family, "I've just watched the nearest thing to a Brazilian footballer you are ever likely to see - and he comes from Lewisham." - David Dein on Rocky Rocastle

AreaDaddy wrote:
On balance with the Olympics they don't suck...On balance with paying 18 milla a year to Jonathan Rosss before they came to their senses they suck...On balance for cheering questionable armed interventions recently they suck....On balance for providing cutting edge digital services they don't suck...etc...etc.. (TBC in R&R).....
Well said, its not all black and white. They are great at some things and rubbish at others (eg cheer leading armed intervention and promoting UK foreign policy)

JuJuMan

Post by JuJuMan »

Dodo wrote:They are the games broadcasters for all international feeds, so they do have to have cameras at every event and thankfully they gave decided to air all rather than give us just gb events. Thats the advancement in digital tv there.
Their coverage of Beijing was just as good
Ian Wright- "When Arsene came to Arsenal he took complete control of our diets. We were allowed no salt, no fat and no sugar, in the end you wanted to play a team like Milwall so that someone would throw a banana at you just so you could have something to eat."
Naija4lyfe

Post by Naija4lyfe »

Meanwhile NBC(Nothing But Commercials) trolling Americans as usual. i envy una
Naija4lyfe