Moderator: Moderator Team

Bruised and Beaten, but Nigerians Are Unbowed

Read the whole article.

LONDON — The buzzer sounded the end of the fairy tale, and the Nigerian team limped off the court in slow motion, unwilling, unable to let go. As they filed into the tunnel, the crowd stood in unison and cheered the team they call D’Tigers.

Tony Skinn, the Nigerian point guard who went to George Mason University, wound up in a hospital, having surgery for a torn quadriceps Monday.

Olympics as Bridge Between Nations? Not When These Teams Play (August 7, 2012)
D’Tigers lost against on Monday, this time to France, standing ovation notwithstanding. To their list of firsts — first Olympics appearance, first Olympics victory — they had added something less historic: their first Olympic exit.

The run ended with the point guard in the hospital, with Sunday’s leading scorer nursing a broken toe, with only eight players healthy enough to practice. It ended with another comeback against a France team stocked with N.B.A. players. It ended with another round of questions about what it meant, a basketball team from Nigeria here in the Olympics.

Afterward, not even the D’Tigers could make sense of the events of the past six weeks. On one hand, with a roster cobbled together at the last minute, they toppled established international teams — Lithuania, Greece and the Dominican Republic — just to qualify. It was not hyperbole to say they inspired a nation.

On the other, they finished Olympic group play with a 1-4 record, lost to the United States by a whopping 83 points and endured racist chants and a rash of injuries. Disappointment mixed with pride.

“People think that was the goal for us, to get here,” forward Derrick Obasohan said. “It wasn’t. Coach said we were the first African team to win an Olympic game. We earned respect, but. ...”

His voice trailed off. The man Obasohan called Coach, Ayodele Bakare, sat nearby. He looked tired, his eyes bloodshot, his shoulders slumped. He spent the morning at a hospital with Tony Skinn, the guard who led George Mason on that magical N.C.A.A. tournament run in 2006.

Skinn had surgery for a torn quadriceps on Monday, his teammates said. It surprised no one that Bakare went to see him.

For weeks, he and his staff performed so many jobs they forgot where one ended and another one began.

Bakare, the coach of the Ebun Comets in Nigeria’s professional league, constructed the roster on the fly. He built the team around Ike Diogu, a former Arizona State star, and Al-Farouq Aminu, a forward for the New Orleans Hornets. Bakare managed to find 10 players with college basketball experience to fill the roster out.

He later traded his general manager cap for his coach’s one, and after less than a month of practices, Bakare took that makeshift team to Venezuela, where, Diogu said, “we were just supposed to come in and get blown out.” Only D’Tigers stunned three opponents.

Diogu said the local crowd embraced the Nigerians, and although Diogu heard from his brother about celebrations in Nigeria, reality awaited, so many tasks and not a single person with experience to perform them.

Bakare had to arrange travel plans for his team. He even booked the flights. He found gyms for practices. He helped those without insurance to obtain it. He did so in a country fraught with political infighting, even for its sports teams. He and his players alluded to the politics Monday but declined to go into specifics.

“I don’t think a lot of people realize all the stuff that we really had to go through,” Diogu said. “If people really knew the true story, it would be an accomplishment in itself, just us making it here.”

Only Nigeria did not simply show up for its first contest and ask for autographs from its opposition. In the first game, D’Tigers defeated Tunisia, jumping ahead early and holding on late.

A country in turmoil rallied around the team that had been introduced six weeks earlier. Bakare’s voice mail filled.

Hiccups followed. A fan from Lithuania was fined for making Nazi gestures and yelling monkey chants during a Lithuanian victory. The United States scored 156 points against D’Tigers, the most ever in an Olympic game.

Yet Nigeria refused to yield. It stormed back against France on Monday, behind 35 points from Chamberlain Oguchi, he of the broken toe. Bakare said that as D’Tigers tied the game late in the fourth quarter, he wanted to yell, in reference to the United States coach, Mike Krzyzewski: “Bring on Coach K! We want a rematch! Tonight!”

Afterward, unbroken, Bakare and his players dared to dream. This summer, the run, allowed them that.

They noted the injuries that plagued them, the way the roster thinned. They talked about the limited time they spent together, how, come the African championships next summer, much more could be accomplished. Bakare guaranteed Nigeria would improve more than any Olympic team over the next four years.

“You haven’t seen the last of Team Nigeria,” Obasohan said.

Players and coaches decided Monday to leave the cosmic questions, the what it meant, for later. Most planned to visit Skinn at the hospital, then scatter back across the world.

Bakare called the reaction in Nigeria uplifting, but said he received negative phone calls, too. Diogu hoped his play over the past six weeks had earned him another shot at the N.B.A. Obasohan wanted to return to his 3-month-old son, Darren, before he returned to Spain in one week for another season.

The three of them sat in a circle, in the near empty news conference room, as if competing to look most tired. The experience that inspired others had drained the men involved. Bakare even said he would consider stepping down as the coach, perhaps in 30 days.

“Nigeria basketball has come of age,” he said. “Nigeria basketball doesn’t need me anymore.”

His players quickly dismissed that notion. Bakare, their coach, general manager, insurance agent and travel secretary, embodied what D’Tigers became over the past six weeks. Not simply a basketball team. A historic one.
New York Times
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
F360
Re: Bruised and Beaten, but Nigerians Are Unbowed

Post by F360 »

GREAT writeup.
Fantastic stuff and insight.

--------------------------------------------

:agree: :agree: :agree: :agree: :agree:

To all the players and coaches :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

Nothing else to ask from you. You gave your all. You stood up to be counted. You inconvenienced yourself for your country. :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Not surprised that the coach received negative phone calls. It may be time for you to step aside for The Messiah coach with the expected better players. Hopefully the Messiah coach will do better.

Thank you for making us proud. Think you for giving us something to cheer. Thank you for making yourselves available. For those nursing injuries, speedy recovery. Wishing you all a glorious tomorrow.

THANKS.
Babafad

Post by Babafad »

wanaj0 wrote:It may be time for you to step aside for The Messiah coach with the expected better players. Hopefully the Messiah coach will do better.
Did you really need to say this??? A classic example why you have gone down in the estimation of a lot of people around here.......na wa for you!

Sometimes, sarcasm isn't the way to go! :roll: :oops:
Being challenged in life is inevitable, being defeated is optional.
JuJuMan

Post by JuJuMan »

We always win the moral victory
Ian Wright- "When Arsene came to Arsenal he took complete control of our diets. We were allowed no salt, no fat and no sugar, in the end you wanted to play a team like Milwall so that someone would throw a banana at you just so you could have something to eat."

JuJuMan wrote:We always win the moral victory
People keep forgetting that without winning a single game we would still have "performed well"

Just making it to the Olympics, the way we did was a victory. Some of us got lost in all of it....like Obasohan said though..we still wanted to perform well...no matter what.

So that is what all the fuss was all about. We weren't really saddened or ungrateful, we just wanted them to push on.

but the reality was that, win or lose it was always going to be our victory. So this certainly wasn't a moral victory.

Everything else in London was a bonus. Defeating Tunisia was a bonus.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
sabb

Post by sabb »

JuJuMan wrote:We always win the moral victory
we beat tunisia, that wasn't a moral victory
they've won me over so am gonna be following d'tigers onwards
you rock guys, even after the US defeat, they came back strong and unbowed, good stuff
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli

job done, i appreciate the effort and sacrifice, hopefully, more of our boys will be willing to come and play in future, so we can havea solid and well balanced team
chendosplastic

Post by chendosplastic »

wanaj0 wrote::agree: :agree: :agree: :agree: :agree:

Nothing else to ask from you. You gave your all. You stood up to be counted. You inconvenienced yourself for your country. :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Not surprised that the coach received negative phone calls. It may be time for you to step aside for The Messiah coach with the expected better players. Hopefully the Messiah coach will do better.

Thank you for making us proud. Think you for giving us something to cheer. Thank you for making yourselves available. For those nursing injuries, speedy recovery. Wishing you all a glorious tomorrow.

THANKS.
"The history book on the shelf is always repeating itself" - ABBA.
"Facts, Logic, truth is the way....stop ranting via emotions; seeing things through the prism of ethnicity is comfortable but ultimately a road to perdition." - airwolex.

Babafad wrote:
wanaj0 wrote:It may be time for you to step aside for The Messiah coach with the expected better players. Hopefully the Messiah coach will do better.
Did you really need to say this??? A classic example why you have gone down in the estimation of a lot of people around here.......na wa for you!

Have I broken any forum rule? Did I insult anyone? Do I need approval to post?

I have learnt that most times the views of the majority are not necessarily right.

I read the article. The man said he was getting negative calls. He said he his considering stepping down and I think he should. Of course many have concluded that with a 'better' we will do better. We will never know until we try. Same for The better players that were not invited. New coach, new players, Olympic gold. Way to go :taunt:

We should do away with clueless coaches and average players.

Babafad,

That particular point needed to be made...If Bakare continues to work with the National team and brings them to a level where it looks as if they might win a medal (say at the next Olympics), there will probably be automatic calls for a world class coach. Anyway, lets recognize the incredible job this team has done

Babafad wrote:

D'Tigers - NY Times Article

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/08/07/sport ... .html?_r=4

By GREG BISHOP
LONDON — The buzzer sounded the end of the fairy tale, and the Nigerian team limped off the court in slow motion, unwilling, unable to let go. As they filed into the tunnel, the crowd stood in unison and cheered the team they call D’Tigers.

D’Tigers lost against on Monday, this time to France, standing ovation notwithstanding. To their list of firsts — first Olympics appearance, first Olympics victory — they had added something less historic: their first Olympic exit.

The run ended with the point guard in the hospital, with Sunday’s leading scorer nursing a broken toe, with only eight players healthy enough to practice. It ended with another comeback against a France team stocked with N.B.A. players. It ended with another round of questions about what it meant, a basketball team from Nigeria here in the Olympics.

Afterward, not even the D’Tigers could make sense of the events of the past six weeks. On one hand, with a roster cobbled together at the last minute, they toppled established international teams — Lithuania, Greece and the Dominican Republic — just to qualify. It was not hyperbole to say they inspired a nation.

On the other, they finished Olympic group play with a 1-4 record, lost to the United States by a whopping 83 points and endured racist chants and a rash of injuries. Disappointment mixed with pride.

“People think that was the goal for us, to get here,” forward Derrick Obasohan said. “It wasn’t. Coach said we were the first African team to win an Olympic game. We earned respect, but. ...”

His voice trailed off. The man Obasohan called Coach, Ayodele Bakare, sat nearby. He looked tired, his eyes bloodshot, his shoulders slumped. He spent the morning at a hospital with Tony Skinn, the guard who led George Mason on that magical N.C.A.A. tournament run in 2006.

Skinn had surgery for a torn quadriceps on Monday, his teammates said. It surprised no one that Bakare went to see him.

For weeks, he and his staff performed so many jobs they forgot where one ended and another one began.

Bakare, the coach of the Ebun Comets in Nigeria’s professional league, constructed the roster on the fly. He built the team around Ike Diogu, a former Arizona State star, and Al-Farouq Aminu, a forward for the New Orleans Hornets. Bakare managed to find 10 players with college basketball experience to fill the roster out.

He later traded his general manager cap for his coach’s one, and after less than a month of practices, Bakare took that makeshift team to Venezuela, where, Diogu said, “we were just supposed to come in and get blown out.” Only D’Tigers stunned three opponents.

Diogu said the local crowd embraced the Nigerians, and although Diogu heard from his brother about celebrations in Nigeria, reality awaited, so many tasks and not a single person with experience to perform them.

Bakare had to arrange travel plans for his team. He even booked the flights. He found gyms for practices. He helped those without insurance to obtain it. He did so in a country fraught with political infighting, even for its sports teams. He and his players alluded to the politics Monday but declined to go into specifics.

“I don’t think a lot of people realize all the stuff that we really had to go through,” Diogu said. “If people really knew the true story, it would be an accomplishment in itself, just us making it here.”

Only Nigeria did not simply show up for its first contest and ask for autographs from its opposition. In the first game, D’Tigers defeated Tunisia, jumping ahead early and holding on late.

A country in turmoil rallied around the team that had been introduced six weeks earlier. Bakare’s voice mail filled.

Hiccups followed. A fan from Lithuania was fined for making Nazi gestures and yelling monkey chants during a Lithuanian victory. The United States scored 156 points against D’Tigers, the most ever in an Olympic game.

Yet Nigeria refused to yield. It stormed back against France on Monday, behind 35 points from Chamberlain Oguchi, he of the broken toe. Bakare said that as D’Tigers tied the game late in the fourth quarter, he wanted to yell, in reference to the United States coach, Mike Krzyzewski: “Bring on Coach K! We want a rematch! Tonight!”

Afterward, unbroken, Bakare and his players dared to dream. This summer, the run, allowed them that.

They noted the injuries that plagued them, the way the roster thinned. They talked about the limited time they spent together, how, come the African championships next summer, much more could be accomplished. Bakare guaranteed Nigeria would improve more than any Olympic team over the next four years.

“You haven’t seen the last of Team Nigeria,” Obasohan said.

Players and coaches decided Monday to leave the cosmic questions, the what it meant, for later. Most planned to visit Skinn at the hospital, then scatter back across the world.

Bakare called the reaction in Nigeria uplifting, but said he received negative phone calls, too. Diogu hoped his play over the past six weeks had earned him another shot at the N.B.A. Obasohan wanted to return to his 3-month-old son, Darren, before he returned to Spain in one week for another season.

The three of them sat in a circle, in the near empty news conference room, as if competing to look most tired. The experience that inspired others had drained the men involved. Bakare even said he would consider stepping down as the coach, perhaps in 30 days.

“Nigeria basketball has come of age,” he said. “Nigeria basketball doesn’t need me anymore.”

His players quickly dismissed that notion. Bakare, their coach, general manager, insurance agent and travel secretary, embodied what D’Tigers became over the past six weeks. Not simply a basketball team. A historic one.
Naija4lyfe

Post by Naija4lyfe »

wanaj0 wrote::agree: :agree: :agree: :agree: :agree:

THANKS.

Kpom!!
Naija4lyfe
Re: D'Tigers - NY Times Article

Fat shouts, however we need to move on to bigger and better things.
dankhalifa

Post by dankhalifa »

woow............and then some people will sit behind their PCs and criticize the team and the coach while others like the players and coach sacrifice so much for this country and its ppl.........the world is unfair

dankhalifa wrote:woow............and then some people will sit behind their PCs and criticize the team and the coach while others like the players and coach sacrifice so much for this country and its ppl.........the world is unfair
It really is.

This article has brought tears to my eyes. Go Tigers :thumbs: :thumbs: :!:

JuJuMan

Post by JuJuMan »

where did the name D'Tigers come from?
Ian Wright- "When Arsene came to Arsenal he took complete control of our diets. We were allowed no salt, no fat and no sugar, in the end you wanted to play a team like Milwall so that someone would throw a banana at you just so you could have something to eat."
Riversboy

Post by Riversboy »

JuJuMan wrote:where did the name D'Tigers come from?
I swear they need to change that damn name. Otherwise, carry on.

RB.
Chief Ogbunigwe wrote: is this what we celebrate these days, nutmeg?
JuJuMan

Post by JuJuMan »

Riversboy wrote:
JuJuMan wrote:where did the name D'Tigers come from?
I swear they need to change that damn name. Otherwise, carry on.

RB.
i no even wan talk
asabatex

Post by asabatex »

:thumbs:
Godfather

Post by Godfather »

“Achebe was a writer in whose company the Prison walls fell down.” – Dr. Nelson Mandela.

Wow. I was a big critic of the prformance against Lithuania and the USA. These guys have done a lot for this country and they should be proud of their accomplishments.