Target Begins-Jonathan Wants Five Gold Medals From Rio 2016

Jonathan Wants Five Gold Medals From Rio Olympics – Abdullahi

16 August, 2012

http://news.naij.com/5743.html

The Minister of Sports and Chairman, National Sports Commission, Bolaji Abdullahi, has revealed that President Goodluck Jonathan is targeting five gold medals from Rio 2016 Olympics despite the abysmal failure of Team Nigeria at London 2012 Olympics.

Nigeria finished the London Games as one the worst teams, failing to win any medal but Abdullahi said on Channels Television on Wednesday that Jonathan wants an early preparation for the next Games and expects no fewer than five golds.

“Mr. President believes if we start to work now we can win five gold medals in Rio in 2016. If we start to work towards that target, we may or may not meet it, but we must begin now to work towards it and believe it is possible,” Abdullahi said.

“It seems we’re under pressure now; everybody is angry and outraged. But we must resist the temptation for reflex action. We can’t just start doing things because we want people to see that we’re responding to stimuli. That’ll be wrong and won’t be sustainable.

“What we need to do is to be very deliberate and conscious about what we need to do. There’s not going to be an easy solution, there’s not going to be a quick fix. What we’re talking about (emerged) from many years of decay and collapse. Whatever we do now, we must begin to show result in two years time. That is why it is very good for us that the Commonwealth Games will be coming up in 2014 and we can use that to re-launch for the 2016 Games.

“We shouldn’t forget that football is very critical in Nigeria. We have the Nations Cup coming up in January in South Africa in 2013 and the World Cup in 2014. All these will provide the opportunity for us to begin to rebuild. If we begin today to identify children and talent that can compete well with the right age and exposure, I think we can get them ready for Brazil.

“In Olympic term four years are nothing; we’re actually thinking of an eight-year plan. Some of the countries that did very well in London have already started preparing. We have to start now. We’re considering giving priority to sports that will give us the opportunity to excel and apportion our resources along those lines in short and medium term measures.

“We have to go back to the system that allows us to discover talents; the system that allows us to nurture them and allows us to give them the right exposure.”

Abdullahi said he planned to reconnect the National Sports Commission to the state governments and make the various sports federation more effective in terms of funding sports and discovering talents at the grass roots.
Re: Target Begins-Jonathan Wants Five Gold Medals From Rio 2

When Jonathan said he wants 5 gold medals, did he say which sport/event he was expecting them from? :blink: :???:

Goldleaf wrote:When Jonathan said he wants 5 gold medals, did he say which sport/event he was expecting them from? :blink: :???:
Government wants us to focus the most on our traditional/growing sports.

Such as weightlifting, athletics, taekwondo, boxing etc.

BTW those thinking Nigerians are not participating in these sports religiously are on drugs. People saying, training your kid in this or that are also on drugs. Nigerians have always engaged themselves in various sports. So clearly having youths just engaged in a sport isn't good enough.

They need better facilities and backing. Martial arts is fast growing in Nigeria and as a matter of fact Boxing has always been oen of Nigeria's most popular sports, this isn't Olympics or commonwealth games here, I mean the common man. Taekwondo is now reaching that status as well. We have kids that grow up playing table tennis etc etc. So just having the kids engaged is not enough. We need better coordination. We need tournaments and recognition.

Without the recognition and sourcing of athletes for development, Jamaica would be nowhere. Even Usain Bolt would probably be playing in some obscure cricket team somewhere.

So once again, telling your kids to take up a sport will not get us medals. we need national coordination.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
Chingo Bling

Post by Chingo Bling »

Tbite wrote:
Goldleaf wrote:When Jonathan said he wants 5 gold medals, did he say which sport/event he was expecting them from? :blink: :???:

BTW those thinking Nigerians are not participating in these sports religiously are on drugs. People saying, training your kid in this or that are also on drugs. Nigerians have always engaged themselves in various sports. So clearly having youths just engaged in a sport isn't good enough.

They need better facilities and backing. Martial arts is fast growing in Nigeria and as a matter of fact Boxing has always been oen of Nigeria's most popular sports, this isn't Olympics or commonwealth games here, I mean the common man. Taekwondo is now reaching that status as well. We have kids that grow up playing table tennis etc etc. So just having the kids engaged is not enough. We need better coordination. We need tournaments and recognition.

Without the recognition and sourcing of athletes for development, Jamaica would be nowhere. Even Usain Bolt would probably be playing in some obscure cricket team somewhere.

So once again, telling your kids to take up a sport will not get us medals. we need national coordination.
Naija does very well in the sports you listed when they compete on the African continent and at Commonwealth games. Our boxers athletes, weightlifters, table tennis players etc are champions of Africa. The problem is competing on the global stage.
ChristianNo1

Post by ChristianNo1 »

I have a feeling he wanted to say 50 gold medals, not 5 gold medals, because medals are won by words of the mouth in Nigeria. The sports minister, who should be fired for being incompetent but still at large, will make sure that Nigeria wins 50 gold medals in 2016 as long as he still remains the sports minister.
"The wicked man flees though no one pursues, but the righteous are as bold as a lion." --Proverbs 28:1

Chingo Bling wrote:
Tbite wrote:

Naija does very well in the sports you listed when they compete on the African continent and at Commonwealth games. Our boxers athletes, weightlifters, table tennis players etc are champions of Africa. The problem is competing on the global stage.
TBH even at the global stage we usually get beat by half a second or so, we need to look at where and how we can gain the half a second lost here and their, it might be training methods, hiring better coaches etc etc.

I was watching Hansie Cronje story and he was talking about there goals for cricket, they got an Australian motivator and talked about how to get the ectra runs and they became number 1 cricketing nation and won the WC.

Even Micheal Johnson talked about how he gained the extra half a seconf

Goodluck with the gold medal
Guv007

Post by Guv007 »

cic old boy wrote:Image
Are those the medals round his neck? :lol:
Red Dwarf - Legion

Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
Rimmer: There's always some excuse, isn't there?
Mudi E

Post by Mudi E »

Bla bla bla...na mouth dem dey take win 5 gold medals?
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions

CIC,

Kaii... GEJ don win medals o... :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

cic old boy wrote:Image

Prince wrote:I was watching Hansie Cronje story and he was talking about there goals for cricket, they got an Australian motivator and talked about how to get the ectra runs and they became number 1 cricketing nation and won the WC.
I have not watched the Hansie Cronje story.... South Africa has not won the Cricket WC before.
Chingo Bling

Post by Chingo Bling »

Prince wrote:
Chingo Bling wrote:
Tbite wrote:

TBH even at the global stage we usually get beat by half a second or so, we need to look at where and how we can gain the half a second lost here and their, it might be training methods, hiring better coaches etc etc.

I was watching Hansie Cronje story and he was talking about there goals for cricket, they got an Australian motivator and talked about how to get the ectra runs and they became number 1 cricketing nation and won the WC.

Even Micheal Johnson talked about how he gained the extra half a seconf
Nah,
At the global stage the gaps are HUGE!
E.g we have totally dominated tennis on the African continent over the past 30 years, but once we step out of Africa, absolutely no chance. same with our boxers and sprint athletes who set African records left right and centre. Female soccer is another great example of how we demolish African opposition but fail to make a mark on the global stage.

ChristianNo1 wrote:I have a feeling he wanted to say 50 gold medals, not 5 gold medals, because medals are won by words of the mouth in Nigeria. The sports minister, who should be fired for being incompetent but still at large, will make sure that Nigeria wins 50 gold medals in 2016 as long as he still remains the sports minister.
Well he didnt say 50.
He said FIVE, as in 1,2,3,4,5.
That's not unrealistic and in fact can be surpassed.

Chingo Bling wrote:Nah,
E.g we have totally dominated tennis on the African continent over the past 30 years, but once we step out of Africa, absolutely no chance. same with our boxers and sprint athletes who set African records left right and centre. Female soccer is another great example of how we demolish African opposition but fail to make a mark on the global stage.
The difference must be modern coaching techniques. Look at how Blessing Okhagbare improved her PBs in the run up to the Olympics.
But most importantly, I think the plan should be a long-term one.
Whether Nigerians have the patience to wait 8 years is an entirely different question.

ChristianNo1 wrote:I have a feeling he wanted to say 50 gold medals, not 5 gold medals, because medals are won by words of the mouth in Nigeria. The sports minister, who should be fired for being incompetent but still at large, will make sure that Nigeria wins 50 gold medals in 2016 as long as he still remains the sports minister.
Well he didnt say 50.
He said FIVE, as in 1,2,3,4,5.
That's not unrealistic and in fact can be surpassed.

Can and will are two different things. In the history of our olympics we only have TWO gold and all of a sudden we go manufacture 5 in 4 years? i laff..

The difference must be modern coaching techniques. Look at how Blessing Okhagbare improved her PBs in the run up to the Olympics.
Whether Nigerians have the patience to wait 8 years is an entirely different question.
The target is good and realistic but it takes more than four years to develop an Olympic champion.

Many reasons are responsible for our failure but key is funding and inadequate preparation.

Looking at Blessing, my assumption will be that she ran too many races because of the money. Most of our athletes get burnt out so they never really fulfilled their potential. They are always running for money.

We need investment in sports to move to the next level. Funds to motivate the coaches and players. Money to put in place necessary scouting and training regime. Money to organise enough competitions.

Issue is considering the unlimited wants and limited resources, where will sports stand. There are many other things competing for the limited funds.To

When was the last stadium built in Nigeria? When was the last sport facility or complex built?
Mudi E

Post by Mudi E »

The target is good and realistic but it takes more than four years to develop an Olympic champion.

Many reasons are responsible for our failure but key is funding and inadequate preparation.

Looking at Blessing, my assumption will be that she ran too many races because of the money. Most of our athletes get burnt out so they never really fulfilled their potential. They are always running for money.

We need investment in sports to move to the next level. Funds to motivate the coaches and players. Money to put in place necessary scouting and training regime. Money to organise enough competitions.

Issue is considering the unlimited wants and limited resources, where will sports stand. There are many other things competing for the limited funds.To

When was the last stadium built in Nigeria? When was the last sport facility or complex built?
All these ideas have been put forth since the 80s and 90s...Nigeria knows exactly what to do to achieve athletic-wise, but choose to circumvent it as there's no national will or motivation to get anything done, but to take the short-cut route.
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions
Babafad

Post by Babafad »

wanaj0 wrote:The target is good and realistic but it takes more than four years to develop an Olympic champion.

:clap: :thumb:

Eh-hen......this is what many peeps expect from someone like you, and not all the senseless stuff you normally write......haba!

Until Nigeria starts putting round pegs in round holes, that country will never progress. Here we have GEJ saying he "wants" 5 gold medals. Ok........where is the 'roadmap'? Or does he think that gold medals fall from the sky?? :roll:
Being challenged in life is inevitable, being defeated is optional.

Babafad, round pegs in round holes is what we know is the ideal.
My fear is there are no honest round pegs to fill the round holes.
I seem to have lost faith in the Nigerian to do an 'honest' job even if he is the 'perfect' round fit for the round hole.

I only trust myself...and maybe that one sef get limit.
We have a problem.
Chingo Bling

Post by Chingo Bling »

I find it interesting when people say Blessing ran too many races and got burnt out. While other athletes (sprinters) claim they didnt perform well because they didn't take part in enough races last season.

Nigeria's sports problem is examplified on this thread. Look at all the bogus experts and out of shape analysts on this thread. :D

What pisses me off about this directive is not the initiative itself, but the demand for 5 gold medals and then going ahead to say, we must do this by 2014, do this by 2016 etc...but they have not said what they would do to ensure that the 5 gold medals are not just a pipe dream

I see these guys are not serious. When the government pledges to anything of material substance, then I will be willing to be better than cynical
Oba

Post by Oba »

akamoke wrote:What pisses me off about this directive is not the initiative itself, but the demand for 5 gold medals and then going ahead to say, we must do this by 2014, do this by 2016 etc...but they have not said what they would do to ensure that the 5 gold medals are not just a pipe dream

I see these guys are not serious. When the government pledges to anything of material substance, then I will be willing to be better than cynical
No lessons learned yet.

Wanaj0, the target is NOT realistic BECAUSE of the time frame. Do you know UK set the ball rolling on reforming their sports after 1996? It wasn't really until Beijing (12 years on) that they started reaping the full results.

Furthermore, number of medals is NOT the only metric for measuring progress towards reforming sports. In fact it is probably not the best measure. It is too narrow.