Moderator: Moderator Team

Re: D’TIGERS Tokyo 2020

King Futcha wrote:
bret- hart wrote:Kalani, Nigeria has beaten Greece, Lithuania and Croatia in the past. Nigeria has the potential of medaling and beating USA if we recruit the right players and they commit to us. Imagine if we had Igudala,Giannis and Oladipo in our ranks. Stop being a hater like Queen Futcha. USA's grip on Bball is slipping and Nigeria will be there to knock them off their high horse soon.
hello d, how is the weather in fantasy land today?
The hitman knows basketball like he knows football like he knows wrestling.

Oh i forgot you are Cameroonian. Silly me. Hows your sh!tty country doing this days?

Re: D’TIGERS Tokyo 2020

bret- hart wrote:
King Futcha wrote:
bret- hart wrote:Kalani, Nigeria has beaten Greece, Lithuania and Croatia in the past. Nigeria has the potential of medaling and beating USA if we recruit the right players and they commit to us. Imagine if we had Igudala,Giannis and Oladipo in our ranks. Stop being a hater like Queen Futcha. USA's grip on Bball is slipping and Nigeria will be there to knock them off their high horse soon.
hello d, how is the weather in fantasy land today?
The hitman knows basketball like he knows football like he knows wrestling.

Oh i forgot you are Cameroonian. Silly me. Hows your sh!tty country doing this days?
Who are you calling Cameroonian, halfwit.
Re: D’TIGERS Tokyo 2021

Afrobasket qualification ongoing in Rwanda.

D'Tigers defeated South Sudan yesterday

wanaj0 wrote:Afrobasket qualification ongoing in Rwanda.

D'Tigers also defeated the host, Rwanda, 83 - 62 yesterday.

We will be playing Mali later today

We defeated Mali, 91-68.

:clap: :clap: :thumbs: :thumbs:

Senegal, Angola, Tunisia are the top dogs.

Showboy

Post by Showboy »

We defeated Mali, 91-68.

And looked good whilst doing it.

Diogu is still playing :shock: :clap:
"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope" (Martin Luther King, Jr)
oyek

Post by oyek »

Showboy wrote:

We defeated Mali, 91-68.

And looked good whilst doing it.

Diogu is still playing :shock: :clap:
Diogu is a patriot.
If not for Jesus, where will i be?
Man Ataye

Post by Man Ataye »

Charles Bassey ( W . Kentucky) should b looked at very closely

Bam opted for Team USA.
K

Post by K »

DTigers camp opened today, but do we know who’s invited?Image
K

Post by K »

STRONG LIST

K wrote: Tue Jun 22, 2021 5:49 pm STRONG LIST

STRONG LIST ALRIGHT, BUT...

...did they actually invite 49 players to vie for 12 spots? Meanwhile, I'm glad to see OG Annunoby on the list but couldn't find Dinwiddie (maybe he's free agency status is making him cautious) on it. Surprised Charles Bassey is not on it...presumably being cautious going into his draft. I think the list will be dominated by the NBA players.

K wrote: Tue Jun 22, 2021 5:49 pm STRONG LIST

MY PICKS FOR A 12-MAN SQUAD (based on this list)

1) Monte Morris (lock), UC Iroegbu
2) Josh Okogie, Gabe Vincent
3) OG Annunoby (lock), KZ Okpala, Al Farouq Aminu (lock, I think he's a 3, not a 4)
4) Warith Alatishe, Efe Abogidi
5) Chimezie Metu (lock), Jahlil Okafor, Precious Achiuwa

When was the last time Ezeli touched a basketball?
K

Post by K »

Bell wrote: Tue Jun 22, 2021 10:11 pm

STRONG LIST ALRIGHT, BUT...

...did they actually invite 49 players to vie for 12 spots? Meanwhile, I'm glad to see OG Annunoby on the list but couldn't find Dinwiddie (maybe he's free agency status is making him cautious) on it. Surprised Charles Bassey is not on it...presumably being cautious going into his draft. I think the list will be dominated by the NBA players.
They are selecting two teams - Olympics and Afro basket
K

Post by K »

Bell wrote: Tue Jun 22, 2021 10:26 pm

3) OG Annunoby (lock), KZ Okpala, Al Farouq Aminu (lock, I think he's a 3, not a 4)
I adisagree with your number 4s. Chimezie can play 4. I think you mean IKe and not UC Iroegbu

My 12 would be:
1. Monte Morris
2. Ike iroegbu
3. Ben Uzoh
4. Josh Okogie
5. Gabe Vincent
6. OG Anunoby
7. KZ Okpala
8. Jordan Nwora
9. Al-farouq Aminu
10. Precious Achiuwa
11. Chimezie Metu
12. Jahlil Okafor

K wrote: Wed Jun 23, 2021 12:31 am

I adisagree with your number 4s. Chimezie can play 4. I think you mean IKe and not UC Iroegbu

My 12 would be:
1. Monte Morris
2. Ike iroegbu
3. Ben Uzoh
4. Josh Okogie
5. Gabe Vincent
6. OG Anunoby
7. KZ Okpala
8. Jordan Nwora
9. Al-farouq Aminu
10. Precious Achiuwa
11. Chimezie Metu
12. Jahlil Okafor
WE AGREE ON 10 OUT OF 12

Not bad. I have both Alatishe and Abogidi both of whom played college in 2021 and were impressive but I'm not sure if they can beat the other contenders.

The longlist is a joke. Ezeli, Emeka Okafor (I've watched UCONN in Hartford, Bridgeport & MSG, and I'm the biggest fan, but C'mon) and even Diogu should not be on that list.

Two of the brightest spots from college last year are clearly among the best 12 Nigerians available & both would be in the NBA next year. Charles Bassey and Ayo Dosummu.

I'll take out Monte Morris (no need for Mercs, & I'm all for closer ties with our Afam Brothers, but this is just 'Mercing') and Uzoh from K's list and add Dosunmu (1st team all American is not beans), who is probably the best Nigerian guard on the planet today. & Azubuike, for that bulk in the paint.

Ben Uzoh has not looked good in the last year or two & age might be catching up. Ireogbu has been available and loyal to the team, but has not always played with that poise that is needed at the high level.

If we get it right, & avoid our other team (USA), no reason for us not to medal.
Last edited by truetalk on Wed Jun 23, 2021 10:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

Bell wrote: Wed Jun 23, 2021 1:12 am

My 12 would be:
1. Monte Morris
2. Ike iroegbu
3. Ben Uzoh
4. Josh Okogie
5. Gabe Vincent
6. OG Anunoby
7. KZ Okpala
8. Jordan Nwora
9. Al-farouq Aminu
10. Precious Achiuwa
11. Chimezie Metu
12. Jahlil Okafor
WE AGREE ON 10 OUT OF 12

Not bad. I have both Alatishe and Abogidi both of whom played college in 2021 and were impressive but I'm not sure if they can beat the other contenders.
Now I get it.

You are watching that soft PAC 10 (or is it 12 now) Basketball out west (& don't tell me about UCLA and Alcindor)

Your PAC 10 Naija players should not be on the same court with Conference USA player of the year Charles Bassey, & 1st team All-American Ayo Dosunmu.

I wonder who compiled this list as these 2 young men are among the top 15 Nigerian basketballers at the moment. It makes no sense that they were not even on the longlist.
K

Post by K »

truetalk wrote: Wed Jun 23, 2021 10:35 am The longlist is a joke. Ezeli, Emeka Okafor (I've watched UCONN in Hartford, Bridgeport & MSG, and I'm the biggest fan, but C'mon) and even Diogu should not be on that list.

Two of the brightest spots from college last year are clearly among the best 12 Nigerians available & both would be in the NBA next year. Charles Bassey and Ayo Dosummu.

I'll take out Monte Morris (no need for Mercs, & I'm all for closer ties with our Afam Brothers, but this is just 'Mercing') and Uzoh from K's list and add Dosunmu (1st team all American is not beans), who is probably the best Nigerian guard on the planet today. & Azubuike, for that bulk in the paint.

Ben Uzoh has not looked good in the last year or two & age might be catching up. Ireogbu has been available and loyal to the team, but has not always played with that poise that is needed at the high level.

If we get it right, & avoid our other team (USA), no reason for us not to medal.
Is Azubuike not injured?

And to be quite honest, they are all "mercing" :) :)

truetalk wrote: Wed Jun 23, 2021 10:43 am
Bell wrote: Wed Jun 23, 2021 1:12 am

My 12 would be:
1. Monte Morris
2. Ike iroegbu
3. Ben Uzoh
4. Josh Okogie
5. Gabe Vincent
6. OG Anunoby
7. KZ Okpala
8. Jordan Nwora
9. Al-farouq Aminu
10. Precious Achiuwa
11. Chimezie Metu
12. Jahlil Okafor
WE AGREE ON 10 OUT OF 12

Now I get it.

You are watching that soft PAC 10 (or is it 12 now) Basketball out west (& don't tell me about UCLA and Alcindor)

Your PAC 10 Naija players should not be on the same court with Conference USA player of the year Charles Bassey, & 1st team All-American Ayo Dosunmu.

I wonder who compiled this list as these 2 young men are among the top 15 Nigerian basketballers at the moment. It makes no sense that they were not even on the longlist.
SO TELL ME...

...since you've been listening to the pundits who have convinced you that basketball is played only east of the Mississippi, how many teams from the Pac XII (not Pac X, proof that you're not keeping up) were in the Elite 8? And in what conference did the likely 2nd pick in the 2021 draft play? While we're at it, the NCAA is a national tournament and you may want to check how Alatishe and Abogidi performed against non-Pac XII teams. And let's not leave him out, in what conference did Hawk center Onyeka Okongwu play?

Wait how did Morris make the team?