France 23 - Nasri misses

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

France 23 - Nasri misses

The French are a sneakily loaded side, any side that ignores them will pay. Loaded from I through XI. One of my fave teams going in.

Goalkeepers: Lloris (Tottenham), Mandanda (Marseille), Landreau (Bordeaux).

Defenders: Debuchy (Newcastle), Sagna (Arsenal), Koscielny (Arsenal), Sakho (Liverpool), Varane (Real Madrid), Mangala (Porto), Evra (Manchester United), Digne (PSG)

Midfielders: Cabaye (PSG), Grenier (Lyon), Matuidi (PSG), Mavuba (Lille), Pogba (Juventus), Sissoko (Newcastle), Valbuena (Marseille).

Strikers: Benzema (Real Madrid), Giroud (Arsenal), Griezmann (Real Sociedad), Ribery (Bayern Munich), Remy (QPR).

Standby: Remy Cabella (Montpellier), Maxime Gonalons (Lyon), Alexandre Lacazette (Lyon), Loic Perrin (Saint-Etienne), Stephane Ruffier (Saint-Etienne), Morgan Schneiderlin (Southampton), Benoit Tremoulinas (Dynamo Kiev).

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/worldc ... z31ctrQ8Mg
Re: France 23 - Nasri misses

Coach really nor like am. But no fuss made because there r no Div 3 junks to replace him. He will still be missed IMHO.

platinum wrote:The French are a sneakily loaded side, any side that ignores them will pay.

Defenders: Debuchy (Newcastle), Sagna (Arsenal), Koscielny (Arsenal), Sakho (Liverpool), Varane (Real Madrid), Mangala (Porto), Evra (Manchester United), Digne (PSG)

Midfielders: Cabaye (PSG), Grenier (Lyon), Matuidi (PSG), Mavuba (Lille), Pogba (Juventus), Sissoko (Newcastle), Valbuena (Marseille).

Strikers: Benzema (Real Madrid), Giroud (Arsenal), Griezmann (Real Sociedad), Ribery (Bayern Munich), Remy (QPR).

Standby: Remy Cabella (Montpellier), Maxime Gonalons (Lyon), Alexandre Lacazette (Lyon), Loic Perrin (Saint-Etienne), Stephane Ruffier (Saint-Etienne), Morgan Schneiderlin (Southampton), Benoit Tremoulinas (Dynamo Kiev).

Are these France's best players? Hmmmm... it seems most teams are going for the players who will play best as a team.

Oh well... :?

platinum wrote:The French are a sneakily loaded side, any side that ignores them will pay.

Are these France's best players? Hmmmm... it seems most teams are going for the players who will play best as a team.

Deschamps just now said he's chosen the best SQUAD not necessarily the best players. Notice a theme here with him, Scolari, Del Bosque, etc etc...

Nasri and to an extent Clichy are the only players "missing".

Post by Super Eagle »

Oga Cellular, unlike Nigeria, countries like France, Spain, Brazil, Argentina, etc can afford to overlook one or two good players. But Keshi doesn't have that luxury. We could barely cobble a full team together as it is.

O pari
Note to: Emir Kongi, big porkey, and smartbrother: Don't talk unless you can improve the silence. (c)
www.awooze.com

#BringBackOurGirls
Hashtag #KeshiDonHammer

I wonder if you also noticed that the replacements in the so-called "best squad" aren't bench warmers or reserve players in the Dutch and Belgian leagues. In Nasri's case, he's had so many run-ins with the coaches and fans in recent times, his inclusion would have been a surprise.

Ugbowo wrote:Coach really nor like am. But no fuss made because there r no Div 3 junks to replace him. He will still be missed IMHO.
People said they'd miss Cantona and Nasri is nowhere near the talent that great #7 was. Bad influences on the squad are a no-no.

When you talk of D3 junk, you're acting as if Nigeria has players who were playing week in, week out at the biggest clubs in the world, league winners, etc who were ignored. I saw someone make a similar comment regarding Spain and someone else called Brazil lightweight. Levels pass levels, Nigeria's hope at this world cup is 100% based on unpredictability and a STRONG unit. If we rely on individuals, we don't stand a dog's chance in hell. If the SE went into the Mundial with the best 23 individuals Nigeria has, lets just say Okocha and Kanu would be in the team.
okuns

Post by okuns »

France have learnt from the debacle of South Africa 2010. So much commotion and in fighting it was not funny; would have thought it was a Naija team.

Ugbowo wrote:Coach really nor like am. But no fuss made because there r no Div 3 junks to replace him. He will still be missed IMHO.
People said they'd miss Cantona and Nasri is nowhere near the talent that great #7 was. Bad influences on the squad are a no-no.

When you talk of D3 junk, you're acting as if Nigeria has players who were playing week in, week out at the biggest clubs in the world, league winners, etc who were ignored. I saw someone make a similar comment regarding Spain and someone else called Brazil lightweight. Levels pass levels, Nigeria's hope at this world cup is 100% based on unpredictability and a STRONG unit. If we rely on individuals, we don't stand a dog's chance in hell. If the SE went into the Mundial with the best 23 individuals Nigeria has, lets just say Okocha and Kanu would be in the team.
Can we get good players in our strong unit? Or do we have to keep depending on the likes of Gabriel Reuben - kicked out of Kilmanock, Uchebo and Nwofor - kicked out of Venlo.

We will do well because we have a good starting line-up but our bench is full of "droppers" not worthy enough to wear the GWG.

Yes. :taunt:

niyi wrote:

I wonder if you also noticed that the replacements in the so-called "best squad" aren't bench warmers or reserve players in the Dutch and Belgian leagues. In Nasri's case, he's had so many run-ins with the coaches and fans in recent times, his inclusion would have been a surprise.

Yes, because France can put out three NT's with comfort. Nigeria can't. Nigeria has to rely on the strength of the unit. The guys who're so-called better talents are not 2 or 3 notches above those who the coach called up. Some of you forget that in 94, many of those chaps were also not 'movers' and shakers in Europe. Siasia who was a super sub wasnt exactly playing week in week out for Nantes.

Even JJ Okocha was someone who wasn't an overwhelming fave.

People need to face the fact that while we may have potential talents lined up, the actual talent level is nowehre close to the big sides, and it's nowhere near what it once used to be. The coaches have to forge a new generation and by winning the ANC, they took away any doubt I'd ever have in them knowing better than any one of us what they were doing. Lets leave it at that, this whole shuffling around about who wasn't missing, and who these missing super players are no be the way to go. Obasi or Uche or Haruna are not winning any team on earth the world cup EVER.

Platinum

I agree with you totally. I have a friend of mine who grew up in France and played youth soccer with Anelka and I told him that France is loaded and barring their usual internal discord, would definitely be a dark horse team.

But he was so dismissive and negative, a seemingly common disposition, among Frenchies towards their national team that I was quite shocked.

But we go see sha .... the dude also gave quite an insight into Wenger :shock:

niyi wrote:

Can we get good players in our strong unit? Or do we have to keep depending on the likes of Gabriel Reuben - kicked out of Kilmanock, Uchebo and Nwofor - kicked out of Venlo.

We will do well because we have a good starting line-up but our bench is full of "droppers" not worthy enough to wear the GWG.
And that is the main issue here. People are thinking it doesn't matter who Keshi puts in the unit as long as the unit is intact. Well it also doesn't hurt to have the best ppl in a strong unit. WHY NOT? And I don't buy the "they are all average anyway" or "they are not Messi or Ronaldo" arguments as it is all lazy talk. At the end of the day levels pass levels as you, platinum, said. If spirit was all it took to win then there might as well be no favorites right? And no top seeds either or big dogs or levels sef. After all how do u measure spirit and strength of unit?
elerineye

Post by elerineye »

People seem to forget the make-up of the Greek team that won the Euros a few years back...
...work out your own salvation with fear and trembling. - Phil. 2: 12

...as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD. - Josh. 24: 15

"You need to grow up and respect the fact that people can disagree with you without you getting personal about it. People have a right to express their opinion and you have no right to try and suppress the rights of others because you do not like or disagree with it." - Waffiman

niyi wrote:

Sure, you can get stronger players in your unit OVER TIME but you talk of Gabriel...that's someone Keshi has worked with for a while, call it dropology, call it what you will, the guy is a stronger part of the unit than say Haruna or Obasi. If there's corruption in the NT, it's symptomatic of a wider problem with the nation, expecting that things will be different with the NT is not taking a full view of things.

NT's often present a view of what a nation's looking like...if our country is corrupt and officials are not paid on time, is it abnormal to expect corruption at various levels INCLUDING the NT? I hate any foul play of any kind but if you want to complain about 'droppers', no be today. That's a problem with our nation as a whole, solve the Nigeria-issue and the SE issue will follow suit swiftly.
omonija

Post by omonija »

anikulapo wrote:Platinum

I agree with you totally. I have a friend of mine who grew up in France and played youth soccer with Anelka and I told him that France is loaded and barring their usual internal discord, would definitely be a dark horse team.

But he was so dismissive and negative, a seemingly common disposition, among Frenchies towards their national team that I was quite shocked.

What was the insight into wenger?

niyi wrote:

Sure, you can get stronger players in your unit OVER TIME but you talk of Gabriel...that's someone Keshi has worked with for a while, call it dropology, call it what you will, the guy is a stronger part of the unit than say Haruna or Obasi. If there's corruption in the NT, it's symptomatic of a wider problem with the nation, expecting that things will be different with the NT is not taking a full view of things.

NT's often present a view of what a nation's looking like...if our country is corrupt and officials are not paid on time, is it abnormal to expect corruption at various levels INCLUDING the NT? I hate any foul play of any kind but if you want to complain about 'droppers', no be today. That's a problem with our nation as a whole, solve the Nigeria-issue and the SE issue will follow suit swiftly.

:boo: :boo:

So because its a problem with our Country we should not say jack when we see something OBVIOUSLY foul going on?

You guys keep saying Keshi worked with Reuben for years. You do realize this is 2014 right? Keshi became Coach in 2011...Reuben has been injured since late 2012 really if we are honest with ourselves....don't be naïve man.

Lets not argue anymore I beg. Certain ppl have come around to some things that have been said on here for years...others wont. One thing we should all do is support the team regardless....egunje/favoritism/div3 players and all.....
Janganza

Post by Janganza »

So Keshi has been right all along. I know he was. Nothing beats TEAM spirit. Maybe the colomental folks will come to accept the wisdom in Keshi's stance since oyibo has done the same.
okuns

Post by okuns »

anikulapo wrote:Platinum

And what might that insight be? He is thrifty... A genius? :D
The French (mainstream) do not actually care for soccer; they are mostly of the opinion it is for peasants and immigrants.

BTW, on another note which concerns the SE. Argentina's list doesnt include Tevez and includes Di Santo and Demichelis.
patrick

Post by patrick »

niyi wrote:

Niyi,

Please can u post El Granada CF B 3-1 al Lucena CF highlights? Thank you
When people try to use you to gain relevance, just ignore them. It pains them even more

Super Eagle wrote:

Oga Cellular, unlike Nigeria, countries like France, Spain, Brazil, Argentina, etc can afford to overlook one or two good players. But Keshi doesn't have that luxury. We could barely cobble a full team together as it is.

O pari

As usual, you keeping on showing how 'smart' you are :mrgreen: .................Truly we have

No team :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo