Ugbowo wrote:
niyi wrote:
Ugbowo wrote:
Coach really nor like am. But no fuss made because there r no Div 3 junks to replace him. He will still be missed IMHO.
People said they'd miss Cantona and Nasri is nowhere near the talent that great #7 was. Bad influences on the squad are a no-no.
When you talk of D3 junk, you're acting as if Nigeria has players who were playing week in, week out at the biggest clubs in the world, league winners, etc who were ignored. I saw someone make a similar comment regarding Spain and someone else called Brazil lightweight. Levels pass levels, Nigeria's hope at this world cup is 100% based on unpredictability and a STRONG unit. If we rely on individuals, we don't stand a dog's chance in hell. If the SE went into the Mundial with the best 23 individuals Nigeria has, lets just say Okocha and Kanu would be in the team.
Can we get good players in our strong unit? Or do we have to keep depending on the likes of Gabriel Reuben - kicked out of Kilmanock, Uchebo and Nwofor - kicked out of Venlo.
We will do well because we have a good starting line-up but our bench is full of "droppers" not worthy enough to wear the GWG.
Sure, you can get stronger players in your unit OVER TIME but you talk of Gabriel...that's someone Keshi has worked with for a while, call it dropology, call it what you will, the guy is a stronger part of the unit than say Haruna or Obasi. If there's corruption in the NT, it's symptomatic of a wider problem with the nation, expecting that things will be different with the NT is not taking a full view of things.
NT's often present a view of what a nation's looking like...if our country is corrupt and officials are not paid on time, is it abnormal to expect corruption at various levels INCLUDING the NT? I hate any foul play of any kind but if you want to complain about 'droppers', no be today. That's a problem with our nation as a whole, solve the Nigeria-issue and the SE issue will follow suit swiftly.
So because its a problem with our Country we should not say jack when we see something OBVIOUSLY foul going on?
You guys keep saying Keshi worked with Reuben for years. You do realize this is 2014 right? Keshi became Coach in 2011...Reuben has been injured since late 2012 really if we are honest with ourselves....don't be naïve man.
Lets not argue anymore I beg. Certain ppl have come around to some things that have been said on here for years...others wont. One thing we should all do is support the team regardless....egunje/favoritism/div3 players and all.....
First of all, let me be crystal clear. I HATE the corruption that goes with every facet of our society, I hate the foul play, I detest the shortcuts and I am tired of a country that embraces those who cheat and steal while acting like the actual good people are the abnormal ones, sick of it.
With that said, you can say all you want from now till your face turns blue, but it won't change a thing. You can keep saying stuff or talking but it fails to address or understand the why. That's the point I'm making that you've totally missed. Whether FC or LC, the problem remains. Are Nigerians not tired of blowing hot air and shying away from actually facing issues and truths? Did the complaints stop the FA from sacking the unfortunate Amodu (2ce), hiring Lagerback and taking half his salary? Did the complaints stop Carlos Alberto Torres from walking away after less than a week? These problems are symptomatic of Naija, it's been that way since nineteen-kwekwe. I'm saying if you want to look further and ACTUALLY understand why these things keep happening in the NT's then it's right there before your face. It may be happening with Keshi and it WILL continue to happen. When you want to fix a car with a busted timing belt, you don't buy car paint to glossy up the exterior. You cannot divorce these complaints and occurrences from Nigeria as a whole, it's impossible.
By ages, I mean Keshi has worked with him long term, or almost as long as he's been there. Even just the fact that he took him to the anc camp is enough. It's same reason Bright Dike gets dibs over Martins. It's easily explainable, whether you accept or embrace that decision is your call. I'm not saying I like it, just giving what is a plausible explanation.
What things have you been saying for years? That Keshi collects money or uses wayo? Has anything changed since 94? Didnt Westerhof do same? Has the Nigerian society improved? Baseline remains the same it's always been, we try to work through the murky issues and the guy did win the CAN after a 19 year hiatus right? We can only hope that his unit does well in Brazil but if they don't, I'm 100% sure it won't be because obasi or haruna or uche were absent, I'm 100% sure about that.