World Cup traveller warnings!

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

World Cup traveller warnings!

I will post as many of these as I can find as the days draw close.

Brazil Advises World Cup Tourists: 'Don't Scream' if Robbed
By Harriet Baskas

Brazilian police have put together security guidelines for visitors traveling to the World Cup next month, including advice to tourists not to scream if robbed.

“Don’t fight, scream or argue,” advises a brochure filled with World Cup safety tips compiled by the São Paulo police that will be published in four different languages, Brazilian newspaper Estadao de Sao Paulo first reported.

The U.S. Department of State warns that crime such as armed robbery in Brazil is "a major concern — especially in the larger cities" such as Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo, two of the 12 World Cup host cities.

Brazil expects around 3.7 million tourists during the World Cup, including nearly 2 million coming specifically to attend matches and fan events June 12 to July 13. Of that number, Brazil plans that an estimated 600,000 foreign tourists will visit.

“I haven’t heard about the ‘don’t scream’ advice but can tell you it’s probably solid advice,” said Kevin Raub, a São Paulo-based writer and author of the Rio chapter in the latest Lonely Planet "South America on a Shoestring" travel guide.

“People have been killed over a backpack and others have been killed simply out of frustration when the thieves couldn’t get what they wanted. It's best not to antagonize them whatsoever,” said Raub.

He also agrees with advice not to carry anything valuable, especially at the beach.

“Rio has seen an increase of something called ‘arrastão,’ which means ‘big sweep.’ A wave of thieves line up along the sand and rob everyone in a lightning quick operation that is in and out before beachgoers or police can even blink.”

Raub also suggests not taking out a phone or a camera in large crowds.

“Rio's pickpockets, called ‘rats’ locally, make David Copperfield look like a lame magician. Your phone will be gone before you can say ‘abracadabra’ and you won't even know until the next time you reach in your pocket for it.”

His best advice for travelers? Pay attention to surroundings and use common sense.

"Brazilians are friendly and most people will be willing to help you if you ask for directions or need to find out anything at all."

"The chances of something bad happening to you in Rio are slim, and during the World Cup security precautions will be on overdrive," Raub added.

And most Brazilians are willing to help out tourists, said Jill Siegel, owner of South American Escapes. “Brazilians are friendly and most people will be willing to help you if you ask for directions or need to find out anything at all.”

To avoid calling attention to yourself, Siegel advises, don't wear jewelry or gold chains and don’t walk around unfamiliar streets or the beach at night. “And wear an obviously inexpensive watch, such as a plastic one.”

She also advises visitors to Rio to “stick to taxis” because on public buses, it’s easy to get on the wrong line, and some areas of the suburbs in the North Zone can be dangerous for foreigners. And visitors should be cautious in traffic.

“Buses are crazy,” said Mark Koelen, who works with Rio Football Tour. “They drive too fast in narrow streets and any sudden movement by a visitor who is not accustomed to this is simply fatal.”

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention also recommends bringing a first-aid kit filled with over-the-counter medicines, using insect repellant to help avoid dengue, which is carried by mosquitos in Brazil, drinking bottled water and avoiding unprotected sex.

Information from The Associated Press was included in this report.
http://www.nbcnews.com/business/travel/ ... ed-n105486

For US and other travelers from the Centers for Disease Control:

World Cup in Brazil

Updated: April 10, 2014
Graphic: World Cup 2014

The Fédération Internationale de Football Association’s (FIFA) World Cup is a football (soccer) tournament held every 4 years with teams competing from all over the world. The 2014 World Cup is scheduled from June 12 through July 13, 2014 and will be located in twelve cities across Brazil.

If you plan to travel to Brazil for the 2014 FIFA World Cup, follow the recommendations below to help you stay safe and healthy.
What can travelers do to protect themselves?
Before your trip:

Schedule a health appointment at least 4–6 weeks before you depart on your trip. Talk to your doctor or nurse about vaccines and medicines recommended for Brazil. See the Find a Clinic webpage for help in finding a travel medicine clinic near you.
CDC recommends all travelers be up-to-date on routine vaccines, including measles-mumps-rubella (MMR), diphtheria-tetanus-pertussis, varicella (chickenpox), polio, and flu.
Other recommended vaccines may include hepatitis A, typhoid, hepatitis B, yellow fever, and rabies.
Medicine for malaria and travelers’ diarrhea may be recommended.
Consider purchasing travel health and medical evacuation insurance.
Pack a travel health kit.
Monitor travel warnings and alertsExternal Web Site Icon and read travel tipsExternal Web Site Icon from the US Department of State.
Enroll in the Smart Traveler Enrollment Program (STEP)External Web Site Icon.
Leave a copy of your itinerary, contact information, credit cards, and passport with someone at home.

During your trip:

Follow security and safety guidelines. US travelers may be targets for criminals during mass gatherings.
If possible, don't travel at night, avoid questionable areas, and travel with a companion.
If you drink alcohol, do it in moderation. Drunk people are more likely to hurt themselves or other people, engage in risky sex, or get arrested.
Carry a photocopy of your passport and entry stamp; leave the actual passport securely in your hotel.
Carry the contact information for the nearest US embassy or consulate in BrazilExternal Web Site Icon, and local emergency service numbers: 190 (police), 192 (ambulance), and 193 (fire department). Note that these local emergency phone numbers are available in Portuguese only.
Follow all local laws and social customs.
Do not wear expensive clothing or jewelry.
Always keep hotel doors locked, and store valuables in secure areas.
If possible, choose hotel rooms on the 2nd through the 6th floors. A room on the 1st floor of a hotel may provide easier access for criminals. Rooms on the 7th floor and above may be difficult to escape in the event of a fire.
Follow food and water safety guidelines: Eating contaminated food and drinking contaminated water can cause illnesses such as hepatitis A, typhoid fever, and travelers’ diarrhea. Read about how to prevent these diseases by visiting the Safe Food and Water page. Beware of food from street vendors, ice in drinks, and other foods and drinks that may be contaminated and cause travelers’ diarrhea.
Prevent mosquito bites and use insect repellent: Diseases spread by mosquitoes, such as malaria, dengue, and yellow fever are common throughout Brazil. Read more about ways to prevent bug bites by visiting the Avoid Bug Bites page. You may also need to take prescription medicine to protect against malaria or get a vaccine against yellow fever. Talk to your doctor or nurse about prevention steps that are right for you. See yellow fever and malaria information for Brazil.
Follow guidelines for hot climates: Dehydration and heat-related illnesses are common during sporting events. Drink plenty of (bottled!) water, keep cool, and wear sunscreen. Read more about how to prevent these conditions by visiting the Travel to Hot Climates and Sun Exposure pages.
Avoid swimming in fresh water—lakes and rivers. Schistosomiasis is a parasitic infection that can be spread in fresh water that may cause serious health problems.
Reduce your risk of sexually transmitted diseases (STDs): While celebrating, people may encourage travelers to engage in risky sex, especially if alcohol or drugs are involved. Carry condoms that you purchased in the United States. Read more about how to prevent these conditions by visiting the Traveler STD page.
Choose safe transportation: Motor vehicle crashes are the #1 killer of healthy US citizens in foreign countries. Read about ways to prevent transportation injuries by visiting the Road Safety page.
Reduce your exposure to germs: Wash your hands often, and avoid contact with people who are sick. Read more about reducing your exposure to germs in the Stay Healthy and Safe section of the Brazil page.
If you feel sick during your trip—
Talk to a doctor or nurse if you feel seriously ill, especially if you have a fever.
For more information about medical care abroad, see Getting Health Care Abroad and a list of International Joint Commission-accredited facilities.External Web Site Icon
If you don't speak Portuguese and require assistance with a health issue, see our list of common Portuguese health terms and phrases.
Avoid contact with other people while you are sick.

After your trip:

If you are not feeling well after your trip, you may need to see a doctor. If you need help finding a travel medicine specialist, see Find a Clinic. Be sure to tell your doctor about your travel, including where you went and what you did on your trip. Also tell your doctor if you were bitten or scratched by an animal while traveling.
If your doctor prescribed antimalarial medicine for your trip, keep taking the rest of your pills after you return home. If you stop taking your medicine too soon, you could still get sick.
Malaria is always a serious disease and may be deadly. If you become ill with a fever either while traveling in a malaria-risk area or after you return home (for up to 1 year), you should seek immediate medical attention and should tell the doctor about your travel history.
For more information, see Getting Sick after Travel.

More Information

Health Information for Travelers to Brazil
Brazil Information from the US Department of StateExternal Web Site Icon
Iguassu Falls (Brazil Tourist Destination) in CDC Health Information for International Travel -“Yellow Book”

Clinician Information

Clinician View: Health Information for Travelers to Brazil
Yellow Fever vaccine recommendations in Brazil, 2014 Adobe PDF file (Source: Brazil Ministry of Health)
http://wwwnc.cdc.gov/travel/notices/wat ... cup-brazil

Safety & tips in Rio de Janeiro and Brazil

The following tips and advice are made from experience. This doesn’t mean you will get robbed. It counts for travel in general and many more destinations besides Brazil.

» Awareness! Enjoy by being aware of the beautiful city and the good life but also be aware of the people around you, sudden movements, people that might observe you or bump into you. Especially in crowded places like a big party in the street or in a metro or train station.

» On a Sunday Rio de Janeiro’s business centre is deserted and quiet. During the week it’s packed but on a Sunday not. Do not go in there, especially when you are a tourist.

» If you want to take pictures of people then make sure to ask first.
Valuable necklaces are an easy target. My suggestion: do not wear them in the streets. And if you are accustomed to wearing a watch then wear a cheap one, you’d be happy to give that one away.

» When you’re walking during the night, or (especially) in quiet areas, then try to take a taxi or walk with a group.

» Do not flash around with your fancy iphone, ipads and camera’s. You can use them for sure but after you used them cover them up.

» Wearing a backpack? Don’t put your valuables in there, it’s easy to cut it op from behind. Might want to consider wearing it in front of you instead of on your back.

» If you are not sure about small streets or dark streets then only go in there if you are accompanied by a local (guide).

» Dress local. When everybody walks in shorts and flip flops maybe you should consider doing the same? Wearing the latest summer edition of a North Face outfit with your 6 pound climbing shoes and matching jungle shorts doesn’t really make you blend in..

» Do not buy or use drugs. And when you drink alcohol do not get completely wasted. It can make you an easy target.

» Don’t take your valuables to the beach.

» You could divide your money into two wallets or have a roll of money that seems a lot but that has more paper than value. Chances are slim but if they want to rob you then just give it away without any trouble.

» We advice you not to take the minivans that work like a taxi / bus. Either take a big public bus (which is an adventure in Rio) or take a taxi, they’re not expensive.

» Drink water from bottles or coming from a filter and throw toilet paper in the bin.

» Don’t show (off) your money in the streets and try to pay your guide somewhere private.

» When it’s carnival or during the World Cup there will be lots of party! So when, out of nowhere, this gorgeous woman starts an intimate dance with you then think again..yes this could be your lucky night out but it could also NOT be.

» Going out in Rio? You should it’s great! And if you decide to get drunk despite our advice not to drink too much, then don’t bring your credit card and smartphone with you. Take come cash, bring the address from the hotel, you might want to consider a copy of your passport and that’s it.
http://www.riofootballtour.com/safety-world-cup-brazil/
analyzer
Re: World Cup traveller warnings

Post by analyzer »

In a nut shell, expect to get robbed.. :mad: :mad:

One of my coworkers who frequents Brazil told me i should have rob money on me. I was like shoo.. :lol: :lol:
Advised I stash some away in my shoes/socks and keep a decent amount in my pocket.. Decent amount means an amount that will not make the would be robber feel like he wasted his time.. Sya like ~ $40-50 (120BRL)

As for Yellow fever vaccine, yet to decide if I should get one..

Good and important thread for safety tips..
Lampard: 101 goals and counting.......

64 GAMES UNBEATEN AT STAMFORD BRIDGE... A NEW RECORD IS SET.....

For Canadians:

2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil

Level 1

Practise usual precautions

Updated: April 17, 2014
Travel health notice

The 2014 FIFA World Cup is being hosted by Brazil from June 12 to July 13. The event will take place in 12 cities across the country: Belo Horizonte, Brasília, Cuiabá, Curitiba, Fortaleza, Manaus, Natal, Porto Alegre, Recife, Rio de Janeiro, Salvador and São Paulo.

Large crowds are expected, which can increase the risk of accidental injury as well as infectious diseases such as colds, flu and gastrointestinal illness.

Brazilian health authorities have also reported a significant increase in the number of measles cases as compared to the same time period in 2013. Make sure your measles vaccination is up-to-date.

The Public Health Agency of Canada recommends that all travellers attending the 2014 FIFA World Cup take routine health precautions, including the recommendations below. Check the Brazil travel advice and advisories for up-to-date information.
Recommendations
Before you go

Consult a health care provider or visit a travel health clinic preferably six weeks before you travel.
Make sure that you are up-to-date with your recommended routine vaccines and adult boosters, including the measles vaccine.The routine schedule for childhood vaccines may need to be adjusted if a child is travelling.
Be sure to discuss your travel plans with your health care provider or travel health clinic as there may be other vaccines to consider for your travel to Brazil.
There is a risk of yellow fever in Brazil. Vaccination may be recommended depending on your itinerary;however, proof of vaccination is not required to enter the country.
Depending on your itinerary, it may be recommended that you take medication to protect against malaria. If so, it is important to take the medication until it is finished, even after your return to Canada.

Check the Brazil travel health page for up-to-date information, including protection against food and water, insect and animal-related diseases.
There is a risk of rabies in Brazil. Follow personal precautions to avoid contact with all animals, wild or domestic, and know what to do if you are bitten or scratched.
Avoid swimming in fresh water, such as ponds, lakes and rivers, as there may be a risk of schistosomiasis. There is no risk of schistosomiasis if swimming in the ocean or in well-chlorinated pools.
Pack a travel health kit and purchase travel health insurance.

During your trip

Protect yourself and others from the spread of germs and flu-like illnesses
Wash your hands frequently or use alcohol-based hand sanitizer if soap and water are not available.
If you cough or sneeze, cover your mouth and nose with your arm. If you use a tissue, dispose of it as soon as possible and wash your hands afterwards.
Practise safe food and water precautions
Protect yourself from insect bites, as diseases like dengue, leishmaniasis, malaria and yellow fever occur in Brazil.
Protect yourself from HIV/AIDS and other sexually transmitted infections (STI).
Make sure you understand the risks of alcohol and drugs when you travel as you are subject to the laws of the country you are visiting.
Take precautions during outdoor activities.
Remember to stay safe in the sun and stay hydrated.
Follow water safety tips, whether at the beach, pool, snorkeling or on a boat.
Drive with caution
The leading cause of death among international travellers is traffic accidents.
Expect traffic congestion and road closures.
Avoid driving on unfamiliar and/or rural roads, especially at night.
Don’t drive if you’re under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

After your return

If you are sick after you return, see a health care provider and tell them where you have travelled.

If you travelled to a region where there is a risk of malaria, know the symptoms and seek medical attention immediately if a fever arises during or for up to one year after you return. Be sure to tell your healthcareprovider that you have travelled to a region where malaria is present.
If during your trip you were bitten or scratched by an animal, see your health care provider and tell them about your exposure and any treatment you may have received.
http://travel.gc.ca/travelling/health-s ... ifa-brazil

analyzer wrote:In a nut shell, expect to get robbed.. :mad: :mad:

One of my coworkers who frequents Brazil told me i should have rob money on me. I was like shoo.. :lol: :lol:
Advised I stash some away in my shoes/socks and keep a decent amount in my pocket.. Decent amount means an amount that will not make the would be robber feel like he wasted his time.. Sya like ~ $40-50 (120BRL)

Bros, me, I go avoid Rio or Sao Paulo. Not that smaller cities won't be a problem, but they will not be as much as Rio.
analyzer

Post by analyzer »

Pa Ohsee,
And I be dey look forward to us hitting up the famous "Quatro Por Quatro".. a.k.a. Whiskeria "Four by Four".. you go miss o!!! :D :D

ohsee wrote:

Bros, me, I go avoid Rio or Sao Paulo. Not that smaller cities won't be a problem, but they will not be as much as Rio.

LOL those are the only two cities im going to.. They have started their protests again as of yesterday. Anyway, make we land first. Just keep ya eyes open!

Rob Money.

Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

ohsee wrote:

Decided from the onset I'd avoid Rio and SP. Went to Rio years ago and had £6K raided from my credit card. I didn't even find out until I returned to London.

Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

I met a Brazilian born and raised in the Rio favelas a few days ago and he told me the exact same thing. He said not to carry a lot of money, to avoid ATMs in public places and his most memorable advice, to carry "rob money" in your pockets. He said to hide the rest of your money in your boxers. When I had a puzzled look on my face he said "under your ballsack". Supposedly when you get robbed over there, they pat you down and check your socks so he said your boxers are the safest place to keep them.

I'm not too worried about getting robbed, and if I do, I wont have much on me...a little bit of money, a beater phone that I dont even use and that is it. I dont know about you guys but I dont carry my passport with me when I'm in a foreign country.
analyzer

Post by analyzer »

Heliopolis wrote:

I met a Brazilian born and raised in the Rio favelas a few days ago and he told me the exact same thing. He said not to carry a lot of money, to avoid ATMs in public places and his most memorable advice, to carry "rob money" in your pockets. He said to hide the rest of your money in your boxers. When I had a puzzled look on my face he said "under your ballsack". Supposedly when you get robbed over there, they pat you down and check your socks so he said your boxers are the safest place to keep them.

I'm not too worried about getting robbed, and if I do, I wont have much on me...a little bit of money, a beater phone that I dont even use and that is it. I dont know about you guys but I dont carry my passport with me when I'm in a foreign country.
The passport thing is one that needs further clarification. Most folks state that in brazil you must have your passport on you at all times.. others say if you are just going out for like a few hrs (2-4hrs), then it is not necessary.

My coworker told me of how he had to bribe a brazilian cop because neither him nor his friend had their passport on them when they were accosted.

Grown a## man hiding money in his ball sack - that one get as e be.. :lol: :lol:

Seriously what remote village una come from?

So your first visit to obodo oyibo na Amelika/Rondon/Canada?

The rule in any urban area is, "if you flash it, be prepared to lose it..." I don waka in many dangerous climes... too many to list.

First thing is to make a photocopy of your passport and keep a copy at home. Travel with a photocopy in your carryon incase you lose your passport.

Carry Cash... best place to change money remains the Bureau D'Change at the airports (yes, their rates are not always the best but it will save you some heartaches --counterfeit money, security concerns etc...).

Use your credit cards... call your credit card company before you travel.

Do not put anything other than a hanky in your back pocket. --If you are a Juman, you can put it in your front (trouser) pocket and put your hand in your pockets...

When bumped, check your money...

When using public transport, make sure it is the one picked up from the hotel. Have the concierge recommend a good taxi company or cab driver. Take their cell phone number and information.

Tip well....

If you are staying in a hotel, turn the TV volume on even if you are not in the room and have the Do Not Disturb sign permanently on... that way they will never no if you are in or out of the room.

Been to Brazil bifor...

If you decide go sample the local flavor, just like the mean streets of Chicago, NY, DC, Toronto, Detroit, Newark, LA, East ST. Louis, Miami, etc... it hasn't stopped tourists from going... and ish goes down every day.

I was more afraid of Chicago than I was of Rio.

Very good advice.

As there will be many mugus to be had , harassing a naija man will probably be pretty low on the todo list of Brazillian thugs

ohsee wrote:

Decided from the onset I'd avoid Rio and SP. Went to Rio years ago and had £6K raided from my credit card. I didn't even find out until I returned to London.
You mean you got raided in a 442 :D

KIZONZO

Post by KIZONZO »

Cellular wrote:Seriously what remote village una come from?

So your first visit to obodo oyibo na Amelika/Rondon/Canada?

The rule in any urban area is, "if you flash it, be prepared to lose it..." I don waka in many dangerous climes... too many to list.

First thing is to make a photocopy of your passport and keep a copy at home. Travel with a photocopy in your carryon incase you lose your passport.

Carry Cash... best place to change money remains the Bureau D'Change at the airports (yes, their rates are not always the best but it will save you some heartaches --counterfeit money, security concerns etc...).

Use your credit cards... call your credit card company before you travel.

Do not put anything other than a hanky in your back pocket. --If you are a Juman, you can put it in your front (trouser) pocket and put your hand in your pockets...

When bumped, check your money...

When using public transport, make sure it is the one picked up from the hotel. Have the concierge recommend a good taxi company or cab driver. Take their cell phone number and information.

Tip well....

If you are staying in a hotel, turn the TV volume on even if you are not in the room and have the Do Not Disturb sign permanently on... that way they will never no if you are in or out of the room.

Been to Brazil bifor...

If you decide go sample the local flavor, just like the mean streets of Chicago, NY, DC, Toronto, Detroit, Newark, LA, East ST. Louis, Miami, etc... it hasn't stopped tourists from going... and ish goes down every day.

I was more afraid of Chicago than I was of Rio.
Very good points Cellular. However, the best place to change money still remains the bank(as long as you do it before you travel to your destination). They always have the best rate, no worry about counterfeit and you have the peace of mind of a familiar environment.
You never realize what you have till you lose it.

hopefully 442 :D gets a thorough beating in Rio ..sotey nah bule go full him forehead

While others will be chomping on greasy burritos in their bedroom when Nigeria plays in their home town, I'll post photos of myself inside the stadiums of the matches I attend in Brazil. :thumb:

Just spoke to the Brazil bobo who does the cleaning in my office. He says he is from Sao Paolo, and like all cities, it all depends on where you are and when you are there. In some parts, there is a lot of crime, others, no crime at all. So be careful where you go.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... ouble.html

Meanwhile, travelling fans are being warned that drunken behaviour will not be tolerated and visitors are also being warned to be alert in case of ‘Express’ kidnappings.

The method sees a victim – sometimes having got into a bogus or rogue taxi - taken to an ATM to withdraw cash on a daily basis.

Victims are held for around 72 hours and are sometimes beaten during the ordeal before finally being freed after four or five days.
...Tourists are also advised not to wear jewellery, expensive watches or walk alone at night and to check to see if they are being followed.

Muggers will be attracted to anyone who they ‘perceive’ to be wealthy.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... z32OEBMWQB
Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

The YeyeMan wrote:While others will be chomping on greasy burritos in their bedroom when Nigeria plays in their home town, I'll post photos of myself inside the stadiums of the matches I attend in Brazil. :thumb:
In a 442 :D

Call your CCard company before going to Brazil

Call them and ask for a Pseudo credit card. It basically is a temporary credit card that you can place daily spending limits on, maximum spending limits over a period of time, and the number expires after a set period of time.

Most credit card companies have this and will be more than happen to send one over.
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

Lager-back
Re: World Cup traveller warnings!

Post by Lager-back »

Not using my cc in brazil. no chance.
all cash payments. had experienced a lot of fraudulent charges in my travels lately.
KIZONZO
Re: World Cup traveller warnings!

Post by KIZONZO »

Lager-back wrote:Not using my cc in brazil. no chance.
all cash payments. had experienced a lot of fraudulent charges in my travels lately.
Trust me, you will use your card after a few drinks. Meanwhile, I go bankrupt you when we dey drink for bar if you open a tab ! :taunt: :taunt:
You never realize what you have till you lose it.