World Cup traveller warnings!

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

Lager-back
Re: World Cup traveller warnings!

Post by Lager-back »

KIZONZO wrote:
Lager-back wrote:Not using my cc in brazil. no chance.
all cash payments. had experienced a lot of fraudulent charges in my travels lately.
Trust me, you will use your card after a few drinks. Meanwhile, I go bankrupt you when we dey drink for bar if you open a tab ! :taunt: :taunt:
MODS :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :atc: :atc:
Lager-back

Post by Lager-back »

Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

How do you say "Ay yo ma, drop ya panties fo' me real quick" in Portugese? Thanks!

analyzer

Post by analyzer »

Yellow fever vaccine - Yay! or Nay!!??
Lampard: 101 goals and counting.......

64 GAMES UNBEATEN AT STAMFORD BRIDGE... A NEW RECORD IS SET.....

analyzer wrote:Yellow fever vaccine - Yay! or Nay!!??
Depends where you're going. If like me you're heading to Salvador then you don't need anything.

KIZONZO

Post by KIZONZO »

Depends where you're going. If like me you're heading to Salvador then you don't need anything.
Yep, that Yellow fever vaccine is only for guys going to Manaus or the Amazon
You never realize what you have till you lose it.
analyzer

Post by analyzer »

Thanks guys.. My waka dey reach Fortaleza..

KIZONZO wrote:
Yep, that Yellow fever vaccine is only for guys going to Manaus or the Amazon
I took the yellow fever shot. The doc I went to see looked at a disease map and concluded I need one. Also got Hepatitis A as well. Di tin dey gi me one kine small-small headache, but nothing serious. The doc also prescribed malaria pills. I bought them because I read somewhere that while you may possess some immunity to the malaria in West Africa, when you go to another continent, the story may be different. I want to enjoy the rest of the World Cup when I return after the first round.
analyzer

Post by analyzer »

Re posting here

I went to a Travelers' clinic earlier today and got vaccines for both Typhoid Fever and Yellow Fever.
Also got antibiotic prescription for Travelers diarrhea. For those in the U.S - Ciprofloxacin..
For Dengue fever, there are no vaccines. Best protection is Insect repellents - DEET and Premethrin (spray on your clothes). DEET lasts about 4-6hr before replication is needed, but Premethrin on your clothes can last up to 5 washes.. Apply both..

The coastal cities are general safe, but if you are attending a game inland - Manus/Brasilia, then you better go check if you need coverage against malaria, or yellow fever.
Typhoid fever vaccines can be oral or injection. Understanding is that oral gives a longer coverage (about 5yrs).. Might be best option for frequent travelers.
FYI - these vaccines are expensive and not covered by most health insurance companies.

Below link should be helpful
http://wwwnc.cdc.gov/travel/destination ... one/brazil

Yellow Fever Vaccine recommendation

Malaria Transmission

Also take plenty of mosquito repellent, you don't want to catch dengue fever.

The YeyeMan wrote:Also take plenty of mosquito repellent, you don't want to catch dengue fever.
Is there dengue everywhere? I am going to Curitiba, Belo Horizonte, Cuiaba, Porto Alegre and Brazilia.
ikemba_nacho

Post by ikemba_nacho »

ohsee wrote:
The YeyeMan wrote:Also take plenty of mosquito repellent, you don't want to catch dengue fever.
Is there dengue everywhere? I am going to Curitiba, Belo Horizonte, Cuiaba, Porto Alegre and Brazilia.
Dengue is a viral infection carried by the aedes aegypti mosquito.

Workers in Campinas have embarked on a huge operation to eradicate mosquitoes, which spread the disease, before the Portuguese and Nigerian teams arrive.

Some 32,384 people have been infected by dengue this year in the southeastern city about one hour from Sao Paulo. At least three people have died.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/fifa-world-cup-20 ... z33q5tm0Fs

Three Brazilian host cities — Fortaleza, Natal and Recife — are at higher risk than the other nine of a dengue fever outbreak during the World Cup, scientists said on Saturday.

In absolute terms, the risk is low in all event venues, but comparatively greater in the three northeastern cities and authorities should beef up steps to prevent an outbreak, they said.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/worl ... 265962.cms
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

Anyone think its a good idea to carry around fake US$ just in case you get mugged?
analyzer

Post by analyzer »

Thanks for the info Ikemba. I will be in Fortaleza, but no shakings..

@Ohsee, just carry enough insect repellents. That is currently the best protection.

@Helio, very bad idea IMO. What if the would be muggers can tell it is fake?

ikemba_nacho

Post by ikemba_nacho »

analyzer wrote:Thanks for the info Ikemba. I will be in Fortaleza, but no shakings..

@Ohsee, just carry enough insect repellents. That is currently the best protection.

@Helio, very bad idea IMO. What if the would be muggers can tell it is fake?

Not a problem at all bro, you should be fine. The travel Dr I saw advised that the highest risk is at night. So guys please make sure that you take the precautions at this time.

All these injections una dey collect kai., I hope 442 :D collect one to weak him entire leg. Kai :rotf: me I no like needless at all