Cote D'Ivoire announces 5 players cut for 23 man list.

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

Jaidi
Cote D'Ivoire announces 5 players cut for 23 man list.

Post by Jaidi »

Badra Ali, Brice Dja Djédjé, Benjamin Angoua, Lacina Traoré et Doumbia Seydou ».
http://www.fif-ci.com/~v2/?q=article/el ... ndial-2014

Traore is the only surprise, he's not fit sadly. Looked good in the last AFCON.
Re: Cote D'Ivoire announces 5 players cut for 23 man list.

Dem for cuy that bamba, yeye defender

They cut Seydou Doumbia ? Are they mad ? :scared:

I'm surprised about Doumbia's cut. Lacina was injured for most of the second half of the season so that was somewhat expected.

I thought Doumbia was a canidate to start over Drogba

Doumbia is a criminal exclusion, especially when there are WASTEPIPES like that useless Sio and Bolly in the squad. Don't know what the coach is thinking.
Jaidi

Post by Jaidi »

Doumbia has never seen the pitch for CIV for over a year. Bony has and is in similar form. It's understandable.

Bony is the candidate to start over Drogba, it was never Doumbia.

vancity eagle wrote:They cut Seydou Doumbia ? Are they mad ? :scared:
Why? He scores for his club, but Bony and Drogba are much better than him...

They dropped Doumbia yet keep Boly? :shock:

vancity eagle wrote:They cut Seydou Doumbia ? Are they mad ? :scared:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Ivory Coast trim World Cup squad

02 Jun 2014 12:08:00 AM

Strikers Seydou Doumbia and Lacina Traore are the major players to be cut from Sabri Lamouchi's side as the Liverpool defender is passed fit for the competition

Kolo Toure will be part of the Ivory Coast squad for the World Cup, despite contracting malaria in the build-up to the finals.

The Liverpool defender was named as part of Sabri Lamouchi's 23-man squad for the tournament on Sunday, even though he did not feature in their 2-1 defeat to Bosnia-Herzegovina the previous day.

Lamouchi's squad has seen five players released from the provisional 28, with strikers Seydou Doumbia, who scored 20 goals for CSKA Moscow last season, and Lacina Traore both being cut.

The pair are joined by defenders Benjamin Angoua and Brice Dja Djedje, plus goalkeeper Badra Ali in missing Ivory Coast's third appearance at a finals.

Informing the five players was a tough task for Lamouchi, who admitted it brought back memories of his exclusion from France's squad for their hosting of the World Cup in 1998.

"I've known a few difficult moments in my two years as national coach," Supersport quote him as saying. "But today has been by far the most difficult day.

"I have to do my job responsibly and make tough decisions. The five players who will not take part in the World Cup have been exemplary throughout."

Ivory Coast complete their tournament preparations against El Salvador on Wednesday before opening their campaign against Japan on June 15.

Squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Boubacar Barry (Lokeren), Sylvain Gbohouo (Sewe Sport), Sayouba Mande (Stabaek)

Defenders: Jean-Daniel Akpa-Akpro (Toulouse), Serge Aurier (Toulouse), Souleyman Bamba (Trabzonspor), Arthur Boka (Stuttgart), Kolo Toure (Liverpool), Didier Zokora (Trabzonspor), Ousman Vieira (Caykur Rizespor)

Midfielders: Mathis Bolly (Fortuna Dusseldorf), Constant Djakpa (Eintracht Frankfurt), Ismael Diomande (Saint-Etienne), Max-Alain Gradel (Saint-Etienne), Cheick Tiote (Newcastle United), Yaya Toure (Manchester City), Geoffroy Serey Die (Basel), Didier Ya Konan (Hannover 96)

Forwards: Wilfried Bony (Swansea), Didier Drogba (Galatasaray), Gervinho (Roma), Salomon Kalou (Lille), Giovanni Sio (Basel)

http://www.goal.com/en-za/news/4563/mai ... ID=HP_BN_2
Re: Ivory Coast trim World Cup squad

I'm surprised that Seydou Doumbia didn't make it.
DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

In the last couple of years Ivory Coast has transformed from Africa's biggest hope at the big dance to a bunch of tired-legged walk-in customers.
This team is way past its prime and I would not bet a cent on them to even survive the groupe stage.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti

Naija 4 life!

DAgrin wrote:In the last couple of years Ivory Coast has transformed from Africa's biggest hope at the big dance to a bunch of tired-legged walk-in customers.
This team is way past its prime and I would not bet a cent on them to even survive the groupe stage.
...all before anybody has kicked the first ball.

4-4-2
Barry
Aurer,K Toure, Zokora, Boka
Kalou, Y Toure, Tiote, Gervinhno
Drogba, Bony

i hope they get their act together for the sake of Africa.

Copy paste next time post this in the worldcup forum.. by the way it's been posted already

ohenhen1 wrote:4-4-2
Barry
Drogba, Bony

That K Toure/Zokora partnership at the back is asking for trouble.

As usual, only the coach knows why he cut the players, perhaps from these cuts, the team might surprise the World
DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

joplass wrote:
DAgrin wrote:In the last couple of years Ivory Coast has transformed from Africa's biggest hope at the big dance to a bunch of tired-legged walk-in customers.
...all before anybody has kicked the first ball.
I hope I'm wrong because I got love for all african teams at the WC.
For the first time I will even support the North African participant as I believe that Algeria is a worthy competitor.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti

Naija 4 life!

mystic wrote:
ohenhen1 wrote:4-4-2
Barry
Drogba, Bony

That K Toure/Zokora partnership at the back is asking for trouble.

A bamba/Zokora combination is even worse.

okuns

Post by okuns »

I did not see Eboue on the list...

okuns wrote:I did not see Eboue on the list...

He was not on the provisional list either.

**********************************Drogba**************************************

******************Gervinho**************************Kalou********************

*******************************************Bony*********************************

**********************Yaya*************************Tiote***********************

***Boka***************Bamba****************Zokora****************Aurier ***

**************************************Barry**************************************