No African Fans in the stadium

Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 8:26 pm
by bonecrusher
I'm yet to see a game in this World Cup where African teams hav a decent # of fans in the stands. Look at the CIV game today 90% of folks in the stands looked like Columbia fans. With these many fans I think teams going up against African teams have a huge upper hand.

I wonder if African teams will be doing better with more fan support during the games.

I know many will probably say this is an excuse but I bet those who have played before can attest to the power of the 12th man.

Re: No African Fans in the stadium

Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 8:47 pm
by Ekorian
bonecrusher wrote:I'm yet to see a game in this World Cup where African teams hav a decent # of fans in the stands. Look at the CIV game today 90% of folks in the stands looked like Columbia fans. With these many fans I think teams going up against African teams have a huge upper hand.

I wonder if African teams will be doing better with more fan support during the games.

I know many will probably say this is an excuse but I bet those who have played before can attest to the power of the 12th man.
Were you in South African in 2010? Have you thought for a minute that there were more Columbians against CIV because the game is in Brazil which happens to be in South America?

Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 8:57 pm
by Scipio Africanus
Colombia, not Columbia

Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 9:16 pm
by Super Eagle
Ekorian wrote:
bonecrusher wrote:I'm yet to see a game in this World Cup where African teams hav a decent # of fans in the stands. Look at the CIV game today 90% of folks in the stands looked like Columbia fans. With these many fans I think teams going up against African teams have a huge upper hand.

Were you in South African in 2010? Have you thought for a minute that their were more Columbians against CIV because the game is in Brazil which happens to be in South America?
So what difference does it make if the game is in Brazil? The United States has the largest foreign contingent in Brazil followed by Australia? Are those two countries in South America as well?

Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 9:23 pm
by akamoke
Ekorian wrote:

Were you in South African in 2010? Have you thought for a minute that there were more Columbians against CIV because the game is in Brazil which happens to be in South America?
In Ellis Park Johannesbur, The Argies outnumbered us Nigerians by about 6:1

Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 10:11 pm
by aamimar

:D ABOUT 10000 Algerian fans in the stadium against Belgium :taunt:

Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 10:16 pm
by soothsayer
Hey even Mourinho knows that there are things more important than football...
He is down in Africa checking on the orphan children, and patients with AID's
Priorities .. Priorities... There are also many reasons why africans will push football down their priorities,
nah Oyinbo get plenty time for hand!

Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 10:20 pm
by kalamashaka
Super Eagle wrote:
Ekorian wrote:

Were you in South African in 2010? Have you thought for a minute that their were more Columbians against CIV because the game is in Brazil which happens to be in South America?
So what difference does it make if the game is in Brazil? The United States has the largest foreign contingent in Brazil followed by Australia? Are those two countries in South America as well?
So people from one of the most prosperous countries in the world are more likely to have the disposable income to undertake this kind of travel than people from the poorest societies on earth? Who knew??/ :roll:

Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 10:29 pm
by Sunset
Did you see the Algeria game?

Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 10:48 pm
by uglyoneiamagain
kalamashaka wrote:
Super Eagle wrote:
Ekorian wrote:

So people from one of the most prosperous countries in the world are more likely to have the disposable income to undertake this kind of travel than people from the poorest societies on earth? Who knew??/ :roll:
Nail to head! :clap:

Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 4:53 am
by mcal
...it's the economy stupid!
Disposable income in the hands of Africans, especially Nigerians, goes toward block party and chieftaincy rites.
For oyinbos, dem go travel to the end of the earth.

Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 5:27 pm
by Guv007
mcal wrote:...it's the economy stupid!
Disposable income in the hands of Africans, especially Nigerians, goes toward block party and chieftaincy rites.
For oyinbos, dem go travel to the end of the earth.
:clap: :agree: :clap:

Anyone not happy with the African fans attendance can sponsor and pay for a coach load of fans to fill the stadiums.

Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 10:36 pm
by bonecrusher
Ekorian wrote:

Obviously that is why there were more Colombian fans but even in South Africa, a team like Cameroon barely even had 10k fans during their games.

So my point is we are basically playing a tournament in which all our games are "away"

Posted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 4:57 pm
by soothsayer
kalamashaka wrote:
Super Eagle wrote:
Ekorian wrote:

plus they are more likely to have a visa card and credit facilities .. and long term job to pay back the credit institution or get loan on their property. Tell someone in Africa that you want to borrow money to watch world cup.. nah slap them go give you. :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 5:58 pm
by Guv007
soothsayer wrote:
kalamashaka wrote:
Super Eagle wrote:
Ekorian wrote:

plus they are more likely to have a visa card and credit facilities .. and long term job to pay back the credit institution or get loan on their property. Tell someone in Africa that you want to borrow money to watch world cup.. nah slap them go give you. :rotf: :rotf:
........what of the hurdles to apply for a visa to travel to Brazil as well.