Page 1 of 2

Who do you have in the semis?

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 9:04 pm
by Heliopolis
As unpredictable as the group stage has been, the 2nd round brackets have lined up in a way favorable for the likes of Argentina, Brazil and Holland. Argentina has looked poor in the group stage but will likely defeat Switzerland and the winner of US/Belgium. Brazil has also looked poor in the group stage but should defeat Chile and Colombia/Uruguay. Though Mexico is a formidable opponent, Holland should defeat them and will most certainly defeat Costa Rica/Greece. My fourth semi-finalist is Germany, who will most likely meet a tough opponent in France in the QFs, but will probably make it to their 4th straight WC semis.

Re: Who do you have in the semis?

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 9:10 pm
by bushboy
Heliopolis wrote:As unpredictable as the group stage has been, the 2nd round brackets have lined up in a way favorable for the likes of Argentina, Brazil and Holland. Argentina has looked poor in the group stage but will likely defeat Switzerland and the winner of US/Belgium. Brazil has also looked poor in the group stage but should defeat Chile and Colombia/Uruguay. Though Mexico is a formidable opponent, Holland should defeat them and will most certainly defeat Costa Rica/Greece. My fourth semi-finalist is Germany, who will most likely meet a tough opponent in France in the QFs, but will probably make it to their 4th straight WC semis.
I see what you did there. I refuse to take the bait. Enjoy the games :)

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 9:11 pm
by Heliopolis
bushboy wrote:
Heliopolis wrote:As unpredictable as the group stage has been, the 2nd round brackets have lined up in a way favorable for the likes of Argentina, Brazil and Holland. Argentina has looked poor in the group stage but will likely defeat Switzerland and the winner of US/Belgium. Brazil has also looked poor in the group stage but should defeat Chile and Colombia/Uruguay. Though Mexico is a formidable opponent, Holland should defeat them and will most certainly defeat Costa Rica/Greece. My fourth semi-finalist is Germany, who will most likely meet a tough opponent in France in the QFs, but will probably make it to their 4th straight WC semis.
It's not what you think...in all likelihood France will advance to the QFs. Even if Nigeria does advance, Germany will be favored.

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 9:12 pm

by bushboy
Heliopolis wrote:
bushboy wrote:
It's not what you think...in all likelihood France will advance to the QFs. Even if Nigeria does advance, Germany will be favored.
Okay. Enjoy the games.

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 10:02 pm
by Scipio Africanus
An Argie win against Switzerland is not a foregone conclusion. Switzerland are the kind of organized European team that can give Argentina fits with set-pieces, counter-attacking and excellent defending.

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 10:06 pm
by kalani JR
I think France could beat Germany, but I have a feeling Mexico will make the semis.

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 11:48 pm
by nanijoe
I guess Algeria is in Brazil for the nice beaches...I won't be surprised to see a Nigeria vs Algeria QFinal
Heliopolis wrote:
bushboy wrote:

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 1:56 am
by bamenda boy
bushboy wrote:
Do you know that the he ... bought his ticket to Brazil thinking that Egypt had already qualified before the Ghana game? Lol

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 7:14 am
by yannick
bamenda boy wrote:
bushboy wrote:
Do you know that the he ... bought his ticket to Brazil thinking that Egypt had already qualified before the Ghana game? Lol

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 7:14 am
by tfco
i am done predicting scores for this WC.

Only Algeria came through in the 3rd round games for African teams.

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 11:28 am
by Heliopolis
bamenda boy wrote:
bushboy wrote:
I'm sorry that Mexico, Croatia and Brazil did not use any vaseline on Cameroon :sad:

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 1:11 pm
by bamenda boy
Heliopolis wrote:
bamenda boy wrote:
bushboy wrote:
I'm sorry that Mexico, Croatia and Brazil did not use any vaseline on Cameroon :sad:
Who did Egypt play?

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 2:01 pm
by Lager-back
Brazil, Nigeria, Holland and Arg

Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 2:47 am
by kajifu
What i know is this knock out stage will have some big surprise like the group stage that no one believe Spain will head home or Italy and England both heading home.
So i hope it goes this way
1)France open yash against SE.
2)Argentina open yash against the Switz
3)Germany open yash against Algeria
4)Chile knock out Brazil.
5)Belgium open yash against USA
That way Algeria and Nigeria face each and the winner head to semi.
USA stand a chance to head in the semi and face Nigeria.
Wow Papa God do it for us oooh

Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 3:27 pm
by opine
nanijoe wrote:I guess Algeria is in Brazil for the nice beaches...I won't be surprised to see a Nigeria vs Algeria QFinal
Heliopolis wrote:
bushboy wrote:

That would be nice. :dream:

Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 4:03 pm
by Coach
Scipio Africanus wrote:An Argie win against Switzerland is not a foregone conclusion. Switzerland are the kind of organized European team that can give Argentina fits with set-pieces, counter-attacking and excellent defending.
Correct. Either Argie click and decimate them, or its a 1-nil shut out, 2 by the whistle, Shaqiri on the break. The Americas lose atleast two in the next round. Paddy Power? Chai, madam no dey watch, mek I put am small small. Diaris God o!

Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 4:23 pm
by ElHadary
bamenda boy wrote:
Heliopolis wrote:
bamenda boy wrote:
bushboy wrote:
Who did Egypt play?
Why is wifey Cameroon talking trash to its husband? Must we beat you furiously once more for you to learn your lesson??

Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 6:13 pm
by Pasha
Lager-back wrote:Brazil, Nigeria, Holland and Arg

Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 9:04 pm
by mate
I'm thinking Holland v Argentina and Brazil v Germany at this point. I have France as a dark horse semifinalist.

In the final, I'd love to see Argentina vs Brazil. I'm thinking Argentina for sure, but believe it or not, I think Brazil can be beaten before then, although it's still not likely.

It seems that Mess has an opportunity to be Maradona...and join Diego and Pele in debates as to whom was the greatest ever. Or maybe that's me wishfully thinking for this kind of football drama?

:)

I'm biased towards extraordinary players.

Cheers, Mate

Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 9:47 pm
by kajifu
Brazil,Nigeria,Mexico , USA.I have the feeling Mexico will not out Holland and beat Costa Rica or Greece.USA will shock Belgium and Argentina will be down.

Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 9:52 pm
by K
Lager-back wrote:Brazil, Nigeria, Holland and Arg
Yeap!! :thumbs:

Posted: Fri Jul 04, 2014 11:05 pm
by bamenda boy
Nigeria?