Ann Coulter: Real Americans hate soccer

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

femibyte

Post by femibyte »

http://news.yahoo.com/ann-coulter-world ... 45703.html

'No American whose great-grandfather was born here is watching soccer,' columnist writes
Dylan Stableford, Yahoo News By Dylan Stableford, Yahoo News
21 hours ago
Yahoo News
Ann Coulter speaks at the Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC) in Washington, Saturday, Feb. 12, 2011. The annual gathering of more than 11,000 conservatives marked the unofficial start of the GOP presidential nomination fight. (AP Photo/Cliff Owen)
View gallery

Millions of Americans watched the United States advance in the World Cup on Thursday. Ann Coulter was probably not one of them.

In a column published on Wednesday, Coulter, the conservative pundit and provocateur, blasted the sport of soccer and trolled its U.S. fans, whom she refers to as "Americans" — quotes marks included.

"I've held off on writing about soccer for a decade — or about the length of the average soccer game — so as not to offend anyone," Coulter's column begins. "But enough is enough. Any growing interest in soccer can only be a sign of the nation's moral decay."

Coulter lists all the reasons why she says soccer is not a real sport. Among them: "Individual achievement is not a big factor."

"The blame is dispersed and almost no one scores anyway," Coulter writes. "There are no heroes, no losers, no accountability, and no child's fragile self-esteem is bruised. There's a reason perpetually alarmed women are called 'soccer moms,' not 'football moms.'"

Another: It's boring, she claims.

"If Michael Jackson had treated his chronic insomnia with a tape of Argentina vs. Brazil instead of Propofol, he'd still be alive, although bored," Coulter quips.

[Related: Yahoo Sports' full World Cup coverage]

It's not violent enough for Coulter.

"The prospect of either personal humiliation or major injury is required to count as a sport," she writes. "Most sports are sublimated warfare."

In American football, she writes, "ambulances carry off the wounded. After a soccer game, every player gets a ribbon and a juice box."

And despite the stellar ratings that Sunday's USA-Portugal game received in the United States (18.2 million viewers, according to ESPN), Coulter doesn't believe the sport is actually catching on here.

"The same people trying to push soccer on Americans are the ones demanding that we love HBO's 'Girls,' light-rail, Beyoncé and Hillary Clinton," she writes. "The number of New York Times articles claiming soccer is 'catching on' is exceeded only by the ones pretending women's basketball is fascinating."

Coulter claims she's not the only one bored by soccer in the States. "One group of sports fans with whom soccer is not 'catching on' at all, is African-Americans," Coulter writes. "They remain distinctly unimpressed by the fact that the French like it.

"If more 'Americans' are watching soccer today, it's only because of the demographic switch effected by Teddy Kennedy's 1965 immigration law," Coulter adds. "I promise you: No American whose great-grandfather was born here is watching soccer. One can only hope that, in addition to learning English, these new Americans will drop their soccer fetish with time."
You'll Never Walk Alone... - Liverpool FC
http://www.femibyte.com
Re: Ann Coulter: Real Americans hate soccer

Trash talking at it lowest!!!

People keep sharing this woman's writing, we should ignore it not share! You don't share the rantings of a mad person.
Omo Eniyan

Post by Omo Eniyan »

DIMKA76 wrote:Trash talking at it lowest!!!
...by a Trailer ...
"If you even dream of beating me, you better wake up and apologize." - Mohammed Ali
sinequanon

Post by sinequanon »

Interesting...

This suggests that football is starting to make more inroads than expected. Otherwise, she wouldn't be ranting on behalf of whoever she is ranting for.
There'll be time enough for counting, when the dealing's done..

https://voca.ro/1dk47QJEvGY2
Chimurenga Rebel

Post by Chimurenga Rebel »

sinequanon wrote:Interesting...

This suggests that football is starting to make more inroads than expected. Otherwise, she wouldn't be ranting on behalf of whoever she is ranting for.

the Kenyan was watching the USA game aboard Air Force One. :biggrin:
"Just call me the Chimurenga Man. A guerilla. Soldier of peace.Man of the people. I write love poems with the barrel of my gun. For Africa always." - Japheth Ncube

She's not alone. Even Olberman went in on soccer two days ago. PTI, Sports Nations etc can't wait for the WC to be over. They will get their wish when WC moves to Fox.

She has to be insane
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
uglyoneiamagain

Post by uglyoneiamagain »

Can you ask this 'real American' who her ancestors were and the game they played/are playing/invented? :D unless she claims to be a Native American Descendant, she's in the closet about 'soccer'. :D
opine
Ann Coulter on growing interest in soccer

Post by opine »

http://www.anncoulter.com/columns/2014-06-25.html

I've held off on writing about soccer for a decade -- or about the length of the average soccer game -- so as not to offend anyone. But enough is enough. Any growing interest in soccer can only be a sign of the nation's moral decay.

(1) Individual achievement is not a big factor in soccer. In a real sport, players fumble passes, throw bricks and drop fly balls -- all in front of a crowd. When baseball players strike out, they're standing alone at the plate. But there's also individual glory in home runs, touchdowns and slam-dunks.

In soccer, the blame is dispersed and almost no one scores anyway. There are no heroes, no losers, no accountability, and no child's fragile self-esteem is bruised. There's a reason perpetually alarmed women are called "soccer moms," not "football moms."

Do they even have MVPs in soccer? Everyone just runs up and down the field and, every once in a while, a ball accidentally goes in. That's when we're supposed to go wild. I'm already asleep.

(2) Liberal moms like soccer because it's a sport in which athletic talent finds so little expression that girls can play with boys. No serious sport is co-ed, even at the kindergarten level.

(3) No other "sport" ends in as many scoreless ties as soccer. This was an actual marquee sign by the freeway in Long Beach, California, about a World Cup game last week: "2nd period, 11 minutes left, score: 0:0." Two hours later, another World Cup game was on the same screen: "1st period, 8 minutes left, score: 0:0." If Michael Jackson had treated his chronic insomnia with a tape of Argentina vs. Brazil instead of Propofol, he'd still be alive, although bored.

Even in football, by which I mean football, there are very few scoreless ties -- and it's a lot harder to score when a half-dozen 300-pound bruisers are trying to crush you.

(4) The prospect of either personal humiliation or major injury is required to count as a sport. Most sports are sublimated warfare. As Lady Thatcher reportedly said after Germany had beaten England in some major soccer game: Don't worry. After all, twice in this century we beat them at their national game.

Baseball and basketball present a constant threat of personal disgrace. In hockey, there are three or four fights a game -- and it's not a stroll on beach to be on ice with a puck flying around at 100 miles per hour. After a football game, ambulances carry off the wounded. After a soccer game, every player gets a ribbon and a juice box.

(5) You can't use your hands in soccer. (Thus eliminating the danger of having to catch a fly ball.) What sets man apart from the lesser beasts, besides a soul, is that we have opposable thumbs. Our hands can hold things. Here's a great idea: Let's create a game where you're not allowed to use them!

(6) I resent the force-fed aspect of soccer. The same people trying to push soccer on Americans are the ones demanding that we love HBO's "Girls," light-rail, Beyonce and Hillary Clinton. The number of New York Times articles claiming soccer is "catching on" is exceeded only by the ones pretending women's basketball is fascinating.

I note that we don't have to be endlessly told how exciting football is.

(7) It's foreign. In fact, that's the precise reason the Times is constantly hectoring Americans to love soccer. One group of sports fans with whom soccer is not "catching on" at all, is African-Americans. They remain distinctly unimpressed by the fact that the French like it.

(8) Soccer is like the metric system, which liberals also adore because it's European. Naturally, the metric system emerged from the French Revolution, during the brief intervals when they weren't committing mass murder by guillotine.

Despite being subjected to Chinese-style brainwashing in the public schools to use centimeters and Celsius, ask any American for the temperature, and he'll say something like "70 degrees." Ask how far Boston is from New York City, he'll say it's about 200 miles.

Liberals get angry and tell us that the metric system is more "rational" than the measurements everyone understands. This is ridiculous. An inch is the width of a man's thumb, a foot the length of his foot, a yard the length of his belt. That's easy to visualize. How do you visualize 147.2 centimeters?

(9) Soccer is not "catching on." Headlines this week proclaimed "Record U.S. ratings for World Cup," and we had to hear -- again -- about the "growing popularity of soccer in the United States."

The USA-Portugal game was the blockbuster match, garnering 18.2 million viewers on ESPN. This beat the second-most watched soccer game ever: The 1999 Women's World Cup final (USA vs. China) on ABC. (In soccer, the women's games are as thrilling as the men's.)

Run-of-the-mill, regular-season Sunday Night Football games average more than 20 million viewers; NFL playoff games get 30 to 40 million viewers; and this year's Super Bowl had 111.5 million viewers.

Remember when the media tried to foist British soccer star David Beckham and his permanently camera-ready wife on us a few years ago? Their arrival in America was heralded with 24-7 news coverage. That lasted about two days. Ratings tanked. No one cared.

If more "Americans" are watching soccer today, it's only because of the demographic switch effected by Teddy Kennedy's 1965 immigration law. I promise you: No American whose great-grandfather was born here is watching soccer. One can only hope that, in addition to learning English, these new Americans will drop their soccer fetish with time.

================

Plenty mad people out there :lol:
Tbite wrote: Yes we have deadweights in our team like Babatunde, Agbim and Rueben, but they are OUR deadweights! Our wastepipes! We must love them...respect them! If we do not love our junks....who will? Who?
ElHadary
Suspended Member

Post by ElHadary »

kolinzo wrote:She's not alone. Even Olberman went in on soccer two days ago. PTI, Sports Nations etc can't wait for the WC to be over. They will get their wish when WC moves to Fox.
It is? WTF Fox has terrible production quality you gotta be f'ing kidding me!!!!!

Gudo wrote:

the Kenyan was watching the USA game aboard Air Force One. :biggrin:
...that there (the fear soccer about to eclipse their 'grandma and apple pie sport'), and a picture of POTUS watching irked them.
The sad part is that soccer in the USA is followed and played more by white cons. So I don't know what she is up to.
Just to yab because Obama is FOR :thumbs:

she can go chop dust. Real Americans are Native Americans and most migrants come from a footballing nation.
Dumb broad
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

anointed wrote:She has to be insane
...which is another definition of a conservative tea bagger. :mrgreen:
femibyte

Post by femibyte »

She's worse than silly. A complete charlatan and utter fraud, whose life mission is to pick the pockets of gullible low information Tea Party Americans...
You'll Never Walk Alone... - Liverpool FC
http://www.femibyte.com
Ipe Grams

Post by Ipe Grams »

Please the woman can create any no sense rant out of anything and there are those who just lap it up anything she says.
"Are you sure you want to go to red alert? It does mean changing the bulb..."
Kryten to Rimmer, Red Dwarf

You may want to look up "tongue in cheek" in a dictionary, then read the article again
femibyte wrote:She's worse than silly. A complete charlatan and utter fraud, whose life mission is to pick the pockets of gullible low information Tea Party Americans...
JACKAL
ANY GROWIING INTREST IN SOCCER A SIGN OF NATIONS MORAL DECAY

Post by JACKAL »

Ann is known as a provocative conservative commentator. She appears a lot on Fox news.
http://www.clarionledger.com/story/opin ... /11372137/
Ann Coulter, Syndicated columnist 3:18 p.m. CDT June 26, 2014

If more "Americans" are watching soccer today, it's only because of the demographic switch effected by Teddy Kennedy's 1965 immigration law. I promise you: No American whose great-grandfather was born here is watching soccer. One can only hope that, in addition to learning English, these new Americans will drop their soccer fetish with time.

I've held off on writing about soccer for a decade — or about the length of the average soccer game — so as not to offend anyone. But enough is enough. Any growing interest in soccer can only be a sign of the nation's moral decay.

• Individual achievement is not a big factor in soccer. In a real sport, players fumble passes, throw bricks and drop fly balls — all in front of a crowd. When baseball players strike out, they're standing alone at the plate. But there's also individual glory in home runs, touchdowns and slam-dunks.

In soccer, the blame is dispersed and almost no one scores anyway. There are no heroes, no losers, no accountability, and no child's fragile self-esteem is bruised. There's a reason perpetually alarmed women are called "soccer moms," not "football moms."

Related : Support of Jackson group shows sport's growing interest in South

Do they even have MVPs in soccer? Everyone just runs up and down the field and, every once in a while, a ball accidentally goes in. That's when we're supposed to go wild. I'm already asleep.

• Liberal moms like soccer because it's a sport in which athletic talent finds so little expression that girls can play with boys. No serious sport is co-ed, even at the kindergarten level.

• No other "sport" ends in as many scoreless ties as soccer. This was an actual marquee sign by the freeway in Long Beach, California, about a World Cup game last week: "2nd period, 11 minutes left, score: 0:0." Two hours later, another World Cup game was on the same screen: "1st period, 8 minutes left, score: 0:0." If Michael Jackson had treated his chronic insomnia with a tape of Argentina vs. Brazil instead of Propofol, he'd still be alive, although bored.

Even in football, by which I mean football, there are very few scoreless ties — and it's a lot harder to score when a half-dozen 300-pound bruisers are trying to crush you.

Record numbers of football fans in the United States are bracing for another edge-of-the-seat match Thursday as their team battles to make the World Cup second round -- and prove the sport's growing popularity.Duration: 00:52

• The prospect of either personal humiliation or major injury is required to count as a sport. Most sports are sublimated warfare. As Lady Thatcher reportedly said after Germany had beaten England in some major soccer game: Don't worry. After all, twice in this century we beat them at their national game.

Baseball and basketball present a constant threat of personal disgrace. In hockey, there are three or four fights a game — and it's not a stroll on beach to be on ice with a puck flying around at 100 miles per hour. After a football game, ambulances carry off the wounded. After a soccer game, every player gets a ribbon and a juice box.

• You can't use your hands in soccer. (Thus eliminating the danger of having to catch a fly ball.) What sets man apart from the lesser beasts, besides a soul, is that we have opposable thumbs. Our hands can hold things. Here's a great idea: Let's create a game where you're not allowed to use them!

• I resent the force-fed aspect of soccer. The same people trying to push soccer on Americans are the ones demanding that we love HBO's "Girls," light-rail, Beyonce and Hillary Clinton. The number of New York Times articles claiming soccer is "catching on" is exceeded only by the ones pretending women's basketball is fascinating.

I note that we don't have to be endlessly told how exciting football is.

• It's foreign. In fact, that's the precise reason the Times is constantly hectoring Americans to love soccer. One group of sports fans with whom soccer is not "catching on" at all, is African-Americans. They remain distinctly unimpressed by the fact that the French like it.

• Soccer is like the metric system, which liberals also adore because it's European. Naturally, the metric system emerged from the French Revolution, during the brief intervals when they weren't committing mass murder by guillotine.

Despite being subjected to Chinese-style brainwashing in the public schools to use centimeters and Celsius, ask any American for the temperature, and he'll say something like "70 degrees." Ask how far Boston is from New York City, he'll say it's about 200 miles.

Liberals get angry and tell us that the metric system is more "rational" than the measurements everyone understands. This is ridiculous. An inch is the width of a man's thumb, a foot the length of his foot, a yard the length of his belt. That's easy to visualize. How do you visualize 147.2 centimeters?

• Soccer is not "catching on." Headlines this week proclaimed "Record U.S. ratings for World Cup," and we had to hear — again about the "growing popularity of soccer in the United States."

The USA-Portugal game was the blockbuster match, garnering 18.2 million viewers on ESPN. This beat the second-most watched soccer game ever: The 1999 Women's World Cup final (USA vs. China) on ABC. (In soccer, the women's games are as thrilling as the men's.)

Run-of-the-mill, regular-season Sunday Night Football games average more than 20 million viewers; NFL playoff games get 30 to 40 million viewers; and this year's Super Bowl had 111.5 million viewers.

Remember when the media tried to foist British soccer star David Beckham and his permanently camera-ready wife on us a few years ago? Their arrival in America was heralded with 24-7 news coverage. That lasted about two days. Ratings tanked. No one cared.

Ann Coulter is a syndicated columnist. Contact her through her website at http://www.anncoulter.com.
Re: ANY GROWIING INTREST IN SOCCER A SIGN OF NATIONS MORAL D

And the likes of Kolinzo wonder why I don't support the US in football. They disrespect the game that I admire the most. BTW wetin be soccer.

May I ask why you are polluting this forum with this nonsense?
Adolf Hitler wrote about football in Mein Kampf yet you dont see anyone quoting that nonsense.

Please let racist, ignorant mofos like this woman just go to hell in peace, or pieces, either will do.

BTW mods, this junk has already been posted in the World Cup forum so please do us a favor and merge or delete it altogether.

nanijoe wrote:You may want to look up "tongue in cheek" in a dictionary, then read the article again
femibyte wrote:She's worse than silly. A complete charlatan and utter fraud, whose life mission is to pick the pockets of gullible low information Tea Party Americans...
There is nothing "tongue in cheek" about this article. She is spewing the same anti immigration hate rant all these nationalistic, rasist, white trash love to rant about... America for Americans; whatever that means.
Ipe Grams

Post by Ipe Grams »

nanijoe wrote:You may want to look up "tongue in cheek" in a dictionary, then read the article again

What tongue in cheek? the Woman has a history of twisting things to her own silly views for her audience.
"Are you sure you want to go to red alert? It does mean changing the bulb..."
Kryten to Rimmer, Red Dwarf

ohenhen1 wrote:And the likes of Kolinzo wonder why I don't support the US in football. They disrespect the game that I admire the most. BTW wetin be soccer.
...and yet you live in their country? Don't let one racist teabag action mare your over all view of football in the USA.