FT: Argentina (1) v Switzerland (0) ET. 119' Di Maria

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

FT: Argentina (1) v Switzerland (0) ET. 119' Di Maria

Argentina: Romero, Garay, Zabaleta, Gago, Di Maria, Higuain, Messi, Mascherano, Rojo, Fernandez, Lavezzi.

Switzerland: Benaglio, Lichtsteiner, Inler, Xhaka, Behrami, Rodriguez, Mehmedi, Drmic, Djourou, Schar, Shaqiri.

I am hoping for a Messi masterpiece.
Last edited by platinum on Tue Jul 01, 2014 7:36 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Re: Argentina v Switzerland

At least Swiss don comot Send-errors...

maceo4 wrote:At least Swiss don comot Send-errors...

Yeah they'd better hope Schar stays healthy

Let's go Othmar Hitzfeld and Switzerland.

Djourou don start :laugh:

Lets go Switzerland!!!

ALL WE ARE SAYING....
kalamashaka

Post by kalamashaka »

Quite a sterile affair so far..
"How many white men went in the party that destroyed Abame?"
Re: Argentina (0) v Switzerland (0)

The Swiss will get punished soon for these setpieces they keep giving albiceleste

anyone notice how DI Maria keeps complaining to the ref ?
He will get his calls.
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

Close. Swiss come close there.
uglyoneiamagain

Post by uglyoneiamagain »

If Messi doesn't rescue this team, the Swiss may just pop one in at some point and defend like hell.

Is there a manager more reckless with his resources than Sabella. Absolutely pathetic. Argentina have yet to play a single "team" game.

Coach wrote:Is there a manager more reckless with his resources than Sabella. Absolutely pathetic. Argentina have yet to play a single "team" game.
I've found myself asking this question quite a bit...is this guy much better than Maradona?? Maradona's teams were unbalanced and basically rubbish defensively but they looked far better in terms of the attacking phase.

First yellow to Switzerland
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

uglyoneiamagain

Post by uglyoneiamagain »

What!! That was poor!!!

Smart from Romero to stay back there.

lmao see useless finish with Romero non-commital

@Plats, he's comfortably the most useless coach in the competition. For all Maradona's ills, his team had a strategy, a style, this Argentina are as well shaped as an anorexic Olsen twin. Defensively, all at sea, offensively, drowning in that very same sea. Higuain's inclusion makes no sense, his use of Messi is as deleterious as an Obasanjo with the keys to the world bank. The first decent team they come up against, on this evidence, will send them packing. Switzerland can indeed be decent, albeit transiently.

HT. That was sleep inducing.
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

I like what I'm seeing from Argentina so far. Di Maria on the wide right has spread out their attack and he has disturbed the Swiss defence. Messi has been given more space than expected but had a poor half by his standards. Argentina's attack has been a bit too slow to breach the 10-man Swiss defence. On the other hand, Switzerland is committing too many bodies behind the ball that their counter-attack is non-existent.

Higuain has been useless as usual. Romero is such a huge liability...he could have come out and cleared that ball but allowed the Swiss attacker to just go at him 1v1. :roll:

This ref has been far too lenient and has not done a good job of protecting the Argentine players. I wonder if an Argentine player needs to get injured before the ref starts using his whistle.

Argentina has this win in the bag with faster transitions to attack.

^Very surprising analysis, one's own observations were of a thoroughly useless Argentina with no definable strategy, waiting to be bloody nosed and black-eyed before they realise they're in a ring. Absolutely useless from Sabella, verges on criminality.

In addendum, unless Sabella's pulling his willy from within his pocket, he's stretching nothing. Mono-paced, monotonous. A waste of resources.