Landon Donovan criticises Jürgen Klinsmann’s tactics

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

femibyte
Landon Donovan criticises Jürgen Klinsmann’s tactics

Post by femibyte »

Hmm, methinks Donovan should shut up and let others do the talking for him...

http://www.theguardian.com/football/201 ... nsmann-usa

The Guardian home

World Cup 2014 badge
World Cup 2014: Landon Donovan criticises Jürgen Klinsmann’s tactics
• LA Galaxy player claims USA were ‘not set up to succeed’
• Donovan was controversially left out of 23-man squad
• Klinsmann insists: ‘We are heading in the right direction’
Guardian staff
theguardian.com, Thursday 3 July 2014 10.00 EDT
Landon Donovan
Landon Donovan says Jürgen Klinsmann's tactics failed the US in Brazil. Photograph: Streeter Lecka/Getty Images
LA Galaxy’s Landon Donovan, who was controversially left out of the USA World Cup squad, has criticised Jürgen Klinsmann’s tactics in Brazil – saying the side were “not set up to succeed”.

Donovan, the former Everton, Bayer Leverkusen and Bayern Munich forward, had played in the previous three World Cups, but Klinsmann opted not to include him in his 23-man squad.

At the time, Donovan implied Klinsmann’s decision had been personal rather than about performances, saying: “I firmly believe that not only should I be going, but I feel like I really deserved it.”

Speaking a day after the defeat to Belgium, Donovan told MLS Soccer that the US campaign in Brazil had been “a missed opportunity … The thought of having a game Saturday – the day after the Fourth of July, against Lionel Messi and Argentina, with what was already a swelling audience – would have been incredible.

“I think we’re all disappointed in what happened. I think the most disappointing thing is we didn’t seem like we gave it a real effort, from a tactical standpoint. I thought the guys did everything they could, they did everything that was asked of them, but I don’t think we were set up to succeed, and that was tough to watch.

“It’s a results-oriented business and so, results-wise, you can hold your head high. If you really look at the performances, there were some good performances by guys, some not-so-good performances by guys. [But] as a whole, I think tactically, the team was not set up to succeed.

“They were set up in a way that was opposite from what they’ve been the past couple years, which is opening up, passing, attacking – trying to do that. And the team’s been successful that way. Why they decided to switch that in the World Cup, none of us will know. From a playing standpoint, I think the guys will probably be disappointed in the way things went.”

Donovan acknowledged that “everyone’s an expert when they’re watching at home”, but said he felt Klinsmann’s approach had been wrong. “Hindsight is 20/20, so in hindsight you would say we should’ve been more attacking. Maybe if we had been more attacking, we would have gotten four counterattack goals scored against us. So you never know … But my feeling as a player, if I’m in that locker room before that game – before the Germany game, before the Belgium game – and the coach walked in and said we’re playing a 4-5-1 and Clint [Dempsey] is up top by himself, I would have been disappointed. Because I would have said let’s go for it. I want a chance to go for it and try to win the game.

“Michael Bradley was put in the wrong position. He was put in a position that he’s not used to playing. He does a better job, as you saw with Julian Green’s goal, being in a deeper position. And having someone in a front of him, someone to help Clint also, makes him that much better because he’s got more opportunity to pick out different passes, more attacking options ahead of him. I think that was clearly an error.”

Donovan said he would take his time before deciding whether to push for a return to the national team. “We’ll see. That depends on a lot of conversations that would have to be held.”

The Fiver close
The Guardian's free football email, delivered every weekday at around 5pm - hence the name.

© 2014 Guardian News and Media Limited or its affiliated companies. All rights reserved.
;
You'll Never Walk Alone... - Liverpool FC
http://www.femibyte.com
Re: Landon Donovan criticises Jürgen Klinsmann’s tactics

:rotf: after he will invite himself to camp abi? He might as well retire from the us team.

why did Beccamen not play though?
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"
Gadfly

Post by Gadfly »

Me think the guy is jealous as Tim Howard is now the poster boy for American soccer instead of him.

Post by lionga »

"Team not set up to win"?? What is Donovan smoking?

...as are detractors on Nigeria side waiting for failure and exit so they can pounce. Donovan need to hush it.

femibyte wrote: … The thought of having a game Saturday – the day after the Fourth of July, against Lionel Messi and Argentina, with what was already a swelling audience – would have been incredible.
;

wishes...horses

Gadfly wrote:Me think the guy is jealous as Tim Howard is now the poster boy for American soccer instead of him.
:clap: :clap:

From the outside looking in, it always looks like more could have been done but the US team was set-up not to lose... it wasn't set-up to attack. Pick your opportunities... and be a blue-collar team.

I can now see why Donovan did not make the team...

If inside him he will rather go for it than trust his coach's instructions...

Cellular wrote:From the outside looking in, it always looks like more could have been done but the US team was set-up not to lose... it wasn't set-up to attack. Pick your opportunities... and be a blue-collar team.

I'm sure even Klinsman wishes he was on the end of the knockdown tap in that Wondolowski.... wiffed on VS Belgium :idea: :idea:

Guys, what you need to asses is the legitimacy of Donovan's claims. Is what he is saying right or wrong?
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"

Cellular wrote:From the outside looking in, it always looks like more could have been done but the US team was set-up not to lose... it wasn't set-up to attack. Pick your opportunities... and be a blue-collar team.

Very good points. But you always make that wrt others.

If it was Nigeria, u would accuse Donovan of sour grapes
U would say we are building a team not an all star
You would say how he was always a bad apple
U would accuse him and the natives who support him of always denigrating Nigeria...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

I never like this dude. Not a good player in my eyes just lucky. He could not cut it anywhere in Europe.

bamenda boy wrote:Guys, what you need to asses is the legitimacy of Donovan's claims. Is what he is saying right or wrong?
What he said was wrong!!

U would accuse him and the natives who support him of always denigrating Nigeria...
Na so Cellulies operate,

But Donovan is a sour grape...
Klinsmann was building a team hence the reason to drop Donovan...
Yes, he was a bad apple...
And there were natives who were supporting and wishing the team not do as well just to show up the coach...

Hence why I said, "I can see why Donovan did not make the team..."

But Donovan is a sour grape...
Klinsmann was building a team hence the reason to drop Donovan...
Yes, he was a bad apple...
And there were natives who were supporting and wishing the team not do as well just to show up the coach...

Hence why I said, "I can see why Donovan did not make the team..."
I can also see why he didn't make the team.

And I can see the validity of his criticism even if I ultimately disagree with it.

I can see all that without impugning his motives...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Donovan can kick rocks.

Sounds like a jilted lover.....

It was a very negative tactics, if it wasn't for Howard it would have been ugly. The played better against Ghana and Portugal.

Well Felix Magath just gave Donovan a piece of his mind :lol:

Fulham boss Felix Magath has come to the defense of his compatriot Jurgen Klinsmann in the form of an offensive attack on Landon Donovan.