NETHERLANDS 0 COSTA RICA 0 aet (4-3 pens)...Kruel Strategy

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

Re: NETHERLANDS 0 COSTA RICA 0 aet (4-3 pens)...Kruel Strate

Coach wrote:Costa Rica have gone further than Nigeria ever has with possibly one of the weakest squads in the tournament. J.L.Pinto, arguably one of, if not the, best manager at the tournament. Splendid.
KPOM!

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
ElHadary
Suspended Member

Post by ElHadary »

Thank you Los Ticos, what a ride it was!

And in the end, this song fits Los Ticos so perfectly. Truly, are they wrong?

Coach wrote:Costa Rica have gone further than Nigeria ever has with possibly one of the weakest squads in the tournament. J.L.Pinto, arguably one of, if not the, best manager at the tournament. Splendid.
Native!!!!!!!!!!

KPOM!

That high line of theirs, was the best I ever saw...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

kolinzo wrote:Costa Rica lost to a better team. I didn't think they could win this game anyway, but they exceeded expectation. They showed the power of CONCACAF! They showed the fighting spirit and were disciplined all through. They held their held high, as they should. CONCACAF is just one tough region!!

Now it's time for Argentina to end play for the third place match.

:clap: :clap: :clap: True...

Kaiii what a blockbuster semi final match up .... without Di Maria and Aguero I can't see how Argentina can make it ... even though Brazil will be sans THEIR SKIPPO and Neymar, they have the heartbeat of a whole nation so we go see...

txj wrote:Details....

Tactical details...

No stone left unturned...
Took you long enough... :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :P

dhoney

Post by dhoney »

Okey Emordi made similar substitution in African Champios a League Final with a Tunisian team I can't remember their name at the moment...he replaced Enyeama with Aiyenugba at the end of extra time and the rest they say is history... I will forever respect that Coach for that bold and and tactical sub.
And Jesus said to the only leper that came back to thank Him after He healed ten.... "Chai....na only you waka come?".

dhoney wrote:Okey Emordi made similar substitution in African Champios a League Final with a Tunisian team I can't remember their name at the moment...he replaced Enyeama with Aiyenugba at the end of extra time and the rest they say is history... I will forever respect that Coach for that bold and and tactical sub.

:curse: why una dey reveal this expo nah.. i was waiting for one of the natives to highlight this "unprecedented" move by LVG :lol:

Re: NETHERLANDS 0 COSTA RICA 0 aet

SylverEagles wrote:
anikulapo wrote:Coaching Matters :idea: Mugus take note
For 120+ minutes... multiple bars.
OK. oooo

Anyway, it is still a tie.... :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Ps., I agree...If Pinto had the Dutch squad, he would have won the WC... :D :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
Cellular why is it so hard to acknowledge that coaching matters? You simply can't say that Keshi's coaching won the ANC 2013 but didn't lose the World Cup? So it is coaching when he wins but the players when he loses. You're just doing the exact same thing so called Keshi haters do, just the opposite argument!
Bros, this game more than anything shows that coaching matters...

Pinto played to his strengths... and his players were all focused on issues pertaining to the game not the side show that is the African football...

Van Gaal with a better squad found the going tough... tried multiple tactical changes and it ended up being the lottery that is PK shootouts. Had it been Naijaria, it will be due to our coach not being tactical astute...

Sometimes you lose to a better team despite your best efforts.

dhoney

Post by dhoney »

anointed wrote:Have u ever heard of the Kruel Strategy?

Netherlands 0 Costa Rica 0 aet (4-3 pens)

Just remember that Kadiri Ikhana introduced and brought the Kruel Strategy to football with Enyimba FC of Aba circa 2003

Was it ikhana or Emordi?
And Jesus said to the only leper that came back to thank Him after He healed ten.... "Chai....na only you waka come?".
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

Mad props to Costa Rica for all the heart they showed in this tournament. They went up against the likes of Uruguay, Italy, England and the Netherlands without conceding a goal from open play against any one of them. They went undefeated against them. One of the better WC Cinderella stories of all time. Many including myself expected them to lose all 3 of their WC matches yet they were inches away from playing in the WC semi-finals. It goes to show you how important player effort and coaching is.

Despite winning Holland looked like losers today. Van Gaal for all his genius failed to influence the match. Holland had all the tools in place to dissect a vastly inferior opponent yet LVG had his team playing the same brand of football from start to finish. Very disappointing performance and very perplexing coaching display by LVG. As for the Dutch players, Robben was contained very well by CR, Sneijder had his best match of the tournament while van Persie was awful. That Memphis guy was completely useless. LVG will have to go back to the drawing board before the Argentina match.

OK. oooo

Ps., I agree...If Pinto had the Dutch squad, he would have won the WC... :D :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
Spin master. What did Moyes do with Man Utd? Bpra Milutinovic managed Costa Rica in 1990 to the 2nd rd of the WC but when he handled a more star studded Nigeria in 1998, he lost 4-1 to Denmark just like his Costa Rica lost 4-1 to Czechoslovakia in 1990?

I know you think Keshi will also qualify Netherlands for the semi final had been in charge of Oranje.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
ElHadary
Suspended Member

Post by ElHadary »

HOLLAND is a province in the Netherlands, it is NOT the Netherlands, PLS.
analyzer

Post by analyzer »

damn.. there are coaches out there with an unhealthy attention to detail.. Kudos to LVG and his team.. The Krul move paid dividends.. Krul is a big lad with a long reach.. dude guessed right on every single PK.. And the Dutch Pks were well placed.. bottom corner where the smaller CR GK could hardly reach or they put some height to it..

Better team won but CR should be very proud of their WC performance.. Topped their group consisting of England, Italy and Uruguay and took dutch to PKs.. well done..

Argentina vs. Holland should be fun... Without Di Maria/Aguerro, i give the dutch the edge... they have more difference makers.. Just need to keep forcing Messi to drop deep to pick up the ball.
Lampard: 101 goals and counting.......

64 GAMES UNBEATEN AT STAMFORD BRIDGE... A NEW RECORD IS SET.....

Native!!!!!!!!!!
Maybe we should have been concerned with what leagues their players play in... what teams they play for... if government officials are trying to steal their money... if tactical help should be provided for him since he never coached in Europe...

Or the constant yapping of 160+ million coaches where most who NEVER played nor have coached at any level criticizing your tactics...

analyzer

Post by analyzer »

Heliopolis wrote:Mad props to Costa Rica for all the heart they showed in this tournament. They went up against the likes of Uruguay, Italy, England and the Netherlands without conceding a goal from open play against any one of them. They went undefeated against them. One of the better WC Cinderella stories of all time. Many including myself expected them to lose all 3 of their WC matches yet they were inches away from playing in the WC semi-finals. It goes to show you how important player effort and coaching is.

Despite winning Holland looked like losers today. Van Gaal for all his genius failed to influence the match. Holland had all the tools in place to dissect a vastly inferior opponent yet LVG had his team playing the same brand of football from start to finish. Very disappointing performance and very perplexing coaching display by LVG. As for the Dutch players, Robben was contained very well by CR, Sneijder had his best match of the tournament while van Persie was awful. That Memphis guy was completely useless. LVG will have to go back to the drawing board before the Argentina match.
haba Helio.. you are being unfair in your assessment of the dutch.. Yes they started slow but they created more then enough chances to kill of that game.. GK made solid svaes and you had the bar that helped out too..
Only issue with dutch is outside of Robben, sneijder/RVP must be on their game for the dutch to get a result.. vs. Argie - robben and messi somewhat cancel out.. Question now is who steps up b/w higuain, rvp, sneidjer, lavezzi to help out their respective teams..
Lampard: 101 goals and counting.......

64 GAMES UNBEATEN AT STAMFORD BRIDGE... A NEW RECORD IS SET.....

anointed wrote:
OK. oooo

Spin master. What did Moyes do with Man Utd? Bpra Milutinovic managed Costa Rica in 1990 to the 2nd rd of the WC but when he handled a more star studded Nigeria in 1998, he lost 4-1 to Denmark just like his Costa Rica lost 4-1 to Czechoslovakia in 1990?

I know you think Keshi will also qualify Netherlands for the semi final had been in charge of Oranje.
Oga, we will never know...

But we do have our own Pintos in Naijaria...

It is only football that Naijarians think they are no qualified Naijarian capable of handling the business...

Native!!!!!!!!!!
Maybe we should have been concerned with what leagues their players play in... what teams they play for... if government officials are trying to steal their money... if tactical help should be provided for him since he never coached in Europe...

Or the constant yapping of 160+ million coaches where most who NEVER played nor have coached at any level criticizing your tactics...
A bunch of them okay in Scandinavia while others play in their local league

Campbell and Navas play in La Liga. Ruiz in England

They have one in the MLS too

Costa Rica will be this World Cup's talking point, they have epitomised the gains that can be made by the ordinary through greater emphasis on tactic and strategy. Has there been a more organised outfit at this tournament than Little Costa Rica? Acknowledging their obvious comparative disadvantages, rather tthan follow trends and revel in its deleterious effect, they embraced an approach that concealed their weaknesses whilst complimenting their strengths. A truly marvellous achievement. How far Africa is behind the others grows all the more concerning. Our continent's contribution, mutiny, disarray, in-fighting collaged with magnificent flashes of brilliance, the tragedied love story. Far short of the fairytale. What a shame. A crying shame.
Last edited by Coach on Sun Jul 06, 2014 12:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

No let fatpokey hear this o :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

analyzer wrote:damn.. there are coaches out there with an unhealthy attention to detail.. Kudos to LVG and his team.. The Krul move paid dividends.. Krul is a big lad with a long reach.. dude guessed right on every single PK.. And the Dutch Pks were well placed.. bottom corner where the smaller CR GK could hardly reach or they put some height to it..

Better team won but CR should be very proud of their WC performance.. Topped their group consisting of England, Italy and Uruguay and took dutch to PKs.. well done..

Argentina vs. Holland should be fun... Without Di Maria/Aguerro, i give the dutch the edge... they have more difference makers.. Just need to keep forcing Messi to drop deep to pick up the ball.
I agree that missing Di Maria/Aguero will be huge but the De Jong injury has disturbed Holland's cohesion. LVG does not know what his best line-up is yet. Judging by what we've seen from these teams, it looks like first to score will win the match...so if Argentina can score first and then park the bus like CR today then the Dutch are in trouble. Before seeing Holland play today I rated their chances of beating Argentina at 80%. Now after seeing them play and realizing they too are not infallible, I am gonna say their match vs Argentina will be a coin flip.

Ekorian wrote:WAITING FOR LVG TO TURN FELLAINI AFRO INTO ROBBEN'S BALDNESS OVERNIGHT!
Nope!!!! He already told Afroman to take a hike