Russia 5 vs KSA 0 FT

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

uglyoneiamagain
Russia 5 vs KSA 0 FT

Post by uglyoneiamagain »

Roughly 2hrs to go before the first Game of the 2018 World Cup.

Line-ups

Russia

1 Akinfeev
2 Figueira Fernandes
3 Kutepov
4 Ignashevich
18 Zhirkov
11 Zobnin
8 Gazinskiy
17 Golovin
19 Samedov
10 Smolov
9 Dzagoev

Substitutes

5 Semenov
6 Cheryshev
7 Kuzyaev
12 Lunev
13 Kudryashov
14 Granat
15 Al Miranchuk
16 An Miranchuk
20 Gabulov
21 Erokhin
22 Dzyuba
23 Smolnikov

Saudi Arabia

1 Al-Mayoof
6 Al-Burayk
3 Os Hawsawi
5 Om Hawsawi
13 Al Shahrani
14 Otayf
8 Al Shehri
17 Al Jassam
7 Al Faraj
18 Al Dawsari
10 Al Sahlawi

Substitutes

2 Al-Harbi
4 Bahebri
11 Al-Khaibri
12 Kanno
15 Al Khaibari
16 Al-Mogahwi
19 Al Muwallad Al-Harbi
20 Abu Radeah Aseri
21 Al-Mosailem
22 Al Owais
23 M Hawsawi

Referee:
Néstor Pitana
Last edited by uglyoneiamagain on Thu Jun 14, 2018 5:56 pm, edited 14 times in total.
Re: Russia (-) vs KSA (-)

Russia to win this 2-1
WC MATCH THREAD: Russia (2) v Saudi Arabia (0)

Following a 30-minute opening ceremony, which will feature Robbie Williams and Ronaldo, Russia will look to start the tournament with a morale-boosting victory in Group A.

Stanislav Cherchesov's side are the lowest-ranked team at the World Cup and have not won a game since October 2017.

They were whistled off the pitch by fans after drawing their final warm-up against Turkey and former Russia and Manchester United winger Andrei Kanchelskis says it is the "worst Russian team" he has seen during his lifetime.

The hosts have been hampered by injuries, with forward Alexander Kokorin and defenders Georgy Dzhikiya and Viktor Vasin missing the tournament due to knee problems.

"We're realists," said striker Artyom Dzyuba. "We're not favourites to win the World Cup, but we want to get out of the group and we're playing at home. We want to prove to everyone, and most of all to ourselves, that we can play football, so that the country can be proud of us

"We're a football country, not just an ice hockey or basketball or volleyball country, but a football one too. And we'll put every effort into getting out of the group, to start with, and we'll only start fantasising after that."

Saudi Arabia are the second-lowest ranked team at the World Cup and have lost their last three matches heading into the tournament.

Egypt and Uruguay meet in the second Group A clash on Friday.

TEAM NEWS

Both teams have a full-strength squad to pick from for the opener.

Russia have selection issues in defence, which result in 38-year-old Sergei Ignashevich playing from the start while Saudi Arabia coach Juan Antonio Pizzi's main dilemma is in attack where he has to choose between Mohammed Al-Sahlawi and Muhannad Assiri.

OPTA STATS

Russia and Saudi Arabia's only previous encounter was in October 1993; the Saudis won 4-2 at home in a friendly.

Since the split up of the USSR, Russia have never reached the knockout stages of the World Cup in three appearances (1994, 2002, 2014). They have finished third in their group in each of those three editions.

France were the last World Cup hosts to win the trophy in 1998. The hosts have always reached the second round of the competition, the only exception coming in 2010 when South Africa were knocked out in the group stages.

This is Saudi Arabia's fifth World Cup, their first since 2006. They have finished bottom of their group in their last three appearances, their best performance dating back to their opening tournament in 1994 (knocked out by Sweden in the round of 16).

Saudi Arabia have won none of their last 10 games at the World Cup, losing eight of them (D2). In fact, their last win in the competition dates back to the group stages of the 1994 edition (1-0 v Belgium, 29th June 1994).

Saudi Arabia have kept only one clean sheet in their 13 games at the World Cup - it was in their 1-0 win against Belgium in June 1994. They have also failed to score in seven of their last nine games in the tournament.

MERSON'S PREDICTION

These are the two struggling teams, but I've just gone for Russia to win this game - but only just - given their home advantage. I always find that with teams at home, that just gives them that little bit more.
Last edited by cchinukw on Thu Jun 14, 2018 4:45 pm, edited 3 times in total.

uglyoneiamagain

Post by uglyoneiamagain »

platinum wrote:Russia to win this 2-1
getting that vibe also
Okocha10
Re: WC MATCH THREAD: Russia v Saudi Arabia

Post by Okocha10 »

So far so good......
<b> EGBON MEKUS OF CYBEREAGUS</b>

There's a WORLD CUP forum, mods can you move this over there? It appears people are not aware of its existence

Boring game Abeg I’m not watching :taunt:

What a snoozefest opening ceremony...nothing compares to Africa in terms of music.

Some Naijas dey for Saudi Arabia. Good reason to watch. :taunt:

Historically Saudi are super fast and a passing team from what I remember.

It's going down guys

Good luck to Musa's teammates them full this Russian team...which means they are useless lol

I think 3-1 to Russia
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

Dictator of Russia addressing his subjects...

maceo4 wrote:Dictator of Russia addressing his subjects...
You mean Leader of the world... :tic:

Why is this Putin guy making it about him, damn shut up and lets play soccer....

Akinfe made it to Russia.

maceo4 wrote:Dictator of Russia addressing his subjects...
You mean Leader of the world... :tic:
Kai :rotf:

platinum wrote:There's a WORLD CUP forum, mods can you move this over there? It appears people are not aware of its existence

NO!

platinum wrote:There's a WORLD CUP forum, mods can you move this over there? It appears people are not aware of its existence

NO!
Mods, please ban 1Naija's IP for the duration of this world cup.

- CE Forum

Thanks Platinium :thumb: