Argentina vs Saudi Arabia 1-2 FT

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

Re: Argentina vs Saudi Arabia 1-2 FT

mate wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 6:48 pm I just watched the Saudis deservedly beat Argentina. And skimmed through Denmark vs Tunisia. For me, this reinforces that Islamic teams are motivated in their environment...and you better be prepared.

Argentina can only blame themselves. Why play so tight on offsides in attack when hi-tech now will catch it. Plus they just didn't look very creative and incisive in the last 1/3.

Saudi Arabia lost to Croatia last week in a friendly 1-0. They should have scored 2 and did decent. We scored at will when we brought on the A team late, but avoided hard play and injury. Still, the Saudis showed some serious class.

But this is a warning sign for Croatia with Morocco tomorrow. I'm glad we're seeing these Islamic countries, except Qatar, are not going to be a pushover.
What the ****?

I have to say Saudi Arabia looked good. The were very composed, not nervous, playing their A game...skill, teamwork, neat passion, tactical discipline, especially in tight offsides positions. Fit and athletic too, able to force opportunities that paid off in 2 goals.

:clap:

Again, I THANK Saudi Arabia and Tunisia. Because, BELIEVE ME, alarms are screaming the Croatian camp to take Morocco with the highest respect.

Also as a football fan, I like other teams from other regions emerging. Maybe some countries can break through, inspired by games like this? Once and for all, not as a 1 off...also, let's not forget 2 more games are to be played for Argentina and Saudi Arabia.

Lastly, Argentina is no doubt good...but I thought they were overrated by pundits as WC favorite. Brazil, sure. Messi is way past his best. And it's not saying that much that Argentina is more balanced than in the past few WCs, where they were grossly overweighed on offense.

fabio wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 6:54 pm
mate wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 6:48 pm I just watched the Saudis deservedly beat Argentina. And skimmed through Denmark vs Tunisia. For me, this reinforces that Islamic teams are motivated in their environment...and you better be prepared.

Argentina can only blame themselves. Why play so tight on offsides in attack when hi-tech now will catch it. Plus they just didn't look very creative and incisive in the last 1/3.

Saudi Arabia lost to Croatia last week in a friendly 1-0. They should have scored 2 and did decent. We scored at will when we brought on the A team late, but avoided hard play and injury. Still, the Saudis showed some serious class.

But this is a warning sign for Croatia with Morocco tomorrow. I'm glad we're seeing these Islamic countries, except Qatar, are not going to be a pushover.
What the ****?

Ah come on. I've a lot of Muslim friends who said as much...that being in the Gulf with lots of Arab fans will be an extra man for many Islamic countries.

Is what I said offensive?

:???:

Replace Islamic with European, Balkan, or South American. Right?
Last edited by mate on Tue Nov 22, 2022 6:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 6:50 pm
Rohr: We are here to learn and stay humble.

There are those for whom national representation is an honour and those for whom it is a burden. One need only look at the lethargy vs Portugal and the welly behind the tackle on Erikssen early doors.

Coach wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 6:58 pm

There are those for whom national representation is an honour and those for whom it is a burden. One need only look at the lethargy vs Portugal and the welly behind the tackle on Erikssen early doors.
12th man effect for sure.

This is going to be interesting if it keeps up...and I think it can.

mate wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 6:57 pm Ah come on. I've a lot of Muslim friends who said as much...that being in the Gulf with lots of Arab fans will be an extra man for many Islamic countries.

Maybe your friends should read up on Berbers and Persians.

fabio wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 7:02 pm
mate wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 6:57 pm Ah come on. I've a lot of Muslim friends who said as much...that being in the Gulf with lots of Arab fans will be an extra man for many Islamic countries.

Maybe your friends should read up on Berbers and Persians.

Maybe they have...and maybe you are just reaching to see what just isn't there?
Re: Argentina vs Saudi Arabia 2-0

Bigpokey24 wrote: Saudi sabi pull the offside trap. They look better than Iran and Qatar
... and it worked for them. See how much Saudi Arabia put up a gallant fight against Argentina. See how their goalkeeper and defense gave no space to Argentina players in general. Could we, the Super-eagles, have been able to do that? Would our keeper and defense kept us in the game? Menh, we have a long way to go with our footballing style.
Re: Argentina vs Saudi Arabia 1-0

Tobi17 wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 11:36 am KSA is honestly playing a great defensive game. Offside trapping and really aggressive pressure.

It'll be interesting to see if they can keep it up for the full 90. This is a very different game without the pen.
I didn't watch the game, but from the clips I saw, I am very impressed with the Saudis. The played well

Odas wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 7:27 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Saudi sabi pull the offside trap. They look better than Iran and Qatar
... and it worked for them. See how much Saudi Arabia put up a gallant fight against Argentina. See how their goalkeeper and defense gave no space to Argentina players in general. Could we, the Super-eagles, have been able to do that? Would our keeper and defense kept us in the game? Menh, we have a long way to go with our footballing style.
With the right coach and discipline, of course we can. If the Saudi's can, why do you think its impossible for us? Odas, Odasss ohhhh..Hia
Re: Argentina vs Saudi Arabia 1-2

Scipio Africanus wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 1:10 pm Pioooooooooooooooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmmmm!!!!!!! ViCTORY! WALLLAHUUUU WAKUBARRRRRRRR!!!! ALLLAHUUUU AKUBARRRRRRRR!!!! :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
Hmm, certainly many of us want Argentina to lose and they did. I hope they lose their second game as well :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

100%Naija wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 7:32 pm
With the right coach and discipline, of course we can. If the Saudi's can, why do you think its impossible for us? Odas, Odasss ohhhh..Hia
Chief, I dey hia-ooo! No look far, abeg.

Realistically, I hope you are correct, though. However, I think we would have lost to Argentina had we played them today/yesterday

mate wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 6:56 pm I have to say Saudi Arabia looked good. The were very composed, not nervous, playing their A game...skill, teamwork, neat passion, tactical discipline, especially in tight offsides positions. Fit and athletic too, able to force opportunities that paid off in 2 goals.

Again, I THANK Saudi Arabia and Tunisia. Because, BELIEVE ME, alarms are screaming the Croatian camp to take Morocco with the highest respect.

Also as a football fan, I like other teams from other regions emerging. Maybe some countries can break through, inspired by games like this? Once and for all, not as a 1 off...also, let's not forget 2 more games are to be played for Argentina and Saudi Arabia.

Lastly, Argentina is no doubt good...but I thought they were overrated by pundits as WC favorite. Brazil, sure. Messi is way past his best. And it's not saying that much that Argentina is more balanced than in the past few WCs, where they were grossly overweighed on offense.
Thus far, my only question is, what happened to Senegal?

Odas wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 7:37 pm
100%Naija wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 7:32 pm
Chief, I dey hia-ooo! No look far, abeg.

Realistically, I hope you are correct, though. However, I think we would have lost to Argentina had we played them today/yesterday
No question about that! We couldn't beat the bredas talk-less of Argentina :lol:

Odas wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 7:46 pm
mate wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 6:56 pm I have to say Saudi Arabia looked good. The were very composed, not nervous, playing their A game...skill, teamwork, neat passion, tactical discipline, especially in tight offsides positions. Fit and athletic too, able to force opportunities that paid off in 2 goals.

I saw both games.

My view is Saudi Arabia maintained enough discipline and concentration to give up only 1 goal and force 2 of their own. They were better than Argentina overall. Totally deserved result from a well prepared, fit, and better Saudi Arabia on the day...and, gotta admit, maybe on a few days if they played 5 games...in what seems like a pro-Saudi crowd.

Senegal like some said looked toothless in attack. No bad overall. But not good enough to beat Holland. Don't get me wrong, Senegal played well...just failed on that go-ahead goal and couldn't force 1 of their own.

Small margins.

You just have to respect and cherish Diego. One can single-handedly drag two teams to trophies (Arg and Napoli), while the other needs a supporting cast.

mate wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 8:52 pm

I saw both games.

My view is Saudi Arabia maintained enough discipline and concentration to give up only 1 goal and force 2 of their own. They were better than Argentina overall. Totally deserved result from a well prepared, fit, and better Saudi Arabia on the day...and, gotta admit, maybe on a few days if they played 5 games...in what seems like a pro-Saudi crowd.

Senegal like some said looked toothless in attack. No bad overall. But not good enough to beat Holland. Don't get me wrong, Senegal played well...just failed on that go-ahead goal and couldn't force 1 of their own.

Small margins
Well, Senegal better do something in their next game. In fact, they better win the next game, else they are as good as coming, or going back home. Like we all know, nothing beats winning the first game in all tournaments.

Odas wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 9:42 pm

I saw both games.

Small margins
Well, Senegal better do something in their next game. In fact, they better win the next game, else they are as good as coming, or going back home. Like we all know, nothing beats winning the first game in all tournaments.

Agreed. The USA is in a jam now because they tied but didn't win the opener.

I'm hoping and praying Croatia gets a win against Morocco tomorrow.

mate wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 9:45 pm
Odas wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 9:42 pm

I saw both games.

Small margins

Agreed. The USA is in a jam now because they tied but didn't win the opener.

I'm hoping and praying Croatia gets a win against Morocco tomorrow.
Really? Why so, if I may ask?

Good news for Argentina is if they combine Poland and Mexicos best 11, they should win easily. They are very lucky with their draw.

airwolex wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 10:06 pm Good news for Argentina is if they combine Poland and Mexicos best 11, they should win easily. They are very lucky with their draw.
Bad news for Argentina is that except for 2006, Mexico has not lost to the top seed in their group since 1994