[WC 2022 QF #1] CROATIA 1(4) (Petkovic) BRAZIL 1(2) PKs Croatia through to the semi-finals!!! (Neymar)

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

Re: [WC 2022 QF #1] CROATIA 1(4) (wetincall) BRAZIL 1(2) PKs Croatia through to the semi-finals!!! (Neymar)

Coach wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 7:00 pm Every side is carrying a passenger of some sort. Ask yourself, what on Earth was Fred, brought on to shore things up, doing in the final third trying to be Garrincha, absolute madness.
The coach is his friend, so the coach left Joelinton at home for him.

Fred and Paqueta combined are not on the level of Joelinton. Yet, one is starting, the other is coming on and Joelinton is at home.
Re: [WC 2022 QF #1] CROATIA 1(wetincall) BRAZIL 1 (Neymar)

AreaDaddy wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 6:44 pm
ohsee wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 6:41 pm Wol Cup sweet o o o o o! What a game. :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: mate, your guys are a formidable force. If they go on, they will beat Argentina.
Are u sure Argentina will beat Netherlands ?
:biggrin:
Yes, now. Don't bet that your nice house on Nederland oh! :biggrin:
Re: [WC 2022 QF #1] CROATIA 1(4) (wetincall) BRAZIL 1(2) PKs Croatia through to the semi-finals!!! (Neymar)

SylverEagles wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 6:59 pm
green4life wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 6:55 pm
SylverEagles wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 6:53 pm We need to go study what the Croatians are doing especially at the World Cup. It is like they always get to the Semi-finals!
They play within themselves and play to their strengths while doing everything necessary to mitigate their weaknesses.
Yes they win and get to the later stages but the football Croatia plays is really not what we want to watch on the regular do we?

I know I will take it for the Super Eagles myself but it is just too pragmatic.
Croatia pragmatism is to be respected as it works very well for them, but it drains the spectacle out of the game.

But as you say if the Super Eagles could win like that, you wont complaints from me :D

The only thing Nigerian about Croatia, is the forum often frequented by Mate. That aside, forget it, national representation means something to the Grand Old Hadjuk of Split and absolutely nothing to the lazy, languid, self-deifying dossers who are more paraplegic pigeons than super eagles.

Brazil got exposed by Cameroon!

danfo driver wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 7:00 pm
SylverEagles wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 6:53 pm We need to go study what the Croatians are doing especially at the World Cup. It is like they always get to the Semi-finals!
They play within themselves and play to their strengths while doing everything necessary to mitigate their weaknesses.
Yes they win and get to the later stages but the football Croatia plays is really not what we want to watch on the regular do we?

I am sorry, what football doe the Super Eagles play? :lol:
That was a head scratcher. Croatia plays wining football: they have skill to play attractively when possible and they don't mind reducing the pace to suit them when necessary to give themselves the best chance to win. What is not to like about Croatia football? Meanwhile they're only a country of 4 million.
GREENWHITEGREEN

Post by GREENWHITEGREEN »

You don fall my hand for this statement o! History shows that we don't study. We've never studied. Studying is not one of the things we care to do in Nigeria. We are not where we are by accident or God's will.
-Simpli fy -
Donzman

Post by Donzman »

green4life wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 7:00 pm
danfo driver wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 6:53 pm
Coach wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 6:51 pm Thoroughly deserved for the most ignorant and arrogantly naive game management ever seen with high stakes on the table.
Arrogance is an understatement. Tite has been arrogant from the beginning, thinking he will walk this world cup.
Classic mismanagement of a game that they had otherwise won. Croatia couldn't create anything. Keep it compact at the back and be composed in possession when you get the ball and win little fouls, set pieces, etc to wind down the clock. Croatia had no threat sufficient to trouble Brazil. Naïveté.
You nailed it. Brazil mismanaged the game and Croatia took advantage.

Siddonlook11 wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 6:55 pm Each time Neymar got the ball he literally would stop to a trot and then start deciding after what to do with the ball ..surprised croatia no quack am more . he was short 1 and yet when he scored i no lie i was humbled.

This is why I will always pick a Modric over a Neymar. Always! Luca Modric consistently makes good decision with the ball, without the ball, early game, midgame, endgame. Name it.

ohsee wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 7:04 pm
AreaDaddy wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 6:44 pm
ohsee wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 6:41 pm Wol Cup sweet o o o o o! What a game. :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: mate, your guys are a formidable force. If they go on, they will beat Argentina.
Are u sure Argentina will beat Netherlands ?
Yes, now. Don't bet that your nice house on Nederland oh! :biggrin:
Van Gaal is too wily for Argentina. They will beat Argentina.

txj wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 7:02 pm
Coach wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 7:00 pm Every side is carrying a passenger of some sort. Ask yourself, what on Earth was Fred, brought on to shore things up, doing in the final third trying to be Garrincha, absolute madness.

was actually Antony attempting to recover on that counter,,
Unbelievable!
He had Vinicius and Raphina unable to break down Croatia. What did he do? He took them out and brought in Rodrygo and Antony. A photocopy -- and frankly weaker versions - of the first two. What did he think will happen? Using the same tactics and the same profile? You assume they will do better than the players who are their carbon-copy, but even better than them? :lol:

Beach soccer works o! Just like in Brazil, they play a lot of it in Croatia

All anyone needs to know about today’s game is that it is really better to be lucky than good🤔❗️

Last edited by TonyTheTigerKiller on Fri Dec 09, 2022 7:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ohsee wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 7:01 pm
gosh wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 6:43 pm
Have you already assumed that Argentina will beat the Netherlands?
Yes now. Siddon dia dey wait useless Nederland. :biggrin:
I figured your correct prediction streak would end at one.

Van GOAT will make easy work of the Argies.

Argentina have all the ingredients to be flogged.
Re: [WC 2022 QF #1] CROATIA 1(4) (Petkovic) BRAZIL 1(2) PKs Croatia through to the semi-finals!!! (Neymar)

Croatia scored with their only shot on goal! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Absolutely delighted to see Brazil dumped out in such circumstances. For all the joga bonita or whatever, there comes a time when you shut up shop and run down the clock. Absolutely pathetic. Glad to see them gone.
SylverEagles

Post by SylverEagles »

green4life wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 7:06 pm
danfo driver wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 7:00 pm

I am sorry, what football doe the Super Eagles play? :lol:
That was a head scratcher. Croatia plays wining football: they have skill to play attractively when possible and they don't mind reducing the pace to suit them when necessary to give themselves the best chance to win. What is not to like about Croatia football? Meanwhile they're only a country of 4 million.
So you want to tell me that you will willingly love the SE to play in 4 or 5 consecutive PKs. It is well and good when we have no stake in it but when it is the SE and many people have "died" from the induced heart-attacks, then call me back then.

The point is not the fact that they win, the point is the method they used to get there - that many PK shoot-outs is not good for the health and it is also very hard to reproduce, one miss and the plan fails.
Re: [WC 2022 QF #1] CROATIA 1(4) (Petkovic) BRAZIL 1(2) PKs Croatia through to the semi-finals!!! (Neymar)

pay respect to Modric, a 37 year old bossed the game!
multiple champions league, on top of his game and a fine example for youngsters
Last edited by marko on Fri Dec 09, 2022 7:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

theDunamis wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 7:06 pm
Siddonlook11 wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 6:55 pm Each time Neymar got the ball he literally would stop to a trot and then start deciding after what to do with the ball ..surprised croatia no quack am more . he was short 1 and yet when he scored i no lie i was humbled.

This is why I will always pick a Modric over a Neymar. Always! Luca Modric consistently makes good decision with the ball, without the ball, early game, midgame, endgame. Name it.

I think u miss the point slightly. His play in those moments was needed to break down a well marshalled defence.
I think the criticism was that he was seldom successful with it, except for the goal and a few other instances...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Scipio Africanus wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 7:12 pm Croatia scored with their only shot on goal! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
IT IS WHAT IT IS 👇🏽👇🏽👇🏽👇🏽
green4life wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 6:07 pm
wanaj0 wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 5:38 pm Croatia yet to register a shot on target
The problem with that in this sort of tight game is some times all it takes is one shot by the under dog to win the game.

HRVATSKA!!!

🔥🔥🔥

I was riveted and fully focused. As I always am when Croatia goes deep in a tournament. I can't believe we played to this level to win.

We deserved the win. I will NEVER agree we play boring. On the contrary, we have some of the best skill in the world. That is how we teach and practice, to possess and love the ball.

Foolish pundits malign us for the same reason they do Africans: we're not Westerners. Complete BS. They won't factor the reason we emphasize defense is simply: WE DO NOT HAVE 1 DECENT FORWARD!

But you know what? Petkovic who is a lousy football scored. Because of the world class defense and midfields.

Slow and old? Majer, Gvardiol, and Juranovic are FAST and YOUNG. Who teaches these things to the pundits?

We outplayed Brazil over the course of the game. Again, who can possess like this vs Brazil? Most teams shook with fear and git whipped.

I've no illusions. We remain underdogs. But we have a fine team and strong belief.

I posted on the general soccer CE channel why Croatia has a good NT program. Some of you read it. But we do have a good system.

Thank you for your support my CE brothers! I am rooting for a CROATIA vs MOROCCO final...coming from THE REAL GROUP OF DEATH!!!

HRVATSKA!!!

🔥🔥🔥

green4life wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 7:20 pm
Scipio Africanus wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 7:12 pm Croatia scored with their only shot on goal! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
IT IS WHAT IT IS 👇🏽👇🏽👇🏽👇🏽
green4life wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 6:07 pm
wanaj0 wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 5:38 pm Croatia yet to register a shot on target
The problem with that in this sort of tight game is some times all it takes is one shot by the under dog to win the game.
Chai! Streetfighters! :clap: :clap: :clap: