What are your top 5 best looking, iconic international kits?

As much as I despise Argentina, I have to say they come in at number 1.

#1 Argentina
#2 Cameroon
#3 Croatia
#4 France
#5 Netherlands

Re: What are your top 5 best looking, iconic international kits?

Where pictures?
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"

bamenda boy wrote: Tue Jun 20, 2023 1:21 am Where pictures?
Gerrahia! You don't watch football again? :rotf:

mmeny

Post by mmeny »

Scipio Africanus wrote: Mon Jun 19, 2023 11:49 pm As much as I despise Argentina, I have to say they come in at number 1.

#1 Argentina
#2 Cameroon
#3 Croatia
#4 France
#5 Netherlands
In general or based on latest standard? I would say:

Brazil
Argentina
Netherlands
Italy
France
Just because cat sabi swim no mean say him be catfish - M.I

mmeny wrote: Tue Jun 20, 2023 3:40 am
Scipio Africanus wrote: Mon Jun 19, 2023 11:49 pm As much as I despise Argentina, I have to say they come in at number 1.

#1 Argentina
#2 Cameroon
#3 Croatia
#4 France
#5 Netherlands
In general or based on latest standard? I would say:

Brazil
Argentina
Netherlands
Italy
France
The design in general, but the Argie 2002 kit was truly a beauty to behold, so was the 1994 Cameroon kit, the 1990 Netherlands kit, the 1998 Croatia kit and the 1986 France kit.

Brazil
Argentina
Italy
Peru
Croatia
Uruguay
CIV
Uganda
Colombia
S. Africa
Zambia/Netherlands
Cameroon/Morocco
England/USA/France/Senegal/Egypt/e.t.c.

Kabalega wrote: Tue Jun 20, 2023 1:48 pm Brazil
Argentina
Italy
Peru
Croatia
Uruguay
CIV
Uganda
Colombia
S. Africa
Zambia/Netherlands
Cameroon/Morocco
So in addition to comprehending English at Eze Goes to School level, you do not know how to count! Chei!!! :woot: :woot: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

France and Cameroon are ripoff of Italy and Nigeria.

Iconic top 5

Brazil
Argentina
Germany
Italy
Nigeria

Honorable mentions
Holland
Croatia

Scipio Africanus wrote: Tue Jun 20, 2023 2:16 pm
Kabalega wrote: Tue Jun 20, 2023 1:48 pm Brazil
Argentina
Italy
Peru
Croatia
Uruguay
CIV
Uganda
Colombia
S. Africa
Zambia/Netherlands
Cameroon/Morocco
So in addition to comprehending English at Eze Goes to School level, you do not know how to count! Chei!!! :woot: :woot: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
:lol: :lol: I got carried away. :rotf: :rotf:

Brazil
Argentina
Italy/Zambia’s copper jersey
Uruguay/France 80s (the later jerseys are nothing to write home about)
Canada Women’s Jersey :thumb: /Cameroon’s illegal, body hugging, sleeveless, underwear tops.

Gotta be honest: Cameroon stands out as the most iconic kit of Africa. With Nigeria a close 2nd. You know who's playing when you see these kits. I'd like to say South Africa, but not enough success.

In Europe, it's Italy, Germany, Holland, Spain, and Croatia that are iconic.

In South America, Brazil and Argentina, maybe Uruguay.

mate wrote: Tue Jun 20, 2023 10:58 pm Gotta be honest: Cameroon stands out as the most iconic kit of Africa. With Nigeria a close 2nd. You know who's playing when you see these kits. I'd like to say South Africa, but not enough success.

Let’s be honest with ourselves, these don’t pass both tests of iconic and best looking.

Kabalega wrote: Wed Jun 21, 2023 2:38 am

Let’s be honest with ourselves, these don’t pass both tests of iconic and best looking.

Iconic for me is identity.

I see all green with the Super Eagle and know it's Nigeria.

Same with the Croatian checkers.

I see white shorts, black shorts and a black eagle...100% Germany!

mate wrote: Wed Jun 21, 2023 8:58 pm

Zambia, Senegal, even South Africa and CIV have been known to wear all green, not to talk of Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland, so Nigeria's all green is unfortunately not iconic, IMO.

If you squint while looking at England's home kit, you might mistake them for Germany, so Germany's kit isn't that iconic, neither is Italy's.

Brazil shares yellowish tops with Colombia, Gabon(yellow shirts and blue shorts!) and Ecuador, so their kit isn't really iconic at first glance. Maybe because of their success but that's it.

Argentina, Croatia, Cameroon, maybe Netherlands(CIV and Zambia also wear Orange) are the instantly recognizable teams. It is impossible to mistake them for anyone else.

I get that there are similarities. But it's like a brand, one gets it while the others are approximations. Sure, there's some bias on my part...as I'd never mistake England for Germany just because of a difference in the color of the shorts: blue vs black.

I'm more discerning and refined than that.

:)

Nigeria for me branded the green. Not Ireland and Northern Ireland who usually wear white shorts, not all green. And haven't done as well at the WC.

As to Croatia, no doubt the checkers are distinct. But some of our jerseys have been ugly. Like a tablecloth, which some make fun of. But the newer kits are awesome blending in checkers.

This is how it all works for me.

:)

Croatia’s jersey is iconic. It’s unique, identifiable and comes with a rich history of success. However, it is NOT beautiful. :)

Nigeria’s current jersey is beautiful but not iconic. Their performances in that beautiful jersey are forgettable and unfortunately so is the jersey. On the other hand, the ugly, buggy, green jerseys of the Kanu era are iconic.

Argentina’s jersey is iconic and easy on the eye.
Brazil is unidentifiable without their yellow tops and blue shorts. Any other team with similar colors makes one initially think it’s Brazil.
Ditto Italy and Uruguay.

Kabalega wrote: Thu Jun 22, 2023 8:33 am

I agree with your points that it's a combination of art, achievement, and uniqueness. Some of our jerseys were downright ugly, coupled with ugly performances like 2002 and 2006 WCs for us.

It's a mixed bag.

Croatia’s jersey is iconic. It’s unique, identifiable and comes with a rich history of success. However, it is NOT beautiful. :)

Nigeria’s current jersey is beautiful but not iconic. Their performances in that beautiful jersey are forgettable and unfortunately so is the jersey. On the other hand, the ugly, buggy, green jerseys of the Kanu era are iconic.

Brazil is unidentifiable without their yellow tops and blue shorts. Any other team with similar colors makes one initially think it’s Brazil.
Ditto Italy and Uruguay.
To me these are beautiful.

mate wrote: Thu Jun 22, 2023 9:10 pm
Kabalega wrote: Thu Jun 22, 2023 8:33 am

I agree with your points that it's a combination of art, achievement, and uniqueness. Some of our jerseys were downright ugly, coupled with ugly performances like 2002 and 2006 WCs for us.

It's a mixed bag.

Ditto Italy and Uruguay.
To me these are beautiful.

C’mon mate. The white jersey, (which Croatia is known for) is NOT beautiful.
The dark one is really cool. :thumb: :thumb:

Brazil
Netherlands
Italy
Argentina
Croatia