Eze makes England squad for the Euros. Henderson and Chilwell dropped

https://www.theguardian.com/football/20 ... e-on-plane

Gareth Southgate is set to make a string of huge decisions when he names England’s training squad, with Adam Wharton and Curtis Jones surprisingly selected over Jordan Henderson in midfield and Ben Chilwell left out despite major doubts over Luke Shaw’s fitness at left-back.

There is set to be a youthful, fresh look to the squad when it is announced on Tuesday afternoon. Henderson, who has not missed a major tournament since Euro 2012, has paid the price for a poor season. The former Liverpool captain struggled after moving to the Saudi Pro League and he has been unable to recover his form since joining Ajax in January.

Southgate has left out many of his old faithfuls in midfield, with Kalvin Phillips also omitted. Jones, the Liverpool midfielder, and Wharton, who has shone for Crystal Palace since joining them from Blackburn in the winter window, are the beneficiaries. Both players are uncapped. Liverpool’s Jarell Quansah, another uncapped player, will also be included.

The big headache for Southgate comes in defence. Shaw, his first-choice left-back, has not played for Manchester United since February but he will be given time to prove his fitness. Southgate will name a final squad of 26 and has given key players time to recover from injury at previous tournaments. However Chilwell, who hoped to deputise for Shaw, has not been included. The Chelsea left-back has struggled for fitness. His versatile Chelsea teammate Levi Colwill is in.

Southgate also has concerns in central defence, where Harry Maguire is an injury doubt. Palace’s Marc Guéhi is in the squad.

Palace’s attacking midfielder Eberechi Eze has made the cut after a fine end to the season. The West Ham winger Jarrod Bowen is in together with James Maddison. Newcastle’s Anthony Gordon is likely to be included but there is doubt over Marcus Rashford’s place and Raheem Sterling has not been included.

Re: Eze makes England squad for the Euros. Henderson and Chilwell dropped

Hearing Rashy got dropped as well.
Interesting.
Still have my doubts about Southgate …
But my the Lions are loaded with talent.
Again I say, Bukayo Saka had better play
like hell in practice or he will be riding the bench
Last edited by Sleaky72 on Tue May 21, 2024 12:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Skip,
Remember when the xenophobes were blaming
the influx of too many foreigners for stifling the
growth of home players and hence the underperformance at the national level.

Right now, aside from Brazil or France, few teams
can match on paper talent like England

Sleaky72 wrote: Tue May 21, 2024 12:46 pm Skip,

Only too well. That wasn't even that long ago. Shows you how much some people know about the evolution of the game. I'm surprised they aren't blaming the influx of foreign coaches for the stifling of the growth of English coaches. :laugh:

Man, England's talent level is scary. :scared: With a better manager they would have won one or both of WC 2018 and/or Euro 2020. I can't wait for the Euros! :thumbs:

Scipio Africanus wrote: Tue May 21, 2024 1:02 pm

Only too well. That wasn't even that long ago. Shows you how much some people know about the evolution of the game. I'm surprised they aren't blaming the influx of foreign coaches for the stifling of the growth of English coaches. :laugh:

Man, England's talent level is scary. :scared: With a better manager they would have won one or both of WC 2018 and/or Euro 2020. I can't wait for the Euros! :thumbs:
Agree and Agree.
And on the streets and pubs of the UK,
you can still hear them blame the lack
of coaching opp on the import of foreign gaffers.
Crazy!

ehh, odds are against him to make the final squad in my humble opinion

@Futcha

I'm surprised Bellingham is listed as a forward in that list. Anyway I am almost certain that Bellingham, Foden, Grealish, Kane, Palmer, Saka and Watkins will be on the final squad. So Eze will be competing against Ivan Toney, James Maddison, Anthony Gordon and Jarrod Bowen.

That list has a total of 33 names. At least 6 of them will be dropped. Let me speculate on who will be dropped to make the final list

1. Lewis Dunk or Ezra Konsa
2. Harry Maguire
3. Adam Wharton
4. Anthony Gordon
5. One of the goal keepers
6?

Wow look at the forwards listed for England ?
That’s some serious fire power

No Tomori.

Odiegwu!

Scipio Africanus wrote: Tue May 21, 2024 2:11 pm @Futcha

I'm surprised Bellingham is listed as a forward in that list. Anyway I am almost certain that Bellingham, Foden, Grealish, Kane, Palmer, Saka and Watkins will be on the final squad. So Eze will be competing against Ivan Toney, James Maddison, Anthony Gordon and Jarrod Bowen.

That list has a total of 33 names. At least 6 of them will be dropped. Let me speculate on who will be dropped to make the final list

2. Harry Maguire
3. Adam Wharton
4. Anthony Gordon
6?
i am left-handed full disclosure but i would bet my right arm that Gordon makes the squad.

King Futcha wrote: Tue May 21, 2024 2:17 pm

2. Harry Maguire
3. Adam Wharton
4. Anthony Gordon
6?
i am left-handed full disclosure but i would bet my right arm that Gordon makes the squad.
You could be right. Who do you think will be dropped when the list is finalized?

Ebubedike Okosisi Eze, will be on the plane, train or automobile. He is the closest thing Gareth Softgate has to Sterling, his once upon a time, regular go to. It would be ludicrous not to take him, versatility is another factor.

Jarrod Bowen is the Andy Johnson/Kevin Philips of now. Absolutely not international quality. Eze wins you games, Bowen wins you a pub quiz.

Anyone outside of Gareth would go:

Pickford

Gomez/Shaw
Maguire (nepotistic inclusion)
Stones
Walker

Bellingham
Rice
Foden

Eze
Kane
Saka (can Palmer play on the same pitch as a centralised King Philip Odogwu?).

Southgate will most disagree. There must be two defensively inclined centre mids. Rice and Gallagher/Maino/TAA. Foden will be wasted on the left, even more so with Trippier left back tucking in to form a 3 man backline.

It’ll be a 4-4-2 or 4-2-3-1 and most likely an absolutely travesty with such talent at his disposal.

Agree Gordon is in, his running metrics for this season would support his claim to be Kikuyu. And that’s all Gaz wants.
Thelastoneleft

Post by Thelastoneleft »

Sleaky72 wrote: Tue May 21, 2024 1:15 pm

Agree and Agree.
Crazy!
And who are they blaming the quality of their referees on? :blink:

Onyeuzoh Watkins may take the left.

2. Harry Maguire
3. Adam Wharton
4. Anthony Gordon
6?
Not a chance Maguire gets dropped my man.
I’d be shocked if Gordon is dropped as well

Thelastoneleft wrote: Tue May 21, 2024 2:36 pm
Sleaky72 wrote: Tue May 21, 2024 1:15 pm

Agree and Agree.
Crazy!
And who are they blaming the quality of their referees on? :blink:
:ohmy:

Good one.
By the way how ya feeling about SENOR Mikel these days my guy

The YeyeMan wrote: Tue May 21, 2024 2:15 pm No Tomori.

Odiegwu!
Eziokwu! :lol: :lol: :lol:

And to think there was space for Quansah, Konsah, Branthwaite, Gomez and Guehi. chai! :lol:

2. Harry Maguire
3. Adam Wharton
4. Anthony Gordon
6?
Yup! Not even in question. He is even likely to be a starter.

And I will add Bowen and Maddison.

Absolutely untrue. He is a very top player.
Coach wrote: Tue May 21, 2024 2:26 pm Ebubedike Okosisi Eze, will be on the plane, train or automobile. He is the closest thing Gareth Softgate has to Sterling, his once upon a time, regular go to. It would be ludicrous not to take him, versatility is another factor.

Jarrod Bowen is the Andy Johnson/Kevin Philips of now. Absolutely not international quality. Eze wins you games, Bowen wins you a pub quiz.

Anyone outside of Gareth would go:

Pickford

Gomez/Shaw
Maguire (nepotistic inclusion)
Stones
Walker

Bellingham
Rice
Foden

Eze
Kane
Saka (can Palmer play on the same pitch as a centralised King Philip Odogwu?).

Southgate will most disagree. There must be two defensively inclined centre mids. Rice and Gallagher/Maino/TAA. Foden will be wasted on the left, even more so with Trippier left back tucking in to form a 3 man backline.

It’ll be a 4-4-2 or 4-2-3-1 and most likely an absolutely travesty with such talent at his disposal.

Agree Gordon is in, his running metrics for this season would support his claim to be Kikuyu. And that’s all Gaz wants.

danfo driver wrote: Tue May 21, 2024 3:29 pm

2. Harry Maguire
3. Adam Wharton
4. Anthony Gordon
6?
Yup! Not even in question. He is even likely to be a starter.

And I will add Bowen and Maddison.
yes i dont know what Englishman coach is talking about, Bowen is very good.

Scipio Africanus wrote: Tue May 21, 2024 2:19 pm

2. Harry Maguire
3. Adam Wharton
4. Anthony Gordon
6?
You could be right. Who do you think will be dropped when the list is finalized?
i agree on dunk and wharton but other than that not sure brother, i am still studying some of these kats, jude has made me ease on my england hating just a bit.

Context. On the international stage, Bowen can’t play up top for England. And won’t bench any of the wide forward prospects. Yes, he’s a decent player but most likely behind Ollie Watkins and Saka, Foden, Gordon in the wide areas. One would go as far as saying Eze would be ahead of him out wide too.

Good player? Yes. England starting XI, no. Not at all. Not even in the running.

Dunk had a disastrous innings last time out. Hard to see him being given another chance. Grealish, Maddison, Toney, Quansah, Trafford. Though Southgate unlikely to take so many new faces. Wharton is probably out. Grealish in on experience. Eze and Gordon battling for the last space.