Euro 2024

Euro 2024

We can use this thread to post squads and tournament updates.

Last edited by wiseone on Wed May 22, 2024 12:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Re: Euro 2004

nah which one be euro 2004

Re: Euro 2004

All aboard the Time Machine.
Re: Euro 2024

call me krazy but i think greece will win it.

King Futcha wrote: Wed May 22, 2024 12:57 pm call me krazy but i think greece will win it.
Let me rush to go and place bets. :woot: I can finally retire! :woot: I have had enough workplace nonsense. :mad:

wiseone wrote: Wed May 22, 2024 9:03 am We can use this thread to post squads and tournament updates.

Pepe was included?! That dude will still be getting picked to play for Portugal in his 60s! :woot:

anyone going to Euro?

To be fair he is only 2 years older than Ronaldo, and he plays for a Champions League team.
Scipio Africanus wrote: Wed May 22, 2024 1:55 pm
Pepe was included?! That dude will still be getting picked to play for Portugal in his 60s! :woot:
Thelastoneleft

Post by Thelastoneleft »

King Futcha wrote: Wed May 22, 2024 12:57 pm call me krazy but i think greece will win it.
The cup is staying in Deutschland

Thelastoneleft wrote: Thu May 23, 2024 12:10 pm
Not without Big Kai Havertz thrown up top. Target man. Flick ons and throw-ins.

that was a reference to the original title being Euro 2004.

I am tempted to pick Germany as well

...And Greece will be 'greased' out before the quarters.
Talking about dark horses? Think Italy, Spain, and Portugal.

Coach wrote: Thu May 23, 2024 1:15 pm
Not without Big Kai Havertz thrown up top. Target man. Flick ons and throw-ins.
No off angle turns, no triangles, no give and go’s … just long throws and route one cussing and grunting football eh? You are truly a Big Sam/Tony Pulis clone lol

Contrasting fortunes for current and former Manchester United players. Mainoo and Henderson deservedly in the squad (I still think United should have kept Henderson), but no Maguire, Rashford, or Sancho.

Eze got in the squad ahead of Maddison (which is huge). The number of playmakers at England's disposal is very impressive: Foden, Bellingham, Palmer, Maddison, Eze, Grealish.

Last edited by wiseone on Fri Jun 07, 2024 5:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

wiseone wrote: Thu Jun 06, 2024 9:13 pm Contrasting fortunes for current and former Manchester United players. Mainoo and Henderson deservedly in the squad (I still think United should have kept him), but no Maguire, Rashford, or Sancho.

Eze got in the squad ahead of Maddison (which is huge). The number of playmakers at England's disposal is very impressive: Foden, Bellingham, Palmer, Maddison, Eze, Grealish.

What are the chances that Eze starts or plays?

wiseone wrote: Thu Jun 06, 2024 9:13 pm Contrasting fortunes for current and former Manchester United players. Mainoo and Henderson deservedly in the squad (I still think United should have kept him), but no Maguire, Rashford, or Sancho.

I can understand 'Orrible 'Arry Maguire, but no Grealish? Ivan Toney should have been there in the last WC. He won't play though. Hurri Cane has that spot on lockdown no matter how bad he plays. They will miss Rashford.

I agree. I think too much has been made of his supposed loss of form. In form or not, Rashford has something that cannot be coached: extreme speed. I think his pace and directness would have been key assets for England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 . Apart from Gordon, that England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 squad is not exactly full of Olympic sprinters.
ohsee wrote: Fri Jun 07, 2024 2:46 am
I can understand 'Orrible 'Arry Maguire, but no Grealish? Ivan Toney should have been there in the last WC. He won't play though. Hurri Cane has that spot on lockdown no matter how bad he plays. They will miss Rashford.

See Croatia.

:)

Mate, thanks for posting the Croatia 🇭🇷 squad. The usual suspects (Modric, Brovoviz, Kovacic, Kramaric etc) are there.

How do you rate Croatia's chances?

wiseone wrote: Sat Jun 08, 2024 7:32 pm Mate, thanks for posting the Croatia 🇭🇷 squad. The usual suspects (Modric, Brovoviz, Kovacic, Kramaric etc) are there.

How do you rate Croatia's chances?

I have #1 France and #2 England actually...I know, even if I ABEG, they actually this time have the players. For me it will come down to Bellingham and Rice finally giving them some quality possession in midfield.

A bunch of teams can however do well even win: Croatia, Spain, Portugal, Germany, Belgium, maybe Italy and Holland.

This is the most balanced Croatian team since 2018. Finally we have serviceable if not spectacular forwards in Kramaric and Budimir. They will keep defenses honest, giving our vaunted midfield more room. Speaking of which, young guys like Sucic, Baturina, and Pasalic offer relief for Kovacic, Modric, and Brozovic.

The defense is world class. I can't complain. I think we have a shot to win it all. Hope that doesn't jinx them.

I'd love to see another Croatia vs France final. We beat them in Paris in our least game in the Nations League. France is the best European team for me right now.

Mate, I was very impressed by Croatia's 🇭🇷 performance in their 2-1 win away to Portugal 🇵🇹. Portugal had looked devastating in their recent fixtures. I actually thought Portugal 🇵🇹 was one of the favourites to win the Euros (with Ronaldo, Bruno Fernandes, Bernardo Silva, Rafael Leao, Diogo Jota, Ruben Dias, Joao Felix, Joao Cancelo, Ramos, Pepe, Mendes, Palhinha, Danilo, et al).

Yet Croatia passed and ran rings around them. Despite having a combined age of almost 100 years, Croatia's midfield trio were technically brilliant and easy on the eye. They reminded me of Croatia's great 1990s midfield with Prosinecki and Boban.
Last edited by wiseone on Thu Jun 13, 2024 7:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

Nigeria contributes 2
Ghana contributes 1
Angola/Congo 1 (E Konsa)
Cote d'Ivoire 1 (Guéhi)