Complete this sentence..."The last time Ghana won AFCON"

Re: Complete this sentence..."The last time Ghana won AFCON"

Catalyst wrote:We had 9 planets?

Back in those days, only 8 teams featured in the tourney; semi finals was easier to reach.

PS. This thread is exactly why Ghanaians dread we winning the whole thing. This thread can go for miles and miles. It is one of those one that just get bumped randomly for years until Ghana wins it. And that does not look like it is going to happen any time soon. Based on current trend, even Burkina Faso have a better chance.
you berra call them Upper Volta or the breda's might get confused.

Post by andyk1012 »

Thread Starter just got himself a Classic hehe
The last thing an enemy would want to see is a couple of million pissed
off old farts with attitudes and automatic weapons who know that their
best years are already behind them.
oluphemmie007

Post by oluphemmie007 »

...midgets were still proper midgets.
Manchester United: Trophies Yesterday, Today and Forever

This is Cybereagles...expect anything.

Sanyo had just launched a cutting edge music system called 8-track

The Sputnik was still a sketch on the back of someone's piece of tissue.

ANC wrote:
Molue Conductor wrote:Burkina Faso was still called Upper Volta

Classic, especially considering Tfco was the first to bring that name up after SE first match with them
He was overextending himself with his corrections. :mrgreen:

kalani

Post by kalani »

...Michael Jordan was still a freshman at UNC having just left Emsley A. Laney High.
megapro wrote:
Yobo’s problem is easy to analyze. His name is Omeruo. You don’t have to be a genius, just a normal guy like me to understand that we’re talking about frustration. It’s not easy for a player to see how he’s outperformed by a 19 year-old kid, but the kid is fantastic. I had the courage to play him and the problem is very simple.
Metho scorpion

Post by Metho scorpion »

Maradona wrote:I wasn't even born..
This is truly sad...
...now i know why you enter tfco's bad boy book...honestly not fair...you talking about a country wey grant u refuge status...

Keshi was a junior player, Amokachi was in primary school.

The following people were born:

Landon Donovan
Dwayne Wade
David Nalbadian
Kwame Brown
Danica Patrick
Kaka
Oguchi Onyewu
Tony Parker
Anton Apollo Ohno
Petr Cech
Helder Postiga
Lolo Jones
Joleon Lescott
Carlos Delfino
Lil Wayne
Emeka Okafor
Ian Thorpe
Jermain Defoe
Tyson Chandler
Amare Stoudemire
Michael Essien???????

Schillachi

Post by Schillachi »

50% of the Ghanaian population were not born..
NIGERIAN BADBOY!
NigerianPrince

Post by NigerianPrince »

-In 1982, the last time Ghana won the African Cup of Nations trophy and Tournament, Italy later on won the 1982 FIFA World Cup in Spain. Back then, only two countries were allowed to represent the whole Continent of Africa. I believe it was Roger Milla and the Idomitable Lions of Cameroon and Algeria that represented Africa.

-Michael Jackson's Thriller Album got released later in that year. As I can recall, in November 1982. It went all the way to become still the largest selling Album of All Time across the World.

-Alhaji Shehu Shagari was the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. Nigeria was enjoying Civilian Rule back then, then all of a sudden the next year, Military regime came back into rule.

-E.T. movie was the biggest blockbuster ticket sales theatre movie of that year, later in the year, I mean to say.

Peace and God bless,
from the one and only,
NigerianPrince...
GIN

Post by GIN »

Kumbi Saleh was the capital of Ghana.
Samson Siasia speaking FACTs about 2008.
“I have been waiting for this job for almost three years now and that was before the 2008 Beijing Olympics. I was to be the coach of the Super Eagles after the interview conducted for the job. But that time I said no, I wasn’t ready. Now that I am ready, I am not intimidated at all. I am ready for this job,” he declared matter-of-factly" http://africanfootball.mtnfootball.com/ ... m_ID=36099

Huge technological breakthrough as Sony released the Compact Disc.

The computer was the Time magazine person of the year. First non-human.

kalani

Post by kalani »

Martins and Stanley Okoro had just started middle school.
megapro wrote:
Yobo’s problem is easy to analyze. His name is Omeruo. You don’t have to be a genius, just a normal guy like me to understand that we’re talking about frustration. It’s not easy for a player to see how he’s outperformed by a 19 year-old kid, but the kid is fantastic. I had the courage to play him and the problem is very simple.

Kai!!!! What a thread! Kai!!! :rotf: :rotf:

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

bolaji

Post by bolaji »

Marvin Gaye was still alive :lol:
"Daddy, that man looks scary" said my 6yr old son on seeing Ghanaian's GK Dauda's face coming towards the Camera Lens. My avatar is my tribute to the only man that has managed to scare the craps out of my son.
bolaji

Post by bolaji »

Usain Bolt's was 4 years away from conception :lol:
Last edited by bolaji on Tue Feb 19, 2013 4:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
"Daddy, that man looks scary" said my 6yr old son on seeing Ghanaian's GK Dauda's face coming towards the Camera Lens. My avatar is my tribute to the only man that has managed to scare the craps out of my son.

Kaiiii Ojukwu was still in exile in Ivory Coast and his future wife still in Primary 5 :taunt:

Catalyst wrote:
Mr. Piffington wrote:...Moses was in high school.
Which Moses? The one in the bible?

Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

Schillachi wrote:50% of the Ghanaian population were not born..
Ikpoba eeeee :shock:

Chei. That is troubling on multiple levels.
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif

Una dey craze :D :D

Sir V was taking the boat to the UK paid for his fare by selling VHS tapes or na Betamax

...it was reported that Jerry Rawlings had held the wives and kids of the players at gunpoint and 100,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000 cedis, equivalent of $1, was paid in bribe to CAF!!