Manchester United - News, Developments & Season

Re: Manchester United - News, Developments & Season

Cristao II wrote:
danfo driver wrote:Na wow o! A finished worthless Mourinho - 3 trophies... how many una don win since e commot? O ma se o! :(
Bros make I go laugh for corner. I have been reading British media for the last few days. The way those inadequate beings have been hailing Ole and indirectly yabbing Jose - they have forgotten you don't count your chickens before they hatch.
Mourinho and LVG, The 2 managers who last won United trophies were treated very badly by British media.

I also found myself breathing a sigh of relief that the losing penalty wasn't taken by a black Man United player, because all sorts of abuse was going to visit the unlucky guy :biggrin:

benteke wrote:Well that wasn't surprising.
It is also a reminder that this same United crashed out of CL group stages as meekly as they performed during the 120mins of normal and extra time football of this cup final.
The penalty shootout is not the full story

There is still something lacking there.......
Final straw for me with Ole.

It was expected, knowing Ole's spineless character and comfort zone. This guy cannot handle real pressure, he simply froze again yesterday.

People keep mentioning player performance and, if that's the case then you wonder why these managers are so highly paid when they are not the ones on the pitch & they make the most important decisions that influences what happens on matchday. Give that same team to some other truly worthy managers for a few days and you have that trophy yesterday.

I won't even mention his annoying post match interview. He froze again and it's looking like he will continue to freeze when it matters most. He can only handle being the underdog and not really exceptional at that. We will continue to enjoy today's Manchester United until something drastic happens.

danfo driver wrote:another one that intrigues me is Paul Pogba! Whats the point??

You cant compete in the League
You cant compete in the CL
You cant win the FA Cup or Carling Cup because one of City, Liverpool, Chelsea etc who will not win the league do all it takes to win a cup

And you cant even win the Europa Cup against a small team, whose budget is pittance!

Again, whats the point of having such a luxury player when he is not even your best player and cant carry you? Whats the point?
But PP na your boy :taunt:

PP was never needed by Man U, at least not for football reason.

Bruno Fernandez is critical to how they play.

Cavani is a winner!

Comment posted by Specialist_in_tailoring, at 23:06 26 MaySpecialist_in_tailoring
23:06 26 May
Scholes a t half-time:
“They’ll open this team up and if they get one goal, I think 2 or 3 will come”.

Ferdinard at extra-time:
“I fancy Manu to win if it goes to penalties. They have big players”.

WRONG and WRONG

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/57224112

Lindelof's "defending" for the set-piece that led to Villareal's goal was absolutely shambolic. I have not seen a top flight Man U defender get bullied as often as him. Last season, Sevilla knocked Man U out of this cup after he allowed a harmless cross to float over his head. Yesterday, a FK came in from 30 yards away and he had ages to watch and judge the ball's trajectory, but he decided not to jump for it, and let the ball sail over his head and Moreno to score with Villareal's only shot on target in 120 minutes of normal time. Everyone criticises and mocks Jones, Slab-Head, Smalling, Shaw etc - yet this guy always gets a free pass despite one shocking performance after another. WHY?!

When I saw that Pogba was going to play as part of a midfield 2 beside Scotty, I feared. Pogba has bags of skill but is a defensive liability. I cannot recall seeing an elite player that bad defensively. The number of times he gets caught on the ball or squanders possession with brainless passes or trying to dribble or hold on to the ball too long - is simply astonishing. This guy has played for some of the best coaches in the game for France, Juve, and Man U and I am astonished that none of them drilled it out of him. He gave away 4 of the last 5 penalties that Man U have conceded. Giving away 80% of the most recent penalties against your team is quite an achievement for a player that is an AM and not a defender. I always say - he plays better when he has 2 other CMs beside him to cover for his defensive indiscipline.
Last edited by wiseone on Sat May 29, 2021 2:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

wiseone wrote:Lindelof's "defending" for the set-piece that led to Villareal's goal was absolutely shambolic. I have not seen a top flight Man U defender get bullied as often as him. Last season, Sevilla knocked Man U out of this cup after he allowed a harmless cross to float over his head. Yesterday, a FK came in from 30 yards away and he had ages to watch and judge the ball's trajectory, but he decided not to jump for it, and let the ball sail over his head and Moreno to score with Villareal's only shot on target in 120 minutes of normal time. Everyone criticises and mocks Jones, Slab-Head, Smalling, Shaw etc - yet this guy always gets a free pass despite one shocking performance after another. WHY?!

When I saw that Pogba was going to play as part of a midfield 2 beside Scotty, I feared. Pogba has bags of skill but is a defensive liability. I cannot recall seeing an elite player that bad defensively. The number of times he gets caught on the ball or squanders possession with brainless passes or trying to dribble or hold on to the ball too long - is simply astonishing. This guy has played for some of the best coaches in the game for France, Juve, and Man U and I am astonished that none of them drilled it out of him. He gave away 4 of the last 5 penalties that Man U have conceded. Giving away 80% of the most recent penalties against your team is quite an achievement for a player that is an AM and not a defender. I always say - he plays better when he has 2 other CMs beside him to cover for his defensive indiscipline.
...Lindelof is a poor judge of defending.
The only asset he has is his height to intimidate, but hardly use it to effect.
His long ball passing up front may be good too.

wiseone wrote:Lindelof's "defending" for the set-piece that led to Villareal's goal was absolutely shambolic. I have not seen a top flight Man U defender get bullied as often as him. Last season, Sevilla knocked Man U out of this cup after he allowed a harmless cross to float over his head. Yesterday, a FK came in from 30 yards away and he had ages to watch and judge the ball's trajectory, but he decided not to jump for it, and let the ball sail over his head and Moreno to score with Villareal's only shot on target in 120 minutes of normal time. Everyone criticises and mocks Jones, Slab-Head, Smalling, Shaw etc - yet this guy always gets a free pass despite one shocking performance after another. WHY?!

True, and someone is getting paid thousands of dollars a week to look at all these and make informed decisions on matchday. Most regular folks would receive their last paycheck next week if they handle a task that way.

good ebening yemi :D

Bigpokey24 wrote:good ebening yemi :D
:mrgreen: Yes o, good ebening today but Wednesday na very bad ebening!

Donzman

Post by Donzman »

benteke wrote:Well that wasn't surprising.
It is also a reminder that this same United crashed out of CL group stages as meekly as they performed during the 120mins of normal and extra time football of this cup final.
The penalty shootout is not the full story

There is still something lacking there.......
The coach isn't very demanding, and it shows.

It's either the coach is changed or the team continues without a trophy.

ManU are still on the right track.
They need patience. Rioting fans affected the team too.

It will be interesting to see how the Glazers handle the fans and the leadership shakes out.

danfo driver wrote:another one that intrigues me is Paul Pogba! Whats the point??

You cant compete in the League
You cant compete in the CL
You cant win the FA Cup or Carling Cup because one of City, Liverpool, Chelsea etc who will not win the league do all it takes to win a cup

And you cant even win the Europa Cup against a small team, whose budget is pittance!

Again, whats the point of having such a luxury player when he is not even your best player and cant carry you? Whats the point?
But PP na your boy :taunt:

PP was never needed by Man U, at least not for football reason.

Bruno Fernandez is critical to how they play.

Cavani is a winner!
Actually Jose Mourinho had a pretty decent long term plan around Pogba when he sanctioned the move for him.
Jose also wanted Ngolo Kante next to Pogba.
Unfortunately Ngolo said himself that he had already set his mind on joining Chelsea despite phone calls from Jose trying to convince him to come to Old Trafford.

So in the end Jose settled for Fred, and im not sure if that's the guy he really wanted because that was round about the same time Jose started falling out with the board over player acquisitions.

The problem Ole presents himself with is that he prefers to play Mctominay and Fred as his first choice midfielders and then just fit in Pogba around that, and he also added Bruno as his first choice.

This is what fails Pogba most of the time. I would like to belive Ole has built his team around Bruno Fernandes rather than Pogba.

And then there is Donny Van Beek that Ole doesn't even consider when it comes to critical games.

This coming season might be make or break for Ole.

Even players who are not great have at least one attribute that they are very good/above average at. If you look at Man U's other CDs, none of them is world class, but all (except Lindelof) have at least one above average attribute:

Slab-Head - heading/organisation
Bailly - speed, anticipation
Jones - aggression, tackling
Tuanzebe - see Bailly above

Now, is there any attribute you can honestly say that Lindelof has in abundance or is above average at? He is not quick, great in he air, is not a good header of the ball, or a great tackler. So WTF is Man U doing employing a defender who is not quick, good in the air, cannot head, and is not good at tackling either?!

mcal wrote:The only asset he has is his height to intimidate, but hardly use it to effect.
His long ball passing up front may be good too.

Hakimi is on the market. He is too good to pass up. He would provide competition for both AWB and Luke shaw and would be like two signings at once - due to his ability to play RB or LB. He is also a better attacking FB than both AWB and Shaw. I have been screaming for the club to buy him since he was at Real Madrid.

Lukaku is also on the market and with Inter in deep debt, can be bought for less crazy money than Kane or Haaland. This is the chance to fix the mistake of a player who should never have been sold. Lukaku can probably be bought for 30-50 million less than Kane or Haaland.
Last edited by wiseone on Thu Jun 03, 2021 12:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

wiseone wrote:Hakimi is on the market. He is too good to pass up. He would provide competition for both AWB and Luke shaw and would like two signings at once - due to his ability to play RB or LB. He is also a better attacking FB than both AWB and Shaw. I have been screaming for the club to buy him since he was at Real Madrid.

Lukaku is also on the market and with Inter in deep debt, can be bought for less crazy money than Kane or Haaland. This is the chance to fix the mistake of a player who should never have been sold. Lukaku can probably be bought for 30-50 million less than Kane or Haaland.
Lukaku is probably heading back to Chelsea.
ManU cannot afford to buy Haaland.
Kane prefers ManCity or RM

In the end, it is crystal clear that cry baby players like Paul Pogba who can't stand any criticism by the coach are the downfall of ManU. The current team needs complete overhaul. They can't compete with City and Pool. They can't win any cup final as they lack discipline it takes. Pogba brings money in and that is it. The management won't sack Ole until it is too late, February or early March 2022.

Pogba looks world class when playing fro France

YemiBrazil wrote:
Bigpokey24 wrote:good ebening yemi :D
:mrgreen: Yes o, good ebening today but Wednesday na very bad ebening!
Almost 2 weeks anniversary :D 2021-2008= 19 years since united won champs league oooo :D

benteke wrote:Pogba looks world class when playing fro France
france vs germany a week from today

Gonna be exciting :thumbs:

But forget not, Pog has already proven himself in a full World Cup. And lifted the cup to boot.

We have examined why before. When he plays for France, he has the best DM in the world covering him, Mbappe, Griezmann, Benzema, or Dembele to pass to in front of him, and Varane and Umtiti defending behind him.

When he plays for Man U, he cannot play in his favourite AM position because another player is in that position, he plays beside Fred or McTominay, has the insecurity of Lindelof and Maguire defending behind him, or gets shunted out to the left wing to accommodate the player who plays in his position.

Not a coincidence that PP played his best football when Michael Carrick was still in the team.

Lindelof did one of his "specials" again (allowed a cross to float over his head for Ukraine's 121st minute winning goal). He also did the same thing in last season's Europa League semi-final, in this year's Europa League final, and several times during the season (including against WBA). How many times will this guy cost his club and country before Man Utd realise he is not good enough for this level and ditch him for Bailly, Tuanzebe, or AN Other player in the transfer market?

wiseone wrote: Wed Jun 30, 2021 2:56 am Lindelof did one of his "specials" again (allowed a cross to float over his head for Ukraine's 121st minute winning goal). He also did the same thing in last season's Europa League semi-final, in this year's Europa League final, and several times during the season (including against WBA). How many times will this guy cost his club and country before Man Utd realise he is not good enough for this level and ditch him for Bailly, Tuanzebe, or AN Other player in the transfer market?
Well, what did Pogba do for the equaliser? :taunt:

To my knowledge Pogba did not play in the game between Ukraine and Sweden yesterday.
wanaj0 wrote: Wed Jun 30, 2021 12:05 pm
Well, what did Pogba do for the equaliser? :taunt: