Re: Manchester United - News, Developments & Season

Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2019 7:50 pm
by joplass
Kako wrote:Clean sheet :P :sneaky:
:clap:

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:13 am
by marko
Defence looked assured, we will face bigger tests this season from other teams, just hope Bailly can stay fit as a back up, we need competition for Luke Shaw, watch Bissaka bombing forward and back whiles Luke Shaw just kept on passing back, Chelsea kept on attacking his area as they did not have any joy on AWB side, at least we need 3-4 players especially in midfield, someone to partner with Pogba and share responsibility, still not sold on Fred and Perreira even though perreira is an excellent crosser of the ball, one thing i was happy was i did not see Matic, jones, young near that pitch, the game OGS is trying to play does not suit them

They should be used in cup games

and why was Graeme Souness quiet? he always seem to have something negative to say about Pogba!

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:22 am
by oloye
marko wrote:Defence looked assured, we will face bigger tests this season from other teams, just hope Bailly can stay fit as a back up, we need competition for Luke Shaw, watch Bissaka bombing forward and back whiles Luke Shaw just kept on passing back, Chelsea kept on attacking his area as they did not have any joy on AWB side, at least we need 3-4 players especially in midfield, someone to partner with Pogba and share responsibility, still not sold on Fred and Perreira even though perreira is an excellent crosser of the ball, one thing i was happy was i did not see Matic, jones, young near that pitch, the game OGS is trying to play does not suit them

and why was Graeme Souness quiet? he always seem to have something negative to say about Pogba!
Which defence looked assured, assured against who? Tammy Abraham, Mason and Pedro who was busy running around like an untamed nkita. If Chelsea had banged those two goals that came off the post you guys would have seen how dodgy your defence looked.

At some point in time Chelsea looked like the day was gonna be theirs before their collapse. Even an Arsenal team with the firepower of Aubameyang and Lacazete will destroy that defence with the ease a hot knife goes through a soft butter, should they play like that.

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 12:19 pm
by marko
marko wrote:Defence looked assured, we will face bigger tests this season from other teams, just hope Bailly can stay fit as a back up, we need competition for Luke Shaw, watch Bissaka bombing forward and back whiles Luke Shaw just kept on passing back, Chelsea kept on attacking his area as they did not have any joy on AWB side, at least we need 3-4 players especially in midfield, someone to partner with Pogba and share responsibility, still not sold on Fred and Perreira even though perreira is an excellent crosser of the ball, one thing i was happy was i did not see Matic, jones, young near that pitch, the game OGS is trying to play does not suit them

Which defence looked assured, assured against who? Tammy Abraham, Mason and Pedro who was busy running around like an untamed nkita. If Chelsea had banged those two goals that came off the post you guys would have seen how dodgy your defence looked.

At some point in time Chelsea looked like the day was gonna be theirs before their collapse. Even an Arsenal team with the firepower of Aubameyang and Lacazete will destroy that defence with the ease a hot knife goes through a soft butter, should they play like that.
Everyone talking like we lost the game, yes that defence was playing together for the 1st time, took a bit of time before they warmed up, our midfield was non-existent in the 1st 45 mins, 2nd half, was better, our defence needs more time to gel, well 3 points, 4 goals, clean sheet, confidence is everything in football!

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/footb ... class.html

what if we played better than Chelsea and lost 4 nil? what will the narrative be?

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 12:42 pm
by oloye
marko wrote:

Everyone talking like we lost the game, yes that defence was playing together for the 1st time, took a bit of time before they warmed up, our midfield was non-existent in the 1st 45 mins, 2nd half, was better, our defence needs more time to gel, well 3 points, 4 goals, clean sheet, confidence is everything in football!

what if we played better than Chelsea and lost 4 nil? what will the narrative be?

It will help you to see clearly what was apparently not obvious.

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:13 pm
by marko
marko wrote:

man united is work in progress, it takes a fool not to realise we are far from the finished article, one of our main issues last season was fitness levels, it was that bad towards the end of the season, OGS wanted the team to press the opponents but they did not have the legs for it over 90 minutes, I believe this was addressed during pre-season and there has been some slight improvements, our midfield is still lightweight, its a shame Fred cannot step up, he is supposed to be a starter, why Mata/ Matic were on the bench yesterday? we just lost a fantastic opportunity to sign 2 decent midfielders and get rid of Matic / mata, only time will tell, i want to see how we will fare against the like of City, Liverpool, Tottenham, Wolves, Arsenal, i do like the look of darren james

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:43 pm
by benteke

I understand what you are saying, its true and there.will be bigger tests

But what about Liverpool defence, a team like Norwich kept cutting through with ease and just lacked finishing. They even got one goal.
Many other teams should fancy their chances, just as much as they would against United.

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:52 pm
by oloye
marko wrote:

man united is work in progress, it takes a fool not to realise we are far from the finished article, one of our main issues last season was fitness levels, it was that bad towards the end of the season, OGS wanted the team to press the opponents but they did not have the legs for it over 90 minutes, I believe this was addressed during pre-season and there has been some slight improvements, our midfield is still lightweight, its a shame Fred cannot step up, he is supposed to be a starter, why Mata/ Matic were on the bench yesterday? we just lost a fantastic opportunity to sign 2 decent midfielders and get rid of Matic / mata, only time will tell, i want to see how we will fare against the like of City, Liverpool, Tottenham, Wolves, Arsenal, i do like the look of darren james
No need to resort to name calling it brings you down to a certain level lower than the person you are debating with. It does not make your position anymore valid than what it is.

Now back to the point, no one said Manu defence is a finished product, that was never the point, the point o f discussion was about yesterday's game and only yesterday's game.

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:56 pm
by marko
benteke wrote:

But what about Liverpool defence, a team like Norwich kept cutting through with ease and just lacked finishing. They even got one goal.
Many other teams should fancy their chances, just as much as they would against United.
Its the fact Liverpool attack is so good , you dont get to see their weakness! same applies to City, they dont let you touch the ball, the only option is to press them from behind and stop their passing game, easier said than done, This season, united will have to outscore their opponents, the attackers need to be consistent, does Sanchez have a future at united? Greenwood needs to be given games gradually

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:59 pm
by oloye
benteke wrote:

Of course one can say that the Pool defence showed some fragilities, which is the main point. And this is what coaches would see and work on. Gomez struggled at some point in the game as a result of coming back to partner VVD after being away due to injury. Between himself and Arnold, the Norwich found some space which allowed them to get at Liverpool.

These are things which those who are paid to tinker the team see and set about to work on in training.

If Norwich had been more clinical they could have scored 2 or 3 goals themselves as a result. If any Liverpool fan would say their defence is assured, I would point this out to such and say such assurance can only be waved with the old patlrtnership in place.

With the injury to Allison, I am sure the handlers will be sweating, because with each missing component of a working unit, the unit becomes fragile and weaker until a new component that fits perfectly can be sourced.

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 2:10 pm
by kajifu
Oga Marko who are you guys playing next?

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 2:14 pm
by marko
marko wrote:

No need to resort to name calling it brings you down to a certain level lower than the person you are debating with. It does not make your position anymore valid than what it is.

Now back to the point, no one said Manu defence is a finished product, that was never the point, the point o f discussion was about yesterday's game and only yesterday's game.
i was been sarcastic here and was not name calling! in fact i was referring to myself to suggest only a fool will think united defence was the finished article
so was in no terms name calling :thumb:

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 2:15 pm
by marko
kajifu wrote:Oga Marko who are you guys playing next?
Bogey team Wolves! we lost to them twice last season, should be an interesting game

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 3:14 pm
by YemiBrazil
Wahala Wolves - and I love it. No hiding place in the league, not even for the armchair critics. Everybody sweats :mrgreen:

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 8:21 am
by marko
The 4-2-3-1 OGS employed against Chelsea, i am not too sure with the midfield we have, Pogba played as a deep lying midfield as a link between defence and the forwards, he lost quite a lot of balls in the 1st half as he was trying to pick up his team mates but they were no where to be found and Chelsea had better midfielders, Though Mctomminay keeps it simple, he does not offer anything else apart from that, as for Perreira, i expected more of him but he just continues to flatter to deceive, Though he has a decent cross and also an assist for the Martial goal

Chelsea had a lot of joy down Luke Shaw area, times and times, Maguire had to mop up for him, compare that to AWB, nothing went past him, had pace to burn and was always bombing up and down, The difference on Sunday was our finishing was of high quality

United cannot afford to get rid of Pogba until the next transfer window opens, if they make any attempt to sell him, we are finished, we will need at least 2 replacements, no player at united has his range of passes or in fact his vision, there are a few players in the premiership who can see that pass out of no where, the run he made for the 2nd goal, he needs to do more of that, when he is on his stride, the only way to get the ball from him is to foul him

Next transfer window, we need a solid left back, sorry Luke Shaw needs competition and a right sided player

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 9:06 am
by Donzman
marko wrote:The 4-2-3-1 OGS employed against Chelsea, i am not too sure with the midfield we have, Pogba played as a deep lying midfield as a link between defence and the forwards, he lost quite a lot of balls in the 1st half as he was trying to pick up his team mates but they were no where to be found and Chelsea had better midfielders, Though Mctomminay keeps it simple, he does not offer anything else apart from that, as for Perreira, i expected more of him but he just continues to flatter to deceive, Though he has a decent cross and also an assist for the Martial goal

Chelsea had a lot of joy down Luke Shaw area, times and times, Maguire had to mop up for him, compare that to AWB, nothing went past him, had pace to burn and was always bombing up and down, The difference on Sunday was our finishing was of high quality

United cannot afford to get rid of Pogba until the next transfer window opens, if they make any attempt to sell him, we are finished, we will need at least 2 replacements, no player at united has his range of passes or in fact his vision, there are a few players in the premiership who can see that pass out of no where, the run he made for the 2nd goal, he needs to do more of that, when he is on his stride, the only way to get the ball from him is to foul him

Next transfer window, we need a solid left back, sorry Luke Shaw needs competition and a right sided player
Are you referring to Pogba or Rashford?

Pogba needs to make less runs and play in a controlled fashion, he's not as fast as he thinks he is and his dribbling isn't that great to be honest.

I think a deeper role actually suits him better since it affords him space to operate and pick those passes. He loses a lot of balls in tight spaces and does not have the pace to track back (or does not want to).

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 9:19 am
by marko
Donzman wrote:
marko wrote:The 4-2-3-1 OGS employed against Chelsea, i am not too sure with the midfield we have, Pogba played as a deep lying midfield as a link between defence and the forwards, he lost quite a lot of balls in the 1st half as he was trying to pick up his team mates but they were no where to be found and Chelsea had better midfielders, Though Mctomminay keeps it simple, he does not offer anything else apart from that, as for Perreira, i expected more of him but he just continues to flatter to deceive, Though he has a decent cross and also an assist for the Martial goal

Are you referring to Pogba or Rashford?

Pogba needs to make less runs and play in a controlled fashion, he's not as fast as he thinks he is and his dribbling isn't that great to be honest.

I think a deeper role actually suits him better since it affords him space to operate and pick those passes. He loses a lot of balls in tight spaces and does not have the pace to track back (or does not want to).
sorry meant 4th goal, in the deeper role, he will not get too many goals like he did last season, he will need a quality defensive midfield to mop up for him, he is not renowned for his dribbling skills but he does have a trickery about him, i do agree he is dangerous in the deep lying role especially with those killer passes, same sort of pass against Tottenham last season for Rashford goal, if he does not get too many goals, he will be criticised! I do prefer to see behind the front men where he can do so much damaged

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:07 pm
by kajifu
YemiBrazil wrote:
Wahala Wolves - and I love it. No hiding place in the league, not even for the armchair critics. Everybody sweats :mrgreen:
:clap: :clap: EPL is just the best league sha.
This weekend City vs spurs,the following weekend Arsenal vs Pool then next week after that Arsenal vs Spurs.
You don't get this kind of fixture in other league :clap: :clap:

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 1:58 pm
by marko
YemiBrazil wrote:
:clap: :clap: EPL is just the best league sha.
This weekend City vs spurs,the following weekend Arsenal vs Pool then next week after that Arsenal vs Spurs.
You don't get this kind of fixture in other league :clap: :clap:
True, there are no longer lesser teams, this season watch out for Everton, Wolves, Crystal palace

Posted: Wed Aug 14, 2019 4:06 pm
by wiseone
The scoreline flattered Man Utd. Chelsea could and should have been 2-0 up by the time Utd got that penalty. Tammy had already hit the post and Chelsea had the best of the play. The penalty and goal to Man Utd came totally against the run of play.

Even though Maguire, Rashford, and James got the attention, the biggest +ve for me was the calm and assured performance of AWB. He looks an excellent buy. Strong in the tackle and also supported his team going forward. If he stays fit and disciplind, he could be Utd's RB for the next 10 years. Also pleased to see Tuanzebe make the squad ahead of Jones, Smalling, Darmian, and Mark Red (cannot believe all 4 of those guys survived yet another transfer window).

The worrying parts were:

1) Pogba and Rashford giving the ball away with the enthusiasm of Santa giving away presents to kids at Xmas.

2) The midfield looked "soft" and exposed.

3) Martial scores but does little else when he is not scoring.

4) Pereira is an enigma. He delivers the ball with deadly accuracy but floats in and out of the game.

5) Utd will regret selling Lukaku. They will miss his goals.

Posted: Wed Aug 14, 2019 4:31 pm
by oloye
wiseone wrote:The scoreline flattered Man Utd. Chelsea could and should have been 2-0 up by the time Utd got that penalty. Tammy had already hit the post and Chelsea had the best of the play. The penalty and goal to Man Utd came totally against the run of play.

Even though Maguire, Rashford, and James got the attention, the biggest +ve for me was the calm and assured performance of AWB. He looks an excellent buy. Strong in the tackle and also supported his team going forward. If he stays fit and disciplind, he could be Utd's RB for the next 10 years. Also pleased to see Tuanzebe make the squad ahead of Jones, Smalling, Darmian, and Mark Red (cannot believe all 4 of those guys survived yet another transfer window).

The worrying parts were:

1) Pogba and Rashford giving the ball away with the enthusiasm of Santa giving away presents to kids at Xmas.

2) The midfield looked "soft" and exposed.

3) Martial scores but does little else when he is not scoring.

4) Pereira is an enigma. He delivers the ball with deadly accuracy but floats in and out of the game.

5) Utd will regret selling Lukaku. They will miss his goals.

Did you steal my words or what? I could have sworn I wrote all of the points you highlighted... Nothing more to add but to check again if this was written by me under another name :thumb:

Posted: Wed Aug 14, 2019 7:32 pm
by marko
First game of the season, nerves, only time will tell, no doubt OGS will watch the highlights to issues with the midfield, against Wolves, they will be doing the counter attacking, they will throw numbers in the midfield and defence, dont know how united plan to line up, i reckon that is a game for James to use his pace to trouble the Wolves backline, get freekicks.

What are we going to miss about Lukaku? Well it is a fantastic opportunity for Rashford and Martial to step up

We need to make use of the next transfer window dependent how we perform till then, this time around, we dont have any expections, for me top 4 will be an achievement and build from there, we need to play champions league to attract the quality players, at the same time, there are many top quality players available without the big names attached, thats what scouting is all about, i will say Luke Shaw needs competition, we need a midfielder and another striker

Posted: Thu Aug 15, 2019 2:17 pm
by wiseone
:D LOL. I no see any post where you said those things o!
oloye wrote: Did you steal my words or what? I could have sworn I wrote all of the points you highlighted... Nothing more to add but to check again if this was written by me under another name :thumb: