Page 1 of 6

Naby Keita - Just How Good is This Guy?

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:01 pm
by Cally
I watched this guy play for Liverpool in a friendly against Dortmund, and from what I saw, the dude is going to do very well for them. Solid mix of energy off and on the ball, swagger, passing skills, and some mad dribbling made him stand out. Didn't know he was this exciting.

Re: Naby Keita - Just How Good is This Guy?

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:24 pm
by kajifu
Very solid player,he is one of the most underrated player like Kante.Liverpool just got a world class player.
Soon likes of Barca ,real and psg will come knock on Liverpool door

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:30 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
Cally wrote:I watched this guy play for Liverpool in a friendly against Dortmund, and from what I saw, the dude is going to do very well for them. Solid mix of energy off and on the ball, swagger, passing skills, and some mad dribbling made him stand out. Didn't know he was this exciting.

Very good player. At the risk of sounding like a "longer throat", I wish Arsenal had signed him, especially during the time we were considering Lemar.

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:59 pm
by cchinukw
Cally wrote:I watched this guy play for Liverpool in a friendly against Dortmund, and from what I saw, the dude is going to do very well for them. Solid mix of energy off and on the ball, swagger, passing skills, and some mad dribbling made him stand out. Didn't know he was this exciting.

Very good player. At the risk of sounding like a "longer throat", I wish Arsenal had signed him, especially during the time we were considering Lemar.
We always seem to miss the good ones under the radar. WHY???? :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:04 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe

We always seem to miss the good ones under the radar. WHY???? :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

I suspect when Arsenal looks at the price of "expensive" players, we don't consider potential "resale" value.

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:10 pm
by marutimon

I suspect when Arsenal looks at the price of "expensive" players, we don't consider potential "resale" value.
Potentially up there with De Bruyne and Salah.
Was the best player in the Bundesliga two years ago.
Had an off year last season, maybe due to the fact he was already bound for Liverpool, but was still easily among the top 10 in the Bundesliga.

He's a unique deadly mix of Kante, Iniesta and Essien.

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:34 pm
by metalalloy
Complete baller..

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:46 pm
by Coach
Wenger has confirmed that, after passing up on Kante 4 years ago, he nearly signed Naby Keita.

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 4:04 pm
by Waffiman
Top player.

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 4:30 pm
by bret- hart
Better than Pogba.

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 4:44 pm
by Waffiman
bret- hart wrote:Better than Pogba.
Which Pogba? The one that played for Juve and the one we just saw for France or the Pogba that plays for ManU?

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 5:07 pm
by bret- hart
Which Pogba? The one that played for Juve and the one we just saw for France or the Pogba that plays for ManU?

All of the above.

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 5:18 pm
by Waffiman
bret- hart wrote:
All of the above.
Let us agree to disagree. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 8:18 pm
by txj
Jurgen Klopp has highlighted how he is planning to get the best out of Naby Keita, with his Liverpool side catered to suit the midfielder’s strengths.

Keita officially became a Red at the start of the month and has already made a seamless transition from RB Leipzig to his new club, adding an extra dimension to the midfield.

The 23-year-old looks a footballer of stunning quality, with an all-round ability to run the show in the middle of the park.

Liverpool’s new No. 8 again shone in the 3-1 defeat to Borussia Dortmund on Sunday, producing some silky touches and covering ground relentlessly at Charlotte’s Bank of America Stadium.

After the match, Jurgen Klopp discussed Keita’s best position moving forward, with a box-to-box role likely to get the best out of him:

“He is a creative midfield player with discipline; tactical discipline is a big strength of his usually. He’s doing the right things in the right moment, that’s how good players are.

“I don’t want to give him 500,000 [pieces of] information. We got him because he is the player he is and now we want to work with that. That means first of all we let him go and adapt to our system.

“I see him as an ‘8’, he can play ’10’ as well, maybe in the future he can play ‘6’ as well.

“At Leipzig, he played as a winger, that’s for sure not his best position but he can play it because he has the speed for it, he has the football intelligence for it.

“We see him as a creative No. 8 playing the passes and making the runs with the ball. With the ball he has the same speed as without, you don’t have a lot of players with this quality.”

The Liverpool manager also spoke about how he feels Keita has fared in pre-season so far, with the German admitting more is to come, mainly in terms of fitness.

“He can do much better, that’s clear. He was exhausted, he was really done in the last few minutes when they scored on the counter-attack,” he added.

“Usually Naby is fit and around the situation. I think it was the third goal, he couldn’t do it anymore. But, football-wise, he is in a very good way because he’s a naturally skilled player.

“In small spaces his first few yards are outstandingly quick, so that changed the situation a lot.

“He was good in the game and then the last game, maybe the half-time was 10 minutes too long for him.”

There have been few more exciting signings made by the Reds in recent memory, with Keita capable of taking the Premier League by storm in 2018/19 and beyond.

His sternest test of the summer comes his way on Thursday (1am BST) when Liverpool come up against reigning champions Man City in New Jersey.

https://www.thisisanfield.com/2018/07/j ... pt-to-him/

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 8:52 pm
by King Futcha
liverpool will be must see tv this season.

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 11:40 pm
by Komani

Arsenal actually were in for him before he moved to Lepzig. Didn't get first team guarantees so he went to Lepzig. Went back for him and Forsberg but Liverpool had ucl and the money. I wish we had gotten Forsberg sef

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 11:55 pm
by juventuss
Mixture of Kante but with more offensive skills especially passing to break defensive lines.

Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 3:03 am
by Kabalega
Comparisons to Kante are an insult to Naby. :tic:

Naby is a young Aturo Vidal! The most complete baller in the world right now.
But Naby has a cooler head.

Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 3:17 am
by wale1974
Michael Essien type player.

Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 7:15 am
by marutimon
wale1974 wrote:Michael Essien type player.
No. Much better dribble and more complete passing range.

Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 8:31 am
by realtrouble

Maybe he was just too African

Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 12:50 pm
by kbt
Keita is amazing. So happy LFC signed him. We wanted him last summer but Leipzig was refusing to play ball. But the problem with their position was that his buyout clause of around £42MM expired this summer so Liverpool simply offered them extra money with add ons (based on CL qualifications etc) to sign him in a year in advance. Smart move. He's a complete midfielder. A mixture of Kante and Iniesta. True Baller. YNWA

Enjoy!!

2017/2018

2016/2017

Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 1:32 pm
by joao
Liverpool stacking up to contend for Premiership and UCL double.
The only team I can say will most likely score in every match.